BBB Accredited Business since

Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (800) 800-7108 Fax: (866) 878-2074 1116 SW 51st St, Lincoln City, OR 97367 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.orshores.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers vacation home rentals and vacation home rental management.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 03, 2008 Business started: 05/01/2007 Business started locally: 05/01/2007 Business incorporated 05/09/2007 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James Nordell, Vice President Mr. Aren Bolles, Vice President Mr. Thomas Haacker, President
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Aren Bolles, Vice President
Principal: Mr. James Nordell, Vice President
Business Category

Vacation Rentals


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1116 SW 51st St

    Lincoln City, OR 97367

  • 780 SW Pacific Coast Hwy

    Waldport, OR 97394 (800) 800-7108

  • PO Box 3507

    Sunriver, OR 97707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Reservation online to stay at the **** **** *********** ** *** *** *******, Lincoln City, OR Arriving July 2 & Dep. 7/5/2015. We arrived to check in at 4 but called immediately asking for a clean fully functioning condo as that is what we signed a contract & paid for in full. I have pictures of it all. Front door was damaged due to break in, only one lock which could be unlocked from the outside with a key. Socks stuck to the rug so we had to wear shoes the entire stay. Washer was broken, refrigerator leaked all over our food and floor, which we had to clean up at least twice a day for safety. Bedding was disgusting and had not been laundered for a very long time, pubic hair, sheets had holes in them along with fecal matter, pubic and head hair. So did the blankets, bed mats and comforters. blankets were severely ripped and dirty. Most lamps in the bedrooms had broken switches so we had to move the night tables to plug and unplug them. The remote did not work. Only had one king bed, the other was a double. False Advertising. The sliding door bar was defective so the door did not have a lock at all. We were on the ground floor. By 10:27 pm we were given only sheets to use for the night. We had to make all three beds ourselves. Staff wanted to fix what they could while we were in the condo day one. The maint. man came. None of the issued were recent issues. The pictures show long term damage and neglect. I immed. sent Elizabeth all the pictures except the fridg. water, unsafe damaged tile in front of the fridg. The condo was also very dirty. The furniture, cabinets & bathroom were also disgusting from neglecting to properly clean. 1st night at 10:27 pm the Maint. Man brought sheets. He & Elizabeth said all other issues had to wait until Mon. when they could contact the owner. We did not have the condo to ourselves the first night because of their neglect. Second day they brought 3 brand new blankets from ** ******** no comforters. Mult. e-mails sent to Elizabeth

Desired Settlement: We expect a full credit. We didn't the condo to ourselves the first day at all, so a $219.63 credit for the day is due. The rest of the credit is explanatory. Total neglect! This was a holiday weekend, and our daughters 14th birthday celebration which we had planned months in advance! We had a mother and her 2 children staying at our home for the 3 days, so we couldn't go home and kick them out because of the OSVR neglect. OSVR were obligated to provide a clean condo with all working amenities that were listed. They wanted to use our "Paid Time" to infringe on our space to fix things. The maint. man, Elizabeth, and two office assist. staff said they rent the condo so much that they can't fix things. Everything that was broke had been broke for a long time. We want justice and justice is that we get our money back. We held up our end of the agreement, which was pay $658.89, but long term neglect was evident, complacent was evident in the manner they are continuing to address this issue.

Business Response: On 8/17/2015 at 12:01:15 AM, Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals (“OSVR”) received an email from the Better Business Bureau, stating that a complaint was filed by ******** and ***** ****** (“the *******”) on 7/15/2015 at 5:18:08 PM, ID ********. 

First, OSVR already offered the *******, and the ******* already accepted a refund of $107.49 for all of the inconveniences the ******* allegedly experienced during their vacation stay, a fact that the ******* failed to mention in their complaint. Also the ******* fail to mention that OSVR responded to all complaints disclosed to OSVR by the ******* prior to their departure. This subject is fully discussed below. 

The first phone call OSVR received from the ******* was on Thursday 7/2/2015 (the date of the ******* scheduled arrival) in the afternoon, reporting the following, as documented in our reservation records:
7/2 guest called regarding washing machine not working. Does not want us to fix it while she is here, does not want to use our laundry at the Dock, and does not want to be bothered while she is here. She said this is unacceptable. JW 

Contrary to OSVR’s reservation records (see the preceding paragraph), the ******* write in their BBB complaint: “We arrived to check in at 4 but called immediately asking for a clean fully functioning condo as that is what we signed a contract & paid for in full.”

OSVR received a second phone call from the ******* just before 5:00 PM on Thursday 7/2/2015 (the date of the ******* scheduled arrival), at which time the ******* informed OSVR that the [TV] remote did not work and some lamps did not work. OSVR immediately responded. Before 5:00 PM OSVR sent a maintenance person to remedy a non-working TV remote, which was immediately fixed with a new battery and lights that did not work, which were immediately fixed by replacing light bulbs. 

In response to the ******* BBB complaint statement: “We arrived to check in at 4 but called immediately asking for a clean fully functioning condo as that is what we signed a contract & paid for in full” I find one important part of this statement is the *******’ acknowledgement that they signed a contract (for the rental of a vacation condo). Provisions in this contract (the rental agreement) address OSVR and rental guests’ responsibilities and the subject of compensation. Regarding the part of the ******** statement that says that they were . . . “asking for a clean fully functioning condo”, I’m not sure what the ******* mean by this remark. Either the ******* wanted OSVR to make the condo they rented “clean and fully functional” or they wanted OSVR to relocate them to a different condo. I dismiss the idea that the ******* wanted OSVR to make the condo they rented “clean and fully functional” since in the telephone conversation between the ******* and OSVR upon the *******’ arrival, the ******* refused to allow OSVR the opportunity to repair the washing machine, and did not want to be bothered. The *******’ first request that OSVR relocate them to a different condo, was made in an email sent by Mrs. ****** on July 02, 2015 at 8:14 PM (not 4:00 PM), which email reads, in part: “A manager needs to call us and move us to another room.”

The ******* rented for 3 nights over the 4th of July weekend, the busiest weekend every year. OSVR’s staff was still working well into the night on each night of the holiday weekend, including July 02, 2015. All of our vacation rental properties were booked; OSVR had nothing available. Most likely, there were no vacation rentals or hotel rooms available anywhere in Lincoln City over this 4th of July weekend. Was a full refund appropriate under these circumstances? I don’t know, but OSVR twice offered a full refund to the ******* as discussed in the next 2 paragraphs.

We received a third call on Thursday 7/2/2015 from the *******, this time at 9:40 PM, reporting the following, as documented in our reservation records:
7/2/15 guest called at 9:40 pm to say the washer machine is broken, and the sheets in bed are dirty, the home is dirty, i offered to have David take her clean sheets and housekeeping will be there in the morning. She called back at 10:20 no sheets yet, I called David who had been in PC at different property, he took over clean sheets at 10:35, guest called back at 11:27 not happy with the overall condition of the unit, I offered her to check out for a full refund, no other rentals available, unable to assist further until am.... Guest called back at 12:22am, same complaints kids feet are dirty, again I told her I will have housekeeping there first thing in morning. EK

Once again OSVR offered a full refund, in an email sent to Mrs. ****** on Friday, July 03, 2015 at 7:35 AM, which email reads: 
“Hello ********,
I am terribly sorry that you are not enjoying your stay, If you would like you can check out today and receive a full refund. Unfortunately we do not have any other properties available for this weekend.
I can get housekeeping over there today to take care of the rest of the linens, I will have to see what is going on with the washer, possible to get repair man back out to fix what should already be done.
Please feel free to give me a call, do discuss our option.”

OSVR attempted to send housekeeping on July 03, 2015, as promised. OSVR’s reservation records are documented as follows:
7/3/2015 - Left a voice mail @ 11:30 AM, 12:15 PM, 2:50 PM, & 4:15 PM with the guest about housekeeping, not able to reach guest and not able to enter the home to correct issues.  DWC

OSVR’s reservation records are documented as follows:
7/3/2015 - Guest called in @ 5:10 PM with a cell phone they borrowed to reach us. I added the cell number to the account. All previous voice messages were to the home number & were not received. Guests are ready for housekeeping. [Housekeeper] Monica notified & is trying to bring extra towels.  DWC

Housekeepers arrived at the condo occupied by the ******* at approximately 5:15 PM, less than 10 minutes after receiving the ******* phone call. The housekeeper did bring extra towels and new blankets as requested. All known housekeeping issues were corrected, except for carpets and upholstery. Carpets and upholstery cleaning could not be done prior to the ******* arrival, but had already been scheduled for a date after the *******’ departure. The fact that carpet and upholstery cleaning could not be done prior to the ******* arrival is in part why OSVR offered and paid the ******* compensation. The carpets and upholstery were since cleaned as scheduled.

