BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Amarillo Anesthesia Consultants, PA

Phone: (817) 529-2651

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
01/22/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received a bill for 2,400.00. Insurance was not billed and called and left a message and no return phone call.
Received a letter stating failure to send payment will result in forwarding my account to a collection agency. I have been working with a company sponsor to assist us in matters like these. They have called for two weeks with no phone call back. I called and left a message prior to our sponsor with no return phone call. I received a call from them but the number they provided doesn't work. I called the other number and left another message. I received the final notice before my account is sent to a collection agency. I have the information they need to file with the insurance, but can't get ahold of anyone.

Desired Settlement
I would like a return phone call so I can provide them with the informiation to file with the insurance. I also want an apology and any damage to my credit repaired at their cost for not returning phone calls. The numbers listed, some of them are disconnected.

Business Response
Complaint - Case # XXXXXXXX
Patient: ****** ******
Due to an electronic system change at Baptist Saint ******* Medical Center, the anesthesia provider did not receive Mr. ******'s insurance information. This happened with 600+ patients and the phone lines were flooded with calls. We were working diligently to return all phone calls while taking new phone calls. Because our phone lines were flooded with calls from patients, our voice mail was also filling up almost daily. We spoke with Mr. ****** on January 9, 2015 and received his insurance information. Subsequently, Mr. ******'s insurance was filed and has paid in full. Mr. ****** does not have a current balance for his anesthesia services for date of service 11/12/14. ***** ****** client service manager for Amarillo Anesthesia Consultants, called and spoke to Mr. ****** on 1/15/15, apologizing for the inconvenience and advising him that his bill is resolved 100% and he will not receive any further correspondence from us for this date of service. Additionally, an itemized statement was mailed to Mr. ****** for his records reflecting the amount billed to BCBS, amount paid by BCBS and contract adjustment taken, which left a $0 balance on account. We did not report Mr. ****** to any collection agencies, therefore his credit will not be affected. Mr. ****** accepted our apologies and was appreciative of an itemized statement being mailed to him at his home address.
To our knowledge, this case has been resolved with Mr. ******.

03/08/2016Billing / Collection Issues
04/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company sent a letter threatening to turn over to a collection agency as their first attempt to collect and will not return phone calls
I had surgery XX-XX-XXXX All insurance information was provided to BSA whose paper work said they would in turn provide it to any independent contractors they worked with. My insurance and I have recieved several bills that have been taken care of. Neither I nor my insurance have recieved anything form Amarillo Anathesia Consultans PA until 2-27-2015. At that time I recieved a letter threatening to turn the account over to a collection agency if not paid immediately.
I called teh number on teh bill and left a message. The call was not returned. I have tried ot call several times today, again the only option was to leave a message.
Since my insurance has not been contacted about thsi for such a long time we are quickly approaching the limit for them to file a claim with my insurance.

Desired Settlement
Someone from their office to contact me and or my insurance and file thsi appropriately instead of threatening collections as their fiorst contact.

Business Response
Mr. ****** had services by AAC and we were presented Aetna insurance as his insurance carrier. Upon billing Aetna, the claim was denied as Mr. ****** not being one of their insureds. A statement was mailed to Mr. ****** on January 20, 2015. Due to no response from Mr. ****** from the statement, a demand letter was sent on February 20, 2015. On February 23, 2015, a call was made to Mr. ****** at 806.322.2741 and a voicemail left requesting a return call. On March 3, 2015, another call was made to Mr. ****** at 806.322.2741. Upon his answering this call, Mr. ****** provided us with updated insurance information. His claim was filed immediately and on March 19, 2015, his claim was processed by his insurance. There was no additional financial responsibility by Mr. ****** after his insurance processed his claim. An itemized statement was sent to Mr. ****** on March 27, 2015 showing a $0 balance. To our knowledge, this matter has been resolved.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
While the claim has been submitted and processed by my insurance there are several factual discrepencies in their statement.

First, I have never had Aetna Insurance and never provided them with information for Aetna Insurance. It was obvious from talking with them on the phone - after my 4th attempt to call them and leaving VM for them to call me, this complaint, and calling the hospital and requesting that they intercede on my behalf with them - that they had used another ***** ********** insurance information instead of mine.

Second, before recieving the letter threatening to turn this over to a collection agency I had recieved NO contact from them. They also confirmed this on the phone and told me the collection letter was sent in error and was just supposed to advise me that the insurance had denied the claim.

Third, as of this date I have recieved no statement showing a 0 balance or any other follow up communication from them.

Finally, I believe in the course of my call with them they did give me inofrmation for the other ***** ****** involved that is at least a violation of Privacy Act if not HIPA.

08/25/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called and left msg They will not return a call
I believe I have over paid because some payment were not credited to my wife's ***** ******** account .

I have called several time and left msgs

Please Call Me @ XXXXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I have a list of all the payment I have made I need a list of all the credits applied t my wife's account ..

Business Response
Amarillo Anesthesia Consultants received the complaint filed by **** ******** and sent such complaint to their billing company, abeo, who handles their billing and collections. abeo researched and learned that the phone number where Mr. ********, complainant, was leaving messages did not have a voice mailbox set up properly, thus the messages were not getting to abeo. abeo's AAC manager, ***** ****** called Mr. ******** at the end of July and in August and spoke to him on August 12, 2014 to apologize and explain the circumstances. Mr. ******** expressed understanding, accepted the apology and was assured that such occurrences would not happen in the future. Ms. ***** also confirmed that the bill had been paid and no balance was owed. The call ended pleasantly between Ms. ***** and Mr. ********.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Physicians & Surgeons - Medical-M.D.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.