BBB Accredited Business since

Wedekind Construction Inc

Phone: (425) 750-0244 Fax: (425) 743-1564  


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers window and door installation and general construction services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Wedekind Construction Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Wedekind Construction Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Wedekind Construction Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2011 Business started: 10/01/1997 Business started locally: 10/01/1997 Business incorporated 09/06/2001 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. John Wedekind, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Wedekind, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service


Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** installed windows by *********** in my entire house 6 and a half years ago. The company went out of business, and the lifetime warranty that was promised became moot. Even so, I was sure that **** would make any situation right. The problem is with a bay window that started to leak a couple of years ago. He did come out . Before he even looked, he said he knew what the problem was. It was with the roof, saying that a tiny hole could make any water finds its way to the window. Since the roof was 15 years old, and I trusted this guy, I went ahead and had that entire section of roof replaced. Things were ok until now. When the window began to leak again, I tried to reach ****. After several attempts, (he had a cold, his voicemail was full),he said the roof was again to blame. Then he blamed it on the window, then of course he blamed his inaction on me. Apparently, I had no right to be upset with water in my house, or with his endless excuses. He maintained that none of this was his fault: his installation was perfect. I have had 2 other window companies take a look at the problem. Apparently, there are problems with his workmanship, in addition to a problem with the window. The bottom line is this. **** never came out to even take a look.It was easier to blame me, the roof, the window, everything and everyone, rather than take any responsibility himself. Early on, I even offered to pay the cost of the replacement window, before of course, I was made aware that his work was inferior. I do not believe that there can be any sort of resolution with him directly, just a warning to people in the market for new windows. Look elsewhere! Find someone who reputation matters!

Desired Settlement: I should be reimbursed for the cost of installation of the new window.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/22) */ I originally received a call from my client about a leak about three years after installing the said window, I went over to look at the window on three different occasions and could not find a I reason for the leak, the window was installed under the eve of the house and from what i could see there was no possible way for water to be getting in around the exterior of the window and Found it strange the the window did not leak all the time but only when there was ice and snow on the roof, so i told my client there was a chance it could be the roof, that the ice and snow could have gotten behind the roof flashing and caused the leak since it never leaked before that, I told my client i would come back and check the roof flashing in the next few days. Then i got a call from my client saying there was no need to come check the roof flashing, that the problem was fixed and everything was good. Great i thought the issue was solved, Wrong! three and a half years go buy and I get a message from my client saying that i need to call immediately cause there is a big problem, at the time my client left the message i had the Flu so i didn't call back till the next day, meanwhile i get several nasty messages saying i better call back soon or Else! I feel bad the the windows i installed, ******* **** vinyl windows has since gone out of business rendering the Lifetime warranty worthless, the problem is with window leaking through the seals around the casement windows and unfortunately that is a warranty problem.And to say that the flashing was done incorrectly is a joke!, because there was no flashing installed in the first place, It was installed under the eves and had all the nail fins intact. Some people you just can't please! Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The respondent is right about one thing...there was no flashing, and according to two independent consultants, that is the problem! He attached the window under the eaves, thus allowing water to seep in and warp the window. Had it been installed properly with flashing, the window would not have failed. Three years ago, **** came out once with a broom, moved some snow off of the roof and said there was a roof problem. Since I trusted him, I felt the best course of action was to address the roof, which I did. Perhaps that was the problem at the time, because there were no issues for three years. This recent issue, however had nothing to do with the roof, and everything to do with his workmanship. He is fixated on the fact that I was upset when I finally did speak to him after he ignored my calls. Because I was not as pleasant as he would have liked does not absolve him of responsibility. Undoubtedly, an offer to come out and take a look would have improved my disposition. His blaming me, the window company, all without any inspection is the issue here. That would not be pleasing to anyone! Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/02/09) */ I stand by my workmanship, if there was a problem with installation of the window it would have leaked from day one, not once every three years or so, I inspected the window on three different occasions trying to resolve this issue and could not find a problem, I have been in business for over fifteen years and have never had one issue before this one! This is a manufacturer's warranty issue, and unfortunately Weathervane Windows has gone out of business. I will not respond to this matter again. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There he goes again...defensive, angry, indignant. Even **** has to know that wood doesn't rot on day one! And what does it matter that he hasn't had a problem in 15 years...there is one now. Now that the window has been replaced, I can honestly say that he did me a huge favor by refusing to install a replacement. He would have made the same installment error, and the problem would have recurred. I believe that no amount of back and forth will change his mind. He would like to believe that his work is perfection, despite other professionals saying it was far from it.I do not as yet know what, if any legal remedies exist. I do know, however, that when people who are looking for new windows hear about this mess they will absolutely steer clear of Wedekind Construction.