BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

Fairway Lawns, Inc. (Headquarters)

Find a Location

Phone: (501) 217-9100Fax: (501) 217-9200View Additional Phone Numbers10401 Colonel Glenn Rd, Little RockAR 72204-8001

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

BBB has determined that Fairway Lawns, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Find a Location

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Fairway Lawns, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service6
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Fairway Lawns, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Fairway Lawns damanged my front gutters by pushing my trash can into the gutters. I have it on tape. Company refuses to accept responsibility.
On Friday, August 21 around 1 pm, Fairway Lawns arrived at my home to fertilize my lawn for the first time. I met with a manager and a service technician, who would be performing the work. I went inside while the work was being performed but I have security cameras around the permiter of my house. I noticed the company pushed my trash can from the middle of the driveway (no where near the front gutters) into the front gutters causing damage. The trash can was pushede with the hose and was clearly due to carelessness and rushing by the service technician. The manager was present and could clearly see the trash can was pushed into the side of the house. The estimation of feet pushed would be 3-5 feet. I contacted the manager immediately to inform him of the damage and that it was on tape. The gutters have only been installed about one month and were very expensive. I explained that. The manager came back to view the damage and kept saying "if we did the damage." He knew a tape existed. The front gutters are damaged in two places, one of the front of the gutters and one on the side. The company came back a third time (without my permission) and took photos of the damage. I contacted the company that put the gutters on to have the repair done. This is a new house and new gutters, I am not leaving damage on my house. The gutters have been paid for but this company owes me money back. I called the corporate office in *********** and the receptionst was extremely rude, she would not tell me the upper manager's name. She said he would call me back but that never occured. This company does not run itself professionally and does not hold it's employees accountable for damage, let alone take responsibility when damage occurs.

Desired Settlement
Upper management and not someone named ****** needs to contact me.

Business Response
At Fairway Lawns we always treat the customer fairly and with respect and if we make a mistake we stand behind our work! Although we asked ************ on several occasions to provide us with a copy of her "Video" of our employee damaging her gutter (down spout) she never cooperated in our investigation and she was very rude to our employees on the phone! We asked her to have the gutter company fix the down spout and send us a copy of the invoice, which she did. Today, 9/3/2015 ************ came by our office and we gave her a check for $50.00 to cover the cost of the repair.

Consumer Response
Resolution has been met, business paid for gutter damage fee and I paid the business for the service. Please close the case.

07/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

I received 6 invoices and paid them with 1 check only to discover later that the business had already charged my credit card. They refuse to discuss.
In April, 2015 I had Fairway Lawns treat 6 properties that my company, *********, owns. I received 6 invoices totaling $230.40 that I paid with 1 check. Later I found that these invoices had already been charged to my credit card, totaling $230.40. I contacted Fairway Lawns by telephone in effort to resolve this matter of double payment, but without luck. (I merely asked that they refund the overpayment.) Then, we traded a couple of emails but still without any satisfactory resolution, in other words they are keeping my overpayment. My subsequent emails have been ignored by Fairway Lawns. I have owned my own businesses for many years and would never treat a customer this way.

One of the problems may be that Fairway Lawns assigned a separate customer number for each property owned by ********* instead of assigning just one number for the business as all of my other vendors do. Its interesting that they sent all the invoices to the same address for ********* (as they should have). This indicates their awareness that all belong to the same business.

Below are the Customer and Invoice Numbers and Amounts. I do not want to give the full addresses here, so only the Street names are shown.

Property on 139th Place:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on *****************:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Dogwood Ave:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Glen Place:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Glen Street:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Nyssa Ave:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

This month, I received an invoice for a treatment done on the ***************** property on June 3rd. It listed my previous balance at $0.00, i.e. not acknowledging the credit that I should have.

I had no such issue with the previous treatment service that I used, or any other vendor that I have ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement
Any one of the following three resolutions will resolve the issue along with communicating to me which resolution I should expect to see:

1. Refund the amount of the overpayment of $230.40 by check.

2. Credit the card charged by the amount of the overpayment of $230.40.

3. Or, create one customer account for Dylan LLC and credit this account with the amount of the overpayment.

I do not seek terminating future treatments as the local branch of Fairway Lawns has been doing a good job in this regard.

