BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

QU-BD, Inc.

Find a Location

(501) 400-63338 Cape Cod Ct, Little RockAR 72212-2602http://www.q3dprinter.comView Additional Web Addresses

! There is an alert for this business !

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

QU-BD, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered QU-BD, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 63 complaints filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 35 complaints filed against business.
  • 3 complaints filed against business that were not resolved.
  • Length of time business has taken to respond to complaint(s).

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

63 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues4
Delivery Issues30
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service27
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 63

Additional Complaint Information

On January 28, 2015, BBB initiated an investigation on QU-BD, Inc., due to the number of complaints received from consumers within a short period of time. BBB received forty-four (44) consumer complaints between October 25, 2013 and February 19, 2015. As of March 13, 2015, twenty-six (26) of those complaints have never been answered. Many of the complaints are from consumers who funded the company's 2013 Kickstarter campaign. According to information found on Kickstarter, the QU-BD One Up is the world's first production ready 3D printer to break the $200.00 barrier. It uses industry standard technology and electronics and everything is Open source". The company's goal to raise $9,000.00 was dwarfed by over $400,000.00 in contributions. Consumers who contributed to the Kickstarter campaign were to receive either a One Up or Two Up 3D printer, based on their contribution of $199 or $279 respectively. In addition to the 3D printers promised through Kickstarter, the company also sells 3D printers through their website, http://www.q3dprinter.com/. Regardless of the source, most of the complaints from consumers are due to product or delivery issues. The complaints allege that the 3D printers arrived in broken, non-working condition or not at all.

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on QU-BD, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (63)
03/29/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Returned 3D Printer Kit after receiving RMA never received refund.
I returned a 3D Printer Kit due to quality issues. Company issued RMA, I sent printer back via Priority Mail with Tracking Number and confirmed they received the item. They confirmed they rec'd item and started the refund process. Never received refund, and they stated they were looking into why refund never issued. After much attempts to contact to find out status of refund they stopped communicating with me and I still do not have refund as of 2/29/16.

Desired Settlement
Simply issue refund for full price and any taxes immediately.

Business Response
E-mail from business:

*********** has already been refunded for this order.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
QU-BD issued a refund check which is fine, but would have been better if we did not have to get BBB, AR AG and FTC involved to resolve issue.

12/14/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I ordered on 11-13, they promised delivery by 11-19. on 11-17 they printed a shipping label and said it was shipped. USPS says they never sent it out.
I ordered on 11-13 because it seemed like a quick solution to getting a 3d printer and not waiting on delivery from out of the US. They listed it as shipped on their site on 11-17. I paid extra for expedited shipping. After a week of USPS saying all they did was print a shipping label and never actually ship it out I tried to call, email and file a ticket on their site. Phone goes right to voicemail with no ring, email and ticket on their site go un answered. I contacted my bank and had them refund changes and go after them for a fraudulent charge. Still no answer from the company but if they respond the the bank I could be charged $50.

Desired Settlement
I need the cost of the 3d printer refunded (may be taken care of by bank) but I also need $350 for lost revenue due to the printer not being here when promised and me missing a promise date on some products I said I could have done.

Final Consumer Response
E-mail from consumer:

Hi, I was able to get my money back from the bank. After 3 weeks of not being able to make contact with the company I got a message from them saying they were going to send out my order that night. The message came in the form of a reply to the "support ticket" i had opened on their site. I sent them a message back telling them to not ship it because I already got my money back. A few days later I got the order in the mail. I was unable to make contact with them to get a return authorization and Friday I got an email saying "the support ticket you opened has been closed and marked as complete". At this point I assume I keep the order (it's still even missing materials when I inventoried the order). The company is a joke and must want to go bankrupt. But according to the email I got they consider this dispute complete.