In their BBB complaint, the ******* stated that they are seeking the following desired settlement:  “We expect a full credit.”

Twice OSVR provided the ******* the opportunity to obtain a full refund, the evening of their arrival and again early the following morning; the ******* did not take it. Rather, the ******* continued to occupy the condo for 3 nights in spite of all of their complaints about the condo. If the ******* were interested in a “full refund” they would have accepted OSVR’s offer of a full refund, which was offered on two separate occasions. The ******* were not interested in a “full refund”; instead the ******* were looking for a free vacation.  

In their BBB complaint, the ******* stated numerous maintenance and housekeeping complaints as they continued to occupy the condo. Why? The ******* expected that if they registered enough complaints, they could continue to occupy a waterfront condo for 3 nights, enjoy the Lincoln City fireworks display just outside the condo patio door, and do so for free.

Before each rental guest arrives, we use professional housekeeping services, cleaning products and fresh laundered bed linen service. Using an independent professional linen service is more expensive, but we know the bed linens are clean and sanitary. This professional linen service provider washes the bed linens to commercial standards, at a much hotter temperature than could ever be achieved by a household washing machine, presses the linens and folds them. Occasionally a sheet may slip through the system with an indelible stain or a tear; but each bed linen provided by OSVR is clean and sanitary. Our housekeepers are excellent, but they are human, and not always perfect. Our housekeepers clean to industry standards; yet occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. In advance, we ask the rental guest to call us if they find a housekeeping issue, so that we can take corrective action and try to remedy such a situation to the satisfaction of our rental guest. If a guest reports a housekeeping issue, OSVR will always offer to send housekeeping personnel to try to remedy any situation that a guest finds unsatisfactory. And we did this for the ******* by sending housekeeping staff to the condo and corrected all known housekeeping issues, except for carpets and upholstery. As previously stated, the carpets and upholstery could not be properly cleaned prior to the date of the *******’ arrival, and OSVR had carpet and upholstery cleaning scheduled to done after the ******* departure. This is in part why OSVR offered and paid the ******* compensation. The carpets and upholstery have been cleaned as scheduled.

OSVR reserves the right to take corrective action rather than pay compensation, that’s why the following two provisions are in all of our vacation rental agreements, including the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by Mrs. ******, (the reserving guest) for the reservation about which the ******* filed their BBB complaint:

“CHECK-IN. . . . . Upon arriving at the property, you will make an inspection of the Property, including the hot tub, if any. If you notice any damages, needed repairs, items that appear to be missing, or if the home was not cleaned properly, notify Agent immediately by calling our office at ************ or after hours at ************ to report the problem. Leave a message if necessary. Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests; . . . . Reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues does not give you the right to cancel your reservation or receive a refund or compensation.”

 “REFUNDS, COMPENSATION. No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; non-functioning fireplace/s; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; . . . .”

In the Desired Settlement section of their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “They [OSVR] wanted to use our "Paid Time" to infringe on our space to fix things.”

By signing their vacation rental agreement, this is precisely what the ******* agreed to (as stated above). 

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “Bedding was disgusting and had not been laundered for a very long time, pubic hair, sheets had holes in them along with fecal matter, pubic and head hair.” 

As already stated above, OSVR’s bed linens are commercially washed at a much hotter temperature than could ever be achieved by a household washing machine, pressed and folded by an independent professional linen service provider. Occasionally a sheet may slip through the system with an indelible stain or a tear; but each bed linen provided by OSVR is clean and sanitary. It is preposterous that the ******** would allege they found “fecal matter” on these sheets. OSVR, in spite of knowing the clean and sanitary condition of the provided bed linens, offered to bring the ******* fresh sets of bed linens, which was done at 10:30 PM the night of the ******* arrival. Remember, the ******* did not report this issue to OSVR until 9:00 PM. Also remember that the ****** reservation was for the 4th of July weekend, the busiest weekend of the entire year on the Oregon coast. The bed linens were delivered by an OSVR staff member that had already worked a full day, yet he was still caring and responsive enough to deliver fresh sets of bed linens to the ******* at 10:30 PM. Replacement blankets were not available after 9:00 PM on the evening of the *******’ arrival; however, the next day OSVR purchased new blankets and delivered them to the ******. At the time OSVR delivered the new blankets, OSVR examined the bedding (blankets and comforters) and found that the bedding was not dirty, but did find the edging on one blanket was starting to come apart and that there were a few, almost microscopic, indelible stains present on the blankets. OSVR did not provide the ******* with replacement comforters because OSVR found the comforters to be clean, but did find one comforter had one, almost microscopic, indelible stain. OSVR was unwilling to accommodate the *******’ preposterous claim regarding comforters. OSVR’s housekeepers routinely launder blankets and comforters on a rotating basis. The blankets and comforters at this condo were recently laundered and were clean. OSVR knows the stains are indelible because OSVR has laundered theses blankets and comforters many times. Once again, our housekeepers are excellent, but they are human, and not always perfect. Our housekeepers clean to industry standards; yet occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. This is why OSVR reserves the right to take corrective action, and will take corrective action to all reasonable requests, rather than pay compensation.  

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “None of the [maintenance] issued were recent issues.” 

OSVR learns of maintenance issues when property owners, rental guests or housekeepers report issues. If no one reports needed repairs, we don’t know to make them. If a guest reports a maintenance issue, OSVR will always offer to send maintenance personnel to try to remedy any situation that a guest finds unsatisfactory. And we did this for the *******. Remember, OSVR sent a maintenance person to remedy a non-working TV remote, which was immediately fixed with a new battery and lights that did not work, which were immediately fixed by replacing light bulbs. The ******* did not bring any other maintenance issues to OSVR’s attention until after their departure, with the following exceptions: ”The front door opens on it's own. It does not stay shut. We have to lock the deadbolt.” and “The sliding door safety bar is too small and does not hit the door to lock. It falls to the floor rail.”

In addition, the ******* write in their BBB complaint: “Front door was damaged due to break in, only one lock which could be unlocked from the outside with a key.”

The front door is slightly damaged, but is not in any way a security risk. As the ******* point out, the door locks with a deadbolt. The entry doors to these condos are the property of the Condo Homeowners Association (“HOA”). Only the HOA can make repairs to the entry door. The repair could not be properly made by the HOA prior to the date of the *******’ arrival. The HOA has the entry door repair scheduled to done after the ******* departure. This is in part why OSVR offered and paid the ******* compensation. OSVR managed more than 70 vacation rentals; all but 2 (with key cards) can be . . . ”unlocked from the outside with a key.”  

Also, the ******* write in their BBB complaint: “The sliding door bar was defective.” 

The sliding door does not have a “sliding door safety bar”; the door has a bar that lies in the bottom track, securing the door from entry so long as the bar remains in the track, and prevents any risk of uninvited entry.

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: [The condo] “Only had one king bed, the other was a double. False Advertising.” 

The only thing false is the ******* comment that. . . . “the other was a double.” The beds are not the same dimensions, but both beds are king beds; one is a california king, the other is a standard king. 

The ******* initial complaint upon their arrival was that the washing machine was inoperable. Prior to the arrival of the rental guest that preceded the *******, OSVR placed a sign on the washing machine that read ”washing machine out of order.” This sign was intended to prevent any further damage to the washer prior to it being serviced. Prior to the date of the *******’ arrival, OSVR had an appliance repair company scheduled to service the washing machine. Unbeknown to OSVR, the service repair was not made and the sign was still attached to the washer. The ******* refused OSVR’s offer to have the washer fixed during their stay; however, in spite of a sign saying ”washing machine out of order”, the ******** attempted to use the washer anyway as disclosed in Mrs. ******** email sent on July 02, 2015 at 11:27 PM, in which the ******* state: “The washer stopped in mid cycle.”  After the *******’ departure the repairs were made and the washer is in good working condition. Contrary to the terms of the rental agreement signed and agreed to by Mrs. ******, the ******* did not give OSVR the opportunity to repair the washer during their stay; therefore, as explained and documented above, compensation is without merit.  

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “Most lamps in the bedrooms had broken switches so we had to move the night tables to plug and unplug them.”

I’m not sure why the ******* had issues with the bedroom lamps, but after their departure OSVR went to the condo to fix the lamps, only to discover the lamps work properly and needed no repairs.

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “The furniture, cabinets & bathroom were also disgusting from neglecting to properly clean.” 

The furniture upholstery has already been addressed above, and as previously stated in this response, this is in part why OSVR offered and paid the ******* compensation.

Contrary to the ******* claim that “cabinets & bathroom were also disgusting” after the ******* departure OSVR went to the condo to examine the condition of the cabinets and the bathroom, only to discover that this claim made by the *******’ was false; the cabinets and the bathroom were clean. 

