Statewide Essay Contest Finalists Announced

February 21, 2013

February 21, 2013, Little Rock, AR-Arkansas Better Business BureauCenter for Character Ethics, the character education initiative of the BetterBusiness Bureau, announced the finalists in the 2013 Statewide Laws of LifeEssay Contest today.  The statewidecontest is open to winners of local Lawsof Life essay contests for high school students.  A panel of business leaders, educators, andcommunity volunteers judged the entries. 

The Laws of Lifeessay contest was created by Sir John Templeton in 1987 to encourage youngpeople to reflect and write about their “laws of life” or the core values andideals by which they strive to live their life. Honesty, stewardship, compassion, excellence,equality, and truth are some of the topics this year’s finalists wrote about intheir essays. The Arkansas BBB Center for Character Ethics sponsors theStatewide Contest to encourage schools and communities in Arkansas to conductthis enriching and valuable experience. 

Finalists, theirparents, teachers and contest judges will attend the Awards Banquet on April 9,2012 at Hendrix College in Conway where the winners will be announced.  KATV personality Jason Pederson will addressthe finalists and offer congratulations. Cash prizes are awarded to finalists,their teachers and contest coordinators ranging from $25 - $500.

 Contest finalists are:

 Student                    High School

StephenBell                       HOPE Homeschool

Carey Beh                          Izard CountyConsolidated

KatherineFehlman               HOPE Homeschool

MarkHatfield                      Izard CountyConsolidated

TrentonHatman                  Izard CountyConsolidated

MichallaKinsey                   Riverview HighSchool

VictorPadilla                       Izard CountyConsolidated   

LilianePoirot                       Girl ScoutsChipato Valley Service Unit

Miriam Sims                        HOPE Homeschool                      

Lucas Smith                        Izard CountyConsolidated

VictoriaSpradley                 Girl ScoutsChipato Valley Service Unit   

KatharineStanley                Girl ScoutsChipato Valley Service Unit   

MollyTaylor                        Izard CountyConsolidated

LeslieWallace                     Riverview HighSchool

SrannWattanodom              Izard CountyConsolidated

Megan Yates                       Green Forest