***************

03/17/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have payed for the products on nov/3/2014 19:46:11. I sent a ticket requesting more info on the delivery date of the product. no response
I have payed for the products on nov/3/2014 19:46:11. I sent a ticket requesting more info on the delivery date of the product on dec/11/2014. no response. It is currently february 6th and I have not been contacted about delivery and I cannot see my ticket online. I do still have their confirmation of receiving the ticket. Their auto response for the ticket states that they will respond in 3-4 days. I would like a return for the product which had a total cost of $328.44. Thanks for the help!

******

Desired Settlement
I would like a return for the product which had a total cost of $328.44. Thanks for the help! If the product has been shipped already, I would be happy to keep the product and do not need a refund. Thanks!

*****

Business Response
Every package that is sent out is weighed on a Jeweler's scale before it is sent out. ************** package weighed the appropriate amount for his order. The amount of parts missing would require the package to have been damaged in transit and the parts removed. In order to reship what amounts to almost 30% of the kit required managerial approval since no evidence of damage was present. ************ was sent the replacement parts free of charge via Priority Mail. This was handled without the intervention of the BBB.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response does not seem to have anything to do with me. The response is not addressed to me and it clearly has nothing to do with the message that was sent. I also have not been given any evidence that the product has been shipped

Final Consumer Response
I have been emailed a tracking number by the company. however, when you check the tracking number, the package has in fact not been sent yet. This is the tracking number below.
*************

Could I please cancel the order and have a full refund.

02/20/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order for Two-up printer placed on 1/2/15. Still no product as of 2/18/15.
When I placed the order on 1/2/15 my cart showed the item as available. Only after checkout and viewing the order details does the item show on back order. I contacted the company for an ETA and was told 2-4 weeks on 1/5/15. On 2/3/15 I logged another support ticket since I had not received any followup from the company asking for status. 5 days later they resolved the ticket and indicated it would ship "next week". On 2/11/15, I was notified the printer is shipping and provided a tracking number. 4 days later on 2/15/15 I contacted them again as the tracking information still shows as "Pre-Shipment" indicating only a label has been printed. On 2/16/15 they responded that the printer is shipping "this week".

It has now been a full week since they provided me with a tracking number without actually shipping anything. It has also been 2 days shy of 7 weeks since I paid them.

I would just like the product I paid for at this point.

Desired Settlement
I would just like the product I paid for at this point.

Business Response
The order has been shipped with tracking number **********************. Please note that the 4 week estimate is just that an estimate (this order took 5 1/2 weeks).

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The provided tracking number indicates only that a label has been prepared. Nothing has been shipped yet. This has been in "Pre-shipment" status since 2/11/15. See below.

https://******************************************

Please respond.

02/09/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure of QU-BD, Inc. to deliver the product that was paid for on order ******************* that was placed by my mother on Amazon.
Received a 1up 3D printer as a gift from my mother. The original shipment was missing a large number of parts. Enough to make the kit, as received, useless. After contacting their customer support, I have gotten the run-around, including a promise to ship the missing parts, which was not honored. The ticket was marked resolved during repeated contacts with customer support, even though no resolution was reached. This happened multiple times, despite my insistence that the issue was NOT resolved.
In my opinion, this company should be shut down and the owners should be jailed for petty theft on this single failure to deliver goods that have been paid for. I am sure that if one investigated, they would be liable for fraud and a prison sentence.

Desired Settlement
I would like my mother to receive a full refund for the purchase price and shipping costs. The kit that was sent was not complete and could not be built as specified in the instructions without buying at least half of the parts required separately. To me, this is theft at least, possibly fraud. The order number is *******************.
I am no longer willing to work with their horrible customer service representative (*******) and I demand that the funds be returned.

Page 1 of 4
11/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
11/23/2015Delivery Issues
11/23/2015Delivery Issues
02/27/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I had purchased a 3D printer a heated bed for the printer. Repeated request for delivery (and later refund) delayed. Nothing ever received
Kickstarter purchase via Credit card. QU-BD Two up 3D printer.Here are some of the ******* docs.They continue to sell their printers on a web site and yet have not sent them to the **********.They only delay responses and never follow through.

