BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/19/2012

Fairway Lawns, Inc. (Headquarters)

Phone: (501) 217-9100Fax: (501) 217-9200

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
07/08/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have used fairway for several years and this year is the worst. I have and unacceptable amount of broad-leaf in my yard along with to bald spots.
as per above statement I have put in several calls to a rep at fairway name ****** to let him know that my yard is heavy infested with weeds and the last time he was out I asked about the bald spots in yard. his only answer was he sprayed for a weed and it caused the bald spot and the broad leafs would die when the temperature warms up. if that's the case why treat the lawn when heat kills the weeds. I have not been able to get a rep to come out and give me service that I have paid for. I cancel the plan when I paid the bill but expect service for all the years of treatments paid. in other words come fix what I have paid for and then we will part company.

Desired Settlement
just come out and get read of the weeds and fertilize or sod the bald spots.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ********., Branch Mgr.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
I spoke to Mr **** on 6-26 at 4p, about his complaint, Asst Mgr ****** tried to contact him and was not able to speak to him but did leave several phone msgs to find out issues. Mr **** and I had a phone conversation about his issues and he agreed to allow Fairway Lawns to come to his house on 6-27 to respray weeds and fertilize lawn. I assured Mr **** I would follow up with him in 3-4 wks to see that his issues were resolved. He agreed. Mr **** has been a customer of Fairway Lawns for several years and we want him to be satisfied with our services.

12/12/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Fairway charged us for services that were never signed for or agreed to. We prepaid 307.00 for the entire year and now they wanting additional money.
They asked us if we wanted an estimate on an additional shrub application and we never got the estimate and never agreed to the actual service. They told my wife they that I agreed to the service which I never did. We also prepaid for all lawn services at the beginning of the year and now they say that was only for phase 1. I prepaid for the entire year not just for a single phase and we never agreed to a second phase. They have no signed work orders for anything they are charging us for.

Desired Settlement
Cancel any pending charges, cancel any future services and never call us again.

Business Response
This service the customer is referring to has been credited off their account. The do not owe for the tree/shrub service. Per the customer request their account has been cancelled.

10/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
false promise , not loyal to their word about quality of their service, improper charges, causing much more lawn trouble for me to handle.
I had a few Dalis grass growing in my lawn at the beginning of 2013 , this co. at the time of sign up , expressed over the phone that there wont be any extra charge for treatment of Dalis grass . They treated my lawn on 03/27/2013 then on 05/13/13 also on 06/20/13 which each time they post a statement of lawn analysis and report of the tech. with the amout of charge . and after that nobody showed up to do any treatment to my lawn , the Dalis grass started growing more and more which now is covering most of my lawn . Surprisingly I received an statement of charge claiming that they treated my lawn on 08/01/13 which I had never seen any sign of treatment ( the green dye chemical on my lawn or any sign of pebbles of they had used granulated weed and feed control what so ever , nor , any statement or lawn analysis posting on my door as usual for this date 08/01/2013 !!!!!. also I noticed a charge of 94.00 dollars for grassy weed control !!! which they charged me to kill the Dalis grass !!! . I was very disturb about the fact that they claim an excellent service but actually they present the poorest service ever and they let my little trouble of Dalis grass became a huge problem now and not only is controlled but also has been grown all over my yard . the $94 charge on 08/01/2013 claiming that they treated my lawn is not real and I do not accept it , plus , I do not accept the $ 94 charge for grassy weed control treatment which they did not do it and only sign of these claimed treatment is on their invoice , not on my lawn because there is no sign of improvement either . I had called several time to customer service and they refer me to the gentleman named Kelley , and he promised me to take a look at my lawn and see the problem for himself and he said he will be in touch with me after that which he did not do anything !!!! I had called several time after that and there is gentleman named **** , which I had explain the situation , but I am very surprised that not only they did not honored their claim of quality of the job and customer service !!! but instead of fixing the problem that they created , they turned my account to a collection agency !!! I am a successful business man with high income , and high credit score , these charges of two $ 94 is nothing for me at all , but just the concept of them ignoring my complain and not doing about fixing the problem turning my lawn to an ugly looking one ! is bothering me .

Desired Settlement
they sent me an invoice of 282.00 which 94.00 of this amount is accepted by me and I will pay that. But the charge of 94.00 for the service date on 08/01/13 and the charge of 94.00 for grassy weed control ( killing the Dalis grass !!) is not real and I do not agree with it and its scam .
They are responsible to letting a few dalis grass growing to all over my lawn now and instead of having less problem they want me to pay for it without any result of improvement . they need to call to their collection agency and cancel their request and treat my lawn or I will take the matter to the proper authorities . thank you . **** ***** customer no XXXXXX .

Business Response
Dallisgrass is a grassy weed found in lawns throughout the Huntsville area. It begins to germinate and grow when temperatures reach approximately 85 degrees and continues to thrive through the hot summer months. It is not uncommon for a lawn to only have a small amount in May and then the entire lawn be full of it by July and August. There are no pre emergents that prevent it from germinating so it must be treated after it reaches maturity. There is only one product which effectively controls it and that product is most effective when temperatures are above 90 degrees.We offer a Grassy Weed Control program which consists of a minimum of 2 applications spaced 7 days apart. We only charge the customer for one of the applications and if Dallisgrass continues to be a problem after the second application we will make a follow up at no additional charge. Furthermore, if any Dallisgrass reappears in the lawn for 2 years we treat it at no additional charge. In order for these applications to be effective the customer must mow regularly and water as needed. When I inspected Mr. *****'s lawn the Bermuda turf was between 6 and 8 inches tall and there were clumps of Dallisgrass that were waist high. The technician had spoken with him several times regarding the importance of proper mowing but it has been a problem all year. There were occasions when the technician did not treat the lawn due to the height of the grass. I spoke with Mr. ***** and explained the Grassy Weed Control program and explained it may take several treatments to eradicate it, but they would be done at no additional charge to him. I also explained the importance of proper mowing to achieve the best results. This program does work when the applications are applied at 7 day intervals, we were not able to complete the program as Mr. *****'s account was placed on a credit hold for non payment. The window for controlling Dallisgrass is very short as I previously stated. We have applied a $188.00 credit to Mr. *****'s account, leaving him a balance due of $94.00. Should Mr. ***** wish to continue his service with Fairway Lawns we would be glad to have his business.

06/07/2012Billing / Collection Issues
05/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues
04/29/2014Billing / Collection Issues
09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service
09/25/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lawn Maintenance, Lawn & Tree Care, Fertilizers, Weed Control Service

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.