BBB Accredited Business since

Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 338-1382 Fax: (503) 678-2483 View Additional Phone Numbers 21150 Butteville Rd NE, Donald, OR 97020 http://www.materialflow.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers material handling products.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that <em>lowered</em> the rating for Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 4 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 2
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 3
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 27, 2006 Business started: 05/01/1991 Business started locally: 05/01/1991 Business incorporated 05/14/1991 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Doug Stromberg, President Mrs. Kim Crowe, Accountant Ms. Andrea French, Manager Mr. Andy Justice, IT
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Andrea French, Manager
Principal: Mr. Doug Stromberg, President
Business Category

Wholesalers & Distributors

Hours of Operation
Monday-Friday
5:00am-5:00pm

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Material Flow & Conveyor Systems Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 21150 Butteville Rd NE

    Donald, OR 97020 (800) 338-1382

  • PO Box 550

    Donald, OR 97020

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We are still waiting on the correct order of casters that we ordered back in OCTOBER...and it's JANUARY NOW... Initially, some guy named **** who has since "left the company" took our order. The shipping seemed exorbitant, an we never received our order. I called about a month after I had placed the order, and the woman on the phone seemed to be suspicious that we had been overcharged for shipping. I went ahead and placed the order for the casters...again. We received the WRONG casters several weeks later. I called, and we were told that they would send the right casters...several weeks have gone by, and when I called today there apparently was no evidence of any order correction being placed. We have half-finished furniture that has been sitting in our house since October, and we still haven't received the order...

Desired Settlement: 1) The correct order of casters to be shipping within two business days of this resolution. 2) We will be provided with a tracking number for the shipment within two business days of resolution. 3) We will incur no further charges for shipping or whatever for the order correction. 4) We will received a 15% discount on the total cost of the order, including shipping, for the inconvenience and poor customer service we've received.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/15) */ My customer service department has tried calling Mr. ******* and emailing him to let him know the casters we sent him were the same ones that were discussed with him over the phone with ***** here. She let him know that we would be out of the casters with the top lock brake for several months until we find a new supplier. He said he would accept the side lock brakes. At this time he has not responded to our messages in the last two days. We will offer him a 15% discount or he can return his product. We do not have any other options for the product he would like at this time.

12/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered Lyon bulk racking on 10-7-14 and agreed to pay $430 for freight charges. The due date on my order was 10-17-14 When the racking was delivered by Dayton Freight on 10-16-14 it was short 1 skid. We had received the uprights and cross bars, but not the decking for the rack. I had the truck driver call in for a exception number (XXXXXXXX) he explained that it may have gone to the wrong Dayton facility and to wait two days and if nothing shows up report it missing. I contacted my sales rep at Material Flow on 10-20-14 and described the issue and sent him a copy of the BOL from the freight company. He forwarded my E-mail to ***** in the customer service department. I was not copied on this communication. I called down 2 or 3 days later and was directed to ***** who informed me I had to wait 7-10 for the freight company to find the skid and if they didn't, then they could place the order. There was no offer for any expedited solution to get me the remaining portion of my order that was now almost week past due. I waited 5 days and called back and was told by ***** that she would check with the freight company and follow up with me later in the day. I never returned a follow up. I called again and ***** was on the phone with another customer so I left a message and phone number with the Phone Operator/Admin Assistant for ***** to return my call. I called again the next day and she had not arrived to the office yet (due to the time difference) so I asked for her E-mail address. I wrote an E-mail to her and copied my sales person (*****) describing that I have been waiting two weeks and I need to get my racking ASAP and would even be willing to re-purchase the lost parts to get it shipped out sooner and receive a credit after the claim was processed by the freight company. I also asked for a credit on the shipping cost, due to my excessive wait for my order. It was 10-31-14 when I sent this E-mail. I did not receive a response. I called back the next business day 11-3-14 and got ahold of *****. I asked if she had received my E-mail. She stated she had not, so I the request over the phone. She said that she would re-place the order today and call the manufacture for a ship date and would follow up by the end of the day. She also mentioned she would ask her manager about my request for a credit. She did not follow up with me for a ship date, but E-mailed me saying the order had been placed, stating "I should have more information tomorrow" I followed up with her via E-mail on 11-4-14 and asked if she had a ship date and received no response. I E-mailed again on 11-6-14 and requested a tracking number and an update on the credit she mentioned. She responded later in the day stating that the racks were delivered and gave me the tracking number. She did not mention my credit. I responded (11-6-14 @3:20pm, thanking her for the update and I requested a status update on the credit. I have not heard back from her or my sales person regarding the credit. I have had to wait an additional 22 days beyond the due date for my order and have had to spend a few hours playing phone tag, and sending numerous E-mails trying to receive my order, not to mention the lost time in using my racking.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full credit for the shipping charges and 15% off the price of the racks for this run-around and total lack of communication.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/12/02) */ We issued a credit to the customer on 11/7/14 as he requested for the 15% discount on his product. It is our standard procedure to give the freight carrier time to find the missing pallet. I do apologize for the extra time it took and the many times he had to follow up. This does not happen very often with our shipments, thankfully. Again I apologize to *** ******** for the inconvenience this may have caused him.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Last year I ordered some parts. In May of this year I ordered them again. I received an order confirmation. In June I called back to find out where my parts were. The employee that took my order no longer worked there so they were going to take care of it. In July I called to see where my parts were. They were appologetic and said they would express them in at no cost to me. In August I called to see where my parts were. They said the factory discontinued one of the part numbers. I told them go ahead and send the remainder of the order. In September I got $34 worth of parts with a $20 shipping bill. The final straw is my invoices are goofed up so I'm having to deal with them again.

