BBB Accredited Business since

Richardson Well Drilling Company Inc

Phone: (253) 537-7332 5410 189th St E, Puyallup, WA 98375 http://www.richardsonwelldrilling.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial well drilling and pump repair.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Richardson Well Drilling Company Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Richardson Well Drilling Company Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Richardson Well Drilling Company Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 1999 Business started: 01/01/1939 Business started locally: 01/01/1939
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Richardson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Richardson, President
Business Category

Water Well Drilling & Service Water Filtration & Purification Equipment Water and Sewer Line and Related Structures Construction (NAICS: 237110)


Additional Locations

  • 5410 189th St E

    Puyallup, WA 98375 (253) 537-7332

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Original issue: Filtered water is staining things yellow and smells of sulphur. Second issue: asked to have water tested and have had no results. This started in September 2014. Techs have been to the house twice to draw sample. Third issue. Won't return phone calls after having left multiple voice mails and paper call back requests

Desired Settlement: Call back with apology for ignoring us so thoroughly. Assurance that water will be tested and underling issue resolved.

Business Response: Mr.******** has voiced his concern regarding staining on the side of his house and his concrete. we have made two trips to the residence to check the system out and cannot find anything wrong. we did take a water sample which we sent to the lab to test the water on the treated side of his filtration. the report came back showing the removal of the impurities to which the filter was installed for. the only idea we can come up with is if it is on the irrigation side only its possible that the plumbers or the irrigation people may have connected the irrigation line before the iron filter. we did not install the water line so we dont know if this is the case or not.
As far as ignoring Mr.Petersons phone calls, i have returned calls and also left messages. once i got the message from him on my voice mail stating over and over again i'm full of shxx and other vulger rantings i stopped taking his calls. i will forward the results to his mailing address. At this time the filtration company cannot find anything wrong with his system.

Consumer Response: My apologies for not responding sooner. My husband is still too angry to respond and asked me to do so. Richardson Well Drilling is lying when they say that they returned our calls. Both my husband and I called repeatedly and we never received a return call from them. The first water sample taken was lost. The second water sample report taken a month later was not returned to us until after the complaint was filed with BBB. We feel they have made no effort to provide any reasonable service to us. We would NEVER recommend this business.

11/10/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The installed well pump at our house and it keeps breaking; it's under warranty but they refuse to come out and replace it saying they are too busy and just don't want to deal with it anymore. We paid another drilling company $200 to come out and look at it, they agreed it's a new pump and tank under warranty so they advised us to get Richardson Well Drilling to come back out and stand behind their work and parts. They now (2 women and one man "****") just hang up on us! I am absolutely STUNNED they think they can get by with this! All they say is "I'm through dealing with this" and no explanation other than an occasional "We're extremely busy... with 300 to 500 calls per month" Well they wouldn't BE busy if their parts and/or work wasn't JUNK! But their attitude is the JUNKIEST!! They need to stand behind their work or tell us how we can utilize the warranty if they are FOR ANY REASON refusing!

