BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1973

Bale Chevrolet Company

Find a Location

Phone: (501) 221-9191Fax: (501) 221-9484View Additional Phone Numbers13101 Chenal Pkwy, Little RockAR 72211-5215

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/11/1973

BBB has determined that Bale Chevrolet Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Bale Chevrolet Company's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Problems with Product / Service7
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Bale Chevrolet Company

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
05/23/2013Problems with Product / Service
04/01/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My complaint is with ********** and ***** (last name unknown at **** Collision. They did not respond respectfully to my face-to-face concerns.
After having my 2007 Honda Odyssey van hit while parked in the parking lot at work, I requested a quote from **** Collision. After consulting with the insured provider, Direct, I was directed to take my van in for a one week repair job on Dec. 2. I dropped my van off at approx. 12:30 p.m. I was granted a rental vehicle as a courtesy from the insurance provider.
As time went on, one week, two weeks, and eventually three weeks, I constantly called **** Collision to check on the status of my vehicle. ********** replies varied from delays in the shop due to winter weather, employees on vacation, to having a new untrained employee, to stating that it was awaiting pin stripes, etc. At the beginning of the third week, Dec. 16, I was notified by Enterprise, via voicemail that my rental car was due to be turned in. I contacted **** at that time and they indicated that the van was not ready. On Dec. 19 at 11:30, I contacted **** and was once again told my van wasn't ready. On Dec. 20, I received a message at work from the secretary saying the van was ready. I first returned to Enterprise to turn in the rental car. I was informed that I would owe additional charges because the amount of days Direct agreed to pay was exceeded. When I arrived at **** to pick-up my van, I brought this matter to ********** attention since **** assumed the responsibility of submitting a supplemental claim to Direct for repairs and rental fees due to delays beyond the initially quoted job time. ******* commented that he tried to call me on 12/19 at what was determined to be a wrong number. He stated that Direct or I would have to take responsibility for the additional rental car days beyond the 12/16. I told him that I wouldn't be responsible for the fact that **** didn't have my van ready until 12/20 according to the message I received at work to come and pick my van up on 12/20. ******** was extremely rude to me in person and accepted no fault on ****'s part in the delay in the delivery of the vehicle. I asked to speak to his supervisor and immediately, ***** stood from behind a partition and indicated that she'd heard the entire encounter. She also said that I should have come on 12/19 to pick my van up, even though I was not notified. ***** proceeded with the conversation and excepted no responsibility on ****'s part for the delay and the additional charges. She argued that I should have received the message to a wrong number on 12/19 and indicated that she'd left a message at my home number on 12/20 (which was not true). At the end of our conversation, she said that **** would pay for one day of rental charges only. I left **** without an inspection to my van and a receipt. ******** nor ***** thanked me for my business or apologized for their behavior or company's delays in repair of my car. Enterprise charged my Visa card for the additional days of rental fees. I excercised my right to have those charges challenged via my bank to no avail. On 2/6, I contacted ***** to inquire about any additional resolution that she'd made with Enterprise. She replied that she'd contact Enterprise concerning the additional charges and call me back. On 2/7, I contacted ***** once again and she said **** would take care of 2 days of rental fees. I let her know that wasn't acceptable. She replied rudely that was all she could do. I again told her that her rudeness nor the 2 days of rental fees were acceptable. She hung the phone up in my face.I called **** back and ********** reply was that it was acceptable practice for ***** to hang up in my face since I wouldn't let her say what she wanted to say. He also said that "it's not our fault you wrecked you car".I let him know that I was dissatisfied and that I would be filing a formal complaint within ****'s chain-of-command to address the lack of customer service, rudeness, timely delivery of my van, and failed coordination of claim.

Desired Settlement
I would like for Bale Collision to reimburse me for the cost of the additional 4 rental days - $185.61. I'd also like to receive a verbal apology from ********************. I'd also like for the company to note their behavior in their reviews as well as require some additional customer service training. For future customers, Bale should review their practice of coordinating claims to insure that delays beyond the commitment time are being addressed and not to the detriment of the customer.

Business Response
I talked with ************, our body shop manager and she said that she already told Ms. ***** that we would take care of the $185.61, and we did. We contacted Enterprise and had them send us a bill and we have already paid them for the extra days rental.

Consumer Response
The complaint has not been resolved. I still have not received a refund of the charges as promised by Bale Collision. I've attempted to contact Enterprise to see if they were going to refund/reverse the charges. They have not responded.

Business Response
I just talked to our comptroller this morning and we have not paid Enterprise for the rental yet. The PO was issued but it has never been paid. We are going to contact ********* today and have her come by here and pick up her check for $185.61.