Business Response
Under 'Consumers Desired Resolution' ***** first resolve was to have a refund check sent to him for $230.40, which we did on June 23, 2015 check #*****. There was a delay in responding to his request because the employee he was emailing went on vacation for a week and a half. So when he replied to her last email she was not here nor did she have her 'out of office' reply on. So he had no way of knowing she was not here to respond. As soon as she got back she put in the request for his refund and it was sent out that day. I have emailed the customer to confirm he received the check, waiting his response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Fertilizer and Limestone applied to lawn was allowed to be broadcast onto my decorative stamped walkway and gazebo floor damaging the surface.
The fertilizer and/or limestone product should have been blown off of the decorative surface to prevent damage. I complained to the company several times advising them of my concerns. When the damage to the surface became extremely noticeable, I called requesting a rep meet me to discuss the damage. After much dithering, the company now informs me that they will not repair the damage.

Desired Settlement
Repair of damaged surface.

Business Response
We cannot take full responsibility for all of the damage on his patio as we have had 3 different professionals tell us that the patio was not sealed or maintained properly. However, we do take partial responsibility and have agreed to pay our customer $1,150.00 which he has accepted as payment in full. The $1,150.00 covers the total cost estimated to repair all damage including that which we are not responsible for.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I have used fairway for several years and this year is the worst. I have and unacceptable amount of broad-leaf in my yard along with to bald spots.
as per above statement I have put in several calls to a rep at fairway name ****** to let him know that my yard is heavy infested with weeds and the last time he was out I asked about the bald spots in yard. his only answer was he sprayed for a weed and it caused the bald spot and the broad leafs would die when the temperature warms up. if that's the case why treat the lawn when heat kills the weeds. I have not been able to get a rep to come out and give me service that I have paid for. I cancel the plan when I paid the bill but expect service for all the years of treatments paid. in other words come fix what I have paid for and then we will part company.

Desired Settlement
just come out and get read of the weeds and fertilize or sod the bald spots.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********., Branch Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
I spoke to Mr **** on 6-26 at 4p, about his complaint, Asst Mgr ****** tried to contact him and was not able to speak to him but did leave several phone msgs to find out issues. Mr **** and I had a phone conversation about his issues and he agreed to allow Fairway Lawns to come to his house on 6-27 to respray weeds and fertilize lawn. I assured Mr **** I would follow up with him in 3-4 wks to see that his issues were resolved. He agreed. Mr **** has been a customer of Fairway Lawns for several years and we want him to be satisfied with our services.

12/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Fairway charged us for services that were never signed for or agreed to. We prepaid 307.00 for the entire year and now they wanting additional money.
They asked us if we wanted an estimate on an additional shrub application and we never got the estimate and never agreed to the actual service. They told my wife they that I agreed to the service which I never did. We also prepaid for all lawn services at the beginning of the year and now they say that was only for phase 1. I prepaid for the entire year not just for a single phase and we never agreed to a second phase. They have no signed work orders for anything they are charging us for.

Desired Settlement
Cancel any pending charges, cancel any future services and never call us again.

Business Response
This service the customer is referring to has been credited off their account. The do not owe for the tree/shrub service. Per the customer request their account has been cancelled.

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

false promise , not loyal to their word about quality of their service, improper charges, causing much more lawn trouble for me to handle.
I had a few Dalis grass growing in my lawn at the beginning of 2013 , this co. at the time of sign up , expressed over the phone that there wont be any extra charge for treatment of Dalis grass . They treated my lawn on 03/27/2013 then on 05/13/13 also on 06/20/13 which each time they post a statement of lawn analysis and report of the tech. with the amout of charge . and after that nobody showed up to do any treatment to my lawn , the Dalis grass started growing more and more which now is covering most of my lawn . Surprisingly I received an statement of charge claiming that they treated my lawn on 08/01/13 which I had never seen any sign of treatment ( the green dye chemical on my lawn or any sign of pebbles of they had used granulated weed and feed control what so ever , nor , any statement or lawn analysis posting on my door as usual for this date 08/01/2013 !!!!!. also I noticed a charge of 94.00 dollars for grassy weed control !!! which they charged me to kill the Dalis grass !!! . I was very disturb about the fact that they claim an excellent service but actually they present the poorest service ever and they let my little trouble of Dalis grass became a huge problem now and not only is controlled but also has been grown all over my yard . the $94 charge on 08/01/2013 claiming that they treated my lawn is not real and I do not accept it , plus , I do not accept the $ 94 charge for grassy weed control treatment which they did not do it and only sign of these claimed treatment is on their invoice , not on my lawn because there is no sign of improvement either . I had called several time to customer service and they refer me to the gentleman named Kelley , and he promised me to take a look at my lawn and see the problem for himself and he said he will be in touch with me after that which he did not do anything !!!! I had called several time after that and there is gentleman named **** , which I had explain the situation , but I am very surprised that not only they did not honored their claim of quality of the job and customer service !!! but instead of fixing the problem that they created , they turned my account to a collection agency !!! I am a successful business man with high income , and high credit score , these charges of two $ 94 is nothing for me at all , but just the concept of them ignoring my complain and not doing about fixing the problem turning my lawn to an ugly looking one ! is bothering me .