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “unsafe damaged tile in front of the fridg.” 

The overall condition of the kitchen floor tiles is excellent; there are minor cracks and imperfections on very few of the floor tiles, none of which pose any danger or risk of injury.

In their BBB complaint, the ******* write: “refrigerator leaked all over our food and floor, which we had to clean up at least twice a day.”

After the ******* departure OSVR went to the condo, on the date of the ******* departure and the following date before the next guest checked in, to examine the condition of the refrigerator, only to discover that the refrigerator functions property and does not leak. Since the ******* departure, this condo has been rented every day for the entire month of August. Since the *******, OSVR has not received even one guest complaint about anything from any guest staying in this condo!

After OSVR examined the condition of the cabinets and the bathroom, the refrigerator, and kitchen tile, OSVR’s housekeepers cleaned the entire condo. Cleaning before each rental guest arrives, using professional housekeeping services, cleaning products and fresh laundered bed linen service, and cleaning to industry standards is a routine part of OSVR’s operating procedures.

What I’ve learned in past 37 years of business is that you can’t please everyone; however, OSVR comes remarkably close to doing so. We strive for excellence in our customer service; our track record is evidence of the value we place on our customer satisfaction. Since 2013, to date OSVR has made over 5,500 reservations and have had just five (5) BBB complains, including this complaint. That’s an average of less than 1 complaint in every 1,100 reservations or less than 1 complaint for every 8,800 guests. 

OSVR already offered the ******* and the ******* already accepted a refund of $107.49 for all of the inconveniences the ******* allegedly experienced during their vacation stay; inconveniences that were avoidable had the ******* accepted OSVR’s full refund offer. OSVR offered the ******* a full refund on 2 occasions and the ******* had 2 opportunities to receive a full refund.

In conclusion, OSVR takes any complaint seriously. When OSVR is a fault, and sometimes regretfully we are, we do offer compensation. In the case of the *******, we did just that; OSVR offered $107.49 in compensation to the ******* and the ******* accepted it. As explained and documented above, additional compensation is without merit.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: the attached BB overview clearly displays a serious lack of truth, respect, accountability, professionalism as well as a lack of communication. In fact, looking at the BB report, it looks like another customer prior to us had some of the same issues. Regardless, our pictures don't lie, neither do we. We are fabulous, wonderful, caring truth tellers who will continue to live with honor and integrity. We will not drop to the childish, unprofessional level displayed by OSVR's response. 

OSVR says the batteries were replaced and light bulbs were replaced, this is a complete lie. Dave said the batteries were fine, but that some of the buttons were defective and that  "Charter" had to replace the defective remotes on a business day. He also said the bulbs of the lamps were fine, it's just that they were unplugged and that we had to move the nightstand to plug and unplug the lamps in the bedroom and crawl under the dining room table to turn that light on and off. Again, look at the picture, they show the lamp switches were broken off. I also don't believe that Dave would lie, we would like to add him to our court papers to have him testify the truth, but OSVR refuses to give us anybody's last name. 

We NEVER agreed to a $107.49 credit. And, according to our last visa statement, a credit has not been issued of any kind. So, there is another lie.

Saying the sheets were laundered is another lie. Take a look at the Pictures. The hair, the green goo, the dirty black tar spots that look like fecal matter, the holes, and the shredded blankets tell the story. Pictures don't lie.  

You are absolutely correct when you say we didn't want you to fix ALL these things on our time. You already wasted our entire first day. From 4pm until after 10:27pm we were STILL dealing with YOUR issues. We did not rest or relax the first day because of your neglect. It was OUR space, not yours. If the problem was just a broken washer, we would have been more understanding, but it was not one or two things. It was MANY very unsafe, unsanitary neglectful things! Dave said himself that he couldn't fix the lamps and remote because you had to get the owner involved or ******** involved, so we didn't care to deal with your problems on OUR time. The cleaning lady and either Josh or Daniel said the room had been rented repeatedly so deep cleaning could not be done. You are absolutely correct when you say the condo was cleaner when we checked out! WE BOUGHT LYSOL DISINFECTING WIPES AT ** **** AND DID YOUR JOB FOR YOU, BY CLEANING THE CONDO! Again, see the pictures! Pictures don't lie. 

We require the last names of Elizabeth, Dave, Daniel and Josh so we can proceed to court. It is worth it to us to continue to strive "For the People" This condo was disgusting and OSVR should be held accountable. They have been 100% neglectful and non accountable, trying to manipulate as if my precious family members are criminals. HOW DARE YOU! Again, I have full confidence and believe once a judge views our pictures, hears our story, views the prior complaints He/She will side with us. It's comical to me that OSVR says they have rented out the condo since our stay and they've received no complaint. Elizabeth has stated that they have since done a deep clean. Get it together, be honest, view the pictures, see the truth, and do what is right. 





Sincerely,

******** & ***** ******

Business Response: On 9/14/2015 8:00:51 AM, Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals (“OSVR”) received yet another email from the Better Business Bureau with yet another reply from the ******* to OSVR’s response to their BBB complaint.

As explained and documented over and over and over again in OSVR’s response to the *******’ additional comments and in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint, OSVR offered a full refund to the ******* on two separate occasions; the ******* did not accept it.

The *******’ last reply, received by OSVR today, 9/14/2015, states that: “OSVR had not done the job they promised us, the consumer.”

Also, the *******’ reply of 9/14/2015 states that: “we required another condo or vacation room which the OSVR was obligated to accommodate. You
lie, you embellish, you fall extremely short of your obligation, you are accountable.”

I will not call the ******* any names, but their statement that “OSVR had not done the job they promised us . . .” is just not true. The *******’
statement that “OSVR was obligated to accommodate [another condo or vacation room]” is also not true. The provision entitled “RESERVATION CHANGES” is in all of our vacation rental agreements, including the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by Mrs. ******, (the reserving guest) for the reservation about which the ******* filed their BBB complaint. Section 2, entitled “Relocating From Your Reserved Property To Another Rental Property” states: “Transferring your reservation from your reserved property to another rental property is subject to availability, and rate and fee changes.” Section 2A, in part, states: “. . . Neither Agent, nor the Property Owner is liable for damages or any inconvenience. You will have the option to (1) accept the replacement property and pay all additional monies owed, if any; or (2) reject the replacement property and receive a refund of your paid total reservation charges. You hereby agree that your choice between these alternatives will be your sole remedy for any and all claims of damages, liability or inconvenience for such an occurrence.”

OSVR did exactly what it was obligated to do under OSVR’s contractual agreement with the *******; OSVR offered a full refund to the ******* on two separate occasions, the ******* did not accept it. OSVR was not obligated to do anything for the ******* after that. It was the ******* that decided to not accept their agreed upon “sole remedy” and stayed in spite of not being happy. OSVR knew that it was impossible to make the ******* happy, yet without obligation to do so, OSVR continued to acknowledge and respond to the *******’ phone calls and emails for the entire duration of their
stay. Without obligation to do so, on several occasions, OSVR sent numerous staff members to the condo in which the ******* were staying, making multiple attempts to resolve alleged problems. 

Furthermore, the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by Mrs. ******, also includes a provision entitled “REFUNDS, COMPENSATION” which states: “No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; . . . your rental is unacceptable; relocation; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues; . . .”

When OSVR is a fault, and sometimes regretfully we are, we do offer and pay reasonable compensation. In the case of the *******, without obligation to do so, OSVR did just that, OSVR gave the ******* a partial refund. Any additional compensation is without merit.

The ******* have repeatedly threatened to take this matter to court. First, the ******* have already contractually agreed to their “sole remedy for any and all claims of damages, liability or inconvenience for such an occurrence.”  For this and other reasons, OSVR agrees with the ******* that “. . . this issue will be resolved quite quickly . . .” should the ******* elect to go to court in spite of their contractually agreement.  

Both the ******* and OSVR have repeatedly expressed their opinions in exhausting detail. Nothing more can be said that hasn’t already been said. On behalf of OSVR, I hope this is the end of the BBB complaint process.


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I will use official quotes from OSVR'S BBB Response 8/27/2015 which proves OSVR admits to all negligence, acknowledging all were prior issues. They admit to withholding information from my family, and renting the condo out regardless of the unsafe & unsanitary condition. Their actions are inexcusable, unethical and criminal.  