******************************************************************************************************************************************************

*********************************************************************
Message:
I don't want this ticket listed as resolved until you do something about it. I have no more patience for this. I expect this taken care of in a matter of hours and not days

**************************************************************************************************************************************************************

I am resolving this ticket right now to clean up the database, you can reopen it at any time simply by replying. Thank you!

*********************************************************
http://*****************************************************
Was this reply helpful? yes / no
******************************************************************************

This has not been resolved yet. I want my money returned now as you obviously have no intention of sending out the unit. I see all of the complaints from people on Kickstarter and yet you still do not send out anything. I do not want to have to continue contacting you but I will not stop until this is settled.

***********************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

I don't deal with refunds. I will remind ****** about your refund though.

*********************************************************
http://*********************************************/*******
Was this reply helpful? yes / no
***************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************************

*********************************************************
http://*********************************************/*******
Was this reply helpful? yes / no
*********************************************************************
Message:
This does not resolve anything. You are telling me it is sent to someone else with actually no action being taken. It is now "waiting reply from customer"....? What does this mean? I have not heard back from anyone as of yet. What do you want to hear from me because I would gladly answer anything if you took some time to tell me what is going on. The last time I heard from you was November 5th even though I have sent other tickets that obviously need a reply ... 5 weeks for a 3-4 day turnaround!. I want you to give me a reply and not pass the buck to someone else. What are you doing about my request

************************************************************************
Message:
I am sending this ticket over to ****** he will take care of this.

*********************************************************
http://*********************************************/*******
*******************************************************************************************
Message:
It is now well into December and I have yet to hear from you. You told me it was going to be sent out by the end of the month and still nothing. Of course you also told me that it was going to be sent in July as well. Tell me what your intentions are.

***********************************************************************************************************

Desired Settlement
The total cost paid out
$323 for the printer and $74 for the heated bed.

Business Response
I apologize but every customer is satisfied as an end user. We have 10s of thousands of satisfied customers outside of Kickstarter and we make every effort to ensure that our product meets expectations.

"A Project Creator is not required to grant a Backer's request for a refund unless the Project Creator is unable or unwilling to fulfill the reward."

We are fulfilling all rewards, we are able to and willing. The delays that have been encountered were put in place to improve the product and your user experience. You are getting a better printer because of it and we are currently shipping units out daily. If you would still like a refund, please confirm and we will process it at the conclusion of the campaign. Thank you!

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I was supposed to receive my product in June of 2014. When it did not arrive, I sent my first inquiry on July 28 and go this responce;

Batch #* is about 2/3rds of the way done! Yours should ship within the next week or so. Thank you for your patience!

I am resolving this ticket right now to clean up the database, you can reopen it at any time simply by replying. Thank you!

*********************************************************

On Aug 20, 2014 a batch email went out:
********************************************************************

Why are there more international than domestic remaining...simply because there are more international backers in the last batch."

So at this time there is only a few units that had to go out.

Another email was sent to me requesting extra money for filament that I never ordered. This is the batch email:

"The only remaining orders that have not been processed are ones that have not paid for extras. We will be contacting those people directly through e-mail with the special e-mail address ********************* over the next 2-3 days in order to either cancel the extras or collect payment on them. A significant number of them are international folks that wanted filament but did not cover extra shipping costs for international delivery."

Here is what they sent me;
"We are contacting you directly as your primary payment has been processed through Kickstarter you were not charged for the additional shipping cost required to ship the filament. A 2.2lb net spool of filament weighs 3.4lbs with the spool itself and the box it comes in. Please note that the additional cost for international shipment of that weight is generally about $18 per spool although the exact cost will be determined by your exact location. Please respond to this special e-mail address and let us know whether you would like to cancel the filament in your pledge or whether to send you a Paypal invoice for the balance. Thank you and sorry for any confusion.

