BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

American General Life Insurance Company

Phone: (806) 345-7400Fax: (806) 345-7489

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

19 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues1
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service16
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints19

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (19)
09/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
AIG has not paid me today, per my annuity contract with them. They aren't responding to emails and telephone calls.
I have an an annuity with AIG. They did not direct deposit my funds into my account. I have called them greater than a dozen times today. They have not resolved situation and have not answered the phone.

Desired Settlement
I expect them to continue payment per contract and contact me ASAP.

Business Response
Attached is a PDF file containing our response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
AIG fixed the issue. I expect not to have this issue again.

06/22/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My father recently passed ***** I was promised that my mom would receive a refund on his premium payment. We are still waiting on the check.
The insurance company still hasn't returned the promised $250.00 premium payment.

This was my father's insurance policy.
*********. Stahler Jr. (3/15/47 - 3/15/15)
Policy #XXXXXXXX

Insurance Agent Tim told me on the phone that my mom would receive the $250 refund with the claim check and returned death certificate. The insurance claim and death certificate were both received but we are still waiting on the $250 refund from the premium payment. This phone called occurred on 3/31/15 at around 11:35 a.m.

I later spoke a representative named Tasha on 4/13/15 at 1:10ish p.m. She had a serious attitude problem and was extremely rude. She mentioned that she would transfer me to a supervisor but I was connected to a call center in the Philippines. I was extremely displeased with the level of service I received.

I then spoke with a representative named Martha and explained the situation. I mentioned that if my mom didn't receive her refund check for my dad's premium payment by 4/17 I would file a complaint with the BBB.

We are still waiting on the check. I am becoming more and more displeased with each passing ****

Desired Settlement
I would like my mom to receive the refund we were promised.

I would also like disciplinary action taken again *****.

Please review the phone calls that were made regarding this policy number and send the check immediately.

Business Response
n/a

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not heard back from them regarding my complaint. I am still waiting to hear back. I am becoming increasingly frustrated with each passing ****

I would like the $250.00 premium returned immediately.

There is also a misuse of a pronoun in the poorly written letter. I am extremely offended that I am referred to as both "Mr. ********* and "her" in the same sentence.



Final Business Response

06/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
08/31/2016Problems with Product / Service
04/27/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed for Ins on 2/24/2014 they deducted 101.01 from my bank acct. I called to cancel on 2/25/2014 and asked for refund.Still have no refund yet
I signed up for Medical Ins. through the Marketplace the agent sold my health insurance and added this supplemental insurance for extra coverage. I called and canceled Insurance because I couldn't afford the premium. I canceled on Feb.25th this Insurance co withdrew the money from my acct.on 2/24/14 I keep calling asking for my refund and I am getting the run around they said they sent the money on 3/5/2015. I keep calling and they give my different dates and excuses why I haven't received my money. Very frustrated with this company

Desired Settlement
I would like my money back in the amount of $101.01.

Business Response
see attached

03/10/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unusually long time to get the proper assistance and forms sent to withdraw a policy. wrong forms were sent.
I have been unable to cash in my fathers insurance policy. the company seems to have the wrong beneficiary listed and is sending the incorrect forms and also not getting back to me about the policy. a lot of time has been wasted filling out the wrong forms that were sent. the form was filled out and sent in only to have more forms sent and notification sent stating that the wrong form was filled out.

Desired Settlement
I am sending in the correct forms soon and I just want the matter resolved in a timely fashion.

Business Response
Please see attached response.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
i filled out all kinds of paperwork 1o years ago to make me the owner of the policy and yet they still consider my sisters and myself as the beneficiaries. my dad wanted the money to go to me but i guess we didnt fill out the right papers or something like that. i dont understand their explanation and i got my share of the money and im done with this entire situation.

02/03/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In trying to have an annuity moved to another company, They refused to make a phone call to the receiving organization to clarify a request
First told by phone(11/11)that all that was needed to transfer money from Contract SPXXXXXX to another company was a request. That was sent. Next, was told they needed a letter of acceptance from new company. That was sent. Was then told the letter had to have specific language. New company had never heard of this request. When I asked American General Life to call the new company, was told outgoing calls were against policy.

Desired Settlement
The money transfered

Business Response
The Company's response was emailed to ************************* on January 13, 2015. I will also fax the response to (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The response is an accurate representation of what transpired. Howeevver, the fact remains that the company refused to make a phone call to resolve the issue, citing a company policy of making no "outgoing phone calls". They then made an outgoing call to try to resolve the issue.


The company also does not cite a specific governmental law or rule that precluded the company from following the client's instructions.

Final Business Response
Attaching response to the additional comments from Mr. *******.