Desired Settlement: They need to honor their warranty and get out here and fix this--- they've been out almost every-other month and their stuff keeps breaking down. It's NOTHING we are doing, just their faulty work or parts, so again we are without water 100%.. and in 100 degree weather it's sickening they think they can do this!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/03) */ on X-XX-XXXX we received a call from ***** ***** stating he was buying a home and needed to have a well inspection done. We use a system check sheet to record our findings when we perform system checks, which i will forward to you. The pump information was recorded as a Goulds Pump and a Red Lion tank. Neither of these Manufactures do we use for these specific installs. Up untill now i have never heard of a Red Lion tank but never the less Richardson Well Drilling has never installed these products. we then went over the system and every thing appeared to be in good operating condition.This was the end of our work on this property. on 8-12-2014 ***** ***** called and said her pump was out and would not work. she did explain to me that when we checked the system out prior to her buying the house in January, she said the service tech told her we had installed a new pump and tank on this property, so she expected the work to be under warranty with no charge to her. I tried to explain to her that we do not sell Goulds Pumps and we have never sold Red Lion tanks.She got angry and wanted me to call ***** ***** and go over this with him.I called ***** the same day and told ***** i will not warranty something i did not sell or install. But if in fact he could come up with an invoice or receipt showing the sale of any pumps or tanks sold by us for this job and it was under warranty, i would cover the warranty.He said he could not come up with any invoices or receipts as it was bought before he purchased the property and it should be my responsibility to come up with invoice or receipt. i asked him who owned the property before him as that is who the invoive or receipt name would be under. He had no idea and there again, that should be my job and not his. We went round and around with whose responsibility it should be and I explained to him without a name I cannot find anything. we do not go by address or phone numbers, we go by the name of the party paying for the equipment. Without a invoice or receipt we cannot turn this in for a warranty claim. at this point the yelling and screaming on his part took place.He went on to tell me how he knows 30,000 people that use business like mine and if i dont help him out he would destroy my reputation.I tried to explain again but he wouldnt stop yelling long enough for me to talk so i told him this is going nowhere and goodbye. Then **** started calling. In 30 years i have never heard anybody talk like her. After taking the first return call and realizing that short of replacing her equipment we did not install for free, I told her couldnt help her and she would be better off calling another company to perform her repair work. she did call back probably around 25 times harassing our receptionist to the point of threating her with her kids and stating "Im on my way to your kids school right now, Your gonna be sorry. Ath this point we stopped takin her phone calls./ ***** claims we have been out to the property every other month and our stuff keeps breaking. we have not been out every other month and we have not sold them anything other than a well system check which was done 01/15/2014. They need to find the receipts from the pump company that sold this equipment to the previous owners and deal with them, not us. Again we have sold the *****'s nothing.After looking into the Red Lion brand tanks, those are sold at the ******************* stores as well as the goulds pumps. My company as well as most other pump companies do not buy pumps and tanks from hardware stores. This was most likely componets bought by the previous owner and installed by himself. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/09/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My name is ***** ****** I am the property owner. Yes I did have, Richardson Well Drilling Company Inc. do my well inspection; the young man that came out and did my inspection stated that he had installed the system recently. NOTE: I find it interesting that *** ********** knows what kind of pump I have, when during the inspection, the young man did not pull the pump out of the well so had no way of knowing from an inspection only what type of pump it was, and I have both a VA inspector, and my real estate agent confirming he did the inspection AND that he stated he was the one that did the installation. Also, as Richardson Well Drilling Co would not help remedy this or even look at it, I did hire a company to fix and replace what needed to be so that I could have water again; and they did say that that that particular pump is one that Richardson uses all the time. Please make note that another concern was that fact that the power supply control box for the unit was rated for a 3/4 horse power pump, but the pump that felled was a 1 horse power, which creates a functionality AND danger creating both fire and electrical shock hazard, if the power supply was to fail catastrophically, which it did, but fortunately I caught in time before any damage beyond the pump could take place. The day it stopped, I found again that the circuit breaker had tripped. I reset the breaker and went to check the pump house. I could usually hear the water flowing, instead this time I saw the power supply control box smoking and making noises like oil popping in a skillet. I then went to shut off the breaker and watched the power supply