BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Heavy Rig

Phone: (501) 276-1906

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service6
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)
01/12/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The mini excavators hours of use were stated as 3300 but the hour meter was broken and it has 1000s more hours. Its been damaged and not maintained.

I purchased a 2002 Kubota KX121-2 mini excavator ser.#***** from HeavyRig Inc. on 9/30/2014. ************ is the owner and sales person I dealt with. The purchase price was $13,000 and was payed by wire transfer. I found the machine online on a site called machinerytrader. It was listed with a description and photos. It was described as having 3300 hours on the meter, which would be a moderate amount for its age. I arranged transport and received it 11/7/2014. I was shocked by its condition. All the glass was broken off the meters and gauges and the hour meter didn't work. The main platform that holds the body above the tracks was welded on all 4 sides completely all around with multiple welding passes and had fresh paint on it. I can't imagine the abuse that would cause this damage. The engine oil was black and there obviously had been no service work done. There are many hydraulic leaks. The engine compartment hinge is broken. After propping it open I noticed there is an exhaust leak and the compartment is full of soot. After unloading it and letting it idle it overheated. You have to look hard to find something that isn't damaged or worn out on this machine. I parked it inside and haven't used it at all. You could invest many thousands of dollars and it would still be junk. I contacted ************ and this is his response I received 11/12/2014. "I'm sorry for any problems. It had no heating problems a few weeks ago. We ran it several hours. I never want anyone upset with me so I will have the overheating looked into and fixed or if you prefer I will have your purchase price refunded today and you can have **** pick the machine up." My response,"I will contact **** for a return after I have received the refund. Your cooperation is appreciated." ******* response 11/12/2014,"The check will go out today or tomorrow." Obviously there has been no check and ***** doesn't respond to emails or phone calls.

Desired Settlement
I just want the purchase price refunded and I'll return the machine to HeavyRig.

Business Response
E-mail from consumer:

I tried to call a couple times but we were playing phone tag. A full refund was sent to ******** and the machine was returned. Thank you for your help.

************


02/11/2014Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Paid for Versatech HD Tree Shear and did not receive it. Phone Calls and emails are not returned.
Purchased Versatech XXXXX HD Tree Shear on 12/27/2013 for $3000 including delivery. Check was cleared through our bank on Jan. 6, 2014. Item code on invoice: BL-4281. Routing Number on invoice: XXXXXXXXX. Account Number: XXXXXXX. Invoice #XXXXX. Our phone calls always go to the answering machine of ***** ****** with no response. Was told when ordered that it would take about two weeks for delivery. Very concerned that there is no response to inquiries of delivery.

Desired Settlement
Want full refund of $3000. Do not have confidence that the delivery of the Tree Shear will be a satisfactory piece of equipment that was represented.

11/26/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Heavy Rig Inc. sold me a tractor on 10-18-13 I payed in full including the shipping, it was to be delivered by 10-31-13. no delivery is made.
Heavy Rig Inc. ***** sold me a Compact Tractor Kubota L3130 Compact Tractor W/ Kubota LA513 Front Loader 4x4 Serial# *****.Invoice # *****. Ship to ********************************. I send a wire transfer from bank to bank for $ 11,700.00 total amount of transaction on Oct.18, 2013. Told me he would send tractor a week from that date. He is not answering phone calls and I haven't had any feed back from him since Nov. 4, 2013 that hi told me his transportation broker was unable to ship the tractor.

Desired Settlement
I want my money back $11,700.00 with 5% intrest to cover the cost of the loan.

09/19/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We sent 2 checks to ***** 4 weeks ago by certified mail, one check from the bank Farm Credit Services for $10,000.00 and a cashiers check from us for $2,500.00. He received those checks on July 17, 2013 and they have both been cashed. We sent the money to purchase a 1580DT 4x4 Fiat Hesston tractor with a cab, front loader, and grapple. We spoke to ***** on Tuesday of the following week to get a delivery date and he told us he was setting it up and would let us know when he had it set in concrete to ship, probably that thursday or friday, he said.
Since then, he will not answer any of the phone numbers that we have for Heavy Rig, he does not call us back, and his voicemail boxes are all full.

Desired Settlement
We either want our $12,500.00 back, or we want the tractor delivered in the condition listed on the internet and in the condition the pictures of it
showed A.S.A.P. We are willing to come to Arkansas to pick up the tractor if he is willing to refund our $600.00 shipping expense

Thank you for your help
****** *******

Business' Initial Response
The funds were sent back and have cleared our bank. There was a delay in the refund but it has been done.

