BBB Accredited Business since

Green City Window & Door

Phone: (425) 200-9191 Fax: (425) 398-4102 View Additional Phone Numbers 20611 Bothell Everett Hwy Ste E Pmb 188, Bothell, WA 98012 View Additional Email Addresses View Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers custom homes, remodels and restorations, window replacements and energy efficient window installations.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Green City Window & Door meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Green City Window & Door include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Green City Window & Door
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 11, 2006 Business started: 09/14/1999 Business started locally: 09/14/1999 Business incorporated 09/14/1999 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. John Jacques, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John Jacques, President
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Storm Windows & Doors Windows Contractor - General Green Builder Contractors - General Doors - Repair Home Improvements - Additions Siding Contractors Construction & Remodeling Services

Alternate Business Names
Jacques Construction Inc

Additional Locations

  • 20611 Bothell Everett Hwy Ste E Pmb 188

    Bothell, WA 98012 (800) 309-5007 (425) 200-9191


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/8/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Green City Window and Door (GCWD) contracted on 8 Jan 2015 to procure and install windows and sliding glass door in our Condo (A106). The contract calls for a 120 x 81 inch door. Contract terms "guarantee product delivered will meet specifications" and states no changes in specs will be made without written agreement. Contractor put in a significantly smaller door I.E. it is not the specified size. No changes in specs were requested or approved by us. GCWD was notified promptly when the error was discovered. A Condo Association officer reviewed installation and verbally stated it was unacceptable as not meeting architectural standards. Contractor claims he cannot get an 81 inch door and claims he has to use a smaller size. This is not my problem. GCWD says they are a custom window company and the contract says the materials are custom ordered. GCWD refuses to replace the door with one matching the specifications (which their expert representative measured). Footnote: GCWD told us to take a look at a condo (****) which is nearly identical to ours as an example of what they would install. Relying upon that example, we agreed to their terms. Now, they are not abiding by those terms. We have tried for weeks to work out a solution without success. GCWD has had time to replace the door and continues to refuse to do so.

Desired Settlement: GCWD needs to order the 120 x 81 inch door as specified in the contract, remove the existing door and properly install the new one OR agree to pay what it costs us to have another contractor finish the job with the correct size door. Someone needs to do touch-ups as there are many scratches in the finish of the windows GCWD installed.

Business Response: The client contracted us to do the job, it was explained to them that the measures on the contract are the same as the proposal that they are rough measures, oversized to accommodate an accurate price only for the initial proposal. Client was notified in writing when we signed the contract with a pre-installation letter that field specifications for the exact sizes and materials are taken and recorded separately to prepare for fabrication.  The client had an existing door that was  81 1/2 " tall. Due to existing conditions of the tile installed by others it is not possible to install a 81 1/2" door without cutting into the structural header or burying the door below the tile. We were told by the association that we were not allowed to do such structural modifications to the building and that work was not included in our contract . We used a door that fit correctly, 117 3/4 wide  x 79 1/2 tall and had full authority to facilitate all aspects of the work. On the day of install the client instructed our installers to install the door tight to the top of the tile, lower than we had planned and we did as they requested. Then the client came back saying that the top is too low and they want it different now. We offered to raise it up a little as we were going to do initially and they refused. Minus a few scratches and a little trim the job is complete per contract.  We have tried many times to set up a date to come back and finish the touchup and the client will not allow us. Client is now bullying us holding our final payment until we agree to take $750 off the cost of the job or
install a 120 x 81 door per rough sizes on the contract that will not fit into the opening.  Client has added a lot of hearsay to there claim and has been unreasonable and unwilling to let us finish our job. We are about to turn this over to our legal department and pursue collections very soon. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because the contract has not been completed.

The situation is quite simple.

A.    GCWD’s contract specified a sliding patio door 120 x 81 inches to be ordered and installed (the opening is 81
inches high according to GCWD).

B.    The contract explicitly states GCWD guarantees the products delivered will meet specification (the installed door does not).

C.    The contract explicitly states there will be no changes unless approved in writing (no changes from the specification on the
face of the contract were requested or approved by us).

D.    The contract explicitly states there are no other agreements which modify the contract.

E.    The contract does give GCWD the authority & responsibility to coordinate the work but no authority to change the specs.

GCWD did not install the door specified in the contract. All the rest is incidental: cutting the header, for example,
was not necessary if they had ordered the door specified in the contract. The opening could have been enlarged without modification to the building structure
to accommodate a larger door. Never-the-less, if GCWD had ordered an 81 inch door per the contract, this would not have been as issue for them. GCWD’s
response contains mis-statements: no notice that measurements were estimates, no pre-install letter was received or signed.

We have given GCWD ample time to correct this issue without success. We made an effort to work out our
issues. However, GCWD has thus far refused to deliver the product we ordered. As for ‘bullying’, we fail to see how insisting that GCWD deliver the product
they are contractually obligated to deliver qualifies. We will be delighted to pay the balance due on the contract promptly once a door conforming to the
contract is properly installed and then the touch-ups have been completed. Until then, this contract remains incomplete and unfinished.
We have denied them access because they have refused to comply with the terms of the contract. We have communicated this directly to the contractor

We have endeavored to provide purely factual information. We feel the BBB and those shopping for a contractor, need to be aware this
contractor is not fulfilling their contractual obligations.


****** **********

Business Response: I have met with lee and ****** and gone over this situation with them. They are demanding money back or a new door. Door was ordered to fit the existing opening. Sizes on the contract are rough sizes ( larger than net/actual sizes) not net measurements, we same size that is listed on the original proposal . we are authorized by the contract to take full authority to install the windows correctly and warranty our work. All of the windows are net sized smaller than the sizes on the contract . It's consistent with every window on the contract agreement.  120x81 will not fit . We would have to cut structural framing out to accomplish that and that is not what we contracted to do, furthermore the he association will not allow us to cut out structure and neither will the city without engineering , ans and permits.  we have been stongarmed to give money back on a job that was done correctly and we warranty . No money is due back as the JJ b is done correct. we do need to go back and finish A little trim and touch up paint and have been denied many times by customer . Forced to agree to take off $750 and they would let us come back and finish the trim and paint . Because we do not agree with their unwarranted request now they are insisting we install a new door per rough size listed on face  contract. 120x81 will not fit,, if they will not let us come back and install the trim and touch up paint then this job is done and payment is already past due. interest is accrueing and we are ready to lien the home and turn it over for collections. 

awaiting customer to let us finish our Job and close this complaint.