to ensure it did not start a fire. They told my girlfriend they'd come out, but they never called back to schedule and ceased returning calls; when we finally got ahold of ************ they told her that the recognized the address and would NOT be out and to NOT call again. Upon my next call, they said that they had no record of ever doing work at this address, that he only kept records of customers names and not their addresses and that he had too many to go through; which I believe to be a false statement because people move, houses don't. I also am in the installation business, though I don't install wells, I am a limited energy electrician, and have been doing it for 27 years never have i heard of a company only keeping records of customer names, and not their addresses. He also stated that the pump manufactures only warranty the product to the original owner. Another false statement, I called the manufacturer; they warranty their pumps via the installation company (they have not gotten back to me yet to tell me to whom they sold this particular pump to using the serial number but will probably do that shortly). But I know from my experience they would NOT warranty their pumps if it has had the wrong size power supply connected to it, this would cause serious stress to the motor and danger. According to the company that replaced Richardson's work for me (they replaced the pump and wiring), and I quote, "Arrived on site to find well not pumping, due to wires not being secured to PVC line, causing to rub against well casing and exposing wire over amping and exposing wire." My bill was $3,784.27 to have a new 3/4 horse power pump and power supply control box installed. They WERE shocked at the haphazard and dangerous job that had been done on it for many reasons. I am very angry my safety was put at risk, and Richardson's is not standing behind their work, AND cost me almost $4,000. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/10/25) */ As i stated in the past responses, the Service Tech that came out to this job did not say he had installed this system, but remebered it as doing some kind of service work here before. I did not know what kind of pump was in this well, I assumed it was a Goulds due to the control box on top of the ground being a Goulds control box. I did not help remedy the situation due to the fact that they made it very clear they were not going to pay for anything. with no help from ***** or ***** as to who the previous owner was, i could not confirm any type of work done on this site.Every time i asked for previous names all i got from the two of these people was "that should be your job not ours should be listed under address not names" as i said and provided warranty documents before from 4 different pump manufactorers, the warranty stays with the original purchaser, not the well. As a side note, i did meet with *** ****** one of the pump companies ***** said he called and said that *** said the pump follows the property. Thats a lie. *** ****** told me he never made such statement. He said if he could get a warranty for the pump he would pass it on, but it would be soley up to the dealer or the company.the company that said we use the pump ***** has all the time could be true. but we use the same control box matched to the pump and install only the correct horsepower rating for both. we saw a Goulds control box, we have ever rarley ever installed a Goulds pump. this is not our normal line of pumps. we see this alot where control boxs on older systems do not match the pump. control boxs are a dime a dozen and everybody sells them, all makes and horsepowers. if a pump is not working its not all that uncommon to go to **********,******, ************ etc. and have a customer buy a control box and install it hoping that will fix the problem. We told the girlfriend we would come out but expected to be paid for our parts and services. Thats when all the problems started by these two not wanting to pay for anything, then the insults and threats towards the company and our receptionist from the girlfriend started. i tried to talk to ***** and all he could say was he knew 30,000 people and would spread the word to all and he had a neighbor who owned a drilling or pump company and with his help he would have him help destroy our buisness. so after this we did stop taking their calls.I told him i did recognize the address due to we were there in the early part of 2014 to do a well inspection.if ***** was only given warranties from the manufactorer to the original purchaser he would understand why we do it this way.If he had paid for the original install none of this would be a issue. the whole issue is, he bought a house, does not know who the previous owner was, his real estate agent nor his VA inspector apparently does not know who the person was, leads me think it might have been a repo or something of that nature. But as i said they were of no help providing us with the tools we needed to try and find info on this job. probably a good reason for this.But after what ***** mentioned that they have a different control box than pump, wrong control box rating for pump installed, wires not secured to drop pipe, and a tank brand i had never heard of untill this job, i can guarantee this is a job we had nothing to do with.If in fact ***** paid for a new 3/4 horsepower pump and motor and control box and was charged 3784.27 there must be a whole lot more to this story as on average the pump and motor should be around 1100.00 tops and the control box 115.00 tops leaves around 2569.27 for labor. with labor averaging around 105.00 per hour puts labor hours around 24.5 hours. We stand behind and warrant our work. We do not stand behind or warrant work done by others

