BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2011

Adams and Sons Roofing and Construction

Find a Location

Phone: (479) 629-0986Fax: (479) 434-4667PO Box 6213, Fort SmithAR 72906-6213

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/22/2011

BBB has determined that Adams and Sons Roofing and Construction meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Adams and Sons Roofing and Construction's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Adams and Sons Roofing and Construction

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 4
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
11/17/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
********* used unethical, unlawful and immoral business practices in attempt to intimidate me into signing a working contract with him.
I was provided with an estimate of $300 for him to do temporary patch work to the roof. After completing the job ********* demanded that I pay him $750.00 within 7 days or he would be filing a lien against our property. His demands were made before even providing an invoice for the services. I did not ask him to do anything else on my roof for him to incur such a drastic price increase nor was I notified that the price would be increased. He also informed our insurance adjuster of the $300.00 estimate. He was very aggressive and began harassing me on the phone. Foul language and name calling text messages were sent to my phone along with threats to file a lien for several times a day for several days. He attempted to pressure me into signing a contract so he could do the re-roof job. He used illegal marketing ploys stating that he would be able to waive my deductible and he offered to return $750.00 back to me from my insurance check. This is an unethical practice he used in an attempt to bribe me into defrauding my insurance provider. He displayed appalling behavior that no one should have to tolerate.

Desired Settlement
I wish to have no further contact with *********.

Business Response
E-mail from business owner:

Hello thank you for this update,
I will began by saying this man is stating false statements and I will persue slander charges of any damages come to my business or my status on BBB. Here is the truth this man called me to do a repair on his roof and I told him how much it would cost and I explained to him he had enough wind damage to file an insurance claim, we agreed on a verbal agreement that if I met the insurance andjuster at his house to go over roof and help show damages to the adjuster. He agreed to contract me if I and the adjuster could come to terms to replace the roof which we did come to terms to do a total replacement, upon the adjuster worksheet and paper work ammata the home owner knew we had previously agreed for my business to perform the roof contract, at the time of signing the contract ammata said he just wanted an estimate, and from my 7 years of doing professional business and having no complaints to BBB, you can see that he was the one trying to defraud his insurance and get an estimate on price when he knew that we agreed for my business to do the roof for total insurance proceeds which was what the insurance was paying for the job, ammata only wanted an estimate so he could get someone to do a less expensive job so he could pocket the extra money, which if a person was to investigate this they would see that is probably exactly what he has done. I did state my opinion to ammata for his actions of not going through with our verbal agreement of my business doing the roof, I was upset that he had lied to me and that I had waisted my time in all my efforts to secure the job. I did tell him that we had a verbal agreement and that he needed to stand behind his word and let my co do the work, I never used any foul language or intimidation factors. Ammata was the one at fault for giving a verbal agreement and double crossing someone to reap the extra money of insurance money, he got offended when I let him know that's what I thought he was doing. The original estimate of the emergency repair was 300 because of initially meeting the adjuster out and thinking I was going to get the job I lowered the repair cost to equalize the over all price of insurance scope of work, after arguing with ammata about our agreement and him not using us the price does go up because it was an emergency repair and we performed it in the rain on a cold day, so the original cost was 300 but that was worked into the over all claim of insurance not just a repair bill, ammata is trying to be the contractor and waisting my time to get what he wanted and now trying to slander my business. Every thing this guy has said is false and I would not acknowledge his statements. I do plan to persue payment from him for my repair work that was performed.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Every homeowner has the right to get several estimates before they decide which contractor they want to do the job. We have paid ********* for the temporary patch work and he still continues to antagonize us. We have all the text messages that proves his unprofessional business practices. As every homeowner would, we decided to choose a company that uses high quality products and operates in a manner that makes the customer feel comfortable. ********* was proposing to use a lesser quality shingle and his aggressive behavior was not one that we wanted to continue working with. The hateful, harassing messages need to stop.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Roofing Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/19/2011Business started: 01/01/2006Business started locally: 01/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR 72117
(501) 372-4661
http://aclb.arkansas.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Branden Adams (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Roofing Contractors

Alternate Business Names
Adams Roofing & Construction
Industry Tips
Remodeling
LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 811 S I St 

    Fort Smith, AR 72901-4535

  • PO Box 6213 

    Fort Smith, AR 72906-6213Fax: (479) 434-4667

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Adams and Sons Roofing and Construction is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Roofing Contractors

Remodeling
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.