BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC

(501) 607-3075View Additional Phone Numbers4430 Highway 5 N STE 7, BryantAR 72022-7047

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 1
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Quartz countertop installation not completed correctly and to my satisfaction. BHM refuses to correct.
BHM Countertops and Home Repair, ***** *****, owner, installed quartz countertop in my kitchen on April 8-9, 2014. The section of countertop this complaint pertains to includes the kitchen sink, a 90ïïïïïïï corner turn, a narrow (~ 2 1/4 inches) strip of quartz to lengthen the section, and the opening to the range. Even though the countertop section was lengthened, it still was 3/16 inch shorter than the base cabinet at the range opening. The shortfall resulted in a ¼ inch gap, exposing an unfinished countertop edge.
When pressed to correct this mistake, ***** said he would have to cut the grout along the tile backsplash and move the countertop out to close the gap. When he moved the countertop, he only moved the end with the extension to the range opening, resulting in the countertop being out of square to the base cabinets by ¾ of an inch. ***** now contends that repair was done as I requested, and that I approved and accepted the resolution before he left. The only area I said looked fine was the closure of the gap. I never expected he would move only one end of the countertop making it out of square, and I certainly never approved that. Unfortunately, I did not realize what he had done until that evening. We've since notified ***** that we are not satisfied with the resolution that has now resulted in a different installation issue. His response was that he did the job to our specifications and feels he's gone beyond what we asked to address our concerns. He contends that, if the countertop is out of square, it's likely because the cabinet base is not square, (cabinet base is square). He considers the job to be completed and does not intend to make any additional effort to rectify the installation error.

Desired Settlement
Countertop must be proper length to cover base cabinets and must have a standard 1-inch over hang square to the base cabinets. Alternatively, refund $1,868.68, which is the square foot cost of the countertop installed incorrectly, which will be fixed or replaced by another company.

Business Response
In April 2014 my crew and I installed a quartz countertop for Mr. and Ms. *******. Once the job was complete, they indicated they were completely satisfied with the job. I also have signed invoices from them confirming the job was completed. Over a week later I began receiving phone calls and emails stating they were not satisfied. During this time I had several health issues and had to have emergency surgery and spent seven days in the hospital plus additional recovery time after my hospital stay.
Mr. ******* and his wife sent an email to me which stated they wanted "resolution of the issues sited (unfinished countertop ends and short countertop) by Friday June 23" and continued to state "If your health is such that it prevents you from performing the work in this time frame, you need to communicate that to us, provide documentation to substantiate the medical condition, and outline a reasonable timeline by which work will be completed."On several occasions Mr. ******* spoke to my employee about his concerns and when she tried to apologize to him and explain that I had emergency surgery he informed her that my health was of no concern of his.
According to the email from Mr. ******* and his wife, the ONLY issues were the countertops ends on both sides of the range which he states were unfinished (not polished) and the side to the right of the range, which in his opinion, was 1/4 inch shorter than the base cabinet. I met with Mr. ******* in person on May 13, 2014to discuss these issues. I explained to him that, to save labor costs and since the edges are hidden next to the appliances, the industry standard is to leave the edges unfinished. In regards to the side on the right of the range being 1/4 inch shorter, Mr. ******* informed me that "this gap is a $7600.00 **** up". I proceeded to re-measure the gap that Mr. ******* had stated was 1/4 inch shorter and determined the actual measurement wasin fact only 3/16 inch shorter, which he concurred. During this meeting,Mr. ******* was verbally aggressive, using foul language which, in my opinion was very unprofessional and unacceptable to me and I informed him of such. I later informed Mr. ******* that I would return on Monday June 16, 2014 to resolve the 3/16 inch gap.
My worker's and I arrived on Monday June 16, 2014 at which time we removed the grout and moved the countertop 3/16 inch and replaced the grout. After the work was complete I asked Mr. *******, in front of three witnesses, if everything was to his satisfaction. He told me "everything looked fantastic, great job "then he proceeded to apologize for the trouble then my workers and I left satisfied in knowing the job was complete.
I have since received an email from Ms. ******* where, once again they have changed their minds and decided the job was not completed to their satisfaction after her husband once again told me that everything looked fantastic and I had done a great job. She proceeded to scold me and give me the same advice she gives to her kids "you should own it and make it right". I responded to her that her husband wanted the countertop moved to the location it was moved to, we did as he asked and he approved everything before we left and said everything looked great. Ms. ******* responded with an additional list of items she was not satisfied with. I now have received a notice from the BBB where they have submitted a letter which now includes an even longer list than what was originally stated by the first email from Mr. *******.
The job was originally done to the satisfaction of all parties involved, as time progressed, Mr. and Mrs. ******* nit-picked the job and found fault where no fault was present. As a business owner I want my work to reflect the pride and integrity I put into all of the work I do. I went above and beyond what the industry standards are in order to make them happy but the fact remains they will never be satisfied. I have addressed all of their concerns, I have received a verbal acknowledgement that everything was great and a signed contract stating everything was acceptable and twice now they have changed their minds. Unfortunately there is nothing further I am willing to do as the job I did and always do is above the standards of other companies. I wish them all the luck in finding another company willing to go to the lengths I went through in order to try and please them.
***** *****
BHM Countertops & Home Repair

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We are disappointed, but not surprised, that Mr. ***** is not willing to stand behind his installation and resolve the out-of-square issue. Also, the more we research installation standards followed and the quality of service provided by other fabricators/installers, the more convinced we become that this is a substandard installation with issues beyond the one we are asking that he resolve, and that our request is not unreasonable.

