BBB Business Review

Is this your Business?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 04/03/1986

Heritage Building Systems

Phone: (800) 643-5555Fax: (800) 981-8167

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
09/07/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The building that I purchased had defects. After sending photos and a cost to repair from my contractor to ************. After 2months no payment.
June 1 2015 I had a building erected from Heritage Buildings. My contractor (JCS Erectors found a defect in one of the rafters. Per the request of ************ from Heritage Buildings I sent pictures and a copy of the bill to repair the defect from JCS. A $450.00 refund was approved according to ********. After over 2 months no one can tell me when this will be paid. I have contacted ******** several times and was told he would get back with me and never dose.

Desired Settlement
$450.00 Refund for repairs.

Business Response
The Building was delivered in Oct.2014, we were notified of a miss-fabrication of a rafter and we did agree and approve his rework charge's. We did received his invoice on June 1st.
and are sorry our process of his claim took longer than expected to have it signed off by the quality control personal at the plant.
Our Parent Company NCI has cut Check#****** in the amount of $450.00 which was agreed to and mailed on Aug.24 to Customer.

10/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was sold a commercial style vent for the roof of my building that is way too large building... I want a credit for the vents and shipping
Heritage has delayed my building repeatedly with incorrect items . The brown flashing was shipped the first time made wrong . The second time was still wrong but had to use it anyway to get the building up. The drip leg on front flashing doesn't match the sides. Front is 1 inch and the sides are 1.5 inches. But the main issue is the commercial roof vents I was sold are giant eye sores I won't put on my building. I feel I should get a full credit including shipping. The sales staff are a slow or reluctant to return calls now that I have paid for the building.

Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
In response to the issues stated by the customer. Heritage was made aware of the trim issues as well as the customers decision not to install the ridge vents that he ordered with his building package on or about Aug 11th. Heritage promptly replaced the trim with what we understand to be the correct trim. Our records show that the additional trim was delivered on Aug. 15th. If the trim is still not correct, we will replace it again if neccessary. There are two different trim conditions on this building project. One is for the wall that has masonry/brick and the other was for the walls that had been designed for the wainscot. Therefore the trim would be different for each application.

In regards to the vents. Heritage informed the customer that the vents were a "Buyout" or "Non Stock Items" and that they could not be returned. The building was originally detailed to have the vents installed on the roof. Since the customer elected not to install them, we sent out additional material to the customer at no additonal cost so that he could enclose the roof where the vents were to be installed.This material was delivered at the same time as the replacement trim.

*******************************************************

03/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I purchased a building from heritage a little over a year ago and the first time it snowed on it the gutters got ripped off by the snow.
**** ********** Job #XXXXXXX

A little over two weeks ago we got 9" of snow and the next day I noticed the gutters on my building has gotten ripped up pretty bad. I called heritage on February 19th and talked to **** ****** about the problem, he said he would talk to his manager and see what he could do to help me out and call me back. I waited a week and called him back since he hadn't called, it was obvious that he wasn't concerned about my problem. heritage says that the gutters are designed to hold up to a 20psf snow load which is code in Virginia but the snow we got was less than that and they failed. I am in a mess with all the water from the roof running off where I drive at making a muddy mess and there seems to be no one trying to help me at heritage.


If they done want to make it right by fixing the obvious design flaws of the gutters, at least they could be getting a price on some new gutters and seeing how soon they could get them shipped out. Im very disappointed in the customer service.

Up until now I've been very happy with the product I received from heritage and have been recommending them to everyone; but if this is the customer service I'm going to have to face when a problem comes arises I will have to tell people to steer clear of them!

Desired Settlement
Some good customer service!

Business Response
To Whom it may concern,

I had spoken with the customer about his damaged gutters from the recient snow and ice storm in Virginia and had told him that I would get with his Salesman and our Manager on the issue. It was determined that a contractor that has been a long term customer of ours actually installed the building. He installed the gutters per our construction drawings. In discussion with our GM and the salesman, We made a decision that we would sell the replacements at cost to help out both the customer and assist our long term customer who the end customer was holding responsible on the ice damage to his gutters.
I spoke with the end customer on 2-28-2014 and told him his building delivered back on
8-17-2012 per the codes on his purchase order which was a 20 PSF. The customer signed that he verified that the snow load design of 20 PSF roof loading was approved by his county officials. The gutter were designed with standard gutters and is the correct design for the snow load listing for that area. We have a 'Northern Style" gutter that we utilize in areas that require a 30 psf or higher. Even with that said, ice can damage the Northern Type as well. The gutter is not designed to hold 20psf of snow & ice, its designed to drain water. As mentioned above, we offered to sell the gutters to the customer at cost, but can not replace the gutters at no charge. The contractor has another building being delivered soon and the replacement gutters could ride with it and save the additional freight cost if purchased in time.
I informed him he needs to look into snow jacks or snow blocks to help protect his roof system from ice and snow damege as well as ice falling on personel.
We have talked with his contractor and as of today 3-13-2014 we are waiting on the list of material to provide an estimate.
We feel that we have offered the customer a savings on replacements as well offered good customer service.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers, Buildings - Metal, Steel Detailers - Structural

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.