BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2007

Cox Communications

Phone: (888) 952-3278Fax: (479) 521-3825View Additional Phone Numbers637 E Joyce Blvd STE 103, FayettevilleAR 72703-6140

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/10/2007

BBB has determined that Cox Communications meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Cox Communications' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service3
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Cox Communications

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
08/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Cox has disputed a payment of $237.90 and has threatened to turn over account to collection agency.
On April 17, 2014, I made a payment, via telephone, to Cox Communications in the amount of $237.90 through *********** located in ********, ** (calling the number Cox provided me). A few weeks later, I got a bill from Cox that did not reflect that I had paid that amount. I thought perhaps that the amount had not yet posted when the bill was billed. Not so. On May 29, 2014, I called regarding my bill and was told by Cox that I had to prove that I paid the amount. I went to my bank and had a cardholder transaction detail information pulled and got a copy. My bank informed me that only two companies in Arkansas used ********** for payments - Cox and the electric company. I have never had an electric bill that high. Thus follows my dealings with Cox:

May 30 - faxed the transaction detail.
May 31 - called but got no help
June 1 - Cox closed
June 2 - Called and was on the phone over an hour and passed ** to five different people. The last one hung up on me.
June 3 - Called again and told to refax the info
June 4 - Sent the info to ****** (ID# ***** along with a letter of explaining the situation (faxed to XXX-XXX-XXXX).
June 6 - Called and was told Cox had no record of the fax. The woman said she would contact ****** about my account.
June 11 - Called and was told to take my info to the local Cox store.
June 23 - Got a notice that my bill was being turned over to a collection agency. Called and spoke to someone named *****
July 7 - Received a bill in the mail informing me that my bill was $395.89 and that it would be turned over to a collection agency.
July 29 - My daughter gets a call from a collection agency about the bill.
July 30 - Called Cox and spoke to **** who said the bill was researched and the transaction detail did not indicate the money was paid to Cox. It certainly came out of my account though and it was not for an electric bill.
July 30 - E-mailing Cox, cc'ing Better Business Bureau of Arkansas.

Desired Settlement
I would like Cox to refund the $237.90 and to quit sending me bills and threatening me with turning the account over to a collection agency.

Business Response
A payment of $237.90 was received by ********** on April 17, however this was not sent to Cox. In attempt to support the customer, we did reach out to both her bank as well as *********** The representative at the bank confirmed Cox would be listed on Ms. ****'s bank statement along with the ********** information, had Cox received payment. The representative at the bank advised that they do not service Cox Communications. ********** does have the ability of researching the payment to verify what company it was sent to by obtaining the customer's routing and account number. We have spoken to Ms. ****, providing details to our findings as well as contact information to ********** to investigate her misapplied payment.

04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
No one seems to know who is doing what
3-12 bought a dvr was told cable service would be hooked up 3-14. called on 3-14 at 4pm was told they would be here by 7-30 called at 7pm was on hold for 17 minutes. was told it was hooked up but cox rep could not see the dvr and said "wow it shows it was connected". then phone call was lost. called back and was on hold for 16 minutes and a cox rep by the name of **** employee number XXXXX said a work order was never made for someone to come out and hook anything up and that she will go ahead and make one and they will be there 3-17anytime until 7pm. i spent 2 weeks with hearing excuses waiting for internet and only after filing a complaint did they finally get it turned on.

Desired Settlement
service charge, connect fee waived and first month free

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****, Exec Cust Res Spec
Contact Phone: ************
We want to thank Mr. ******** for taking the time to file his concerns. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused. We would like to have the opportunity to speak with him on this matter and further address his concerns but have not yet been able to speak with him. At his convenience, he may reach the contact provided on this form and we will be happy to speak with him. Thank you.