"...I called David who had been in PC at different property, he took over clean sheets at 10:35....." (10:35 at night is not immediate or acceptable)

"...guest called back at 11:27 not happy..."   (Still hadn't received clean blankets and comforters which was included in our rental agreement)

"...Guest called back at 12:22am,...."            (Still hadn't received clean blankets and comforters which was included in our rental agreement)   

"...The housekeeper did bring extra towels and new blankets..."    (Notice the NEW blankets comment. The blankets provided were torn, unsafe & unsanitary) (Unsafe meaning strangulation concern. See Pictures)  

"....the next day OSVR purchased new blankets."   (Not immediate or acceptable. See pictures of the old blankets they expected us to use)


"Carpets and upholstery cleaning could not be done prior to the ******* arrival, but had already been scheduled for a date after the *******’ departure. (Negligence - Prior knowledge)  

"The carpets and upholstery were since cleaned as scheduled."    (Negligence - Prior knowledge)


"As previously stated, the carpets and upholstery could not be properly cleaned prior to the date of the *******’ arrival, and OSVR had carpet and upholstery cleaning scheduled to done after the ******* departure."

"The repair could not be properly made by the HOA prior to the date of the *******’ arrival. The HOA has the entry door repair scheduled to done after the ******* departure." Negligence - Prior knowledge

"Prior to the arrival of the rental guest that preceded the *******, OSVR placed a sign on the washing machine that read ”washing machine out of order.” This sign was intended to prevent any further damage to the washer prior to it being serviced."

"Prior to the date of the *******’ arrival, OSVR had an appliance repair company scheduled to service the washing machine. Unbeknown to OSVR, the service repair was not made and the sign was still attached to the washer."

"After the *******’ departure the repairs were made and the washer is in good working condition."    (Negligence - Prior knowledge)


"I can get housekeeping over there today to take care of the rest of the linens, I will have to see what is going on with the washer, possible to get repair man back out to fix what should already be done."  

"After (after the ******'s left) OSVR examined the condition of the cabinets and the bathroom, the refrigerator, and kitchen tile, OSVR’s housekeepers cleaned the entire condo." 


Sincerely,

******** & ***** ******

8/24/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Our friends and i paid $190 per night for a rental called **** *******, July 17-18. Cute house but all supplies such as dishwasher, laundry detergent, paper towel were clearly from the dollar store and the toilet paper was the absolute cheapest ******* has. The dishes and silverware provided were disgustingly dirty! When on vacation, which is a luxury, finding the cheapest supplies available for use is quite a let down. I felt cheated and disrespected.

Desired Settlement: I would like an adjustment such as one night refunded to our friends credit card. We paid them cash.

Business Response: On 7/28/2015 at 12:37:12 AM, Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals (“OSVR”) received an email from the Better Business Bureau, stating that a complaint was filed by ***** ********* on 7/21/2015 at 4:16:28 PM, ID of ********. 

The reservation referred to by ***** *********** in her BBB complaint (Res # *******) was made by ****** ********; Ms. ********* is not a party to any OSVR rental transaction. However, I believe that she may be speaking for her group (“the ******** rental party”) and am willing to respond to her claims. 

On 7/14/15, Mr. ******** reserved a rental known as “**** *******”, located in Waldport, OR. The reservation was for 4 adults for 2 nights, with a scheduled arrival of 4:00 PM on 7/17/15.

We received a call on Saturday 7/18/2015 in the morning from the ******** rental party, reporting that they could not get the cable to work. Daniel who manages OSVR’s Waldport office informed the caller that he (Daniel) would stop by the rental property that afternoon. When Daniel arrived, the ******** rental party had already gotten the cable working. One of the female members of the ******** rental party then showed Daniel a dirty glass. Daniel apologized and offered housekeeping services; the same female members of the ******** rental party declined, stating that she had already cleaned the dishes. She also complained about the quality of the toilet paper, which I will address later in this response. Daniel asked if there was anything else he could do for them, the two female members of the ******** rental party stated “No” and thanked Daniel for his time.

Since the afternoon of Saturday 7/18/2015, there has not been any conversation or any other communication between any of the ******** rental party and OSVR.

After the ******** rental party answered “No” when asked on Saturday 7/18/2015 if there was anything else OSVR could do for them, and after they departed, Ms. ********* found it appropriate to file a BBB complaint. 

Ms. ********* writes in her complaint: “The dishes and silverware provided were disgustingly dirty! “ The guest never disclosed this issue to OSVR in the guest’s phone call to OSVR on Saturday 7/18/2015 or at any time during our company representative’s visit to the rental property, except for showing him a dirty glass. 

Before each rental guest arrives, we use professional housekeeping services, cleaning products and fresh laundered bed linen service. We clean to industry standards. Occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. For this and other reasons our vacation rental agreement, digitally signed by ****** ********, (the reserving guest) for the reservation about which Ms. ********* filed her BBB complaint, clearly states:  

“CHECK-IN. . . . . Upon arriving at the property, you will make an inspection of the Property, including the hot tub, if any. If you notice any damages, needed repairs, items that appear to be missing, or if the home was not cleaned properly, notify Agent immediately by calling our office at ************ or after hours at ************ to report the problem. Leave a message if necessary. Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests; . . . . Reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues does not give you the right to cancel your reservation or receive a refund or compensation.”

The ******** rental party did not allow us the opportunity to confirm Ms. *********** allegation or allow us the opportunity take corrective actions to remedy a condition Ms. ********* described as: “The dishes and silverware provided were disgustingly dirty! “ We will always offer to send housekeeping and/or maintenance personnel to try to remedy any situation that a guest finds unsatisfactory. And we did this for the ******** rental party. We sent a maintenance person to remedy the cable problem, and once we were informed that there was a housekeeping issue, we did offer to send housekeeping personnel. 

Our housekeepers are excellent, but they are human, and not always perfect. In advance, we ask the rental guest to call us if they find a housekeeping issue, so that we can take corrective action and try to remedy such a situation to the satisfaction of our rental guest. We reserve the right to take corrective action rather than pay compensation, that’s why the following provision is in all of our vacation rental agreements, including the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by ****** ********, (the reserving guest) for the reservation about which Ms. ********* filed her BBB complaint:

“REFUNDS, COMPENSATION. No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; non-functioning fireplace/s; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues; . . . .”

Ms. ********* writes in her complaint: “. . . all supplies such as dishwasher, laundry detergent, paper towel were clearly from the dollar store and the toilet paper was the absolute cheapest ******* has.” 

Also, Ms. ********* writes: “I felt cheated and disrespected.”

The tone of Ms. *********** comments makes me think that she believes that dollar store products are too inferior to be purchased and used by consumers, and that anyone who buys products from the dollar store is disrespectful and dishonest. With all due respect, Ms. *********, I own OSVR and I use the same products in my own home that we provide to our vacation rental guests, not because they are “cheap”, but because they are good quality products at a fair price. We provide the same products to both renters and owners in all of our vacation rentals, including a home that rents for as much as $985.00 per night (excluding taxes and fees). If I were not satisfied with the quality of our provided supplies, I would not use them in my own home, and the rental owners and OSVR would have been informed by paying guests (more than once) not to expect anyone else to be satisfied with these products/supplies.

Rather than explore the toilet paper preferences of a rental guest; I will explain OSVR’s purchasing practices regarding toilet paper. Years ago, we made a single (one time) purchase of the “cheapest” toilet paper available to us at the time. It was not a good choice and not worth the savings. We never made that mistake again. Now we purchase what we believe to be good quality toilet paper at a fair price. We purchase toilet paper that is individually wrapped, which is more expensive and above industry standard. I assume Ms. ********* would prefer that we spent $0.50 per roll more on toilet paper. This may not seem like a lot of money, but it would be an additional business expense of approximately $7,500 annually (since we supply more than 15,000 rolls of toilet paper to our vacation rentals each year). 

In addition, on 7/15/2015 at 12:16 AM, an email was sent to ****** ******** (the reserving guest), at the email address provided by Mr. ********.  This email providing driving directions and other information, including the following statement:  

“On this website, we have provided a "What To Bring" Checklist that includes some helpful suggestions to assist you with your packing and shopping.”

On our OSVR website, the “What to Bring” page states, in part: 

 “Although Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals provides much of what you will need while staying at one of our vacation rentals on the Oregon coast, you'll probably want to bring some things with you from home. 

To make your Oregon beach vacation more enjoyable, you may want to consider bringing the following items: (3rd item listed among a long list):
• Toilet Tissue. We provide 1+ roll/s per bathroom”

The purpose of this information is to alert rental guests that have special or unique needs to take appropriate steps to make sure they bring with them what they need, instead of blaming the management company for not anticipating what might be on their wish list. 

Ms. ********* has neither been cheated nor disrespected. Rather, it seems that Ms. ********* has unrealistic expectations, expectations that are contrary to good business judgment and good business practices.

In contrast, OSVR must maintain good business practices in order to provide vacation rentals at a fair price that are clean and well maintained, and that includes professional housekeeping, professionally laundered bed linens, clean towels, and include ample supplies, including laundry detergent, dishwashing detergent, liquid dish soap, paper towels and toilet paper. 

