BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2005

Heartland Honda

Phone: (479) 751-7022Fax: (479) 756-0940View Additional Phone Numbers824 S 48th St, SpringdaleAR 72762-4877

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/31/2005

BBB has determined that Heartland Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Heartland Honda's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
06/24/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
HEARTLAND HONDA ADVERTISED 120 DAYS NO PAYMENTS ON ALL 750 MODEL BIKES FOR EVERYONE. HAD IT POSTED ALL OVER THE STORE.
i APPLIED FOR CREDIT WITH HEARTLAND AND THEY APPROVED ME FOR CREDIT.I ASK ABOUT THE 120 DAY NO PAYMENT AND THE SALESMAN TOLD ME THAT WAS NO PROBLEM THAT I QUALIFY FOR THAT TOO. I TALKED TO THE CLOSER AND SHE SAID YES I QUALIFY FOR THE 120 DAY NO PAYMENT PLAN ALSO. THEY ORDERED ME A BIKE, HAD $1000.00 IN ACCESSORIES MOUNTED ON IT AND HAD IT READY FOR ME WHEN I GOT THERE 211 MILES AWAY. WE WERE SIGNING CONTRACTS AND GOT IT ALL SIGNED AND SHE TOLD ME I COULD START PAYMENTS THE FOLLOWING MONTH ON THE 11TH OR THE 31ST. I ASK HER ABOUT THE 120 DAY NO PAYMENT THEN SHE TOLD ME THAT WAS ONLY ON APPROVED CREDIT CUSTOMERS. I TOLD HER MY CREDIT WAS APPROVED AND THAT WAS WHAT WE WERE SIGNING. SHE MADE A PHONE CALL AND SAID NO SHE COULDNT DO IT AND THEN STARTED TELLING ME HOW LOUSY MY CREDIT WAS. WELL THAT WASNT IN THE CONVERSATIONS FOR THE PRIOR 2 WEEKS OF NEGOTIATING OVER THE PHONE. SHE WOULDNT BUDGE EVEN AFTER I TOOK HER OUT ON THE FLOOR AND POINTED OUT THEIR ADVERTISEMENT SAYING 120 DAYS NO PAYMENTS ON ALL 750 MODELS. SHE TOOK THE SIGNS OFF THE BIKES IN FRONT OF ME AND TOLD ME THAT WAS FALSE ADVERTISEMENT. I TOOK HARD HITS ON MY CREDIT, DROVE OVER 400 MILES AND DID NOT RECEIVE THE BIKE.

Desired Settlement
I WANT THE CREDIT HARD HITS REMOVED FROM MY CREDIT,I WANT THE 120 DAYS NO PAYMENTS ON THE BIKE, AND I WANT THAT REDICULOUS 15.74 INTEREST REMOVED AND 3.99% THAT THEY ADVERTISED GIVEN TO ME IN A CONTRACT. I ALSO WANT THAT OLD CONTRACT THAT THEY WOULDNT GIVE ME DESTROYED THAT THEY KEPT WITH MY SIGNATURES ALL OVER IT. AS IT SITS THEY CAN GIVE THAT BIKE TO SOMEONE ELSE UNDER MY NAME.I WANT THEM TO STAND UP TO THEIR ADVERTISEMENT AND THEIR WORD.

Business Response
The consumer states that we would not honor the 120 days no payments for the purchase of a Honda cruiser from Heartland Honda. We believe that we incurred a major breakdown in communication between our sales department, our finance department, and our customer. We pride ourselves in providing excellent customer service in order to achieve the highest level of customer satisfaction possible. Here is our side of the story: We did promote the 120 days no payments offer, but with approved credit, as all our financing promotions are with approved credit. According to the salesperson, the customer had discussed that option about three weeks prior to them making the commitment to buy form us, and he stated that the bike qualifies for the program, which it does, if you have strong enough credit to get approved, however the salesperson did not, nor do they typically know what the customer will qualify for. Our Finance manager was able to get the customer approved for financing, however their credit was not strong enough to qualify for the 120 deferred program nor the 3.99% interest rate, yet our Finance manager did not know that the customer wanted that program, and only that program specifically. Our salesperson did not communicate that to our Finance manager as it had been almost three weeks when they had that original discussion regarding the 120 days deferred program. We should have had better internal communication regarding this, but the consumer also spoke with the finance manager several times, and to my knowledge did not mention that they had to have the 120 days program or they wouldn't buy. We even ordered the customer a bike that we had not planned on stocking and installed 1000 in accessories per the customer's request, we would not do that if we were not confident that we had an agreed upon deal with the customer that was driving more than 200 miles to come buy a bike from us. Furthermore, if I was driving that far, and knew that I had to have the 120 day, I would make sure all that was communicated to the dealership prior to me driving that far to make the actual purchase, if that would have happened, we would have told the customer to stay home as those decisions are out of our hands and we have no control as to what a given customers credit will enable them to qualify for, you either have the credit that qualifies or you do not, and in this case they did not. We were only able to get them qualified under the standard program based on their credit rating. We did not do anything intentional to mislead this customer, and we feel bad that they made the drive only to be informed that they were not approved for the program for which they had hoped they were. We are not perfect by any stretch of the imagination, but we are a very good dealership with a high standard for integrity and strong business ethics, and we try to be as fair and honest with each and every one of our customers.
Thank you in advance for your time and cooperation in handling this complaint.
Sincerely,


