BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

Fairway Lawns, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (501) 217-9100Fax: (501) 217-9200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service8
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints11

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
03/28/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
There have been communication/lawn problems between ************************************* and my house at *****************************************.
First, in August 2015 I was in communication with ************ in regards to a Cinch bugs infestation in my lawn. I asked if Fairway Lawns could do a soil sample which I offered to pay for. He stated that they could do a soil sample, however, a soil sample was never taken. Email has been the normal means of communication between us for the last year and a half that we've been using Fairway Lawns.

Then on December 31st, 2015, I emailed both ************************************ regarding my lawn looking unhealthy. I received no response, but was understanding since this was the holiday season.

On January 14th, I sent a follow up email to both ***************************** stating that the grass had brown patches on it growing. I received no response.

On January 18th a technician completed a normal field call. He applied Atrazine 4L to the lawn. There was no mention from the field technician about the growing brown spots taking over the lawn, even though this is something I would expect a field technician to recognize. I still had never heard back from ********************.

I wrote ************ on January 19th because there was a credit card left on our porch after the technician finished spraying. ************ did reply to that email letting me know that he also had received my previous emails as well.

On February 23rd I contacted Fairway Lawns through their website and requested to cancel my account. My account has not been canceled and still nobody contacted me to follow up.

My husband called the fairway office on March 4th and requested to talk to ************. He was told he was not in the office, but they would leave him a message to call back. He still has not had his call returned.

I sent another email on March 9th referencing the issues in communication and the brown patch taking over my lawn. I still have not heard any response.

I would like a significant portion of my money refunded since the technicians refuse to respond to my calls and their lack of oversight and professionalism could cost me thousands in replacing/repairing the St. Augustine on my lawns. This is not the service that is expected from a nationwide organization that is rated as A by the Better Business Bureau. We are incredibly displeased by the service your company has provided us.

Desired Settlement
A significant refund of money paid for services and front lawn repaired if necessary due to negligence.

Business Response
E-mail from business:

************ has a St. Augustine lawn which she had installed approximately 2 years ago. Immediately following her installation of St Augustine sod, problems with Chinch Bugs and Brown Patch disease started. We made numerous applications of both insecticide and fungicide to control these issues, most of which were done on a Service Call basis at no charge to ************. These have continued to be ongoing problems in her St Augustine grass. All grass types have advantages and disadvantages, unfortunately Chinch Bugs and Brown Patch are inherently common to St Augustine grass, so much so that our program for this type of turf includes insecticide and fungicide at no additional cost to the customer. There is no way to predict or prevent either of these issues so we must treat them on a curative basis rather than preventative.

When the technician applied ************** first application of 2016 on January 14th it is likely that the Brown Patch she was seeing was existing damage left from the fall of 2015 as Brown Patch is not active during the winter.The active Brown Patch was treated with a fungicide in the fall of 2015 as this is our standard application for St Augustine during that time as the disease is very active. Unfortunately, that late in the growing season there is not enough time or proper conditions for the turf to promote new growth in the affected areas and the "patches" remain visible until the following spring even though the disease is not active.

On February 23rd, 2016 ************ cancelled her service with Fairway Lawns, stating she was concerned the products we applied may have contributed to her dog becoming ill. Based on that we have made no further applications of any product to her lawn. Within the last 2 weeks we have started to see active Brown Patch throughout our service area and are currently making fungicide applications to control it.

************** lawn is not dead but there is a high probability that she now has active Brown Patch that should be treated with an appropriate fungicide. As I previously stated, Brown Patch and Chinch Bugs will be an ongoing problem in her St Augustine lawn and there is no way anyone can predict or prevent these problems, they can only be treated after they appear.

We regret that we were not able to meet ************** expectations but the problems she has with her lawn are not the result of any negligence on our part or due to any applications we have made.

We would be happy to refund her last 3 applications($155.00), this represents all applications back to the fall fungicide application made in 2015.

Sincerely your,

*************************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
************,

I agree with your suggested resolution to the problem of a refund of $155.

However, I would disagree with your statement that there was not negligence on your part. My husband and I both made efforts to contact Fairway Lawns numerous times since December. Even after canceling service via the website in February, I was told I would be getting a response and my husband attempted to call.

