BBB Accredited Business since

Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 800-7108 Fax: (866) 878-2074 1116 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.orshores.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation home rentals and vacation home rental management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2008 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007 Business incorporated: 05/09/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Nordell, Vice President Mr. Aren Bolles, Vice President Mr. Thomas Haacker, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Aren Bolles, Vice President
Principal: Mr. James Nordell, Vice President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals


Additional Locations

  • 1116 SW 51st St

    Lincoln City, OR 97367

  • 780 SW Pacific Coast Hwy

    Waldport, OR 97394 (800) 800-7108

  • PO Box 3507

    Sunriver, OR 97707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had paid for 2 nights in a rental property. When I walked through the door I immediately noticed filthy carpet with stains. A 10 year old child that is very thin sat on the futon and it was broken just propped up enough to appear that is wasn. No signal in the master suite bedroom to watch TV. In one of the other bedrooms a previous guest left a note by the lamp stating it was broken, note never removed lamp never replaced. The TV in the main common area is unwatchable because there are speckles throughout the screen. The kitchen chairs are unsafe they are loose and wiggle. The garbage outside was full so we had no where to place garbage so we put it out on the last day. The list goes on and on. I called the after-hours number posted on the fridge and spoke with ***. He was apologetic and asked what he could do to fix some of the issues that night. After driving in I still needed to unpack and feed our family so I asked if he at least had a TV and he said no. I told him if we went on an outing the next day I would call to have him make repairs. I did not want to be forced out of the home for these things to be done as we should have never been offered a house that was in such disrepair. I felt that having him come through the home was an intrusion on my vacation and time with my family. After I spoke with *** I emailed my concerns, on the same night of arrival NO RESPONSE. I then emailed again NO RESPONSE.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should be compensated for paying for things I got ZERO use from. The house included all of these amenities and I did not get to use them and had to be cautious of falling from a chair that was broken