4/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given an verbal cost of $1500. to have the tank and supply line installed from the well to the tank. I call them back a 2nd time and confirmed the price and what was included (electrical connection). I then received a bill for $2,136.63. I call and talked to *****. He got off the phone to review the bill and called me back stating " there was nothing" billed to me "that was not on the bill". I feel this is inappropriate as they should have called me if it was going over the amount stated agreed to. Their communications during the installment was extremely poor. They (***** I assume representing the company) were evasive and avoided the original communications to me when questioned. ***** failed to return calls to my husband about the back fill and inspection of the ditch. When the questions were presented the 3rd time. He stated they " have nothing to do with it after the inspection". On either occasions none of our questions or concerns were addressed.

Desired Settlement: To be billed the quoted amount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/03/05) */ in response, when we estimated 1500.00 it did not include tax. the final bill was 1982.03 without tax. the difference being 482.03. this difference came in part to us being told the length of run to the pumphouse was 70 feet. it was actually 100 feet to which we had to add more pipe and wire to this distance as well as spend more labor laying the pipe & wire. the well would not provide a constant flow with out a Dole flow control which is required in about half the installs done, this is not known untill the pump is installed and ran for the first time. the cost for the Dole is 72.00. the extra fittings in the pumphouse were needed to provide to connections they had in place. the inspector was called and we left messages as to if the ditch was approved for cover. due to snow the inspection took a little longer than normal to get any response. this jobsite is approx. a 2hr drive for us and the customer seeing how this is not the primary residence during snow conditions, typically if there is an issue, the inspector would call if not they just post approval on the internet, but due to the conditions they were running behind. as far as the pricing goes, this is why we always provide estimates not quotes. we cannot hold pricing firm when length of runs are different which cost us more material and time and the plumbing connections change. as we told ******** we only charged her for what was used. nothing on the estimate was charged out if we didnt use it. as far as communications go, this project was in Packwood. the only cell phone service we had was over 4 miles away. as far as i know the only questions or concerns not answered were the ones we needed to get from the inspector.after breaking the bill down and adding for the extra labor, pipe,wire & dole fittings i see we are only 52.03 off of our estimate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/03/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called Richardson Plumping 2 times to confirm the price. If the price was going to be more they should have contacted me. They apparently felt it was an open book to put in and charge what they wanted and not limit themselves to the verbal contract that they made with me. They knew all the issues up front as they installed the well approximately 1 month prior and had been onsite multiple occasions to include taking measurements from the house to locate a legal placement of the well. They knew about the 2 hour drive. They knew the type of pump that had been installed as they were the ones who sold me and installed the pump. As far as the inspector, my husband called ***** in regards to the inspection being completed. He stated he would call us the next day. He did not. We later went to the cabin and everything had been buried. The only communication was a bill in the mail . Final Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/03/28) */ The ****** did call our office twice to confirm pricing. Both times we stood behind the pricing based on the information the ****** gave us. Had they been more accurate on distances and connections, the labor and the cost of materials would have been right in line for what was ESTIMATED. we only charge out our fittings at standard pricing and our labor the same. we have never taken advantage of our customers when differnces like this come up. We had been on the site numerous times prior to the well being drilled. But those times were for drilling operations,site review,engress & egress. After the well was drilled they had a contractor dig the trench from the well to the pump house, which is fine as we do not do that work,if trench length would have been told to us the correct length we would have adjusted our pricing then.This is why our pricing over the phone is always an ESTIMATE.We knew about the 2hr drive and didnt have a problem with it, it was there choice to give us the information on the above versus having us drive 4hours roundtrip plus another hour on the job to be able to provide a quote for a fee. The pump has nothing to do with the overage. The reason ***** did not call the next day was, we would call when we had information from the inspector.We did not receive information from the inspector,(could not get a hold of him) When they went to the cabin and found everything buried, that was not done by us. we cannot bury before inspection, i would imagine whoever they hired to dig the trench most likely buried the trench as well. We had no control over that. The ****** keep bringing up the 1500.00. That was the estimate based on there information. Even if the information was correct, there still would have been tax added to that amount just like the drilling invoice, which is a estimate also but tax is always added.