Please note that this is the only thing preventing your printer from going out. Please respond as soon as possible so we can get it out to you ASAP. Thank you!"

And my responce;
"I never requested a roll of filament. I requested the heated bed which is paid for already. I have been waiting months for this and only now you are telling me that the only thing that is holding this up is the fact that I never paid for some filament I never asked for?

I have yet to hear back from anyone with regards to the status of my order as well. Maybe you can tell me what is going on. Is was informed back in June that it was going to be shipped out in a couple of weeks and now it is late October...."

Numerous other emails were never responded to and I finally got this;
*********************************************************************************

Your printer will be shipping out by the end of this month. You will automatically be emailed a tracking number as soon as one is generated. Thank you for your patience.

I am resolving this ticket right now to clean up the database, you can reopen it at any time simply by replying. Thank you!"

Once again never respoinded to anything until I go this on Dec 7;

"It is now well into December and I have yet to hear from you. You told me it was going to be sent out by the end of the month and still nothing. Of course you also told me that it was going to be sent in July as well. Tell me what your intentions are."

And I responded;

"This does not resolve anything. You are telling me it is sent to someone else with actually no action being taken. It is now "waiting reply from customer"....? What does this mean? I have not heard back from anyone as of yet. What do you want to hear from me because I would gladly answer anything if you took some time to tell me what is going on. The last time I heard from you was November 5th even though I have sent other tickets that obviously need a reply ... 5 weeks for a 3-4 day turnaround!. I want you to give me a reply and not pass the buck to someone else. What are you doing about my request"

And this is when I got this reply;

*************************************************************************
Message:

It is going over to the person who gives the refunds.

Once again, nothing happens until I ask what is going on and she replies a week later it is going to ******.

Needless to say there are more emails of just passing the buck or not responding until I got a responce from "******" ;


*************************
***** ****** *****************************************

I apologize but every customer is satisfied as an end user. We have 10s of thousands of satisfied customers outside of Kickstarter and we make every effort to ensure that our product meets expectations.

"A Project Creator is not required to grant a Backer's request for a refund unless the Project Creator is unable or unwilling to fulfill the reward."

We are fulfilling all rewards, we are able to and willing. The delays that have been encountered were put in place to improve the product and your user experience. You are getting a better printer because of it and we are currently shipping units out daily. If you would still like a refund, please confirm and we will process it at the conclusion of the campaign. Thank you!

****** - *****"

They have repeatedly shown that they have no intention of fulfilling their responsibility from Kickstarter. They are currently selling the printers on their website and do not send the ones to the supporters that have already paid for it. They are saying that they are sending out printers daily but just go the the Kickstarter page and looks at the thousands of complaints from people that have not received their printer or were sent broken parts and never sent replacement parts. They have stopped responding to people on Kickstarter and appear to have abandoned everyone. Now they are saying "If you would still like a refund, please confirm and we will process it at the conclusion of the campaign." The end of the campaign has come and gone. IOt is over and I want nothing to do with this group whatsoever. I want my money back now and I welcome the company to post a reply as to why they continue to ignore request after request from the people that believed in them and ultimately have nothing to show for it except a long paper trail of broken promises. The only thing that will satisfy me is the full refund of my money and I will not accept this unknown, arbitrary date of when the campaign is done. It has almost been 1 1/2 years since the start of the campaign and it is obviously over.

02/23/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Hello. 52 days ago I ordered a twoup 3d printer and lemon candy shimmer pls filament from QU-BD, which has still not arrived.
Order #:******

Order Date:12/9/2014

Payment Amount: $325 USD, paid in CAD. Conversion at time of purchase amounted to $383 CAD

Payment Method: Mastercard Credit Card

Hello. On December 12 2014, I ordered a Two-up 3D Printer, and a 1KG roll of lemon candy shimmer(yellow) pls filament from QU-BD. It is now February 02 2015, and they have not yet arrived. When I ordered these products, the estimated time until restock was 4 weeks. It has been 7 1/2 weeks and still no arrival or updates of any sort. I attempted to send a customer support ticket 9 ago, and the only reply was 4 days after sending the ticket saying "We will look into this and get back to you asap". No replies since. I would greatly appreciate anything you can do for me. Thanks, ******

Desired Settlement
I would like a prompt delivery of the products I ordered, or my money back if that is not possible.