Our main complaint has been and still is that we contacted your office in December when we were already seeing the brown patch and received absolutely no response. Because it was a very mild winter, our grass didn't even start going fully dormant until late January, so the brown patches I described in my December and January email were very prominent when our lawn was treated in January. The patches were not noticeable at all once the grass went fully dormant, but since brown patch can survive a dormant season - the disease was still there once spring hit.

At this point, I have self treated the brown patch myself with fungicides, and my grass is coming back, however, when I pay a company over $500 a year to treat my lawn with a program that provides insecticide and fungicide at no additional cost to the customer, I actually expect the company to follow through and respond to calls.

I accept the $155 refund and I hope that your company will keep the lines of communication open with future clients.

Sincerely,

************

09/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fairway Lawns damanged my front gutters by pushing my trash can into the gutters. I have it on tape. Company refuses to accept responsibility.
On Friday, August 21 around 1 pm, Fairway Lawns arrived at my home to fertilize my lawn for the first time. I met with a manager and a service technician, who would be performing the work. I went inside while the work was being performed but I have security cameras around the permiter of my house. I noticed the company pushed my trash can from the middle of the driveway (no where near the front gutters) into the front gutters causing damage. The trash can was pushede with the hose and was clearly due to carelessness and rushing by the service technician. The manager was present and could clearly see the trash can was pushed into the side of the house. The estimation of feet pushed would be 3-5 feet. I contacted the manager immediately to inform him of the damage and that it was on tape. The gutters have only been installed about one month and were very expensive. I explained that. The manager came back to view the damage and kept saying "if we did the damage." He knew a tape existed. The front gutters are damaged in two places, one of the front of the gutters and one on the side. The company came back a third time (without my permission) and took photos of the damage. I contacted the company that put the gutters on to have the repair done. This is a new house and new gutters, I am not leaving damage on my house. The gutters have been paid for but this company owes me money back. I called the corporate office in *********** and the receptionst was extremely rude, she would not tell me the upper manager's name. She said he would call me back but that never occured. This company does not run itself professionally and does not hold it's employees accountable for damage, let alone take responsibility when damage occurs.

Desired Settlement
Upper management and not someone named ****** needs to contact me.

Business Response
At Fairway Lawns we always treat the customer fairly and with respect and if we make a mistake we stand behind our work! Although we asked ************ on several occasions to provide us with a copy of her "Video" of our employee damaging her gutter (down spout) she never cooperated in our investigation and she was very rude to our employees on the phone! We asked her to have the gutter company fix the down spout and send us a copy of the invoice, which she did. Today, 9/3/2015 ************ came by our office and we gave her a check for $50.00 to cover the cost of the repair.

Consumer Response
Resolution has been met, business paid for gutter damage fee and I paid the business for the service. Please close the case.

07/02/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received 6 invoices and paid them with 1 check only to discover later that the business had already charged my credit card. They refuse to discuss.
In April, 2015 I had Fairway Lawns treat 6 properties that my company, *********, owns. I received 6 invoices totaling $230.40 that I paid with 1 check. Later I found that these invoices had already been charged to my credit card, totaling $230.40. I contacted Fairway Lawns by telephone in effort to resolve this matter of double payment, but without luck. (I merely asked that they refund the overpayment.) Then, we traded a couple of emails but still without any satisfactory resolution, in other words they are keeping my overpayment. My subsequent emails have been ignored by Fairway Lawns. I have owned my own businesses for many years and would never treat a customer this way.

One of the problems may be that Fairway Lawns assigned a separate customer number for each property owned by ********* instead of assigning just one number for the business as all of my other vendors do. Its interesting that they sent all the invoices to the same address for ********* (as they should have). This indicates their awareness that all belong to the same business.

Below are the Customer and Invoice Numbers and Amounts. I do not want to give the full addresses here, so only the Street names are shown.

Property on 139th Place:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on *****************:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Dogwood Ave:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Glen Place:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Glen Street:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

Property on Nyssa Ave:
Customer #******, Invoice #*******, $*****

This month, I received an invoice for a treatment done on the ***************** property on June 3rd. It listed my previous balance at $0.00, i.e. not acknowledging the credit that I should have.