Desired Settlement
they sent me an invoice of 282.00 which 94.00 of this amount is accepted by me and I will pay that. But the charge of 94.00 for the service date on 08/01/13 and the charge of 94.00 for grassy weed control ( killing the Dalis grass !!) is not real and I do not agree with it and its scam .
They are responsible to letting a few dalis grass growing to all over my lawn now and instead of having less problem they want me to pay for it without any result of improvement . they need to call to their collection agency and cancel their request and treat my lawn or I will take the matter to the proper authorities . thank you . **** ***** customer no XXXXXX .

Business Response
Dallisgrass is a grassy weed found in lawns throughout the Huntsville area. It begins to germinate and grow when temperatures reach approximately 85 degrees and continues to thrive through the hot summer months. It is not uncommon for a lawn to only have a small amount in May and then the entire lawn be full of it by July and August. There are no pre emergents that prevent it from germinating so it must be treated after it reaches maturity. There is only one product which effectively controls it and that product is most effective when temperatures are above 90 degrees.We offer a Grassy Weed Control program which consists of a minimum of 2 applications spaced 7 days apart. We only charge the customer for one of the applications and if Dallisgrass continues to be a problem after the second application we will make a follow up at no additional charge. Furthermore, if any Dallisgrass reappears in the lawn for 2 years we treat it at no additional charge. In order for these applications to be effective the customer must mow regularly and water as needed. When I inspected Mr. *****'s lawn the Bermuda turf was between 6 and 8 inches tall and there were clumps of Dallisgrass that were waist high. The technician had spoken with him several times regarding the importance of proper mowing but it has been a problem all year. There were occasions when the technician did not treat the lawn due to the height of the grass. I spoke with Mr. ***** and explained the Grassy Weed Control program and explained it may take several treatments to eradicate it, but they would be done at no additional charge to him. I also explained the importance of proper mowing to achieve the best results. This program does work when the applications are applied at 7 day intervals, we were not able to complete the program as Mr. *****'s account was placed on a credit hold for non payment. The window for controlling Dallisgrass is very short as I previously stated. We have applied a $188.00 credit to Mr. *****'s account, leaving him a balance due of $94.00. Should Mr. ***** wish to continue his service with Fairway Lawns we would be glad to have his business.

04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Tree Care, Fertilizers, Weed Control Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 05/12/1998Business started: 01/01/1979New Owner Date: 01/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

AR State Plant Board
1 Natural Resource Drive
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 225-1598

Type of Entity


Incorporated: January 1979, AR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordon Eckardt (VP of Operations)Mr. Bob Barwick (Huntsville, AL Manager)Mr. John Carr (Little Rock Manager)Mr. Greg Davis (Alabaster, AL Manager)Mr. James Hess (Fort Smith Manager)Mr. Mark Hudspeth (Springdale Manager)Mr. Stuart Kassler (Memphis Manager)Mr. Kelley McDowell (Augusta, GA Manager)Mr. James Parker (Tulsa, OK Manager)Mr. Bob Rice (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Tree Care, Fertilizers, Weed Control Service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Fairway Lawns, Inc.

10401 Colonel Glenn Rd

Little Rock, AR 72204-8001

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Fairway Lawns, Inc. is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 300-8565
  • (205) 978-2060
  • (901) 752-1222
  • (918) 585-3400
  • (256) 890-8222
  • (706) 849-2255

Additional Fax Numbers

  • (479) 494-7904
  • (479) 756-9580

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Lawn Maintenance


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.