BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Kendra's Boutique, Inc.

(501) 308-9570View Additional Phone NumbersPO Box 23835, Little RockAR 72221-3835http://www.kendrasboutique.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Kendra's Boutique, Inc. is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Kendra's Boutique, Inc.'s rating include:

  • 7 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Kendra's Boutique, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

4 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Kendra's Boutique, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 4 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)
12/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I placed my hair order with ****** on Nov 30 and still haven't received my package as yet, paid $430 and cannot get a physical address to file claim
Nov 30 order placed with ****** (Order #******) for 4 bundle deal deep wave and deep wave lace closure total price $430 including shipping of $10. Received tracking number **********************, USPS placed notice on door, have been to USPS 4 times and haven't received package, told to file a claim, cannot file claim until 15 days after first delivery. Went on USPS website to file claim and need a PHYSICAL address, contacted ****** who told me they only have a PO box address, so not able to file claim. Contacted ****** and they told me not to worry I will get my hair.
I work very hard for my money and need either my hair or my money refunded, neither *************** nor USPS cares about my order or my money spent. ****** already took the money by paypal which I paid for by my debit card. There is no disclaimer on their website that warns buyers that it is our fault if a package is lost i the mail. *************** should ensure that they mail the package carefully and paid for the proper insurance for their product. I need my hair or my money back.

Desired Settlement
I need either my hair mailed properly to ensure that customers get it or my $430 refunded to my bank account

Final Consumer Response
I received my shipment after 2 days of filing the complaint, thank you Kendra Boutique for stepping up and delivering my items.

11/30/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was told I would receive my tracking code by Tue nov24. Never received anything. Now I have been calling and no answer through phone or email.
Purchased the wrong size sent it back for an exchange and was told I should get my package by thanksgiving. Received a call Tue Nov 24 stating my package has been shipped and I should receive my tracking. Never got anything. Now they wont answer my calls/email
Purchased Nov 15 Brazilian exotic curly in18/20/22 sent back for exchange in 26/28/30 spent around 340 paid with my debit/credit sales rep is always the same woman since I've called mutlitple times. Order #******

Desired Settlement
This business needs to contact me asap!

Final Consumer Response
Just received the package. Thank u

06/03/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I haven't received my package & all the business had to say was it had nothing to do with them.
I placed my order on the 6th of May for hair (Brazilian deep wave 22,24,26,26) and paid 340$ (Shipping included) I haven't received my order & on the usps website it says that it is delivered today (may 13) although it wasn't delivered to my address. When I called Kendra's Boutique & explained this an associate says "you need to take that up with your local post office, that has nothing to do with us". There is no disclaimer on the website that warns buyers that it is our fault if a package is lost in the mail.

Desired Settlement
I really needed the hair for my bday May 16 and it is disappointing that I have to go without my hair being done after I just spend 340$. I need either a return or to be sent more hair by June 1st.

Final Consumer Response
The business contacted me to settle this dispute and will be re sending my package.

06/16/2016Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
tracking information/delivery issue
I placed an order (******) with Kendra's Boutique on 30 May 2016 and still have not received a confirmation email about the purchase nor tracking information. I have attempted to call the customer service number ************ numerous times and received no answer or voicemail. I am beginning to think this establishment is fraudulent. I really need someone to contact me immediately about this situation or I will have to contact my bank to retrieve my funds back. This is extremely unprofessional with a lack empathy for your consumer.

Desired Settlement
I would like to receive information on a very near date I am to receive the products I have purchased.

04/13/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I made a purchase of for 4 bundles and two weeks later I have yet to have an email answer or phone call answer! BUT, my money has been drawn though!
I made a purchase on March 2, 2015 (order number *****) for four bundles of Brazilian body wave. I noticed that $340 had been deducted from my account but no tracking number had been submitted. Afer days of waiting, I tried to send emails and received a generic response of their policies that is located on their website to be viewed by everyone and never received an exact email response to my concerns. I made about ten phone calls to the company and it always went to voicemail, they seem to be using a cell phone that is constantly turned off but they do change the voicemail on a daily basis, one day there was a snow storm in ******** and when I had called the voice massage for that cell phone had been changed and in it stated that they were closed due to harsh weather! The company is based in ******* and the voicemail had stayed that way for two days! I proceeded to email them again and received the same generic auto sent email! It is very frustrating and after doing some research of my own I have come to a conclusion that they are scam artists and they use Blac Chyna which is a celebrity as a muse to gain more customers! I watched my order change statuses three different times. It went from awaiting fulfillment to completed and then manual verification needed! As far as that goes no one ever called or emailed for verification and I had used my paypal account so everything is secure and verification is not needed for paypal! It is now the 13th of March and I have yet to receive anything. I needed to get paypal involved in this situation and they haven't even replied to the dispute that later escalated into a claim. This purchase was made in hopes of receiving the hair for my birthday, this situation has hugely inconvenienced me and left me at the mercy of someone else.