I had no such issue with the previous treatment service that I used, or any other vendor that I have ever dealt with.

Desired Settlement
Any one of the following three resolutions will resolve the issue along with communicating to me which resolution I should expect to see:

1. Refund the amount of the overpayment of $230.40 by check.

2. Credit the card charged by the amount of the overpayment of $230.40.

3. Or, create one customer account for Dylan LLC and credit this account with the amount of the overpayment.

I do not seek terminating future treatments as the local branch of Fairway Lawns has been doing a good job in this regard.

Business Response
Under 'Consumers Desired Resolution' ***** first resolve was to have a refund check sent to him for $230.40, which we did on June 23, 2015 check #*****. There was a delay in responding to his request because the employee he was emailing went on vacation for a week and a half. So when he replied to her last email she was not here nor did she have her 'out of office' reply on. So he had no way of knowing she was not here to respond. As soon as she got back she put in the request for his refund and it was sent out that day. I have emailed the customer to confirm he received the check, waiting his response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


04/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fertilizer and Limestone applied to lawn was allowed to be broadcast onto my decorative stamped walkway and gazebo floor damaging the surface.
The fertilizer and/or limestone product should have been blown off of the decorative surface to prevent damage. I complained to the company several times advising them of my concerns. When the damage to the surface became extremely noticeable, I called requesting a rep meet me to discuss the damage. After much dithering, the company now informs me that they will not repair the damage.

Desired Settlement
Repair of damaged surface.

Business Response
We cannot take full responsibility for all of the damage on his patio as we have had 3 different professionals tell us that the patio was not sealed or maintained properly. However, we do take partial responsibility and have agreed to pay our customer $1,150.00 which he has accepted as payment in full. The $1,150.00 covers the total cost estimated to repair all damage including that which we are not responsible for.

07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have used fairway for several years and this year is the worst. I have and unacceptable amount of broad-leaf in my yard along with to bald spots.
as per above statement I have put in several calls to a rep at fairway name ****** to let him know that my yard is heavy infested with weeds and the last time he was out I asked about the bald spots in yard. his only answer was he sprayed for a weed and it caused the bald spot and the broad leafs would die when the temperature warms up. if that's the case why treat the lawn when heat kills the weeds. I have not been able to get a rep to come out and give me service that I have paid for. I cancel the plan when I paid the bill but expect service for all the years of treatments paid. in other words come fix what I have paid for and then we will part company.

Desired Settlement
just come out and get read of the weeds and fertilize or sod the bald spots.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********., Branch Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
I spoke to Mr **** on 6-26 at 4p, about his complaint, Asst Mgr ****** tried to contact him and was not able to speak to him but did leave several phone msgs to find out issues. Mr **** and I had a phone conversation about his issues and he agreed to allow Fairway Lawns to come to his house on 6-27 to respray weeds and fertilize lawn. I assured Mr **** I would follow up with him in 3-4 wks to see that his issues were resolved. He agreed. Mr **** has been a customer of Fairway Lawns for several years and we want him to be satisfied with our services.

12/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fairway charged us for services that were never signed for or agreed to. We prepaid 307.00 for the entire year and now they wanting additional money.
They asked us if we wanted an estimate on an additional shrub application and we never got the estimate and never agreed to the actual service. They told my wife they that I agreed to the service which I never did. We also prepaid for all lawn services at the beginning of the year and now they say that was only for phase 1. I prepaid for the entire year not just for a single phase and we never agreed to a second phase. They have no signed work orders for anything they are charging us for.

Desired Settlement
Cancel any pending charges, cancel any future services and never call us again.

Business Response
This service the customer is referring to has been credited off their account. The do not owe for the tree/shrub service. Per the customer request their account has been cancelled.

