BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Gene Messer Ford of Amarillo, Inc.

Phone: (806) 355-7471

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints3

Complaint Breakdown by Resolution

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
10/07/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
unfinished repair,lost key,unauthorized use of vehicle,
vehicle submitted for hail repair.was told problem with glass replacement was delaying completion on four occasions.two weeks later was told key was "misplaced".after return of vehicle,unaccounted mileage discovered on trip odometer, water leaks in cargo area,loose and broken trim panel retaining clips,missing retaining clips on front bumper were discovered.returned to dealer for correction, not accomplished.

Desired Settlement
refund for incomplete repair not done per insurance claim

Business Response
Mr. ***** had brought his vehicle to Gene Messer Collision for repair on 8-6-2013; which was more than a month after the hail storm that caused damage. At this time the mileage on his vehicle was recorded at 38,646 miles. However, when he dropped the vehicle off the odometer was at 41,911, and this is the reason why Mr. ***** felt his car had been driven by us. We at Gene Messer have signed authorization forms giving the dealership permission to drive the vehicle to test the repairs. The estimation of miles would be about 20 miles that would have incurred during the repair and testing process. During the repair the key to his vehicle was lost; at which time we informed him of that and that we would paid for a new key and programming which was a cost of over $200.00. By doing this the key that was lost will no longer start Mr. *****'s vehicle. Mr. ***** brought the vehicle back for a water leak and some minor cleanup issues that I (************) addressed personally. When he brought the vehicle back he refused to shake my hand saying things were about to get ugly. We went for a drive to check the water leak. There was a semi-automatic pistol sitting in the passenger seat that he picked up for me to sit down. He laid the gun in his lap with the barrel pointed in my direction. He said the gun was there because he had just got off of work. This made me uncomfortable due to the fact he said previously that things were going to get ugly and I was now a passenger in his vehicle with him having a gun on his lap pointed in my direction. Due to the inconvenience of having to bring the vehicle back I filled his vehicle up with fuel for him. Mr. ***** still expressed concern over the lost key and I agreed to pay up to $500 so he could have an alarm installed on his vehicle to prevent someone being able to enter his vehicle. Mr. ***** felt that my employees stole his key and were planning to break into his vehicle when he took it back home. The front bumper was never removed from vehicle and therefore we would have not taken any clips off. I am unsure how they are missing but by my professional opinion is that it was caused by road vibrations. The problem with the glass was not created by Gene Messer Collision but by ******** Auto Glass. Gene Messer Collision did not have the glass installed nor broker the being installed. ******** is a vendor Allstate (Mr. *****'s insurance co), and he chose to use them. ******** installed a damaged glass and didn't tell Gene Messer or Mr. ***** about it. Gabe ******* (Gene Messer Adjuster) noticed the damage on the glass and called both to inform. It then took over a week for ******** to provide a new glass to install. When I looked at the vehicle with Mr. ***** the trim panel was not loose and he left the shop pleased and satisfied saying he was glad I took such good care of him and that he would recommend our shop to friends and family. On September 26th 2013, Mr. ***** came to the store to speak with the General Manager (****** *****) he them informed him of a leak in the lift gate area had returned. Mr. ***** at that time called me into his office so that all we could go inspect Mr. *****'s vehicle. The three of us went to the car wash to verify the leak. While driving back to the dealership I told Mr. ***** that we would inspect the vehicle and see what the problem was so we can repair it, and at which time he refused to let me to let us repairs or inspect the vehicle. Arriving at the dealership he asked to use the restroom, and we could reconvene in the General Manager's office. We wait for a few minutes to fine that after he was done he got in his vehicle and drove off not saying anything. The General Manager and I called him, and at that time he informed us he was going to ************ to have them inspect the leak. The General Manager told Mr. ***** that he would pay a fair price to fix the leak upon getting us a receipt. Mr. ***** called back to speak with the General Manager who was in a meeting at the time so I took the call. He told me that he asked for the General Manage; so I told him he was in a meeting, and his response is I don't want to talk to you and hung up the phone on me. That is the last contact I have had with the customer. All repairs that were paid for by the insurance company were completed to his satisfaction. The only problem is the water leak in the rear that he will not let us repair.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The collision center set the date for the repair.There was no record of mileage taken at that time.The key was lost after repair was completed,according to Mr. *******.I did refuse to shake hands at first, and say things might get ugly,but then shook hands and we began to talk to try resolve issues.Mr. ****** said his entire shop would concentrate solely on my vehicle to correct what he called an "embarrassment".My handgun is carried in my vehicle with me.It was pointed at the floorboard in front of me,never at him.If he felt "uncomfortable" he should have gotten the general manager involved like I asked.I made no accusations concerning his employees.I stated my concerns about the missing key,that I had increased my insurance coverage in case of theft, if a theft occurred Allstate would pay the claim, and Allstate would sue for reimbursement.His reply was"We have lots of lawyers".All of this was said in front of his receptionist.His "professional" opinion concerning the front bumper issue is as valuable as his "personal attention" concerning the water leak,which his general manager can attest to.When I asked to use the restroom, there was no mention of reconvening.I did not say I did not want to talk to Mr. ******.I said okay, thanks and disconnected, because that's when the service manager at ****** discovered the cause of the water leak.His statement about my satisfaction with their "repairs" is false.Another attempt to "repair" the water leak would only result in more double sided tape and sealant to patch the broken third brake light.

Final Business Response
Gene Messer ford as offered to reimburse Mr. ***** for the repairs done at ************ provided they are limited to the water leak. Gene Messer has also offered to install an alarm on Mr. *****'s vehicle for the loss of his key; in which Mr. ***** has not done yet.

12/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
07/27/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I cancelled an extended warranty April 14, 2015 and the payment of $3429 has not yet been received as of now (7/10/2015).
Ford's oasis report shows the cancellation was recorded June 26, 2015. Two months delay in cancelling the contract.

Desired Settlement
I want my refund now.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: Megan ********* Finance
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *************************
The processing of the cancellation has been completed. There was an error with the processing of the cancellation. I have rectified the error and the cancellation date that was used for your refund was April 14,2015.This does ensure that you, the customer, **** receive the full amount due to you. I sincerely apologize for the delay.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I now have the check and **** have the amount shorted. It is obvious that personnel routinely delay refunds. One person even said my record of cancellation was in a stack of other cancellations. My delay was a delay of submission of the paperwork from April 14 to June 26. The june 26 happened after I went to the dealership the day before. The Check was not cut until the dealership received the Better Business Bureau Complaint.

Final Business Response
We sorry for any inconvenience.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The better business bureau can do as you please. The two most important facts in this case are
1. the cancellation was not submitted until I complained. The next day it was submitted. The employee responsible said it was mixed in a stack of other cancellations.
2. it was only after the BBB was contacted that the refund was made. The comment there in re other cancellations was that they represent people that owe on their trucks implying that extended warranties are a required on the original purchase.

The bottom line is that refunds are provided when the dealership gets good and ready.

I have received all funds I was entitled. BBB can close the case, but this wasn't a error on the part of the dealership. It is a regular practice.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers - New Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.