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ First, the reservation referred to by Ms. ******* in her complaint was made by Ms. ***** Bailey-*******. Technically, Ms. ******* is not a party to our rental transaction. However, I believe Ms. ******* is probably speaking on behalf of her group and therefore, I will respond to her claims. Ms. ******* did call the night of her arrival and did speak with me. I did apologize for the condition Ms. ******* described as the condition of the home upon her arrival. I did offer to send housekeeping and maintenance personnel to take corrective action. As Ms. ******* states in her complaint, she refused my offer. Before each guest arrives, we use professional housekeeping services, cleaning products and fresh laundered bed linen service. We clean to industry standards; we will never make everyone happy and occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. In addition, some days, guests check in and other guests check out on the same day. On these days we are not always in receipt of reports of problem before the next guest arrives, as is the case with Ms. *******'s reservation. For these reasons our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "CHECK-IN. . . . . Upon arriving at the property, you will make an inspection of the Property, including the hot tub, if any. If you notice any damages, needed repairs, items that appear to be missing, or if the home was not cleaned properly, notify Agent immediately by calling our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX or after hours at XXX-XXX-XXXX to report the problem. Leave a message if necessary. Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests; . . . . Reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues does not give you the right to cancel your reservation or receive a refund or compensation." Household items can and do break down; it is impossible for us to anticipated problems. For that reason our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "DISCLAIMER OF WARRANTIES. No warranty is made against failure of items including but not limited to: sump pumps, hot tubs, heating, TVs, media devices, gas fireplaces, BBQs, plumbing fixtures and appliances. Guest will immediately report any inoperative equipment. Agent will make every reasonable effort to properly perform repairs quickly; or, without any obligation to do so, relocate Guest to another property." Ms. ******* did not give us the opportunity to correct these issues during her stay. Upon Ms. ******* and her party's departure, we addressed all of the issues Ms. ******* reported. The futon was repaired; 1 dining stool was repaired and upon inspection of the others, we found nothing wrong with them; the carpet was cleaned; the lamp was replaced; we exchanged the first floor TV and the third floor TV; upon checking the master suite bedroom TV, it works perfectly, if it is on the right input setting. All of these reported problems could have been remedied for Ms. *******. The third floor TV has a pixel issue and a part had to be ordered. The cost of replacing the TV is more than $1,000. There is nowhere on the Oregon coast where it can be purchased. Replacing it during Ms. *******'s stay was not an option; but we could have exchanged the first floor TV and the third floor TV during Ms. *******'s stay, so that she could have had a working TV in the main living area to enjoy. If Ms. ******* paid for things she got ZERO use from, it is because Ms. ******* made the decision not to allow us to correct these matters. It is Ms. *******'s decision not to allow us to correct these matters that prevented Ms. ******* from getting use of these amenities. I respect Ms. *******'s decision not to allow us to correct these matters. I believe she has the right to refuse our help. Ms. ******* is seeking compensation for amenities she could not use; however, Ms. ******* is not entitled to compensation. Our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states that we will "make every reasonable effort to properly perform repairs quickly " and that "Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests". We will correct what we can. That is what we do. That is what we offered to do for Ms. *******. Some things are impossible or impractical to fix immediately, that's why our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "REFUNDS, COMPENSATION. No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; non-functioning fireplace/s; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues; . . . . weather conditions." It is regretful that Ms. ******* was not able to enjoy all of the home's amenities. She certainly could have (except the 1 TV). We have had 6 rental guests check-into this same rental house since Ms. ******* group departed. We have had zero complaints. I am not willing to offer compensation in this matter. PS: A copy of our vacation rental agreement is available upon request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel that in the businesses response they validated my complaint regarding issues with the rental. The fact that they have admitted to cleaning the carpets repairing chairs replacing TV's awaiting a part for antother TV replacing lamps...this just goes to show from the amount of cleaning and repairs that they have now completed that the house was not in leaseable condition when my family and I were rented the property. The reply is full of excuses and they are hiding behind disclaimers which is unfair. I sincerely hope this can be resolved peacefully. I feel I am entitled to compensation for all of the issues with the rental. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/10) */ We will always make a good faith effort to reach a fair resolution of every reasonable claim. This is complicated when the complaining party is uncooperative. Ms. ******* refused our offer to correct these problems so that she could enjoy her vacation; yet she still believes that she is "entitled to compensation for all of the issues with the rental". Even though I disagree that Ms. ******* is entitled to compensation, we made a good faith effort to resolve this matter by contacting Ms. ***** ******-*******, the person who actually made this reservation, and offered to refund her the entire cleaning fee. She accepted. We realize that we will never make everyone happy and occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. In addition, some days, guests check in and other guests check out on the same day. On these days we are not always in receipt of reports of maintenance issues before the next guest arrives, as is the case with Ms. *******'s reservation. We will always offer to send housekeeping and maintenance personnel to take corrective action and try to remedy such a situation to the satisfaction of our guest. We never disputed Ms. *******'s complaints; however, we were unable to correct any problems until after she departed, since she refused our offer to remedy the problems during her stay.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company haven't return our security deposit. We made sure the house was cleaned and left the way we found it. Clean and organized. I have called them several times to communicate and find out why the security deposits was not return.I am totally disappointed. It has been way over 3 weeks and the company has not refunded our security deposits. We have been very patient. We called twice already. First person I talked too said it will takes 3 weeks. Then after 3 weeks I called again and the person I talked too said it will take 6 weeks and she will try to call me back to let me know. I haven't heard from her nor I see any refund in my credit card that I just checked as I type this email to them. It is now the 21st of November. My card was charge sometime in September and we utilize the house 1st week of October of this year. It is very frustrating and we made sure that the house was clean and organized the way we found it. Because of this unfortunate reasons that we are are reporting this company to the better business bureau. We have been very patient and hoping we can resolved this matter in a professional way. Product_Or_Service: House Rental Order_Number: XXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Would like to see my security deposit back to my charge card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/23) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@orshores.com I do apologize for the delay in returning this guest's security deposit, but they did receive $400 of their $500 deposit. We retained $100 for repairing a hole in the wall and painting the damaged area at the bottom of the interior stairwell. The house was otherwise clean. We use a detailed "Check-out Check-off" Report, one of which is completed by the housekeeper and the QC (Quality Control) person, for each departure clean. Notes are written regarding anything that would result in a cost over and above the standard cleaning fee collected from the guest. We also check the home prior to each guest arrival. The hole in the wall did not exist prior to this guest's occupancy and was discovered and noted on the date of the guest's departure. It took longer than usual to find a repairman to do the work for the amount we were willing to pay. Most contractors charge $60 - $80 per hour; this job required 3 site visits and with drive time (times three trips), no less than 4 hours. The guest may think that their wait to receive $400 was too long, but the alternative would have been to hire this job out at a minimum cost of $240, and return $260 to the guest. If we erred, it was because we were trying to save money on behalf of the guest. The guest claims they called our office on the day of their arrival to report this hole in the wall and further claimed that they spoke to a male. We don't have any male personnel that answer phones; the only male is our accountant. I don't know who they spoke to, but is was not someone in our office. We keep detailed records of all communications regarding our reservations in our reservation system. There is no record that the guest called on the date of their arrival. However, there is a record that we called the guest on the date of their arrival to report that the garbage service company missed the scheduled pick-up and would be out the following day to empty the trash, which indicates that we were in communication with the guest on that day and it was duly noted. It's unfortunate that damage occurred. We don't like the idea of withholding deposit funds, but when it is necessary to do so, we do. Guest damages cost us a lot more than we charge, with office staff time, coordinating repairs and doing the accounting for unanticipated services rendered. It's also unfortunate that the guest believes that they should not be responsible, and that somehow we are to blame for this misfortune. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday - BBB Closed

8/6/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/30/2012 Problems with Product/Service