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
false promise , not loyal to their word about quality of their service, improper charges, causing much more lawn trouble for me to handle.
I had a few Dalis grass growing in my lawn at the beginning of 2013 , this co. at the time of sign up , expressed over the phone that there wont be any extra charge for treatment of Dalis grass . They treated my lawn on 03/27/2013 then on 05/13/13 also on 06/20/13 which each time they post a statement of lawn analysis and report of the tech. with the amout of charge . and after that nobody showed up to do any treatment to my lawn , the Dalis grass started growing more and more which now is covering most of my lawn . Surprisingly I received an statement of charge claiming that they treated my lawn on 08/01/13 which I had never seen any sign of treatment ( the green dye chemical on my lawn or any sign of pebbles of they had used granulated weed and feed control what so ever , nor , any statement or lawn analysis posting on my door as usual for this date 08/01/2013 !!!!!. also I noticed a charge of 94.00 dollars for grassy weed control !!! which they charged me to kill the Dalis grass !!! . I was very disturb about the fact that they claim an excellent service but actually they present the poorest service ever and they let my little trouble of Dalis grass became a huge problem now and not only is controlled but also has been grown all over my yard . the $94 charge on 08/01/2013 claiming that they treated my lawn is not real and I do not accept it , plus , I do not accept the $ 94 charge for grassy weed control treatment which they did not do it and only sign of these claimed treatment is on their invoice , not on my lawn because there is no sign of improvement either . I had called several time to customer service and they refer me to the gentleman named Kelley , and he promised me to take a look at my lawn and see the problem for himself and he said he will be in touch with me after that which he did not do anything !!!! I had called several time after that and there is gentleman named **** , which I had explain the situation , but I am very surprised that not only they did not honored their claim of quality of the job and customer service !!! but instead of fixing the problem that they created , they turned my account to a collection agency !!! I am a successful business man with high income , and high credit score , these charges of two $ 94 is nothing for me at all , but just the concept of them ignoring my complain and not doing about fixing the problem turning my lawn to an ugly looking one ! is bothering me .

Desired Settlement
they sent me an invoice of 282.00 which 94.00 of this amount is accepted by me and I will pay that. But the charge of 94.00 for the service date on 08/01/13 and the charge of 94.00 for grassy weed control ( killing the Dalis grass !!) is not real and I do not agree with it and its scam .
They are responsible to letting a few dalis grass growing to all over my lawn now and instead of having less problem they want me to pay for it without any result of improvement . they need to call to their collection agency and cancel their request and treat my lawn or I will take the matter to the proper authorities . thank you . **** ***** customer no XXXXXX .

Business Response
Dallisgrass is a grassy weed found in lawns throughout the Huntsville area. It begins to germinate and grow when temperatures reach approximately 85 degrees and continues to thrive through the hot summer months. It is not uncommon for a lawn to only have a small amount in May and then the entire lawn be full of it by July and August. There are no pre emergents that prevent it from germinating so it must be treated after it reaches maturity. There is only one product which effectively controls it and that product is most effective when temperatures are above 90 degrees.We offer a Grassy Weed Control program which consists of a minimum of 2 applications spaced 7 days apart. We only charge the customer for one of the applications and if Dallisgrass continues to be a problem after the second application we will make a follow up at no additional charge. Furthermore, if any Dallisgrass reappears in the lawn for 2 years we treat it at no additional charge. In order for these applications to be effective the customer must mow regularly and water as needed. When I inspected Mr. *****'s lawn the Bermuda turf was between 6 and 8 inches tall and there were clumps of Dallisgrass that were waist high. The technician had spoken with him several times regarding the importance of proper mowing but it has been a problem all year. There were occasions when the technician did not treat the lawn due to the height of the grass. I spoke with Mr. ***** and explained the Grassy Weed Control program and explained it may take several treatments to eradicate it, but they would be done at no additional charge to him. I also explained the importance of proper mowing to achieve the best results. This program does work when the applications are applied at 7 day intervals, we were not able to complete the program as Mr. *****'s account was placed on a credit hold for non payment. The window for controlling Dallisgrass is very short as I previously stated. We have applied a $188.00 credit to Mr. *****'s account, leaving him a balance due of $94.00. Should Mr. ***** wish to continue his service with Fairway Lawns we would be glad to have his business.

04/27/2016Problems with Product / Service
04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Tree Care, Fertilizers, Weed Control Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.