BBB Accredited Business since

Advantage Elevator/Accessibility Systems Corp

Phone: (425) 806-6044 Fax: (360) 658-7050 PO Box 2978, Arlington, WA 98223

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers residential and commercial stair lift and wheelchair lift installation and maintenance services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Advantage Elevator/Accessibility Systems Corp meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Advantage Elevator/Accessibility Systems Corp include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Advantage Elevator/Accessibility Systems Corp
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2010 Business started: 07/01/1999 Business started locally: 07/01/1999
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621

Oregon Building Codes Division
1535 Edgewater NW, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 378-4133

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Marty McKinney, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marty McKinney, President
Business Category

Wheel Chair Lifts & Ramps Contractor - Disabled Access Elevators - Testing Services Lifts/Elevators - In Home Elevator Installation

Alternate Business Names
Advantage Elevator

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 2978

    Arlington, WA 98223 (425) 806-6044


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** the company owner, over charged for repairing a chair lift for $1,317 .93. He charged us 7 hours of his travel, hotel & fuel, which were not notified by him to us or agreed by us. The total repair time was 2 1/2 hours. He knowingly sold & installed for us a stair lift that would be eventually stuck by the sand at the switch because we live by the river& ocean. This was the very first time I used it. It went up the stairs but could not go down. He did not explain in detail about the invoice. ****** English was not that good & I was not home to interprete to him so he gave ***** his credit card. If I am home this will never happen. ***** took advantage of **** since we are minorities. English is our second language.

Desired Settlement: billing Adjustment. He came down on a Sunday. I hope he will give people an estimation before the repair, that was our mistake.

Business Response: I tried helping the ***** fix this over the phone.****

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: My husband **** is not a technician.  We did not have the menu to follow.  How could we do the repair over the phone.    There was a service department here in Florece when we first ordered the stair lifts.     They even came to do the measurement & wrote up a proposal for 2 Acron Stair Lifts.     We did not know that there was no more service & repair of his company in Oregon. He did not quote or let us know that we would have to pay for his trip & hotel **** before the repair.    If I knew I would buy him a round trip plane ticket that would cost much less, & no hotel stay was needed.    I want him to reimburse us at least half of the money my husband **** paid him by mistake.


***** ***

Business Response: I don't know why the ***** are making false accusations, I don't know why they keep on saying they're minorities and that I took advantage of them. To assume I sold them a machine that I knew that a switch would get stuck by the sand is ridiculous. They were given all the manuals at the time of installation and also told it is their responsibility to keep the rail clean. This wasn't an easy problem to find. In 9 years of supplying this model of stair lift this is the first time I've encountered this issue. Our billable rate has been the same since I started my company we bill everyone the same rate, regardless of ethnicity. I feel I went above and beyond on this job. I charged them half of what I should have charged them. I contend nobody would have fixed it for less and for some reason the ***** want something for nothing.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:


***** ***