BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gold's Gym

Phone: (806) 359-5438Fax: (806) 359-0373

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues3
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/31/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Received an email, from Golds Gym, regarding how you can save money on your membership during Black Friday and Cyber Week. The offer was excellent and on December 1, 2014, at 12:00 pm (noon time), I decided to pay, online, the full amount of $229.00 for 1 full year membership. The email further stated that by paying my membership in full, my monthly dues would immediately stop. After I paid online for the 12 months membership, I went, personally, on 12/1/14, to Golds Gym and confirmed, with one of the Golds Gym representative the email that I received and monthly dues. The front desk representative confirmed what the email said and told me that once I pay, in full, my membership online, that my monthly dues will stop immediately. On 12/4/14, I went to my bank and noticed that Golds Gym monthly dues, in the amount of $38.97, were taken out of my checking account. I went back to Golds Gym and spoke with a lady sitting at the front desk on the Administration Office and discussed this issue. The lady went back to see her supervisor and came back to tell me that the Cyber Week does not start until January 1, 2015. Staff members from this Golds Gym have messed up my finances. I am on disability and on a fixed income. I am appalled by the way Gold's Gym Staff members treat people with disabilities. Furthermore, I dont understand how can an e-mail say one thing and Golds Gym Staff Members said another thing, completely, different. I am totally disgusted and confused.
Product_Or_Service: 12 month Gold's Gym Membership
Order_Number: ****

Desired Settlement
I need the $38.97 that was taken from my checking account by Gold's Gym Staff Members.

Business Response
This complaint has already been resolved...here is a copy of her response to the resolution...

Dear Mr. ***:

Thank you for your below detailed explanation about how Gold's Gym process members payments. Should this information been given to me when I met with your staff at **** ********* ****** on 12/01/14, it would have made a great difference and would have changed my perception about what I thought about your business enterprise.

You have uplifted my spirit, trust, and confidence that you are running an honest; respectable business. I am 100% satisfied with your explanation and happy that I will be refunded the $38.97 in a few days.

I look forward to continue being a member at Gold's Gym. Your professionalism has earned Gold's Gym a 5 star.


Sincerely,


***** *******

She has been refunded.

**** ***, Gold's Gym

10/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was charged 38.97 instead of 21.64
I signed up for golds gym on 10/7/14 and gave approval over the phone for the amount of 21.64, when I arrived to sign the papers and receive my membership information, I saw they had charged me 38.97. I told them this was a mistake and she assured me it would be taken care of. I called the next day after checking my bank account only to see they hadnt reimbursed the difference.
So I called and spoke with a women on the phone, who said I could pick up the difference in a check form, my account will be over drawn because I had enough to cover the charge I had approved, not the nearly $39.
I even expressed I was thinking of canceling all together, and the women was no help. She didn't want to make anything right. Another lady called me back at a later time, and stated they could reimburse my account right then, except that was also a lie, because my account is still over drawn.
This is unacceptable, you should never be overcharged and expected to just take the penalty with your bank.

Desired Settlement
I would like some kind of compensation, I will be using the other gym and would like to continue services, but it would be nice if they would try to make it right. Since this was not my mistake at all, and I balanced my account due to what was the amount supposed to be taken, not the amount of their choice. I was given a $35.00 over draft fee, which means I paid 4 times the amount I was supposed to be to begin with.

Business Response
******** if you bring in to our accounting dept, or email to ******************, proof that your bank charged you an overdraft charge of $35.00, we will reimburse you for our error. Your membership account was credited for the overcharge, but your card account was not. That was a miscommunication in language. When you called the office wanting your card credited, your card was immediately credited for the overcharge, but you did not say anything about an overdraft charge at that time. Also, if you prefer to cancel altogether, you may do so before November 7 by following the instructions in your agreement, and we will reimburse you for the balance that you paid thanks to our 30-day money back guarantee. I apologize for the error.

05/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
ASF Payment Solutions, their billing company continues to bill me after gym membership was cancelled, pay off sent, and account closed.
Started Gym Membership in 2014. Went for 2+ months. After shady dealings with a personal trainer regarding money and gym payment for training sessions. Discontinued going there. Cancelled with Gym and was contacted later by ASF Payment Solution for being past due on account. I contacted them and explained that I had cancelled the account and had my credit card compromised on 1/19. I spoke to one of their customer service representatives on March 11th 2015. Account # XXXXXXX. I explained to her what had happened and she agreed to close out the account for the total charges of $48.97 for the month of December. I recorded this telephone call and have it available for playback. I then went to my banking institution and requested a money order, ANB Personal Money Order # XXXXXX in the amount of $48.97. I sent their department a scan of the check and a letter from an ANB Customer Service Rep with the date of my debit card activation after the fraud activity. It's now May 8th and I just received an email stating I owe $225.38 after the account was supposedly settled and closed in March. The money order was cashed by ASF Payment Solutions on March 24th 2015. This action fulfills any obligations. I've been hung up on when speaking with the billing/office manager regarding the account on at least two occasions.

Desired Settlement
Delete all records pertaining to my interactions with your business. Remove my email address from your payment solutions company and please figure out how to run a proper billing system. This is worst then reviews I read prior to signing up. Stop committing fraud and blaming it on your parent company, or payment processing company.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ***. Owner
Contact Phone: 806.359.5438
Contact Email: *****************
Members can cancel their membership at any time with a 30-day notice and only by certified mail to the gym or email to ********************* (per attached agreement you signed when you joined). Please forward your proof of cancellation if you cancelled by one of these methods, as we have no record of receiving. We do have an email you sent to ASF,dated 1/19/15, requesting to cancel. ASF replied on 1/21/15 to contact the gym because ASF is not authorized to handle cancellations. Cancellations can only be done by certified mail or email to *********************. Read the agreement you signed and initialed understanding the cancellation process. Not until 3/11/15 did you attempt to clear up your account when you sent a money order for $48.97 which paid for January 2015 dues that had been rejected due to your credit card being compromised. Since you still have not cancelled by certified mail or email to ********************* your membership is still active and you are being billed for February, March, April and May. Out of goodwill, I will write off your balance due and make your cancellation effective 2/1/15. Next time you sign an agreement, follow the instructions and you won't have a problem. It's a simple process.

04/11/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unautorized charges on my bank account
On march 17 golds gym charge my account. I never been member of Golds gym. I spoke with a ***** over the phone about this. she told me to send a email or go over there. what i did but still no refund. I never sign any documents authorizing golds gym debit any money from my account.

Desired Settlement
Refund my money

Business Response
Your daughter used your credit/debit card number to pay for her membership. We have credited back your card for the charge and will file charges against your daughter for providing false information.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fitness Centers

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.