05/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Have been trying to liquidate an annuity for TWO MONTHS - and continually get excuse after excuse.
In January 2014, I lost my father after a short illness. In February 2014 (Feb 24th), a claim was filed with American General to liquidate an annuity that was owned by my deceased father and left to his children when he passed. I was given the option to leave the funds with American General or liquidate. After the past two months, I would NEVER invest money with AIG, nor will I recommend anyone to invest with AIG. I called in early March and was told the claimant statement had been received and the funds would disburse in 7-10 days. The end of March, no check arrived, so I called again and was told that 'I needed to complete a W-4P and return, and THEN it would be 7-10 days. The form was signed and mailed, by me, from the post office, the same day. On April 15th, I called again and the form couldnt be found. ******* ***** then faxed me another copy, which was signed and faxed back the same day. On April 22 (Now TWO MONTHS after the initial claim), I was told by ****** in customer service that 'the Claim form was still being reviewed'. This is a TWO PAGE DOCUMENT - a form letter ... with four boxes checked. There is absolutely NO reason this liquidation should take two months, none whatsoever. In the final call today, 4/22, my husband was told that AIG RE-received (so apparently the first one did get there) the W4-P on April 16th, and they are working on March documents. This is completely unacceptable. I have never dealt with a worse insurance or financial institution, and I NEVER intend to deal with AIG again. Had the need for this money been any type of emergency, we would have just been out of luck, because AIG could care less. I requested to speak to management today, and of course, there are no managers available. Poor service, poor customer service and poor management. Just who I want to be in charge of my money...

Desired Settlement
I am seeking assistance in getting this two month old claim processed and the funds released immediately, that should have taken 7-10 days TOPS - as I have been told every single time I called.

Business Response
Ms. ********

American General Life Insurance Company is in receipt of your correspondence regarding the complaint ******* and ***** ******* filed with your department. In order to respond, additional information is required. Please provide the policy number or the name of the policy owner to assist us in locating the policy to which the complaint pertains. Thanks

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The policy number is UFXXXXXX. Account owner is ****** C *******, deceased. The disbursements are to the beneficiaries, *******, ******, ******* and ****** ********* One of the payouts has already completed, per ******* ****** A manager did return a phone call on Tuesday and stated he would follow up, and has not called back as of yet.

Final Business Response
American General Life Insurance Company's response to your April 23, 2014 correspondence (RE: Your Case ID XXXXXXXX) was sent to the Better Business Bureau of Amarillo via fax to (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

Please contact me if the response is not received by your office.

Sincerely, ***** ******* - Compliance Analyst

05/09/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unable to collect 3 thousand dollars life insurance from father's life insurance policy!!!!
Product_Or_Service: life ins
Account_Number: ac# ga XXXXX

Desired Settlement
payment of claim!!!!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** *********** Sr Para
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ****************@AIG.com
Lenda Ziegler, Trade Practices Clerk
Better Business Bureau of Texas Panhandle
Dispute Resolution Department
720 South Tyler, Suite B112
Amarillo, TX XXXXX-XXXX
RE: The United States Life Insurance Company in the City of New York
Group annuity: GAXXXXX - XXXXXxxxx
Participant: ******* K ********
BBB Complaint Case #: XXXXXXXX
Consumer: ******* Kaye ******
Dear Ms. ********
I am writing on behalf of The United States Life Insurance Company in the City of New York ("US Life" - NAIC code XXXXX) in response to your April 18, 2014 correspondence and complaint filed with your office by ******* Kaye ****** concerning the guaranteed death benefit of the above identified pension account. We appreciate this opportunity to provide you with the following information.
******* K ******** was a participant in the Joy Technology retirement plan. In 1987 Joy Technology purchased a group annuity contract from US Life to pay specific annuity benefits to current and future retirees covered by the terminated pension plan. The purchase of such annuities as part of the plan termination process is covered by Federal law known as Employee Retirement Income Security Act ("ERISA"). Joy Technology is the owner of the group annuity contract and contracted US Life to issue pension benefits to Participant's listed on the census.
Mr. Stallard commenced his retirement benefits with Joy Technology in 1983, prior to Joy Technology purchasing the group annuity. Mr. Stallard elected a benefit that provided a monthly payment to him for his lifetime and upon his death a reduced monthly benefit to his spouse, Helen Stallard, if she survived him. The benefit election also provided a one time lump sum death benefit of $3,000.00. Mr. Stallard designated his spouse as the beneficiary for the guaranteed death benefit however, Helen Stallard, date of death June 1996, predeceased Mr. Stallard, date of death August 1, 2005, resulting in the death benefit defaulting to the Estate of ******* Stallard.
US Life mailed two separate death claim packages to the address on file, Rt 1 Box 800, Wise, VA XXXXX with no response. Furthermore, the 2005 IRS form 1099-R was returned to US Life. US Life was not able to locate a next of kin and was in the process of sending the $3,000.00 guaranteed death benefit to the Virginia Department of Treasury Unclaimed Property Division when ******* Kaye ****** responded to the death claim mailing on April 3, 2014.
On April 17, 2014 US Life mailed the death claim package to ******* **** ******, 112 Hickory St NE, ***** VA XXXXX, including all the required forms for the Administrator of the Estate of ******* ******** to claim the guaranteed death benefit. A copy of the death claim letter dated April 17, 2014 is enclosed.
If I can be of any further assistance in this matter, please contact me by telephone, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. Eastern Time, at X-XXX-XXX-XXXX or by email at ****************@americangeneral.com.
*************** *********** Sr. Paralegal

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Insurance Companies

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.