What I’ve learned in past 37 years of business is that you can’t please everyone; however, OSVR comes remarkably close to doing so. We strive for excellence in our customer service; our track record is evidence of the value we place on customer satisfaction. Since 2013, to date OSVR has made over 5,500 reservations and have had just four (4) BBB complains, including this complaint. That’s an average of less than 1 complaint in every 1,375 reservations or less than 1 complaint for every 31,000 guests. **** *******, the home rented by the ******** rental party, has rented over 500 nights in the last 6 years with no complaints. This home has rented out 2 more times since the ******** rental party checked out, each a one week long stay, and no complaints.

I do apologize for any dirty dishes that the ******** rental party encountered, however, neither Ms. ********* nor any other member of the ******** rental party gave OSVR the opportunity to resolve the housekeeping issue mentioned in Ms. *********** BBB complaint; therefore, as explained and documented above, compensation is without merit. Ms. *********** assuming expectation of higher quality soaps and paper products also does not warrant compensation.

In conclusion, OSVR takes any complaint seriously. It is regretful that Ms. ********* did not consider contacting OSVR directly as a complaint option, yet was disturbed enough by her vacation experience, that she felt compelled to write a BBB complaint. OSVR, provided the opportunity to do so, would have made every effort to correct any legitimate problem, so that the ******** rental party might have more thoroughly enjoyed their vacation. 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: 
I am rejecting this response because: First I feel attacked by the response. Second there is no truth to the comment they use individually wrapped toilet paper it was ******** cheapest. I have a picture. When we called about the cable we had not looked at the dishes and silverware very carefully. We noticed when we were cooking breakfast, and we then washed what we used before we ate and then we put them in the dishwasher, with the dollar tree dishwasher soap. The dishes  came out of the dishwasher streaked and dirty. We washed them by hand after that.  

Sincerely,

***** *********

Business Response: I’m sorry my response made Ms. ********* "feel attacked”; but I share her pain, because I too feel that OSVR has been attacked. I too have a picture of the toilet paper that OSVR provides to its rental guests on each reservation and purchase receipts to evidence that OSVR in fact provides the products it claims to provide.

I’m sorry these products did not meet Ms. *********'s standards, but every day, ordinary people purchase and use the identical products that we provide to our vacation rentals. I do not apologize, nor will OSVR pay compensation, for the quality of the products that OSVR provides. I will not belabor the subject of toilet paper any further.

Ms. ********* writes in her additional comments that “The dishes came out of the dishwasher streaked and dirty.” Neither Ms. ********* nor anyone else in the ******** rental party previously disclosed this information to OSVR. It may not seem like this information is important, but it is crucial. We know the dishwashing detergent works; we’ve been using it for years in all of our rentals. Maybe the dishwasher needs to be serviced. If OSVR had had this information during the ******** rental party’s occupancy, we would have offered to send an appliance repair person to evaluate the dishwasher. If the dishwasher is not functioning properly, it would likely explain the dirty dishes the ******** rental party found shortly after their arrival.

The cost for a 2-night stay (Friday and Saturday nights) at the **** ******, located just a few blocks from **** ******* (the rental house the ******** rental party reserved) for a single (one) partial bay view hotel room with 2 queen beds, 1 bathroom, and no kitchen or kitchenette, (but does include a free breakfast) is $259.20 or $32.40 per person per night. Ms. ********* wants $190.90 in compensation, which means she wants the ******** rental party’s total vacation rental cost to be $190.90, or $23.86 per person per night for a 2-night stay (Friday and Saturday nights) at a fully furnished, 2 bedroom, 1 ½ bathroom beach house with 2 living spaces, and ocean views. Ms. ********* wants us to believe that the value of her vacation stay at this fully furnished beach house was so diminished that the ******** rental party should be entitled to compensation, and that they should only pay less than what they would have otherwise paid for a nearby single (one) hotel room. The ******** rental party received good and fair value for their vacation stay at **** ******* and good and responsive service from OSVR during their stay, which is discussed in more detail in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint.

In conclusion, OSVR takes any complaint seriously. When OSVR is a fault, and sometimes regretfully we are, we do offer compensation. In this case, however, Ms. ********* incorrectly assumed the “dollar store” dishwashing detergent was ineffective rather than report to OSVR that the dishwasher was not cleaning properly. OSVR reserves the right to take corrective action rather than pay compensation; this is in all of our vacation rental agreements, including the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by ****** ********, (the reserving guest). Also, the provisions of the rental agreement that address responsibilities and compensation are more fully discussed in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint. For the reasons stated in this response to Ms. *********’s additional comments and in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint, OSVR does not offer any compensation.  



8/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A rental advertised on their website was not as pictured. Once we arrived i immediately called because of the musty moldy stench that had me inspecting the property to which i found a unmaintained beach home with mold on ceilings in at least 2 bedrooms,rotted moldy backsplash in kitchen,tiles broken on floor screen door ripped,pool and spa cloudy and over chlorinated with cracked and peeling bottoms, not much ventilation seeming to be cause of smell,dishwasher stunk, refridgerator shelves broken and cracked,toaster and coffee maker rusted,heater vents filthy and rusted.furniture broken it was disgusting and with my child who is deathly allergic to mold,cats and dogs to which i told to the person i was reserving the property.The man who showed up after my call concerning the mold did not seem to care he stated it was grease (no it was not) so i could not stay because my son started getting sick we immediatly loaded back up for the 5 hr drive back home after notifying them we can not stay there due to health risk. No one will return calls or emails. I am heart broken our first vacation turned into a nightmare.

Desired Settlement: We wanted this home due to pictures, which are pictures of the rental when it was new not the horrid condition it is in now. We could not use the rental due to health safety

Business Response: On 7/27/2015 at 11:28:15 PM, Oregon Shores Vacation Rentals (“OSVR”) received an email from the Better Business Bureau, stating that a complaint was filed by ***** ******** on 7/17/2015 at 1:22:27 PM, ID ********. 

The reservation (Res # *******) referred to by ***** ******** in her BBB complaint was made by ******* ********. We shall assume that ******* ******** and ***** ******** are husband and wife (“the ********”) in responding to this complaint.

On 5/27/15, (47 days prior to their scheduled reservation arrival date) the ******** reserved a rental known as “***********”, located in Lincoln City, OR. The reservation was for 4 adults and 1 child for 3 nights, with a scheduled arrival of 4:00 PM on 7/12/15. 

We received a call on Sunday 7/12/2015 in the afternoon from ***** ********, reporting the following, as documented in our reservation records:
“7/12 ***** called to let us know she thinks there may be mold on the ceiling. Also there is marker on the bedroom door. She said this home is definitely not a high end home. **”

We always offer to send housekeeping and/or maintenance personnel to try to remedy any situation that a guest finds unsatisfactory. And we did this for the ********. We sent a housekeeping person to remedy what was described as a mold spot, but it was not, and the marker on the bedroom door. At no time prior to OSVR’s receipt of ***** ******** 7/12/2015, 7:29 PM email was OSVR aware that the ******** had any other issues. Had OSVR known of additional issues, we would have immediately taken corrective actions, as OSVR had already demonstrated. 

On 7/12/2015 at 7:29 PM, ***** ******** sent OSVR an email that reads as follows:
“We have locked up the house and left the house. My kids were feeling sick and the smell was getting to us. The rott on the back splash at the sink of that mold. i know what black mold on the surface looks like as i had to learn and manage his allergies.
Very disappointed our vacation is ruined.
******* & ***** ********”

On 7/13/2015 at 10:21 AM, ***** ******** sent OSVR another email that reads as follows:
“Dear Jon, 
We went to this rental and was utter floored at the condition and lack of caring for the gentleman that came to see about our concerns, that house does not look like those pictures it is moldy run down, rotted wood on backsplash , nasty coffee pots and toaster, broken refrigerator, broken furniture, the pool and spa was disgusting and heavily chlorinated.. the smell and mugginess in that house made my Mold allergic child sick so we immediately took him out of the house after the gentleman blew it off as to but grease splatter i could not keep my children in that danger and left.
They need to redo those pictures on the site because that is not the way it looks.
******* & ***** ********”

OSVR’s reservation records are documented as follows:
 “7/13/2015.  I spoke with ****** who said that Roy had gone over there (***********) yesterday to resolve the issue, he reported there is no black mold. ****** also said the guest that checked out on 7/12 had left great comments that the house was very clean and had a great time, and left a $40.00 tip.  I will have to go to property and look at it for myself, then I will contact the guest. EK

OSVR inspected *********** on 7/14/15 (prior to receiving the BBB complaint which contained an expanded list of issues) the findings are as follows:
• No evidence of mold anywhere in the house.
• *********** shows normal wear and tear from being a vacation rental, but it was clean and not “run down”.
• Backsplash was not rotted and no mold was present, but needed a fresh coat of varnish. This work has been completed.
• Coffee pots and toaster are not rusted; they are clean and working properly.
• The refrigerator is not broken; a crisper drawer has a hairline crack and works properly, there was no other damage.
• None of the furniture was broken.
• The pool and spa were not “disgusting”; both were clean. Since OSVR’s inspection occurred 2 days after the ******** departed, there was no chlorine smell; however, a chlorine smell could have been present 2-days prior. Since a different guest departed on the same day as the ******** scheduled check-in, additional chlorine is commonly used in such routine pool and spa services.
• The pictures on the website are accurate, except that one of the bedrooms was repainted, re-carpeted, and redecorated within the past several weeks; photos of this bedroom have not been updated.