Consumer's Final Response
Since this complaint was filed, heavy rig attempted to deliver the tractor. We refused receipt of the tractor because it was blowing blue smoke. ***** ****** of heavy rig, inc. agreed in an email message to refund our money saying he would send it back to us the next week. That message was received on 8-9-13. We still have not received the refund and ***** does not answer our phone calls, return our calls, or respond to our email messages. We would like to have our $11,900 back ASAP.

08/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchase a tractor that was with 1185 hours in good condition with no oil leaks or know defects, this is not what I received.

Purchase date: 06-April-15
Purchase Price $10,450 (included delivery price of $450.)
Payment: Personal Check
Delivery Date: 24-April-15
Model: 2003 Kubota L3010 HST
Invoice no. *******************
Sales Rep. : ************

The tractor I received was not as described; namely in good condition, no oil leaks with only 1185 hours.
The known defects are;
1) H, M & L range selector not working (appears to be an issue in the gearbox)
2) Front wheel housing is leaking
3) Front tie rod is bent
4) Steering box is worn with excessive play
5) Front nose section is badly damages. Missing all fittings and screwed into place.
6) Front light fixtures and wiring missing
7) Side panels on both sides of engine damaged and do not fit properly
8) Engine has oil leaks, including around injector pump.
9) Hydraulic hoses are cracked.
10) Hydraulic hoses and joy stick block have leaks.
11) Hydrostatic transmission foot pedal is damaged.
12) Front bucket cylinders are soft, will not push front end of tractor off the ground.
13) Seat & sliding mechanism inoperable (rusted out)
14) Both wheel housings are rusted out
15) 3 point system in rear: Missing parts & stabilizer bars are bent.
16) Electrical issues: separate switch fitted to start as ignition switch does not work.
17) Hour meter: Although it only indicates 1185, based on the wiring modifications, it appears this was only recently fixed and the tractor was operated without one.
These are the main defects.
18) 18) Engines blows smoke when started up.

Desired Settlement
It is apparent that this tractor has been worked hard and repaired a number of times. Every join on the drive shaft and gearbox have signs of been opened, no telling what the quality of those repairs were.
As such, I do not want the tractor as I believe it will continually have something that will need to be repaired over time.
As such, I want a full refund.
I am prepared to return the tractor myself to his location in Arkansas and collect a check.

I have sent ************ numerous e-mails and left messages to this effect.
The only response I have had from ************ is an e-mail stating that he would send me some linkage parts and $250 to repair the H,M & L gear selector, which is completely unacceptable.

Business Response
We have full intention of refunding ********** money. We will be picking the tractor up and giving him a full refund of $10,000 upon pickup which will be made within the next 15 days.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
I accept, however collection will need to be completed by 18th June'15 (within the next 10 days).

As per original agreement, I will only accept a bank guaranteed check or wire transfer ahead of collection.


History:
I have not heard from ************ since the 07th May'15.
On the 04th May'15 he confirmed by e-mail that he would collect the tractor and refund the full amount by sending a certified check with the driver.
That was over a month ago.
I have sent you numerous e-mails and left you phone messages daily on both the available numbers. (***)******** and (***) ********.


02/18/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/24/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on march 17 2015 I sent bought a L39 Kubota backhoe from **** at heavy rig that I was told by him and his E-bay advertising that it was in good shape and ready to work. when it arrived 2 weeks later, it had lost nearly all hydraulic fluid. had to replace the two hydraulic filters to fix that. the tires were shot and had to replace them. tie rods were completely worn out and replaced. stabilizer arm on backhoe seal had to be replaced. these hydraulic and seal leaks were so bad, had to be parked in rocks. then found what was thought to be a head gasket issue turned to be a cracked head. I have spent an additional five thousand dollars on an eighteen thousand dollar purchase. I was lied to and deceived.
Product_Or_Service: kubota backhoe
Account_Number: 18,000

Desired Settlement
I would like my money for the documented repairs!

Business Response
I am sorry as I have been out of the country for some time. I cannot believe that this is an issue. I sold this tractor March 17 which is over 3 months from when this complaint was filed. I never heard from ********. We had no idea there was a problem, given the time frame of over 90 days it is hard to say what happened since these are tractors and they are worked hard and alot of problems can arise. I certainly could have been of assistance if he had of just contacted me. I can get a new head for around 12-1500 and labor should be under $500 to put it on.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Shopping, Heavy Duty Equipment Repair, Tractor Dealers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.