BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/07/2012

Lewis Ford

Find a Location

(479) 442-53013373 N College Ave, FayettevilleAR 72703-3816

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/07/2012

BBB has determined that Lewis Ford meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Lewis Ford's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (2)BBB Closure Definitions
08/04/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
LEWIS FORD CHARGED FOR FIVE HOURS OF LABOR AND ONLY WORKED FOR LESS THEN THREE HOURS ON MY VEHICLE. WHEN ASKED ABOUT THIS THEY SAID IT WAS STANDARD PR
LEWIS FORD CHARGED FOR FIVE HOURS OF LABOR AND ONLY WORKED FOR LESS THEN THREE HOURS ON MY VEHICLE WHEN ASKED ABOUT THIS THEY SAID IT WAS STANDARD WAY THEY DID BUSINESS. I TOOK MY **** INTO LEWIS FORD ************* ******** AFTER A BRAKEDOWN ON THE INTERSTATE. THE NEXT MORNING THEY CALLED TO TELL ME THEY HAD FOUND THE PROBLEM AND FIXED IT. THEY THAN TOLD ME THAT THEY HAD FOUND A LEAK IN THE RADIATOR WHICH NEEDED FIXED AND IT WOULD COST AROUND $1600. I TOLD THEM IT WOULD HAVE TO WAIT AT THIS TIME. I CALLED AROUND TO SEE IF I COULD FIND SOMEONE TO DO THE WORK CHEAPER. THE ONLY SHOP THAT COULD DO IT TOLD ME FORD HAD THE MARKET ON THE RADIATOR AND THEY COULD NOT GET ONE TO FIX THE VEHILCE. I THAN CALLED BACK TO LEWIS FORD IN ************* ** TO TELL MY SERVICE MANAGER ******* TO GO AHEAD AND FIX THE VEHICLE. THANKS TO CELL PHONE I HAVE THE TIME THE CALL WAS MADE AT 10:53AM. I KNOW THEY DID NOT HAVE THE VEHICLE IN THE SHOP, BUT GIVING THEM THE BENEFIT OF TIME BRAKE, I BELIEVE THEY COULD NOT HAVE STARTED WORK ON IT UNTIL 11:15AM. ******* AT LEWIS FORD CALLED ME BACK AT 2:17PM TO TELL ME THE TRUCK WAS READY. THIS WAS A TOTAL OF THREE HOURS LABOR. LEWIS FORD CHARGED ME FIVE LABOR. THEY SAID THAT WAS THE INDUSTRY STANDARD.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE BEEN JUST CHARGED FOR THE TIME IT TOOK AND NOT STANDARD INDUSTRY LIMITS. I WOULD LIKE THE DEALSHIP TO START CHARGING CUSTOMERS BY THE TIME THEY OR WORKING ON THE VHEICLE.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ******@lewissuperstore.com
WHEN WE QUOTED THE REPAIRS ON MR. *****'S TRUCK WE USED ALL DATA FOR THE PURPOSE OF QUOTING THE LABOR CHARGES. WE TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE CUSTOMER THAT USING LABOR GUIDES SUCH AS ALL DATA,MOTOR ******************** ETC. IS A STANDARD PROCEDURE WITHIN THE INDUSTRY. WE TRIED TO EXPLAIN TO THE CUSTOMER THAT THIS PRACTICE IS ACTUALLY TO HIS BENEFIT. IF A LESS EXPERIENCED TECHNICIAN OR SOMEONE WHO IS A LITTLE SLOWER TAKES 7 HOURS TO COMPLETE THE REPAIR, WE STILL CHARGE WHAT THE GUIDE SUGGESTED. IF AN EXPEEREINCED TECHNICIAN OR SOMEONE WHO IS MORE EFFEICIANT WITH HIS TIME COMPLETES THE REPAIR IN LESS TIME THEN WHAT THE GUIDE SUGGEST, THAT IS TO HIS BENEFIT BECAUSE HE HAS GAINED THAT EXPERIENCE. IF CUSTOMER WISHES TO CHECK WITH OTHER SHOPS HE WOULD FIND THAT 99%, IF NOT ALL, USE SOME TYPE OF PUBLICATION TO DETERMINE THE LABOR THAT IS SUGGESTED FOR MOST REPAIRS.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I DO NOT AGREE WITH THEIR SO CALLED "ALL DATA, MOTOR PUBLICATION, ******** ETC" AND OVER CHARGING THIER CUSTOMERS FOR MORE TIME THEN THEY SPEND FIXING A PROBLEM. AS I TOLD THEIR AT THE TIME I FEEL IT IS BETTER TO HIRE A PROFESSIONAL THEN KEEP SOMEONE AROUND THAT IS NOT DOING THE JOB. WHY COST THE CUSTOMER MORE? I DON'T AGREE WITH THEIR ETHICS AND THE WAY THEY ARE DOING BUSINESS. I ALSO ASK AT THE TIME IF IT TOOK SIX HOURS WOULD I BE CHARGE FOR SIX AND I WAS TOLD I WOULD BE CHARGED FOR SIX. I AM FINDING THAT THE GENERAL PUBLIC DOES NOT KNOW COMPANIES USE THESE GUIDE BOOKS TO CHARGE PEOPLE. I GUESS IT WILL TAKE SOMEONE TO STAND UP AGAINST THEIR SYSTEM BEFORE IT WILL BE CHANGED. I WILL STILL QUESTION THIER INTEGRITY AND ETHICS.

Final Business Response
WE ARE SORRY THAT YOU FEEL THIS WAY, AS STATED BEFORE BECAUSE OF EXTENSIVE TRAINING AND EXPENSIVE TOOLS IT IS POSSIBLE FOR AN EXPERIENCED TECHNICIAN TO BEAT THE CLOCK. IN THIS SITUATION THT TRCHNICIAN PERFORMED THIS REPAIR BEFORE, ALLOWING HIM TO DO THE JOB MORE EFFICIENTLY. WE HAVE REVIEWED THIS TICKET AND DID NOT FINE ANY OVER CHARGING OR ETHICAL ISSUES.

09/30/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/03/1983Business started: 06/01/1946Business started locally: 01/01/1969
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
101 E Capitol Ave Ste 204
Little Rock, AR72201-3826
(800) 482-5850
http://www.armvc.com/licensee.html

Arkansas State Police
1 State Police Plaza
Little Rock, AR72209
(501) 618-8600
http://www.asp.state.ar.us/divisions/rs/rs index.html

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: October 1946, AR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Matt Lewis (President)Mr. Tim Lewis (Owner)
Number of Employees

45

Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Parts & Supplies - New, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Alternate Business Names
Lewis Automotive Group, Lewis Used Superstore
Industry Tips
As Is - No Warranty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lewis Ford

3373 N College Ave

Fayetteville, AR 72703-3816

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 3373 N College Ave 

    Fayetteville, AR 72703-3816

  • PO Box 8430 

    Fayetteville, AR 72703-0008

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lewis Ford is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

As Is - No Warranty
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.