OSVR’s reservation records are documented as follows:
7/15/2015.  After speaking with previous guest (that checked out on the same date as the ******** arrival) and visiting property (***********) and finding most complaints unfounded, there is some wear and tear but nothing as claimed by guest (***** ********). I see her (***** ********) claims unfounded, send email EK” 

If the ******** had not departed, but rather called OSVR and reported the issues they found unsatisfactory, we would have sent housekeeping and maintenance personnel to remedy the issues that were found unsatisfactory. We sent a housekeeping person once for the ********, and we would have done so again if the ******** would have called OSVR before departing.

Our housekeepers are excellent, but they are human, and not always perfect. In advance, we ask the rental guest to call us if they find a housekeeping issue, so that we can take corrective action and try to remedy such a situation to the satisfaction of our rental guest. We reserve the right to take corrective action rather than pay compensation, that’s why the following two provisions are in all of our vacation rental agreements, including the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by ******* ********, (the reserving guest) for the reservation about which Ms. ******** filed her BBB complaint:

“CHECK-IN. . . . . Upon arriving at the property, you will make an inspection of the Property, including the hot tub, if any. If you notice any damages, needed repairs, items that appear to be missing, or if the home was not cleaned properly, notify Agent immediately by calling our office at ************ or after hours at ************ to report the problem. Leave a message if necessary. Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests; . . . . Reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues does not give you the right to cancel your reservation or receive a refund or compensation.”

 “REFUNDS, COMPENSATION. No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; non-functioning fireplace/s; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; . . . .”

The ******** decided to depart rather than call OSVR. They did not allow us the opportunity to take corrective actions to remedy any of the conditions Ms. ******** described in her two emails sent (after their departure) on 7/12/15 and 7/13/15. 

Discussions involving facts vs. suppositions about “Mold” often result in divisive opinions. One authority on Mold is the State of Oregon Health Authority, which has posted an advisory online entitled “Mold in Your Home”. The following two excerpts from this Oregon Health Authority article delineate the difficulty of authenticating the existence of a true mold problem: 

“Should I test for mold or have mold samples from my home tested?
Generally it is not helpful to test for mold in your home. There are no standards to judge "safe" levels of indoor mold. Therefore, testing cannot tell you if the amount of mold detected will harm your health. Typically if you can see mold or smell musty odors, you have a mold problem.”

 “Mold spores are common both indoors and outdoors. However, when spores are present in large enough numbers they can cause health effects such as: watery eyes, runny nose, sneezing, nasal congestion, itching, skin irritation, coughing, wheezing, difficulty breathing, headache and fatigue.”

Mold spores are present everywhere on the Oregon coast. Identifying a “mold issue”, without testing, is always a subjective interpretation by an individual person. Every individual is unique; some individuals have an overly-sensitive immune system and have an allergic reaction or asthma symptoms to the mold spores present (and mold spores are always present) in any given environment. Clearly one or more members of the ******** family have an overly-sensitive immune system, making him/her/them less tolerant to mold spores than the vast majority of people. What seems to be a health issue for the ******** family has never been reported by any of the other more than 1,200 guests that have stayed at ***********.

In addition, the owner of *********** has taken every preventative measure to ensure a minimal, acceptable mold is present (remember mold spores are always present). *********** has 2 commercial air movers in the attic and 2 forced air furnaces with air vents in every room; all recommended, installed and maintained by HVAC professionals. 

During the last 2.5 years, ***********, the home rented by the ********, has been reserved 117 times for more than 500 nights with over 1,200 guests with no “mold” complaints. This home has rented out 3 more times and 11 more nights with 42 more guests since the ******** reservation, and again no “mold” or any other complaints. To the vast majority of human beings, ***********, in spite of having an indoor pool and hot tub, poses no more of a mold health risk than any other oceanfront home on the Oregon coast. It is not realistic to think that a property owner or management company should be responsible for any individual with a pre-disposition to adverse health effects caused by mold when more than 1,200 prior and subsequent guests have not been adversely affected. This health issue, although unfortunate, seems to belong only to the ******** family.

The following highlights are taken from a review posted on Trip Advisor (reviewed March 23, 2015 for a stay in March 2015):

We rented *********** for our annual Girlfriends Getaway. The OR Shores staff was super friendly and accommodating and went over and above because I called them a lot! 
We found the house spotless and didn't have to do much rearranging. After we picked our rooms, everyone settled in and it was smooth sailing!
The hot tub . . . . was clean and well maintained and was perfect for our occasion. 
Preparing dinner was a snap- although the kitchen wasn't big- there was plenty of counter space for multiple people to prep and chop-bowls, knives, dinnerware, pots/pans and kitchen gadgets for our chicken salad bar. 
Most important...there was more than enough bathroom space for a house of 11 women! 
I'm sure this narrative doesn't do *********** justice- but this weekend wouldn't have been this grand in another house.
We plan on coming back and I've already told many friends about ***********!
The entire Trip Advisor review can be read online. 
A comment card was left at *********** by the guest that departed 7/30/15, which reads:
“Very Satisfied!! Great job. Thank you.”

Neither of these reviews/comments make any mention of any of the issues, (not even one), that Ms. ******** alleges in either of her emails (mentioned above) or in her BBB complaint, which contains an expanded list of issues not previously mentioned by Ms. ********, and which reads as follows:

“A rental advertised on their website was not as pictured. Once we arrived i immediately called because of the musty moldy stench that had me inspecting the property to which i found a unmaintained beach home with mold on ceilings in at least 2 bedrooms,rotted moldy backsplash in kitchen,tiles broken on floor screen door ripped,pool and spa cloudy and over chlorinated with cracked and peeling bottoms, not much ventilation seeming to be cause of smell,dishwasher stunk, refridgerator shelves broken and cracked,toaster and coffee maker rusted,heater vents filthy and rusted.furniture broken it was disgusting and with my child who is deathly allergic to mold,cats and dogs to which i told to the person i was reserving the property.The man who showed up after my call concerning the mold did not seem to care he stated it was grease (no it was not) so i could not stay because my son started getting sick we immediatly loaded back up for the 5 hr drive back home after notifying them we can not stay there due to health risk . . . .”

On 7/30/15, after receiving Ms. ******** BBB complaint, OSVR once again inspected the rental property ***********, focusing on the expanded list of issues not previously mentioned by Ms. ********. OSVR’s findings are as follows:   
• There was no presence of mold anywhere in the house, including the bedroom ceilings. We did find a small stain in each of two locations, which were not mold.
• ***********’ floors are almost entirely tile. The overall condition of the floor tiles is excellent; there are minor cracks and imperfections on very few of the floor tiles throughout the house, none of which pose any danger or risk of injury. 
• There was a small tear near the handle in the patio door screen in the dining area. The door has been re-screened.
• The bottoms of the pool and spa are not cracked or peeling. The spa has a rough appearance due to repairs in process. In order to keep the spa functional for summer guests, final repairs are scheduled after the summer season. 
• The ventilation is approved and maintained by HVAC professionals and not the cause of any “smell”. The pool and spa were cleaned within hours prior to the ******** arrival. I can only guess that the “smell” was from proper amounts of extra chemicals required to achieve a clean, safe, and sanitary pool and spa; the water can appear cloudy immediately after chemicals are added until the chemicals have circulated though the system and fully dissolved.
• There is no odor in the dishwasher.
• The refrigerator shelves are neither broken nor cracked.
• None of the heater vents were filthy; we did discover that two ceiling heater vents in the laundry room were rusted and they have been replaced. Other floor vents show initial signs of rust, all of which have been removed, painted and reinstalled. This is a typical, routine maintenance issue for oceanfront homes and had been scheduled to be taken care of after the summer season.