Business Response
The order has already been delivered, with no intervention from the BBB. Please note estimated delivery dates on the website are just that estimates and are not guaranteed.

02/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have emailed the company multiple times in lieu of a refund for my item because it is backordered. No response.
I place an order for the one-up printer on january 7, 2015. My order number was ******. After placing my order they sent me an email stating that the printer was back ordered. I then told them to cancel the payment for that order because I needed it sooner than 5 weeks.They then said that they could get the printer to me the next week. So I change my mind. They never sent me a confirmation that they were going to get the printer to me. Now I have emailed them over seven times because they keep stonewalling me. My last resort is the BBB.

Desired Settlement
I would just like to get a refund of what I am owed.

Business Response
The order was actually shipped ahead of the 4 week lead time by 1 day and is currently in transit. We cannot guarantee that orders will go out AHEAD of their scheduled lead time. No intervention of the BBB was needed as it shipped early.

10/20/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible customer service
Ignores customer support tickets when their product does not work as advertised, submitted several support tickets
Order Date: 6/28/2014
Order #:*******
Order Contents: MBE Extruder v9 - Single - Heater : 12v Heater Cartridge +$14.00, Mount : 'Universal' Mount,
Order Total: $69.35
Payment method:*****

Details:
I received their MBE extruder, assembled it, but it failed to perform even close to as they said it would. There is a fundamental design flaw in the barrel of the extruder where the heat creeps up the barrel and causes rapid failure. I submitted several support tickets. The first one, I got some responses but as soon as they realized that the issue was in their product and they would have to lose money they began ignoring all of my tickets because they did't want to deal with it. They evaded my service requests for over a month until they finally replied to my fourth or fifth support ticket.
They said they would send me a replacement barrel, but that was last week. They did not bother telling me that they had shipped the replacement (flat out bad customer service) and I have a feeling they didn't do it. I have read many cases online where this company says they are going to replace something only to stall.

I have never ever dealt with customer service as bad as that at QU-BD. It is by far the worse service I have ever received. Ever.

Desired Settlement
I want the barrel replaced (which they said they would do, but I have not received it yet, nor have I received anything from them informing me that the part has been shipped or that they were even working on fixing the problem) and if their replacement does not work and there are no alternative fixes for the problem then I want a full refund.

07/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Want a refund after failure to deliver product
My printer was supposed to be delivered in April, but never arrived (I never heard from QU-BD about any delays either). I therefore asked for a refund via the ticketing system on QU-BD's website. Each ticket gets sent to a different group and never replied to again. I have placed two tickets so far and have waited more than a month for a refund. There is no way to track the request or call the company directly, so I can't figure out what's going on with my request.

Desired Settlement
Refund my account in the amount of $288.45 immediately.

Business Response
E-mail from ******:

*********** was shipped the merchandise with tracking number ********************** via USPS and it was refused for delivery. He has already done a chargeback through his credit card and has received a credit to his account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I asked for a refund instead of getting the product shipped to me many weeks before it was shipped. The fact that it shipped at all is unacceptable. Furthermore, the fact that your company did not refund my money when I asked is reprehensible. Finally, all of the tickets I sent through your "customer service" system ended up in a black hole and I had nobody to follow up with.

I'm marking this complaint as not resolved because QU-BD didn't resolve it. I resolved it myself by refusing to accept the inappropriately delivered package and going to my bank to dispute the charge.


