BBB Accredited Business since

Einar Johanson Insulation & Glass Inc

Phone: (206) 362-4031 Fax: (206) 362-3424 922 N 128th St, Seattle, WA 98133

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential window and door sales, and installation services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Einar Johanson Insulation & Glass Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Einar Johanson Insulation & Glass Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Einar Johanson Insulation & Glass Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1977 Business started: 01/01/1957 in WA Business started locally: 01/01/1957 Business incorporated 01/08/1993 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Brian Butz, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Brian Butz, Manager
Business Category

Windows - Installation & Service Windows Drywall and Insulation Contractors (NAICS: 238310)

Method(s) of Payment
Cash, check, VISA, Mastercard

Additional Locations

  • 922 N 128th St

    Seattle, WA 98133 (206) 362-4031


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: As a rule i don't usually use the cheapest bid. I wish i would have abided by this rule and not used this glass installer. Even though they were the cheapest, i have incurred additional cost of at least several hundred dollars to have to replace my blinds. When they removed them instead of slipping them out of their brackets they snapped ALL four off. As I heard them snap off, i asked are you going to put this back on for me i was told yes. Then the downstairs installers told me i should have removed them myself, they are removing them as a favor to me. I should have received a notice of how to prepare for them. I did not receive any such notice. In the middle of the job i called the office to speak to a supervisor. None were available, and none could be reached. When the job was done, instead of taking me around to inspect the job, they literally called me as they were driving out of the driveway informing me they were done. (i was in the back bedroom). I found this unacceptable, unprofessional, and rude.

Desired Settlement: and official apology and acknowledgment for the unprofessional behavior and compensation for the destruction of my property. Pay for the cost of repairing the blinds.

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau

Regarding Complaint ID: 


I met with Ms. *** on Friday, June 12. 


I checked the blinds in question, which were on the brackets
but not fully re-mounted.  I mounted the
blinds correctly, during which time we determined that the broken pieces in
question were not part of the mounting system and that they were most likely
not broken by our crew.


We walked through the rest of the job together and discussed
an issue with the garden window and some of the actions of the crew.


I have apologized for any shortcomings on the part of our company,
and Ms. *** has stated that she is happy with our company’s willingness to
address any of the remaining issues, namely adjusting the garden window
height.  There is no monetary obligation
from either party.


***** ****

General Manager

Einar Johanson Insulation & Glass