The ******** reserved *********** on 5/27/15, 47 days prior to their arrival date. OSVR’s cancellation policy, included in the vacation rental agreement digitally signed by ******* ********, is relatively consistent with industry standards. OSVR’s cancellation policy, in part, reads as follows:
“Cancelation by Guest. Guest may cancel a reservation as follows: . . . . (2) Guest may not cancel a reservation less than 45 days prior to Guest's scheduled arrival date.”

There is a valid reason for this cancellation policy. An owner of an Oregon coast vacation rental has year-round home ownership carrying costs, but only has approximately 90 days of good income production. Last minute cancellations don’t offer OSVR the opportunity to re-rent the property and deny needed income to the owner; income that enables an owner to continue to offer his/her home as vacation rental for many vacationing guest to enjoy.

What I’ve learned in past 37 years of business is that you can’t please everyone; however, OSVR comes remarkably close to doing so. We strive for excellence in our customer service; our track record is evidence of the value we place on our customer satisfaction. Since 2013, to date OSVR has made over 5,500 reservations and have had just four (4) BBB complains, including this complaint. That’s an average of less than 1 complaint in every 1,375 reservations or less than 1 complaint for every 31,000 guests. 

It is unfortunate that the ******** could not enjoy their vacation, but false and unfounded allegations do not enhance their chances of compensation. The alleged mold issue, based on 1,200 other rental guests, seems to be a guest issue only for the ******** family. Furthermore, the ******** did not give OSVR the opportunity to resolve the issues mentioned in Ms. ********’ BBB complaint; therefore, as explained and documented above, compensation is without merit. Compensation will not be offered to the ********, except as follows: 

Since the ******** did not occupy the rental, OSVR will refund the following fees: 
Cleaning Fee $205.00 - Tax Rate 0.095 $224.48
Accidental Damage Fee-50-LC $50.00 - Tax Rate 0.095 $54.75 
Pool & Spa Service Fee $79.00 - Tax Rate 0.095 $86.51
Total Fees $365.74

In conclusion, OSVR takes any complaint seriously. When OSVR is a fault, and sometimes regretfully we are, we do offer compensation; however, OSVR will also defend its integrity against false and unfounded allegations. OSVR will not accept responsibility for the unfortunate health issues unique to a particular rental guest. It is regretful that the ******** did not consider contacting OSVR again prior to departing the vacation rental. OSVR, provided the opportunity to do so, would have made every effort to correct any legitimate problem, so that the ******** might have enjoyed their vacation.

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: We called while at the rental a gentleman showed up with a bleachwater bottle claimed he also was allergic to mold and said that was only grease..  we had to leave which i should have had to do. That home is not "high end "
Meaning healthy clean and maintained  several things were broken which i did not care about it was the health issue my son was sick because of the mold i had to leave my kids lives mean more to me then a first vacation. My kids refuse to go back to oregon because of this home and experience. Attaching just a few of the pics we have of the issues
Sincerely,

***** ********  yes i am the wife of ******* ******** and the one who actually booked and paid for this horror of a rental

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response:

In her additional comments, Ms. ******** states “That home is not high end". “High end” is not a term OSVR uses when describing this home. Again, Ms. ******** may have had unrealistic expectations, but not because of our advertising or representation of the home.

The one spot on the ceiling that Ms. ******** repeatedly claims to have been “mold” was in fact “grease”. The spot has been removed.

Most of the issues Ms. ******** alleged in her initial complaint were found to be untrue. Now, Ms. ******** states in her additional comments that she did not care about the several things that she alleged were broken. Nevertheless, the few items that required maintenance have been fixed and would have been fixed prior to the ******** departing the vacation rental if OSVR had been provided the opportunity to do so.

Finally, Ms. ******** stated the true reason the ******** family’s early departure, when she wrote: “it was the health issue my son was sick because of the mold i had to leave my kids lives mean more to me then a first vacation.”

Although it is not unreasonable to believe that if Ms. ********’ son is hyper-sensitive to allergens, he may have had an allergic reaction to something; however, Ms. ******** claim that her “. . . son was sick because of the mold . . .” at *********** has never been verified. Regardless, it is unreasonable for anyone to think that a property owner or management company should be responsible for one individual’s pre-disposition to adverse health effects caused by anything, including mold when more than 1,200 prior and subsequent guests that stayed at *********** (the rental home reserved by the ********), have not been adversely affected. The alleged mold issue that Ms. ******** would like us to believe is a “health issue”, although unfortunate, seems to be a “health issue” only for the ******** family, a “health issue” that the ******** family brought with them to the vacation rental. OSVR is not responsibility for, and will not accept responsibility for, the unfortunate health issues unique to a particular rental guest. 

Ms. ******** attached 6 photos with her additional comments. One photo (…2321) is of the spa. In her initial complaint Ms. ******** comments that the spa was cloudy and had a cracked and peeling bottom, yet the photo Ms. ******** submits shows that the water is crystal clear and that the spa is in the process of being repaired, but shows no sign of a cracked and peeling bottom. The spa is fully functional and final repairs including re-tiling are scheduled to occur when a sufficient block of time can be reserved after the busy summer season.

Attached to this response are 2 photos taken by OSVR after the ********’ departure. It was OSVR’s intention to re-shoot all 6 of Ms. ********’ photos from the same angle and location. First, Ms. ********’ 3 photos (…3941), which are all the same photo of a stain on the ceiling, were not taken at ***********. The wall color and the length of the walls to the corner do not exist in this home, nor does the stain on the ceiling. I don’t know where these photos were taken, but they were definitely not taken at ***********. Second, OSVR did not re-shoot the spa photo because Ms. ********’ spa photo (…2321) and the explanation in the previous paragraph provide better documentation on the condition of the spa than would a new photo. Ms. ******** also attached a photo of the kitchen backsplash (…1025) and a photo of ceiling tiles (…9348). The 2 photos attached to this response, shot from approximately the same angle and location as Ms. ********’ photos, show that OSVR, by making immediate corrections to these issues upon receipt of Ms. ********’ initial complaint, again demonstrates that, when given the opportunity, OSVR will respond quickly and take corrective action to any reasonable guest request or complaint. 

In conclusion, OSVR takes any complaint seriously. When OSVR is a fault, and sometimes regretfully we are, we do offer compensation. Ms. ********’ claims regarding the home’s condition were mostly untrue; the claims that were found to be true were responded to by OSVR and corrective actions were taken. Hundreds of guests have enjoyed staying at ***********, both prior to and after the ********’ reservation. For these reasons, and many other reasons more fully discussed above in this response to Ms. ********’ additional comments and in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint, OSVR does not offer any compensation for the condition of the rental. Although the ******** acknowledge their family health issues, they need to accept and take responsibility for them. For the reasons stated above in this response to Ms. ********’ additional comments and in OSVR’s initial response to this complaint, OSVR does not offer any compensation for the ********’ health issues. OSVR’s offer of compensation remains as stated in the initial response to this complaint, $365.74.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
It is obscene to say the photos are not of the home, the spots of mold were cleaned by the gentleman that showed up and seemed unconcerned and stated it was "grease"  so it would not be there after the cleaning  however mold on the backsplash was not touched or cleaned because the wood was rotted and not replaced . There was locked rooms so no way to see if more mold was behind those doors since we found what was possibly  surface mold looked like surface black mold and my son was getting sick what would any parent do but get out for our childs safety.   All the pics are of that home and i will gladly submit them to get analized  and even take a polygraph,  its not about money  its about honesty now to be called a liar is attacking my integrity. I never wanted the money refunded in the begining i just wanted the company to fix it or switch places or even at a different time once it was fixed.. I am shocked at the way this whole issue has been handled and the customer service was a shock because it seemed great until i called complained. 
Again all and i mean every picture i submitted were of the pictures of the home  they are all still on my camera and i can submit them to verify that if needed.  I hope they enjoy the money they have taken for services not rendered and fix all the issues with that place
 I will take this as a expensive learning experience of what oregon offers and next time avoid any place we can not see in person before we pay.

Sincerely,

***** ********

9/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had paid for 2 nights in a rental property. When I walked through the door I immediately noticed filthy carpet with stains. A 10 year old child that is very thin sat on the futon and it was broken just propped up enough to appear that is wasn. No signal in the master suite bedroom to watch TV. In one of the other bedrooms a previous guest left a note by the lamp stating it was broken, note never removed lamp never replaced. The TV in the main common area is unwatchable because there are speckles throughout the screen. The kitchen chairs are unsafe they are loose and wiggle. The garbage outside was full so we had no where to place garbage so we put it out on the last day. The list goes on and on. I called the after-hours number posted on the fridge and spoke with ***. He was apologetic and asked what he could do to fix some of the issues that night. After driving in I still needed to unpack and feed our family so I asked if he at least had a TV and he said no. I told him if we went on an outing the next day I would call to have him make repairs. I did not want to be forced out of the home for these things to be done as we should have never been offered a house that was in such disrepair. I felt that having him come through the home was an intrusion on my vacation and time with my family. After I spoke with *** I emailed my concerns, on the same night of arrival NO RESPONSE. I then emailed again NO RESPONSE.

