BBB Accredited Business since

Iris Window Covering NW Inc

Phone: (425) 793-9398 Fax: (425) 793-9516 View Additional Phone Numbers 505 S 4th St, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.iriswc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial window coverings, custom drapes, blinds, shades, and skylight systems.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Iris Window Covering NW Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Iris Window Covering NW Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Iris Window Covering NW Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 09, 2001 Business started: 03/01/1985 Business started locally: 03/01/1985 Business incorporated 08/16/1984 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Benton, President Mrs. Naomi Benton, Secretary/Treasurer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mrs. Naomi Benton, Secretary/Treasurer
Principal: Mr. Richard Benton, President
Business Category

Window Shades Commercial Products Wholesale & Distributor Draperies & Curtains - Retail & Custom


Additional Locations

  • 505 S 4th St

    Renton, WA 98057 (206) 762-1095 (425) 793-9398 (888) 533-4747 (425) 917-0501

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We chose Iris Window Coverings for this project as they installed sun shades in our living room several years ago. That experience was good and we were hoping for a similar experience with installing black out shades in our baby's room. Sadly this was the worst experience of its kind that we had. Their representative came to measure the windows and sent us estimate. Some time later I emailed him indicating that we would like to proceed with the project. In the middle of discussing details of installation this gentlemen disappeared for a week, with email and voice mails going unanswered. Eventually I received auto-response to one of these emails with a different contact. Another few weeks went by when the representative came by to do the final measurement. It was specified clearly both verbally and in writing that the product we ordered was black out shades. He mentioned that it would take 2 weeks to make the blinds with installation to follow. Three weeks later we were called with installation appointment. Not only the installers did not show up at scheduled time, nobody bothered to email or call indicating that they were running late or were unable to come. 3 hours later I received an email from their Scheduling and Dispatch manager saying that the installer got sick and would not be able to come. I responded with alternate times and pointed out the dissatisfactory experience with the company. A few hours later the manager called me again and said that he was able to find installers who would come in 20 minutes. About an hour later the installers came by and installed the new window shades. To our dismay these ended up being sun shades and not black out shades that we ordered. The product that was installed is completely useless as it is not the one we ordered.

Desired Settlement: Installing the proper black out shades that we ordered, replacing the batteries on previously installed sun shades as agreed by their representative.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/17) */ Hello, We are very sorry we will be doing the following to resolve this issue 1. we will replace the shades with the proper fabric. 2. we will replace the batteries on the three shades as agreed. 3. we will replace the chain on the new shades with the black chain as ordered. We will do all this as soon as the shade fabric comes in and we are very sorry for the misunderstanding. Thank you ************