I want people to be aware of this company and do not make the same mistake that I have made!

Desired Settlement
At this point I am looking for a refund. I do not want the merchandise I just want the money taken returned to my account!

Business Response
E-mail from business:

Hello ***************,

The customer ************ was aware that shipping was 7-10 Business days when the order was placed on March 3, 2015. She filed a dispute with PayPal on March 9th. Our Business days are Monday-Friday, because our processing team don't work on the weekends. That was only 4 Business days before the day she placed the order. At that time we still had 6 more Business days for her to receive her order. We let all customers know in advance that shipping time was a little longer than normal, because we was in high volume due to the first of the year. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience that we might've caused *************. We contacted PayPal and informed them to credit her account and her money has been placed back on her account at this time. If their is anything we can do to accommodate ************ please let us know and we will be happy to take care of her.

Thank you! "Kendra's Boutique"


01/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received defective hair and was refused a refund/exchange. The manager argued that the product was not defective and that my hair stylist ruined it.
Let me first start out by stating that I am a returning customer to this business and was very satisfied with Kendra's Boutique until about one week ago. I have even brought them business by having 5+ friends/relatives starting to purchase hair from them. Typically, they sell top quality, beautiful virgin Brazilian hair extensions...until last week. I ordered my standard order from them but when I received it, it was jet black. Typically, their hair is sold in a natural dark brown which is perfect for me. But, since I know that no two bundles of hair are exactly the same, I brought it to my stylist to dye a shade lighter. She experienced black dye rinsing from the hair when she co washed it. Then once she tried to dye the hair with a professional permanent color, it would not take the color after trying all day, the hair is still jet black!! Something was seriously wrong with this bundle of hair, so I contacted Kendra's to discuss my issue. I was greeted by ***************************************, who gave me attitude before even hearing my story. When I asked for ********************** she appeared a little more understanding but continued to place blame on my hair stylist for "not knowing what she's doing." They never accepted responsibility for the hair obviously being dyed before hand and not once did I even receive an apology for my inconvenience. She then had ************************ talk with me and my stylist. This conversation was pointless because she continued to contradict herself. At one point, she said the hair was 100% virgin, human hair and was not dyed but then stated that she needed to use a bleach to lighten it. However, if it is human hair that has never been processed, why do you need to lighten it before dying? I'm confused. My sister also dyed a bundle of hair from Kendra's even lighter than I wanted and her stylist did not have to bleach it. Needless to say, they refused a refund or even an exchange because it had been more than seven days. I am still waiting on ******** to return my voicemail. Although the products are typically great here, the customer service is very poor and I refuse to give them my business again. Now, I am stuck out of $180 with hair that I have to bleach to use, which will ruin the integrity of the hair. My friends are now also afraid to use Kendra's Boutique. Although the bundles I received were probably a fluke, I do not trust this business.

Desired Settlement
I offered to receive an exchange so that it would not seem like I am just out for something. But now, I would like a refund as I no longer trust the products of this business.

Business Response
E-mail from business:

Regarding Case #****************************

************** hair extensions from us was in perfect condition when they arrive to her. If the hair extension are not in perfect condition we have a 7 Business days return policy to send them back to us for a full refund or exchange. If she wanted Lighter bundle she could've easily called us to exchange them or returned them. We also give our customers the option to leave a note in the comment box if they would like for us to pick out the lighter or darker shade bundles from them. Apparently she wanted lighter shade bundles. She received darker shade (1B Color) bundles from us, because she failed to leave a comment for us to pick out lighter bundles and that's the natural color the bundles come. She refused to even call us to exchange them for lighter bundles or return them, but she took her bundles to get colored by a new stylist in *************** who is not experienced with coloring hair at all. When she called us about the stylist not being able to color her hair properly we told her "We are not responsible for stylists coloring your hair extensions outside of "Kendra's Boutique" Because we offer the services to color your extensions if you need them colored or dyed before they are shipped to the customer." We even got one of our color specialist on the phone with ****** Stylists in *************** and we could clearly tell she was unfamiliar with coloring virgin hair extensions, because she didn't know that you are suppose to use power lighter and developer to get the hair to a lighter color. After Our specialist explained to the stylist what she was suppose to do to get the hair to a lighter shade she act as if she knew what to do after we got off the phone with her, but ****** didn't want her to color the hair with a power lighter to get the hair the lighter color. We explained to ****** that's the only way you can get dark hair to a lighter shade is to use power lighter bleach and developer on the hair.