11/14/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They make it where once you have signed up you have to pay them full price for the entire length of the contract, there is no way to cancel.
I have used several cable companies over the last twenty years and I have never been in a contract where, when your business closes you have to pay the company the full monthly amount for the entire length of the contract. They can always argue that it's in the contract but it is unethical and you should be able to pay a reasonable early cancellation fee.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to cancel my contract immediately with no further charges.

Business Response
Dear Mr. ******, as we discussed a Customer Service Agreement with a 36-month term was signed for services on this account. Our Cox Business team is in review of the information you provided regarding the reloaction of your business. We will be in touch once this is reviewed. We thank you for your patience.

Final Business Response
Good morning Ms. ******,
Thank you for your email. Cox agreed to waive the early term fee associated with Mr. ******'s contract due to his office relocation to a non-serviceable area. We have spoken with Mr. ****** on this and he is very pleased with this resolution. He has my phone number should he have any further questions or concerns.

07/18/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was offered television services on a 30 day trial period, but received a bill of $56.84 a week after installation.
A door to door salesman of cox (***** works for a third party company of cox DMI) came to my house and offered a 30 day trial of television services because due to the company repairing a telephone line in a my neighborhood. I accepted and received the television box a week later (6/20/13). I received a bill for the services on (6/24/13) for $56.84. I called the XXXXXXXXXXX number to address the problem and they stated that "Those services were not noted on my account". The employee also hung up in my face. I then called the salesman ***** to verify my deal and he agreed that I was suppose to receive a free trial of 30 days. I dialed the number again (XXXXXXXXXXX)and asked to speak to a supervisor. I was able to talk to a cox supervisor **** (I believe) and she also stated the same thing as the employee before. So I called ***** on three way to address the problem. *****'s manager talked to the cox manager and agreed that I was suppose to receive my services for free on a 30 day trial. He gave me a number to call to cancel my services and to have my bill credited. I called the number XXXXXXXXXX to cancel my services and he told me that he could not bill my account because it was not in my notes for my account. I told him that I had just dialed the 1800 number and that everything should be on file that I should not have a bill due. He then tried to bill me for the box that was at my house and told me that if I did not bring it in that they would charge me an extra $30 after cancellation. I took the box back on 6/24/13. I spoke to an employee there and she told me that I could receive my phone records at the office located in Johnson, AR. I then went to the corporate office on 6/25/13 to obtain my phone records so that I could have my account credited. I spoke to the HR person (female forgot her name) and she said that she would pull my phone records for me. I still have not heard from her and my bill has not been credited.

Desired Settlement
I would like for the business to credit my account for services in which I should have not been billed for.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: ****, Cust Resol Spec
Contact Phone: ************
Dear Mr. *******, thank you for speaking with us on this matter. We sincerely apologize for any frustration caused. We are happy to hear you feel this is resolved. Should you have any further questions or concerns, you may reach us at XXX-XXX-XXXX or the contact provided on this form and we'll be happy to assist. Thank you.

09/23/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2
09/12/2013Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Services, Telephone & Television Cable Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/24/2005Business started: 01/01/1962
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR72117
(501) 372-4661
http://aclb.arkansas.gov

Federal Communications Commission
445 12th St SW
Washington, DC20554-0004
(187) 748-0320 ext 1
http://www.fcc.gov/licensing.html

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 2001, DE

Contact Information
Principal: Tara Albin (Cust Resolution Spec)Mrs. Desiree Murphy-Palmer (Customer Experience Manager)Ms. Gail Peck (Retail Sales Supervisor)Ms. Nancy Pierson (Administrative Assistant)Ms. Perla Rodriguez (Customer Retention Specialist)Ms. Kelly Zega (Director of Public Affairs)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite, Internet Services, Telephone & Television Cable Contractors

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Cox Communications

637 E Joyce Blvd STE 103

Fayetteville, AR 72703-6140

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 637 E Joyce Blvd STE 103 

    Fayetteville, AR 72703-6140(888) 952-3278
    (479) 208-6901

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Cox Communications is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (479) 751-2000
  • (479) 208-6901
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.