Given Mr. *****' unwillingness to meet our request, this claim likely will stand as the only reparation for our experience with BHM Countertops & Home Repair and its proprietor, ***** *****. So, I want to ensure the record is as complete as it can be, and that it clearly represents my perspective of that engagement.

I offer the following points in addition to information previously provided and in reply to Mr. ****** response to this claim:

1. The yellow duplicate copy of the invoice we have is not signed. Even if it was, I would not expect that to absolve BHM from correcting any installation issues. I was at work when the job was completed, did not know a final inspection was necessary and certainly didn't give any indication it was completed to my satisfaction.
2. We had no reason to believe there were any issues with the installation; therefore, we did not closely inspect every aspect of the job before the BHM crew left. It was a day or so later before we realized the countertop was shorter than the base cabinet. It took us a few more days to decide if we wanted to approach Mr. ***** about the issue. We decided we would regret it if we didn't, so started attempting to contact him by calling his showroom and leaving messages with his daughter (his employee he references).
3. We sent the email Mr. ***** references after several attempts to contact him were not responded to. We set a deadline in the email because we truly felt he was intentionally avoiding us. Also, he had cancelled several previous appointments throughout the project (twice after one or both of us had already taken time off work to meet with him).
4. If unfinished edges is the industry standard, why are the edges at the refrigerator nicely polished? Based on my research, industry standards call for polished edges on all exposed surface. Industry standards also call for seams to be placed in the most inconspicuous and low-traffic location, with gaps that do not exceed 1/16", patterns that align and slabs that are level. Splicing in a narrow strip of quartz that creates a seam approximately three inches from the range opening and still falls short of the base cabinet is not standard or acceptable. Industry standard also calls for a 1.5" - 2" overhang over base cabinets that does not vary materially over a span. A countertop that is visibly out of square is not standard.
5. I did make the comment that Mr. ***** points out and did use the language he states. Three points need to be made about that comment and surrounding conversation: a) I was direct in expressing our disappointment in both the installation issues and Mr. *****' response so far - I was not aggressive; b) I had no indication Mr. ***** would find the language offensive, as he and his crew used profanity while on the job; c) I did not state "this gap is a $7,600 f*&% up." I told Mr. ***** that I would regret not bringing it to his attention and trying to get it fixed. If I he didn't at least make an effort to get it fixed, I would notice it every time I walked into the kitchen and think it was my $7,600 f*&% up. There's a difference. Mr. *****' only response was that I should not be angry over a 1/4", but he would make it right.
6. Mr. ***** agreed to remove the grout and shift the quartz slab to cover the gap. He indicated that polishing the ends post-installation was not feasible. I agreed to forego that issue. He indicated he would return on Thursday to make the repair. I called the showroom the next morning to ask which Thursday and time, 5/22/14 at 8 a.m.
7. Mr. *****' daughter (employee) called on 5/20/14 to say Mr. ***** had emergency surgery on 5/19 and would be out 7-10 days. I said I would wait to hear from him in 7 to 10 days. I called the showroom 6/2 to see if Mr. ***** was back at work, again speaking with his daughter. She contacted him and responded to me that he had us scheduled for 6/11/14. Before taking off work again, I called Mr. ***** on 6/10 to confirm the 6/11 appointment and to set a time; he indicated it would around 1 p.m. His daughter called at 9:34 a.m. on 6/11 saying Mr. ***** had to cancel due to a torn stitch and that he would get to us when he could. That resulted in the e-mail of 6/13/14; his reply was that we insulted him, but he would be there 6/16/14 to resolve the gap issue.
8. Mr. ***** returned on 6/16/14 and removed the grout and shifted ONE END of an L-shaped section of countertop, resulting in the section being out of square to the walls and the base cabinets. I was at home when this was done, but was on the phone with work much of the time. I did verify that the countertop now covered the base cabinet, but again did not realize that Mr. ***** had moved only one end and created another problem in doing so. I gave him an opportunity to come back and square things up. He indicated - via email - that he felt he had gone above and beyond and would not be returning. At that point, we felt our only option was to take it to the BBB.
9. We are not requesting anything other than resolution of the out-of-square issue. ******* did note some other items she felt could have been done better, but we are not and have never asked him to address those items. We like the new countertops, cabinets, lighting, etc., and are ready to complete the remodel, with the single exception of getting Mr. *****' mistakes fixed.

To summarize: Did BHM install a countertop that was 3/16" shorter than the base cabinet resulting in a 1/4" gap at the range? Yes. Did I do anything to cause that shortage? No. To hide that shortage, did BHM move the countertop out of square? Yes. Is that an acceptable and professional solution? No.

In addition to my comments here, I've attached copies of the email record.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Countertops, Contractor - Interior Trim, Doors - Installation, Cabinets, Home Repair & Maintenance, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements, Kitchen Remodeling

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/23/2012Business started: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Contractor's Licensing Board
4100 Richards Road
North Little Rock, AR 72117
(501) 372-4661

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Earls (Owner)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Countertops, Contractor - Interior Trim, Doors - Installation, Cabinets, Home Repair & Maintenance, Windows - Installation & Service, Remodeling Services, Bathroom Remodeling, Patio & Deck Builders, Home Improvements, Kitchen Remodeling

Industry Tips

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC

4430 Highway 5 N STE 7

Bryant, AR 72022-7047

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4430 Highway 5 N STE 7 

    Bryant, AR 72022-7047(501) 607-3075
    (501) 847-2222

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BHM Countertops & Home Repair, LLC is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (501) 847-2222

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Countertops


What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.