BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 05/21/2007

Central Mortgage Company

Phone: (501) 716-5600Fax: (501) 716-5763

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Billing / Collection Issues10
Problems with Product / Service11
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints23

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (23)
12/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Central Mortgage will not acknowledge that they have received my proof of homeowners insurance that has been email to them numerous times.
Central Mortgage refuses to acknowledge receipt of my proof of homeowners insurance and continues to harass me in writing threatening to apply their own expensive hazard insurance.

My loan number is: XXXXXXXXXX

My insurance is State Auto policy #HCT XXXXXXX

My insurance agent faxed the policy to them on Nov. 11. She then emailed it again to them on Nov. 21 when they claimed they did not have it.

I also called them the evening of November 20 and spoke directly to them and gave them all the information on my insurance and referenced the Nov. 11 fax.

I have an email trail on all of the above correspondence by my insurance agent.


I received a letter dated November 27 from Central Mortgage requesting proof of insurance and threatening to place expensive hazard insurance on my loan.

This is the second year in a row that I have spent a month dealing with them to have them acknowledge my homeowners insurance.

They are harassing me. I want immediate acknowledgement in writing by Central Mortgage Co. of receipt of my homeowners insurance policy.

My next **** is placing a written complaint with AK Attorney General ****** ******** and CT Attorney General ****** ******* This will be done through my attorney in CT.

******* ******
** ****** **
************ ** XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Immediate acknowledgement in writing by Central Mortgage Company that they have received proof of my homeowners insurance and therefore they will not be applying duplicative hazard insurance on my mortgage.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@arvest.com
Central Mortgage Company (CMC) has researched our customer's complaint submitted to us via your office. The following is the series of events from our records regarding the correspondence and telephone calls about the need for proof of insurance in 2013 and 2014.

A letter dated 11/18/13 was sent to the customer. It was a courtesy reminder that proof of insurance coverage for the upcoming year had not been received. The letter is not intended to harass our customers.
The customer called in to CMC 11/21/13 to advise she had changed insurance carriers.
The customer called in to CMC 12/2/13. She forwarded an email to us that contained proof of coverage from 11/15/13 to 11/15/14.
A letter dated 11/7/14 was sent to the customer. It was a courtesy reminder that proof of insurance coverage for the coming year had not been received. The letter is not intended to harass our customers.
On 11/11/14 insurance information was received for the time period of 11/15/13 to 11/15/14.
A call was made to the customer on 11/20/14 and a message was left that what was received was not acceptable.
The customer called in 11/20/14 and stated she would resend the evidence of insurance.
CMC did not receive any further information until 12/3/14 when a binder for 30 days (11/15/14 to 12/15/14) was received.
The customer called in 12/5/14 to verify that updated insurance coverage had been received.
A call was made to the insurance company 12/8/14 to obtain a declaration page confirming coverage from 11/15/14 to 11/15/15. It was received.

We feel this is a thorough response to the customer's complaint. However, if further information is required do not hesitate to contact our office.

07/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues
05/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/18/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/23/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I sent requested insurance information to this company more than once, but they still obtained a policy for my home and have applied it to escrow.
I received three different requests for proof of insurance from Central Mortgage Company. I sent them a copy of my insurance policy after each request. However, on Saturday, August 24th I received a letter stating a master policy of insurane was obtained and the premium of $1,483.04 was charged against my escrow account. I have faxed my proof of insurance to this company again as well as called and emailed. I cannot reach a person when I call, only receive one automated menu after another and my emails have not been returned. I have had insurance on my home with Alfa for seven years and have provided this information to Central Mortgage every year without problems until now.

Desired Settlement
I want the insurance policy purchased on my behalf to be cancelled and I want the $1,483.04 charge removed from my escrow account. If Central Mortgage still has not received my proof of insurance, I can only assume the fax number provided was incorrect and therefore, the company should contact my insurance agent to verify my insurance. My agent's name is ************ with Alfa Insurance in Citronelle, AL. His phone number is ************.

Business Response

06/13/2016Billing / Collection Issues
05/26/2016Billing / Collection Issues
05/17/2016Problems with Product / Service
04/15/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 4

Industry Comparison| Chart

Mortgage Bankers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.