BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Alarm Link Security

Phone: (806) 354-0050Fax: (806) 354-0358

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not keep word
Security system was not actually being monitored even though I was paying for it to be.
I was told by **, the owner of the company, upon agreement to have them monitor my home, that if I ever moved, I would be released from my monitoring agreement. They would not be able to provide service outside of their area, so it would not make sense for me to continue to have monitoring charges. I ended up using them to monitor my alarm system a year past the original 2 year agreement (3 years total), but when it was time for me to move to another city, they made me pay for another year of monitoring as the contract automatically renewed for a like term (2 more years after the inital 2 years). This is not fair business practice and it is not what I was told.
Also, I had a few events that my alarm was set off, and I never received a phone call from Alarm Link or the police. When I called to ask them about this, they said there was probably something wrong with my alarm and I would be charged for them to fix it. This does not seem like fair business practice as there was no way for me to verify that they were actually monitoring it since no one was dispatched to my home.

Desired Settlement
I am asking for $584.35 to be refunded that I have sent into a collection agency for this account. They already made 150x the amount of money they anticipated making from me when I first signed up. It is unfair business practice to be charged for a service that I am not receiving.

Business Response
This complaint is nothing more than an attempt to slander our company because she is angry that she has to pay what she owes. The Monitoring Service Agreement is a legally binding contract,which she signed on July 27th 2011. She received a copy that day. There are no special notes on the agreement for release of contract.The customer sent a notice of cancellation on September 20th 2013. She was aware at that time she was required to pay the balance. She was aware of this for more than a year.
According to our records the system was monitored and sending signals.On 02/10/12 the customer even called the monitoring center to update her call list. The system was also fully tested that day and was in perfect working order according to the signed service ticket. There were also 2 more updates to the customer system including adding equipment to the existing system on 09/16/2013 and 10/31/2013. There were no fees for these service tickets.
The customer claims the system wasn't monitored,but she asked us to leave the alarm system in place up until the very last day she lived in her home. Which we did upon her request.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My alarm went off on Sunday, November 3, 2013 while I was away at church. I had just had my back room remodeled, and the door was not locking properly and had blown open. I was gone and the siren was blaring loud when I got home. It went off for at least 4 minutes after me getting home and however long before that. Also, on Sunday, March 16, the alarm went off at 11:22 am when I gave a friend my garage code to get into my home. They did not know the alarm code, so the alarm went off for at least 16 minutes. On both of these days the alarm went off, I never received a call, and police were never dispatched. The reason I kept the alarm system in my home until the last day was that 1, I was already paying for it. Second, I hoped the siren blaring would at least be a deterrent if my home was broken into.

10/27/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We have had some issues with the service. The company broke the contract. We disconnected our home phone because everyone in the house has a cell phone. The company failed to disclose that the alarm only works if we have a home phone. We kept paying them for 4 years, and they never told us anything. They put the family in danger by failing to explain this.
Product_Or_Service: Alarm home security
Account_Number: XXXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
We paid the company about one thousand dollars in 3-4 years.

Business Response


05/20/2016Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Fire & Smoke Alarm Systems, Security Control Equipment & System Monitors

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.