Final Consumer Response
Hi ******,

I received a chargeback on my card after disputing the charge through my bank. QU-BD did not refund my money or even indicate that they would refund my money. They attempted to scam me and I just happened to do everything right to get my money back.

Let me know if I can help any further with this.
Chris

Page 1 of 2
05/12/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Parts and electrical
My printer does not work and the circuit board does not work i would like to return the machine. This is the second time i have contacted you . i am very dissatisfied. I don't want this to get ugly by having to take legal action or by reporting by on to the better business bureau. My order number is #****. And in will be returning it this week to the Arkansas address.


Thanks
************

Desired Settlement
Complete refund

04/11/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order of RPM printer with spindle option (01/20/2013) not delivered, and no communication regarding request for refund.
Order of RPM printer with spindle option (01/20/2013) not delivered, and no communication regarding request for refund. Ticket subbmitted to their system as instructed (10/01/2014), which now seems to have been deleted. Today I filed a new ticket, but have no expectations of any response.

Order amount is $1,949 via Paypal

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of the whole amount of $1,949 through paypal or bank transfer. Alternatively I might accept a delivery of hardware (parts or tools maybe) of similar worth.

03/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Ordered a 369.45$ printer that was never shipped. Company agreed to refund but never did. Multiple communication left unanswered.
04-20-2015 - Placed order ****** for "TwoUp 3D Printer Complete Kit - Heated Bed? : Add Heated Basalt Bed" - 353$ + 16.45$ with VISA.
2015-06-16 - Received pre-shipment notice (USPS *************). Tracking show 'Pre-Shipment Info Sent to USPS' and was never picked-up.
2015-06-28 - Opened ticket ************ asking why order was not picked-up yet. ******* replied that it would be shipped that week.
2015-07-09 - No shipping yet asked for a refund
2015-07-10 - ******* agreed to a refund.
2015-07-14 - no refund, asked for a refund again
2015-07-15 - ******* said it had to check.
2015-07-17 - no refund, asked for a refund again
2015-08-14 - no refund, asked for a refund again
2015-08-14 - ******* said he was told it was done, will have to check.
2015-12-29 - no refund, asked for a refund again.
2016-02-08 - no refund, asked for a refund again.

Desired Settlement
A refund of 369.45$

12/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have not received all of the items from an ordered placed and payed in November 2013.
I have sent open tickets on the old support desk system which are now not available since moving to a new website. I opened a ticket on the current system on August 3rd, 2015 ( Tracking ID ************ (Ticket number: ****)) and have not received any reply.

Items I have not received are for the 2 filament spools (each @38.50) and the heated bed @ $74.00.

Information from amazon payment (includes payment for two-up printer)
Date:
11/18/13
Type:
Payment
To/From:
to
Name:
Contractor Supply Group, LLC
Status:
Completed
Amount:
$430.00
Fees:
$0.00
Transaction ID:
***********************************
Reference:


Information from original order:
Responded on Nov 22 2013

Name & address
***************************************************************
Please confirm what colors if any of Premium Filament you would like at $38.50 per roll extra.
***********************************
Please confirm what colors if any of our 'House' Filament you would like at $29.50 per roll extra.
N/A
Please confirm if you would like the Heated Build Platform Upgrade for $74.00 extra (adds ABS support)
Yes
***Special Instructions Section*** (please enter N/A if not used)
NA

Desired Settlement
I would like for the company to refund me the items that have not been delivered to me; 2 premium spools and the heated bed.

38.50 x2
74.00

Total of $151.00.

12/03/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I backed their Kickstarter and received a broken printer and never received additional PLA from the Kickstarter nor from website purchases.
I pledged during the kickstarter that the company ran in October-November of 2013. I was charged $480.00 on 11/18/13 for the QU-BD Two Up, the Heated Build Platform upgrade, one roll of Black "House" PLA filament, one roll of Natural "House" PLA filament, one roll of Green "House" PLA filament, and one roll of Natural ABS filament. The payment method was Kickstarter through Amazon payments.