01/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

The vehicle was taken to Bale Chevrolet service department on 11/20/2013 for repair of the rear main seal to correct an oil leak. The repair was completed on 11/22/2013. The cost of that repair was $1,153.65. The vehicle was picked up on 11/22/2013 and was driven to ************** by the consumer. On 11/23/2013 there was excessive smoke noticed coming from the rear pipes, when the vehicle was started. I called the service advisor, **********, at Bale Chevrolet on 11/23/2011 and advised him that there was smoke coming from the rear pipes. He stated "It is probably due to the cold weather". The vehicle was driven on 11/23 and 11/24. There was no change in the smoke from the rear pipes and the vehicle. We called the service advisor, **********, on 11/25 and he advised me to pull the oil stick. I pulled the oil stick and there was no oil residue on the stick. My wife, *****************, was present when I checked the oil on 11/25. I immediately called the service advisor back and was told to bring the vehicle in immediately.The vehicle was driven back to Bale Chevrolet in Little Rock, AR on 11/25. The service technician at Bale checked the oil and found that it was extremely low and added oil to fill it up. He added 3 1/2 quarts of oil at that time. **********, the service advisor then stated, "The technician forgot to put the oil back in the truck, after he had repaired the lines that were leaking". I then asked the service advisor, **********, if the excessive amount of smoke was caused by driving the vehicle since it was taken from the service department on 11/22. He replied "No". There was no charge for the service, I left and the vehicle was driven back to my home in **********.On 11/27/2013, I noticed the vehicle was smoking again. I called the service advisor, **********. He requested me to bring the vehicle back to Bale on 11/29 and that it would be inspected and that the process would take about 3 1/2 hours. After inspecting the vehicle, he stated the "drain holes were stopped up and in order to repair them he would have to order a valve cover and the out of pocket cost would be $140. The car was driven back to **********. I called the service advisor, **********, on 12/2/2013 and was advised that he was not in. On 12/3 I called ********* again and was advised by a different service representative that ********* was out sick for the day. On 12/3 ********* returned my call and advised that he was sick and would return to work on 12/4. On 12/4 I took the vehicle back and left the vehicle at Bale Chevrolet so that the valve cover could be replaced. 12/5 ********* called and advised me that was another problem and that the valve cover was not needed because they were clean and looked fine. He said at that time "that it could be the valve seals sticking, but he was not sure and that the seals could be repaired at the cost of $525 and if that didn't stop the smoking, it could possibly be a ring problem, due to the pressure from fixing the real main seal and if that was the case, the vehicle's motor would need replacing at the cost of $5,875. After that conversation with *********, I left Bale and headed back to ********** in the vehicle. I experienced hesitation, shaking, a bad miss and generally running bad. I immediately called **** and reported the problem. He stated "I don't know what is wrong and will have to check with someone else". on 12/6, I called the service manager, ********, approximately six (6) time and got no answer and left several messages. Called once and got a secretary. She stated "He is in his office and I will have him call you". ******** called back and I informed him of my reason for calling. He stated "the problem is from the rear main seal that was repaired at Bales and that there was nothing that they could do about it". He also stated "that is what happens when you purchase someone else's problems and to keep 3 1/2 qts of oil at all times". ******** did not know that I am the original purchaser of the vehicle and have never had any problem with the truck as it is well maintained.
Order_Number: INVOICE NO. ******

Desired Settlement
That Bale will make the necessary repairs that resulted in the failure of the service technician to put the oil back into the vehicle after the repair of the oil leak was completed. This negligence caused additional problems and now the company is advising the the motor be replaced at my expense.

Business Response
According to our records the vehicle was brought back on Dec 5, 2013 and that is when we added 3.5 qrts of oil were added. ********* has worked for us for 29 years and he does not remember saying anything about the tech not putting the oil in the vehicle. When we put a new rear seal in the motor that will internalize the pressure and if there are any weak points in the motor that is where the oil will go. We are guessing the issue is due to excessive age and miles on the motor and the smoking is coming from internal consumption of the oil.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this resonse because the accuracy of the repair to the consumer vehicle as nothing to do with the years the service advisor has been employed at Bale.The consumer truck was picked up and driven home on 11/22/2013 with the 29year advisor ******** word that it was fixed and ready to go.If the consumer vehicle was repaired properly it shouldn't have had to return on Dec.5,2013 for oil.that was the initial repair

