BBB Accredited Business since

Horizon Ford Inc

Phone: (206) 763-9100 Fax: (206) 767-9376 11000 Tukwila International BLVD, Seattle, WA 98168 http://www.horizonford.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers New Ford & HINO truck sales along with used vehicle sales, parts and service.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Horizon Ford Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Horizon Ford Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 4
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Horizon Ford Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1975 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968 Business incorporated: 05/24/2001 in DE
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Licensing Motor Vehicles
2424 Bristol Ct SW, Olympia WA 98502
http://www.bls.dor.wa.gov/vehiclevesseldealer
Phone Number: (360) 664-6475
intdlrnw@dol.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Pam Ames, Controller Mr. Frank Wilcher, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Pam Ames, Controller
Customer Contact: Mr. Frank Wilcher, General Manager
Business Category

Truck Dealers

Alternate Business Names
Horizon Hino Sea-Tac Ford Truck Sales Seattle Public Auto Auction

Additional Locations

  • 11000 Tukwila International BLVD

    Seattle, WA 98168 (206) 763-9100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/31/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son and I went into Horizon Ford to purchase a 2001 Ford F150. We needed to finance this vehicle for about a month until we sold his previous vehicle. The finance person who was working there at the time, sent credit applications to 7 different lending institutions at the same time, thus dropping both me and my sons credit score 100 points. We both received credit denials from all 7 lenders stating "TOO MUCH CREDIT ACTIVITY".

Desired Settlement: I want Horizon Ford to call each lender, and have them retract the credit applications, and return our credit scores to what they were before we went into there dealership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/09) */ ******* ***** & **** ***** drove from Idaho to Seattle in order to purchase a vehicle from us. As they did not have their own financing; on their behalf, we submitted their application only to as many lenders as necessary to secure financing for the vehicle as they did not want to drive to Idaho without the truck. There are many reasons credit scores fluctuate up and down and we cannot ask the lenders to retract their inquiry as it was requested by the customer and is legitimate. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I called and talked to **** ****** and she said the finance person that was helping us, was new, and didn't really know what he was doing, and she agreed that sending credit applications to 7 different lenders at once was wrong. She advised me to call each of the credit bureau's and ask them how to fix this, and they told me the dealership has to call each lender and have them retract the inquiries. Final Business Response /* (4000, 16, 2014/12/26) */ We are mailing *** ***** a check for $150 to cover the cost of key replacement. He can go to a Ford dealer of his choice in Idaho. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 18, 2014/12/31) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you

10/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received a promo flier from Horizon Ford and it had a "scratch, match and win promotion." Even against the long odds my number matched the instant win number and I thought I had won one of the listed prices, an Apple iPad worth $650. When going to the dealership on 8/16 the salesmen (didn't get his name, older black male) stated I had won a $2 bill and had me sign my name, address, and phone number on a contest form. I am very angry and upset. It is misleading what they did and very dishonest. I told the salesman I was not there for a car, but the contest. The salesmen was very dismissive towards me after I told him this and rushed me out of the door after giving me a $2 bill.

Desired Settlement: I am considering taking further legal action. I would like Horizon Ford to provide me with the iPad I actually won or compensate me with $650, the amount stated the iPad is worth in the promo. Can you look into this matter? I believe what Horizon Ford is doing is unethical and possibly illegal. I would like a letter of apology as well. This company needs to be looked into for deceptive practices.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/26) */ We received your complaint from Mr. ***** *** and offer the following response. The odds and prizes were fully disclosed, disclaimed and easily readable in the mailer Mr. *** received. Everyone was a winner; and in fact, we gave out approximately $1000 in cash prices. After verifying his number against the official board at the dealership, his prize was a $2 bill. We are sorry for any confusion that may have occurred. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/28) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I do not accept this response as satisfactory, in fact I find it a bit insulting and dismissive. When a business sends out something like the mailer, the law says the prizes and terms of the contest need to be very clear. It was hardly clear, instead misleading and unethical. Claiming it was easily readable is laughable. It is called, "deceptive marketing." These types of ads are bad for business. When I entered the building I felt like a second-class citizen. The sleazy salesmen just wanted to sell a car to me. Please reimburse me with the iPad I have won. I will take further action through my attorney ***** ******** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/09/12) */ We received the second response from Mr. ***. In writing our initial response, we did not mean to be insulting or dismissive and also in writing this response, we do not wish to be combative. When Mr.*** indicated that he was not interested in purchasing a vehicle, the salesman did not insist in showing him something he was not interested in buying. Once again, we reiterate that we are sincerely sorry that he did not win an IPad. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I would be reticent on doing business with Horizon Ford or anyone associated with Horizon Ford. Horizon Ford shouldn't be apologizing to me for not winning the ipad, they should be apologizing for creating a false and misleading contest. The only way I see Horizon Ford saving face is for them to reimburse me the ipad or something of similar monetary value. That's the only way in my opinion Horizon Ford can avoid the reputation of a sleazy used car establishment that takes advantage of everyday hardworking consumers. These type of scratch and win contests need to be put to an end. They are deceptive and my local congressmen will be notified about the scheming tactics by Horizon Ford.

8/27/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******** listed a 2015 ford f350 for $50,520 STOCK NUMBER ****** *** NUMBER. *************XXXXX. They wanted $65,000. I said no way, I want the advertise price.

Desired Settlement: The advertised price of $50520.00

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/07) */ Mr. **** came in to purchase a vehicle that was improperly priced on our website. We explained that we could not sell him the vehicle at this price as it was erroneously reported on ********* Attached are the disclaimers regarding the pricing on all of our vehicles in inventory We recently signed with a new company to download our vehicles into the web and they inadvertently pulled the wrong prices. They immediately stopped using the program until the glitch was discovered and now have correct pricing on our sites. Since placing this complaint, Mr. **** has returned to our store and is in the process of purchasing a new F-350.

9/18/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues