BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2002

Ashley Furniture Homestore

(501) 687-04093020 Market Place Ave, BryantAR 72022-9147View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/08/2002

BBB has determined that Ashley Furniture Homestore meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ashley Furniture Homestore's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Ashley Furniture Homestore

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
05/01/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
04/06/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a Sealy Hybrid bed from Ashley Furniture in ******. The bed was much "Firmer" than advertised in the store. No exchange/upgrade allowed.
I purchased a Sealy Hybrid "Trust" bed from Ashley Furniture in ****** recently. The bed was delivered yesterday and after sleeping on the bed I realized that the bed was much "Firmer" than what was advertised in the store. I asked for an upgrade or a refund and they said it was not an option. My complaint lies with Ashley furniture's exchange and customer satisfaction policies. It is very difficult to lie on a bed in the store for 5 minutes and make a determination for that bed for the next 10 years.
I am a disabled veteran and require a very specific sleep system. I have hip and back problems and after sleeping on the bed for 1 evening I realized that I made an error in my purchase. I woke up with more back pain than my sleep system that is 16 years old. I called the store on their policy for an upgrade to a softer mattress and they were "EXTREMELY" firm on their policy for upgrades or exchanges. When I purchased the product this might have been explained to me. After further examination the very very small print (1.5 font or less) documentation I realized this was their policy. This might had been explained to me on the front end of things.
I thought I was being very through in my purchase. The total purchase price for the bed was just over $2,000 and that is a lot of money for my family. I really can't afford to make these types of mistakes that will have grave impacts on my overall health. The sales person informed me that I was "Stuck" and there was nothing that he could do. This is a terrible policy and I'm not sure what I am going to do if this bed continues to make my back and body ache the way it did last night. I just feel the general public should be fully aware of this policy and to let Ashley Furniture know that I am very "Disappointed" in the policy and their handling of my situation. I'm not sure when we lost the premise that "The customer is always right".

Desired Settlement
I simply would request the opportunity to get a Sealy Hybrid mattress that fits my needs. I am requesting the opportunity to purchase the next line up of mattresses and I'm willing to pay the difference in the prices as well. I just need a "Softer" mattress for my health needs.

Business Response
E-mail from consumer:

On March 8th 2014 ************* visited our store and purchased a Sealy Hybrid Cushion Firm King mattress set after extensive time was invested to fit him to the correct option. ********* omits one very important piece of information in his complaint. AFHS of ******, has never extended limited/conditional comfort guarantee's on Sleep Systems. Arkansas has evolved in the past 5 years to the #1 State in America to dispose of used returned mattresses as a result of such comfort guarantees extended by select retailers. We provide complimentary scientific pressure imaging that will validate the correct mattress has been purchased. I communicated to ********* that we do not extend limited conditional comfort guarantees and that once the purchase was made that all sales were final. I stand by the pressure imaging results that clearly revealed that the Sealy Hybid Cushion Firm Trust was the recommended mattress from the options he had selected. ********* took delivery on 3-28-14 and contacted me the same date of delivery complaining that due to discomfort to his back he had purchased the wrong mattress. I informed him that it's not uncommon on a new sleep system to go through a period of adaptation and adjustment. I restated that the imaging results had lead us to this conclusion and that unfortunately a exchange provision would not be and option. On April 2 we received his formal complaint and I placed two calls resulting no answers and I left voice mails at both number provided requesting that an in-store appointment be made to address his comfort issues. I also left a text message requesting the same statement. The following is a series of text messages the will conclusively show that every attempt has been made the address & resolve his compliant.
TEXT MESSAGE COMMUNICATIONS AS FOLLOWS APRIL, 2 6:26 PM message sent after 2 call to both provided number went unturned.
Message #1
*********, Please advise when you're available Mon-Fri 9:00-5:00 PM to establish an appointment time to address your comfort issues. I'm available at ************

Returned Response as follows: April 3, 7:21AM
I'm sorry I couldn't respond yesterday as I was in class and meetings all day yesterday and had church last night. We are in the process of selling our new mattress. So that we can purchase a correct one. I went this route because you told me there were ABSOLUTELY NO OPTIONS FOR AN EXCHANGE. I sent the message to the BBC because the public needs to be aware of your firm exchange policies. When we spoke on the phone it seemed there was no room for discussion at all. I was frustrated with you trying to continue "selling me" on the mattress instead of listening to my concern. It seems strange that you weren't willing to discuss options when we spoke on the phone last Friday (3-28) but after a complaint is received now you want to "brainstorm". Not a good experience from a customers aspect. Unless your willing to make the exchange even on a upgraded new mattress with delivery at no extra cost then I'm not really interested or willing to continue a relationship with your company."

My Reply: 4-3 8:37 AM
********* Thank You for getting back in touch. I understand your frustration. One major omission was not communicated in your compliant. Our recommendation/fitting was based on scientific pressure imaging results. Based on this fact I stand by my recommendation. Let's set an appointment time that we can meet in person in store to address today if possible. Please note your BBB compliant states " I simply would request the opportunity to get a Sealy Hybrid mattress that fits my needs. I am requesting the opportunity to purchase the next line up of mattresses and willing to pay the difference in the prices as well. I just need a "Softer" mattress for my health needs. "********* this is the opportunity you've requested to address and resolve your complaint. I look forward to hearing back from you. *****************************************"

********* Response as follows 4-3-13 9:31 AM
" I have a person interested in the mattress so I think will go in a different direction than what you are offering...."

My Response as follows 4-3-13 9:31 AM
********* this offer to set an in store appointment time to address your comfort issue will officially expire this evening 4-13-14 @ 8:00 PM. ***********************

********* Response as follows 4-3-13 9:45 AM
I would not be able to make it this evening regardless....but as I said I will be taking my business elsewhere

My response as follows 4-3-13 9:46 AM
Thank you for your response, It's unfortunate you feel this way. We value our relationship with all customers and our A+ rating with the BBB communicate this clearly. With this I will conclude that your compliant RE: Case # ******** is closed & resolved. ***********************

Please call me on my cell ************ if you require additional assistance.
Kindest Regards-
************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
False statement 1

I communicated to ********* that we do not extend limited conditional comfort guarantees and that once the purchase was made that all sales were final.

This was never communicated to me in the store...

False Statement 2

********* took delivery on 3-28-14 and contacted me the same date of delivery complaining that due to discomfort to his back he had purchased the wrong mattress.

I did take delivery on the 27th and not the 28th and I did call the next morning....

Industry Comparison| Chart

Furniture - Retail

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/22/2002Business started: 01/01/1997Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 2000, AR

Business Management
Ms. Melynda Tucker (Finance Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kyle Ferguson (Manager of new customer development)Customer Contact: Mr. Chris Pounders (Customer Service Manager)Mr. Wyatt Ferguson (President)Mr. Curtis Ferguson (Vice President)
Number of Employees

44

Business Category

Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Furniture Home Stores of Arkansas, Inc.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ashley Furniture Homestore

3020 Market Place Ave

Bryant, AR 72022-9147

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 3020 Market Place Ave 

    Bryant, AR 72022-9147

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ashley Furniture Homestore is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Furniture - Retail

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.