Desired Settlement: I feel that I should be compensated for paying for things I got ZERO use from. The house included all of these amenities and I did not get to use them and had to be cautious of falling from a chair that was broken

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ First, the reservation referred to by Ms. ******* in her complaint was made by Ms. ***** Bailey-*******. Technically, Ms. ******* is not a party to our rental transaction. However, I believe Ms. ******* is probably speaking on behalf of her group and therefore, I will respond to her claims. Ms. ******* did call the night of her arrival and did speak with me. I did apologize for the condition Ms. ******* described as the condition of the home upon her arrival. I did offer to send housekeeping and maintenance personnel to take corrective action. As Ms. ******* states in her complaint, she refused my offer. Before each guest arrives, we use professional housekeeping services, cleaning products and fresh laundered bed linen service. We clean to industry standards; we will never make everyone happy and occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. In addition, some days, guests check in and other guests check out on the same day. On these days we are not always in receipt of reports of problem before the next guest arrives, as is the case with Ms. *******'s reservation. For these reasons our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "CHECK-IN. . . . . Upon arriving at the property, you will make an inspection of the Property, including the hot tub, if any. If you notice any damages, needed repairs, items that appear to be missing, or if the home was not cleaned properly, notify Agent immediately by calling our office at XXX-XXX-XXXX or after hours at XXX-XXX-XXXX to report the problem. Leave a message if necessary. Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests; . . . . Reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues does not give you the right to cancel your reservation or receive a refund or compensation." Household items can and do break down; it is impossible for us to anticipated problems. For that reason our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "DISCLAIMER OF WARRANTIES. No warranty is made against failure of items including but not limited to: sump pumps, hot tubs, heating, TVs, media devices, gas fireplaces, BBQs, plumbing fixtures and appliances. Guest will immediately report any inoperative equipment. Agent will make every reasonable effort to properly perform repairs quickly; or, without any obligation to do so, relocate Guest to another property." Ms. ******* did not give us the opportunity to correct these issues during her stay. Upon Ms. ******* and her party's departure, we addressed all of the issues Ms. ******* reported. The futon was repaired; 1 dining stool was repaired and upon inspection of the others, we found nothing wrong with them; the carpet was cleaned; the lamp was replaced; we exchanged the first floor TV and the third floor TV; upon checking the master suite bedroom TV, it works perfectly, if it is on the right input setting. All of these reported problems could have been remedied for Ms. *******. The third floor TV has a pixel issue and a part had to be ordered. The cost of replacing the TV is more than $1,000. There is nowhere on the Oregon coast where it can be purchased. Replacing it during Ms. *******'s stay was not an option; but we could have exchanged the first floor TV and the third floor TV during Ms. *******'s stay, so that she could have had a working TV in the main living area to enjoy. If Ms. ******* paid for things she got ZERO use from, it is because Ms. ******* made the decision not to allow us to correct these matters. It is Ms. *******'s decision not to allow us to correct these matters that prevented Ms. ******* from getting use of these amenities. I respect Ms. *******'s decision not to allow us to correct these matters. I believe she has the right to refuse our help. Ms. ******* is seeking compensation for amenities she could not use; however, Ms. ******* is not entitled to compensation. Our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states that we will "make every reasonable effort to properly perform repairs quickly " and that "Corrective action will be taken to all reasonable requests". We will correct what we can. That is what we do. That is what we offered to do for Ms. *******. Some things are impossible or impractical to fix immediately, that's why our vacation rental agreement, signed by Guest, states: "REFUNDS, COMPENSATION. No refunds or compensation will be offered or given for any of the following reasons: any missing or inoperable item/s provided by Owner or Agent; failure of any household item/s or equipment; inaccessible wifi/internet access; non-functioning fireplace/s; housekeeping issues; maintenance issues; reporting damage/s, inoperable equipment or housekeeping or maintenance issues; . . . . weather conditions." It is regretful that Ms. ******* was not able to enjoy all of the home's amenities. She certainly could have (except the 1 TV). We have had 6 rental guests check-into this same rental house since Ms. ******* group departed. We have had zero complaints. I am not willing to offer compensation in this matter. PS: A copy of our vacation rental agreement is available upon request. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/08/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I feel that in the businesses response they validated my complaint regarding issues with the rental. The fact that they have admitted to cleaning the carpets repairing chairs replacing TV's awaiting a part for antother TV replacing lamps...this just goes to show from the amount of cleaning and repairs that they have now completed that the house was not in leaseable condition when my family and I were rented the property. The reply is full of excuses and they are hiding behind disclaimers which is unfair. I sincerely hope this can be resolved peacefully. I feel I am entitled to compensation for all of the issues with the rental. Final Business Response /* (4000, 14, 2014/09/10) */ We will always make a good faith effort to reach a fair resolution of every reasonable claim. This is complicated when the complaining party is uncooperative. Ms. ******* refused our offer to correct these problems so that she could enjoy her vacation; yet she still believes that she is "entitled to compensation for all of the issues with the rental". Even though I disagree that Ms. ******* is entitled to compensation, we made a good faith effort to resolve this matter by contacting Ms. ***** ******-*******, the person who actually made this reservation, and offered to refund her the entire cleaning fee. She accepted. We realize that we will never make everyone happy and occasionally our cleaners overlook some aspect of the overall required cleaning. In addition, some days, guests check in and other guests check out on the same day. On these days we are not always in receipt of reports of maintenance issues before the next guest arrives, as is the case with Ms. *******'s reservation. We will always offer to send housekeeping and maintenance personnel to take corrective action and try to remedy such a situation to the satisfaction of our guest. We never disputed Ms. *******'s complaints; however, we were unable to correct any problems until after she departed, since she refused our offer to remedy the problems during her stay.

1/21/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company haven't return our security deposit. We made sure the house was cleaned and left the way we found it. Clean and organized. I have called them several times to communicate and find out why the security deposits was not return.I am totally disappointed. It has been way over 3 weeks and the company has not refunded our security deposits. We have been very patient. We called twice already. First person I talked too said it will takes 3 weeks. Then after 3 weeks I called again and the person I talked too said it will take 6 weeks and she will try to call me back to let me know. I haven't heard from her nor I see any refund in my credit card that I just checked as I type this email to them. It is now the 21st of November. My card was charge sometime in September and we utilize the house 1st week of October of this year. It is very frustrating and we made sure that the house was clean and organized the way we found it. Because of this unfortunate reasons that we are are reporting this company to the better business bureau. We have been very patient and hoping we can resolved this matter in a professional way. Product_Or_Service: House Rental Order_Number: XXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Would like to see my security deposit back to my charge card.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/12/23) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ******* Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ***@orshores.com I do apologize for the delay in returning this guest's security deposit, but they did receive $400 of their $500 deposit. We retained $100 for repairing a hole in the wall and painting the damaged area at the bottom of the interior stairwell. The house was otherwise clean. We use a detailed "Check-out Check-off" Report, one of which is completed by the housekeeper and the QC (Quality Control) person, for each departure clean. Notes are written regarding anything that would result in a cost over and above the standard cleaning fee collected from the guest. We also check the home prior to each guest arrival. The hole in the wall did not exist prior to this guest's occupancy and was discovered and noted on the date of the guest's departure. It took longer than usual to find a repairman to do the work for the amount we were willing to pay. Most contractors charge $60 - $80 per hour; this job required 3 site visits and with drive time (times three trips), no less than 4 hours. The guest may think that their wait to receive $400 was too long, but the alternative would have been to hire this job out at a minimum cost of $240, and return $260 to the guest. If we erred, it was because we were trying to save money on behalf of the guest. The guest claims they called our office on the day of their arrival to report this hole in the wall and further claimed that they spoke to a male. We don't have any male personnel that answer phones; the only male is our accountant. I don't know who they spoke to, but is was not someone in our office. We keep detailed records of all communications regarding our reservations in our reservation system. There is no record that the guest called on the date of their arrival. However, there is a record that we called the guest on the date of their arrival to report that the garbage service company missed the scheduled pick-up and would be out the following day to empty the trash, which indicates that we were in communication with the guest on that day and it was duly noted. It's unfortunate that damage occurred. We don't like the idea of withholding deposit funds, but when it is necessary to do so, we do. Guest damages cost us a lot more than we charge, with office staff time, coordinating repairs and doing the accounting for unanticipated services rendered. It's also unfortunate that the guest believes that they should not be responsible, and that somehow we are to blame for this misfortune. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday - BBB Closed