Desired Settlement: I want invoices that reflect the charge and reimbursement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/12) */ We tried to find the discontinued part for the customer to no avail. The customer has been credited for the full amount of freight. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/11/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

6/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/2/14 I ordered 2 pallet racks from Material Flow & conveyor. They shipped the products using a contracted shipping service. The product was delivered to the wrong location on campus causing me to have to find a way to go pick it up. Once I picked it up and brought it back to my location I noticed when inspecting it that one of the support beams had been damaged. The location it was delivered to did not inspect it before signing for it. I contact ***** ********* at Material Flow & Conveyor concerning the issue. I was informed that since this was not signed for as damaged that I would have to order and pay, up front, for another rack and then wait for a refund for the other rack. I proved that this was not delivered to the correct address and that I should not be penalized due to their freight services mistake. They have since passed this issue along to the freight service they used who has since told me that they have filed a claim with the transportation service. They transportation service has 30 days to investigate the matter with an additional 60-90 days to issue a response. All the while, I am not being able to use a rack that I paid in full, up front for. I will be glad to forward all emails if needed.

Desired Settlement: I would like them to send a replacement for the damaged rack ASAP or pay for return shipping for the entire order and issue a full refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/07) */ We are sending the replacement part out. It has to be manufactured. I will have our customer service department call him with an eta. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) After submitting this compaint I was contacted by Customer Service from Material Flow asking for my mailing address and stating that this would be shipped to me at no charge AT THE LATEST TOMORROW(The day after her response which was on 5/6/14. Here is the actual quote, "Thank you - we will be shipping this to you at no charge at the latest tomorrow as we may not be able to get a truck in today to pick up I will forward you tracking on it when available". Its 10 days later and now the their reposne is that the piece has to be manufactured before it can be sent to me all the while I STILL CANNOT USE THE RACKS THAT I ORDERED OVER 6 WEEKS AGO! Very Unprofessional! Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/05/23) */ We have again reshipped the item to the customer on Fed Ex Freight Pro #XXXXXXXXX-X. It is estimated to arrive on 05/30/14. We do not know who refused the last reshipment we sent. We also are not aware of who he spoke with here telling him that he had to wait and it was shipping from the factory. That was not correct. We would of had the shipment out immediately if we had know it had been refused. We have also left him a message to let him know that we have reshipped his product again.