I submitted my order survey on February 11th, 2014, so that my order could be fulfilled.

On June 14th, 2014, I inquired through their Help Desk ticket system as to the status of my shipment, and requested to add some additional PLA filament to my order.

After discussing it with them, they requested that I send an additional payment for the additional filament. On July 11, 2014, I sent $136.41 for Glow In The Dark Semi-Opaque filament - PLA, Frost Transparent filament - PLA, Black filament PLA, and Natural House PLA. I received an invoice via paypal from *************, and the payment was sent to *********************** via paypal, as they requested.

From July 2014 until February 2014, I would update the help desk ticket, and they would let me know that the filament was coming in, but that there were various problems, so they couldn't sent it to me right away. During this time, I also expressed the problem that I received the printer, but the main board was broken. I was told a replacement would ship out, but I never received it.

After February 3rd, 2014, I never received a response from them again. I eventually received a closed notification to my help desk ticket. I had found that they somehow merged my ticket with someone named ********************. I was infuriated that they were responding promptly with him and sending him replacement parts for his damaged printer, yet they never sent me replacement parts to fix my printer, nor the purchased filament that they owed me.

On October 1st, they deleted my open Help Desk ticket. I submitted a new one, and they have not responded to it, despite the fact that they have a stated two to three day response time. They do not answer my emails, and they do not respond on the kickstarter. I have heard from another kickstarter backer that they deleted his open help desk ticket.

Fortunately, I have a printout of my help desk ticket after they had merged my ticket with ********************** ticket.

The people I spoke with over the course of time was: ***********************************************************************

Desired Settlement
They have made it obvious that they do not wish to fulfill their obligations, nor ship me the product that I purchased. They are attempting to cover up the situation by deleting outstanding help desk tickets, which for some people, would be the only evidence that they had communicated with the company. The help desk ticket system does not provide transcripts, so if the customer did not print out the page, they will have no documentation, save for email updates of when a ticket was responded to.

For the resolution, I will be willing to ship back the broken printer to them, at their expense, and receive a refund for the full total of $616.41.

Page 1 of 7

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Computer Printers Sales & Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/30/2012
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: July 2012, AR

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Nathan Myers
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David Mainard (Owner)Ms. Courtney Kinggard Ms. Chelsea Thompson
Business Category

Internet Shopping, Computer Printers Sales & Service

Alternate Business Names
Qu-Bd, Q3D Printers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for QU-BD, Inc.

8 Cape Cod Ct

Little Rock, AR 72212-2602

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 5901 Murray St 

    Little Rock, AR 72209-2544

  • 8 Cape Cod Ct 

    Little Rock, AR 72212-2602(501) 400-6333

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*QU-BD, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

  • http://www.qu-bd.com/
  • http://quintessentialuniversalbuildingdevice.com/
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Shopping

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

On January 28, 2015, BBB initiated an investigation on QU-BD, Inc., due to the number of complaints received from consumers within a short period of time. BBB received forty-four (44) consumer complaints between October 25, 2013 and February 19, 2015. As of March 13, 2015, twenty-six (26) of those complaints have never been answered. Many of the complaints are from consumers who funded the company's 2013 Kickstarter campaign. According to information found on Kickstarter, the QU-BD One Up is the world's first production ready 3D printer to break the $200.00 barrier. It uses industry standard technology and electronics and everything is Open source". The company's goal to raise $9,000.00 was dwarfed by over $400,000.00 in contributions. Consumers who contributed to the Kickstarter campaign were to receive either a One Up or Two Up 3D printer, based on their contribution of $199 or $279 respectively. In addition to the 3D printers promised through Kickstarter, the company also sells 3D printers through their website, http://www.q3dprinter.com/. Regardless of the source, most of the complaints from consumers are due to product or delivery issues. The complaints allege that the 3D printers arrived in broken, non-working condition or not at all.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.