BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2007

Bill's Fence Co., Inc.

Phone: (501) 985-1773Fax: (501) 985-3214View Additional Phone Numbers6410 T P White Dr, CabotAR 72023-8789

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 01/08/2007

BBB has determined that Bill's Fence Co., Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bill's Fence Co., Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bill's Fence Co., Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)
09/11/2013Problems with Product / Service
11/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Incorrect and damaged steel fencing received and installed. Poor installation workmanship. Fencing installed is not in a new condition.
Ordered Montage Plus fencing from Bill's Fence Company. Upon inspection of installed fencing at my residence, it appears the majority of the fencing installed is another product line, regular Montage. The Montage panels that were installed are aged and have numerous scratches. The posts that were installed also have chipped areas and numerous scratches. Of the 5 panels of steel fencing installed, 4 of the 5 are from the regular Montage product line and are aged with multiple areas of damage; fence panels are not in a new condition. 1 of the 5 panels appears to be brand new and is the only panel from Montage Plus product line. The fence posts installed are compatible for the Montage product line, not the Montage Product line. 2 gates installed are also traditional Montage line, not Montage Plus.

The installation process has been the ultimate culmination of poor customer service received from Bill's Fence. I initially contacted Bill's Fence in early Sept and finally had my fence installed the week of 11/10. I was advised the delays in having my fencing completed was because Montage Plus panels were on order from Ameristar Fencing. Upon discovery of incorrect fencing installed, *********** (***************) admitted the fence panels came from his stock supply of fencing. As of 11/17, the job is not complete in addition to the issues described above. My entire experience with Bill's Fence has been extremely disappointing and the installation phase of my process has been even more disappointing, which I honestly couldn't believe was possible at this point.

Desired Settlement
I will not pay any other amounts additional to the $1000 I have already paid for this fencing. You all have delivered and installed the incorrect fencing at my home. Bill received also clearly states Montage Plus fencing.

Business Response
********************************************************************************************************
The following is a copy of an e-mail that I sent to *********** this morning:

First, I would like to offer my apology to you for your entire experience. Starting with our delay in communication for your initial estimate to our performance on the product, this is certainly not our typical business performance. You are absolutely correct that our conversations revolved around the Ameristar Plus product. This was an error on my part. Our initial conversation regarding iron fence panels started with a comparison between Fortress and Ameristar products. I informed you that we were having some issues with delamination of paint on a few previous Fortress projects and that I recommended that you use the Ameristar product due to a superior product finish.

I also must confess that I did use the term "Montage Plus," which is a commercial product in lieu of the standard Ameristar Montage residential product. That was my mistake and, as eluded to by *********, was based on my lack of experience and time with Bill's Fence Company. I will again apologize for that confusion.

I have not thoroughly inspected the panels in the daylight, but I will not dispute your claim that they are badly scratched. Unfortunately, when I was on the jobsite my main concern was to get the panels installed that day due to the fact that we had already been delayed a couple of days due to rain. We did discuss a few scratches that evening, but not to the extent that you have mentioned. I should have spent more time that evening inspecting the panels.

Again, you are right in that you have four panels that are standard Ameristar Montage residential product and one panel from the "Montage Plus" line. This was not an intentional effort to defraud you and your wife. You and I do not know each other, but that is not who I am.

Your project was on hold while awaiting panels. I had the most of the standard Ameristar Montage residential panels in stock. However, what you were waiting on was the two panels for me to fabricate the gates. I initially told you that there was a long delay if we waited for "plant fabricated gates," but that I could "custom fabricate the gates" in my shop quicker that Ameristar could deliver their gates.

All of this being said, I will tell you that what I charged you for was the Ameristar Montage residential product. If you will allow me to correct my mistakes, I will offer either of the following options:

1. I will have the existing panels removed, sandblasted, and powder coated in our shop to give them a similar factory finish. I will also replace panel on the far left with the standard Ameristar Montage residential product to match the balance of your project.
2. I will remove all of the existing panels and replace them with the Ameristar "Montage Plus" to match the term that I used in our initial conversations.

Of course, I will perform either of these two options without any additional cost to you. My honest desire, as is the desire of *********, is your complete satisfaction. If you review our ratings from the Better Business Bureau, you will find that we currently have an excellent rating. I personally would like to keep that rating. To do that, I need to resolve this matter to yours, and your wife's, complete satisfaction. I recognize that, due to our performance to date, we may not deserve this opportunity. However, I respectfully ask that you allow me personally to make this right for you.

I look forward to your response to my e-mail.


Per *********** response to my above e-mail, we are going to repair / replace (as required by ************) the Ameristar Montage residential product. We feel certain that this will resolve the issue to ************ complete satisfaction.

Furthermore, we will be offering *********** a credit towards his purchase due to the issues he has dealt with related to his fence.

Finally, I would like to say that, contrary to the statements made by ***********, the actions taken by myself or Bill's Fence Company were not taken with malice or an intent to defraud ***********. We feel that the actions scheduled to be taken show a good faith effort on our part to resolve this matter to the original desire of ************ purchase.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Until the issue is resolved, I'm reluctant to say I would accept the response. Unfortunately, my prior experiences do not lend to this being easily accomplished. However, I do welcome the company to show their willingness to correct the current installation issues as to have their workmanship shown off at our home.

************************

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fence Contractors, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Ornamental Metal Work

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 01/04/2007Business started: 01/01/2001
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR 72117
(501) 372-4661
http://aclb.arkansas.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: April 2002, AR

Business Management
Mr. Chris Brown (General Manager)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lance Pabst (Owner)Ms. Jennifer Brown (Office Manager)
Number of Employees

20

Business Category

Fence Contractors, Door & Gate Operating Devices, Ornamental Metal Work

Products & Services

This company offers installation of fences, access controls gazebos and portable buildings.

Industry Tips
Remodeling

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bill's Fence Co., Inc.

6410 T P White Dr

Cabot, AR 72023-8789

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6410 T P White Dr 

    Cabot, AR 72023-8789(501) 985-1773
    (501) 268-4915
    (501) 470-2627
    (501) 262-2041
    Fax: (501) 985-3214
    Fax: (501) 985-3214
    Fax: (501) 985-3214
    Fax: (501) 985-3214

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bill's Fence Co., Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (501) 268-4915
  • (501) 470-2627
  • (501) 262-2041
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Fence Contractors

Remodeling
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.