It states on our return policy that we are not responsible for any stylists trying to color or dye your virgin hair outside of "Kendra's Boutique", because we understand that everyone is not a colorist and not a professional at coloring hair extensions. That's the reason we give our customers the option for us to color their hair for them and take the hassle out of having someone to try to color their hair.

Thank you ****** for understand and listening to my story. I do honest business and we did everything we could possibly do to help the customer ******.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)

I do not accept the response from Kendra's Boutique. The statement they issued is false. Again, when I received the hair, it was NOT in perfect condition. It was already tampered with and obviously already dyed by them. I am not saying that they intentionally sent me an incorrect order, but I did not realize this until my stylist washed the hair and black dye ran out into the sink. This occurred after 7 days had passed which is why I could not return it within the rules of their return policy. I was unaware that they dyed hair, which is why I did not request for them to complete it. Also, they mentioned that my stylist was unfamiliar with coloring the hair. My stylist came highly recommended in the area by multiple individuals with many years of experience. She is very familiar and knowledgeable. It was obvious that the hair had been processed beforehand, and they were too unprofessional to acknowledge their mistake or even apologize. Their false response to my complaint only adds more evidence to their state of unprofessionalism. I did not expect for them to make an attempt to rectify the situation.

- ******************

01/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Kendra's Boutique practices false advertising by selling products that are not as described.
I ordered a lace closure hair piece from the Kendra's Boutique website (*********//************************) on November 28th,2014. I picked up my package the following week at my local post office. When I returned to my home I opened my package only to find a damaged and defective item. The lace material had a hole in it that measured almost a 1/2 centimeter. There were also several tears in the lace material. The hair on the hairpiece had been pre-cut and had multiple fly away hairs on it as if the hair piece had been used which is very unsanitary. I then noticed that the dimensions described on the website were completely off. On the website it describes the hair piece as being 4x4 inches. When I measured the hair piece it was 4x2 which made it completely unusable since the 4x4 was what I needed. I contacted Kendra's Boutique through their online Instagram account to inform her of the problem. She purposely deleted the comment I sent to her and did not respond or try to solve the issue. This a fraudulent company who pays people to post good reviews in order to scam other customers. She has a history of deleting any comments or blocking customers from her account who leave negative feedback so it will appear as though her product is good when in fact it is cheap, horrible quality. If this matter is not resolved I will make sure that future customers know about these fraudulent practices.

Desired Settlement
I would like my money refunded back to me for the item that I purchased. My money and my time were wasted on this product and I need reimbursed. I tried to contact the merchant directly but did not receive a response and had my correspondence purposely erased. Since I was unable to resolve the dispute directly with the merchant I am filing a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. If I am unable to resolve this matter through BBB I will proceed to take further action against this company for purposely selling damaged merchandise.

Business Response
E-mail from business:

Hello ******, Thank you for letting us know about this situation. If the Customer had a problem with the closure she could have definitely contacted us and we would have taken care of her. We have numerous of customers that love our product and have plenty of reviews on our page. She just wanted to buy something off our website in order to make a complaint with our business, But everything we sell is top quality! Thank you

Here's Our return policy that she could have easily followed:

May I return my order?
Yes, we are pleased to offer a return policy on unopened hair extensions within SEVEN (7) DAYS within you receiving your order. We find that we have very low return rates and we are proud of the high quality hair extensions that we offer. However, we understand that there may be a case in which you need to return or exchange your order and we are more than happy to accommodate returns and exchanges on hair extensions that have not been opened, worn or tampered with!
You must contact us first before refunding your package at ************ During Business Hours Or Email (***************************) within the seven (7) day return period. All ********************************* must be shipped back unopened in it's original packaging and the packaging must not be defected in any way or a return will not be issued. Human hair extensions are considered a hygienic product. Therefore, we do not offer returns or exchanges if the ********************** seal on the bundle has been broken!


Industry Comparison| Chart

Hair Weaving, Internet Shopping

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/11/2014Business started: 01/01/2012
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Kendra Johnson (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Hair Weaving, Internet Shopping

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 23835 

    Little Rock, AR 72221-3835(501) 308-9570
    (501) 221-6776

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Kendra's Boutique, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (501) 221-6776
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Hair Weaving

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.