BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2007

Bert Black Service Company

Find a Location

(501) 228-9770View Additional Phone Numbers2923 W. 60th Street, Little RockAR 72209

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/15/2007

BBB has determined that Bert Black Service Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bert Black Service Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/26/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Company failed to service AC unit as per contract, spent 2 weeks and ~7 visits attempting to repair, charged for repairs that did not fix the issue
7/28/16: Tenant reported AC not working.
7/29: Contacted Bert Black (BB); confirmed AC maintenance had not been performed as contracted. They apologized and said they would get someone out to look at unit. I told her tenant should be contacted for scheduling, I should be contacted for decisions requiring work incurring charges. BB sent tech to home.
7/31: Tenants reported AC not working. I sent ******* message letting him know AC was not repaired.
8/1: BB went to home and attempted repair. ******* said unit was low on refrigerant and they had to add more. He assured me if there were issues with repair they would handle it.
8/2: Tenants reported AC not working. BB returned to the home. The tech told tenants that a switch in unit tripped but not sure why. Rec'd call from BB with charge of $418.00, paid via phone.
8/3: Tenants reported AC not working. BB came out to home but repair was not made. I spoke to *******. He told me sensor inside compressor was bad, compressor needed to be replaced. He said it was under warranty and he had already called to order one. It would arrive in 2-3 days. I asked him if previous repair was unnecessary. He said no but, didn't explain why they could not tell compressor was faulty when they first went out. I asked him if he was certain the compressor was the problem and he said "100% certain". I told him I didn't want to keep pouring money into unit if this wasn't a sure fix. He assured me compressor was the problem. I asked him what the cost would be, he said the maximum hours of labor would be 4 hours but, if he went out he could do it in 2-2.5. He stated they would reclaim refrigerant in old compressor to avoid charge.
8/8: ******* texted to let me know a tech would be out to install compressor that day. He sent text that said, "It usually only takes 1 tech to install. And **** is really good and fast lol. But will take care of you!" This text led me to believe I would only be charged for 2-2.5 hours as ******* indicated he would need. BB installed air compressor
8/9: ******* texted that tech installed compressor and added "a little bit" of r22 refrigerant. He stated, "The system is running perfect with no problems." He sent text with charge of $753.08 for 7 hours labor + tax and 2 lbs of r22. I called immediately to ask about the 7 hours of labor and r22. I reminded him he said if there were any issues after repair they would be "taken care of". I interpreted they would warranty their work and not charge for repairs that didn't work. He asked if I had paid previous bill. ******* said he had previous hours of labor included because he didn't know I had already paid. He took 3 hours off the 7 hour total thus charging for maximum 4 hours quoted. Previous invoice did NOT charge labor. It was billed as "club/waived" due to error in not maintaining unit as per contract. Statement of accidental labor charge was untrue.
Rec'd call from BB with charge of $493.56, paid via phone. Invoice is stamped pd 8/8 date of service, not date bill was paid.
Tenants reported AC not working. I notified ******* via text. BB went out to home. BB informed tenant they needed to get a part for unit and would be back next day.
Texts messages exchanged with ******* expressing concern over paying 2 invoices for repairs that did not fix problem. He responded they wanted to "use the warranty to our advantage and replace anything that's questionable before it's out of warranty". He said problem now was a TXV.
8/10: BB arrived in AM, left without communication. Tenant inquired if they would return. ******* informed tenant they left to "get more materials".
I left VM and sent ******* text message asking status of AC unit. No response. Tech returned to home without communicating. Tenant called ******* to ask when they would return. He was informed tech had come and AC should be fixed.
8/12: Temp in house decreased and stabilized.
8/17: Rec'd 3rd bill $456.17

Desired Settlement
Refund of half of original charge for maintenance agreement (originally paid 199.00) since only one of the two services were performed.
Void last invoice in the amount of $456.17 since we paid two previous invoices for repairs that did not work totaling $911.56.

We feel a refund of previous invoices is warranted but we will settle with the resolution above and no future dealings with the business.

Business Response
E-mail from business:

RE: Complaint Activity Report #********


Per our phone conversation and the review of your complaint that was filed with the BBB, we agree to the terms requested of voiding out the invoice for $456.17 INV# ******. We will also refund 1/2 of your service agreement as requested, this will be returned in the form of a check for the amount of $95.17 which is 1/2 of the original payment of $190.34. We are sorry that you were not happy with the service in this situation and hope that in the future you may decide to give us another chance to be your service company.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Business agreed to our request as written

01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Called in early July to get an estimate on unit that was not cooling. The technician left and told me to call back in the next morning to reschedule.
Called in early July to have my air conditioning unit repaired due to it not cooling. I called

early in the morning and the technician did not show up until about 5:30p. I could have been calling other companies if they did not have time to do the appointment that day. By the time he arrived it had started raining and the technician immediately started complaining about the rain but said he would look in my return closet because it was in the garage. He looked for about 5-10 minutes and used my water spray bottle because his was not working and said he did not see anything wrong there. He told me he was not going to check the condenser because of the rain and to call back the next morning to reschedule the appointment and he left. The rain stopped about 10 minutes after he left and was not sure why the work could not continue then especially if they are a 24 hour company. I called another company that was able to come out and check out my air conditioner.

Desired Settlement
They did not service my air conditioner so I did not think i should be charged.

Business Response
We want all our customers to be happy with our service.

I have called mr ***** to let him know he does not have pay the bill.

Let me know if there is anything else you need me to do.

**** ***** Service *********

Consumer Response
I received a letter from a first credit service saying they are wanting payment. I was thinking this issue was resolved. Can we reopen this case?

Business Response
We have removed Mr ***** from our collection agency and have removed the balance that he owes.

We are sorry for any inconvenience this has caused.

If there are any questions call **** at XXX-XXXX.

Bert Black Service Companies

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Painting Contractors, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Carpenters, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 12/12/1997Business started: 01/01/1980
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR 72117
(501) 372-4661

HVAC Licensing Board
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 661-2642

Board of Electrical Examiners for the State of Arkansas
10421 West Markham
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 682-4548

Arkansas Health Department
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, AR 72205
(501) 661-2000

Type of Entity


Incorporated: December 1987, AR

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Anne Weisbeckar (Office Manager/Bookkeeper)
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jason Heath (Operations Manager)Mr. Michael Love (Owner)Mr. Erick Stock (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning, Plumbers, Painting Contractors, Heating Contractors, Electricians, Carpenters, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers heating, air conditioning, plumbing and remodeling.

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bert Black Service Company

2923 W. 60th Street

Little Rock, AR 72209

To | From


2 Locations

  • 2923 W. 60th Street 

    Little Rock, AR 72209(501) 228-9770

  • PO Box 17386 

    Little Rock, AR 72222-7386

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bert Black Service Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (866) 658-5935

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Heating & Air Conditioning


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.