Final Business Response
The problem is that the vehicle has 200,000+ miles on the motor. When we replaced the rear seal there is no way for us to know the integrity of the other components of the motor. And if there is an internal oil leak due to increased pressure from a functioning rear seal.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I brought my truck up to Bale around 10:30am (1998 z71) to havea smoke test done, when i picked it up it was knocking at 12:20 ish
on Saturday nov 23 2013
I dropped off my 1998 z71 and was told i was getting a smoke test. transmission had no secind gear to begin with but it drove anyways and needed a shift cyloind. which i already knew. When we arrived back at bale to see how it was going and how much longer, i could hear them reving the motor up and they kept doing this for a while. we were told that they put a swin and oil ring on the crank sfaft position sensoer because it was rubbing up against my crank shaft. I looked under where the position senosr and the crank shaft and there wasnt any swin or new oil ring to be found. Then they told us that the valve was rattling. which I had never heard. THen as soon as i started it up it sounded like a bag of marbles jumbling. and when i started to give it gas it started knocking even louder. I had to get to my house bc my baby boy was hungry and had to get him milk plus by the time we got back to the house it was so loud we couldnt take it back up there. after i spent 100 to have a smoke test done and thats it- i came home without having that done and my only transpertation is broke down. I called bale and all they relived to me was to bring it back up there. I told them i couldnt it would have to be towed. Then monday i called them to arrange a time and they said they werent responciple. The man that was working on my truck continued to rev my truck knowing it had a shift cyloid out . you had to let off gas to let it shift into 3rd.

Desired Settlement
I want Bale to cover the cost of fixing what they did to my motor . there wasnt anything wrong with my truck besides the small shift promblem n i wanted ONLY a smoke test. Not for them to destroy my only vehicle. THey will not help me even though i have called and complained many times. Even after they said to bring it back up there.

Business Response

E-mail from ***********:

************ was informed of these problems when he brought the vehicle in. Our Service Advisor remembers the situation and remembers telling ************ about some possible problems with his transmition and his motor at the time he took possession of his vehicle.

Bale Auto Group
Little Rock, Ar

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept this response because my motor wasn't knocking untill there machanics drove and over revved my truck knowing the transmission didn't shift right.

12/31/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Bale is dis-honest or incompetent. They evaluated my truck for repairs that it did not need.
On 29 Oct 2013 I took my 2009 Chevy Silverado in for a check engine light and tire wear. Later that day **** with Bale service department calls me a tells me I need a catalytic converter, my master cylinder was leaking and needs to be replaced, and my upper and lower ball joints need to be replaced. Total price was over $3200. I told them that I didn't have the funds to do that at that time. They called my back a few minutes later and said they could do it for $2600. I told them I would just pick up the truck. I then got a call from a sales person at Bale saying that they had a buyer for my truck. I took my truck to the dealership that I purchased the truck from in ************* on 12 November 2013 and they looked over it. I did need a catalytic converter. But an alignment took care of the tire wear, no need for upper of lower ball joints, as for the leaking master cylinder it did not show to be leaking or ever have been leaking. I had the dealership in ************* change the battery and oil. So in conclusion Bale Chevrolet tried to replace and fix parts that were not faulty or broke. Bale Chevrolet is dishonest and shady.

Desired Settlement
I paid $101.92 for them to try and rip me off. I want that refunded.

Business Response
We did look at **************** vehicle and he declined the repairs. We took it to another dealership and we asked him to bring it back to us and we would be glad to show him what we found, and he declined to do so.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have the paper work to prove my case. Go to their web site and try to leave a review. Bale Chevrolet is crooked. I would be more than happy to send them the receipt from the dealership that fixed my truck and didn't try to rip me off so Bale can compare it to what their crooked mechanic (****) said was wrong. I would be willing to send it to the BBB so they can warn Arkansas about the shady dealings of Bale Chevrolet. I am sure the Bale family built their business on honest, and integrity that is not their current values. The BBB has no real authority other than to be a sounding board, it is my hope this will reduce the A+ rating. Bale I imagine if you maintain your current business values you won't be in business much longer. It is dealerships like yours that give them a bad name.

Final Business Response
We have not been in business for over 100 years and have an A+ rating with the BBB by not taking care of our customers. We stand behind what our mechanic found. If ************** would bring his vehicle by we would be glad to show him what we found.

10/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 08/04/1973Business started: 10/01/1912Business started locally: 04/18/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
101 E Capitol Ave Ste 204
Little Rock, AR 72201-3826
(800) 482-5850

Arkansas State Police
1 State Police Plaza
Little Rock, AR 72209
(501) 618-8600 index.html

Type of Entity


Incorporated: April 1923, AR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hunter Bale (Owner)Mr. Jeff Askew (Controller)Mr. John Bale Jr. (President)Mr. Hardin Bale III (Vice President)Mr. Kevin Kelly (General Sales Manager)Ms. Glenda Stafford (Executive Assistant to Mr. Bale)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars, Auto Services, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers auto sales & service.

Alternate Business Names
Bale Collision Center
Industry Tips
As Is - No Warranty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Bale Chevrolet Company

13101 Chenal Pkwy

Little Rock, AR 72211-5215

To | From


2 Locations

  • 13101 Chenal Pkwy 

    Little Rock, AR 72211-5215(800) 467-2253
    (501) 375-0910

  • PO Box 22070 

    Little Rock, AR 72221-2070

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Bale Chevrolet Company is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 467-2253
  • (501) 375-0910

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers - New Cars

As Is - No Warranty

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.