******************************************************************************************


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Heartland Honda makes it sound as though The 120 day no payment was just brought up in passing and forgotten about. That is not the case at all. The salesman and I spoke of this 120 day program extensively almost everyday. The last time it was brought up was the day we left to go to the Honda dealership. That was one of the most important subjects in our negotiations. Being on a set income I like to know that I am going to be able to cover the payments on something before I g into contract with anyone.The sales rep was not the only one that I spoke to about this program. The lady that always answered the telephone when I called also was aware of this program and our agreement.I made it perfectly clear that the only way we could do this transaction is if they gave me the 120 days no payment. That gave me enough time to pay off 2 other bills leaving me more than enough money to cover the payments and gas needed to be satisfied.Now I qualified for a loan.My credit was good enough that they trusted me to make payments. It was not until the closer told me I didnt qualify for the 120 days no payments, that she started demeaning me and my credit.And when I showed her the signs on all the 750 bikes offering 120 days no payments.Heartland Honda thrives on people with less than perfect credit for the sole purpose of selling their bikes at an outrageously higher interest rate.My credit was in the 600's but I had a long history of always paying my bills on time and paying them off. I was no more risk to them than a person with 900 credit score. They would not have given me the loan if they had a suspicion that I would not make the payments on time or at all. They knew I was a trustworthy client.And when they set my interest at 15.74 it was an insult to me and my integrity, but they set it at that amount 3 weeks before and I had the option to back out, but chose to accept their terms, and part of their terms was that they were also going to give me that loan with 120 days no payment.I was the one agreeing to their terms not the other way around. Its their company, their terms. And if they were not going to give me the 120 day no payment, why would I send them money in advance in good faith. Me and the salesman didn't have a problem with the terms, everything was worked out in a professional manner. Me and the contract manager did not have a problem with the terms. The only person that had a problem was the contract closer who decided to change the terms at the last minute. Then she went on to tell me how lousy my credit was. I felt really insulted by her.Everything ended up being one big mess, because if one thing changes after our agreement was made then the whole thing changes. They didnt even have to tell me of the 120 days no payments, I would have never known it existed, and it would have never come up, but they did offer it to me as a good business practice., and in good faith. I wont be satisfied until my terms are met.If you never meet me halfway on it then I guess I will never be satisfied. Thats all I have to say.

Industry Comparison| Chart

All-Terrain Vehicles, Motorcycles - Dealers, Motor Scooters - Dealers, Lawn Mowers, Generators - Electric

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/24/1992Business started: 04/01/1996
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Arkansas Motor Vehicle Commission
101 E Capitol Ave Ste 204
Little Rock, AR72201-3826
(800) 482-5850
http://www.armvc.com/licensee.html

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1996, AR

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Greg Donahoe (Owner/Manager)Ms. Johnna Bickett (Office Manager)Mr. Jack H. Donahoe (President)Mr. Mark Donahoe (Assistant General Manager)
Number of Employees

35

Business Category

All-Terrain Vehicles, Motorcycles - Dealers, Motor Scooters - Dealers, Lawn Mowers, Generators - Electric

Hours of Operation
Tue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMSat: 09:00 AM to 04:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Donahoe & Gray Enterprises, Inc.
Industry Tips
As Is - No Warranty

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Heartland Honda

824 S 48th St

Springdale, AR 72762-4877

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 824 S 48th St 

    Springdale, AR 72762-4877

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Arkansas. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Heartland Honda is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 853-8468
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including text of consumer complaints and business responses in BBB Business Reviews on July 1, 2013 for complaints filed on that date and thereafter. This includes all complaints that meet our reporting guidelines and that are filed electronically. We also report on the resolution of the complaint, as determined by BBB.

X

Industry Tips for All-Terrain Vehicles

As Is - No Warranty
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.