BBB Accredited Business since

Rich's Tree Service, Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 465-2133 Fax: (503) 665-8730 20321 NE Sandy Blvd, Fairview, OR 97024 http://www.richstree.net


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers residential and commercial tree service including trimming, stump grinding and removal, and hedge trimming.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rich's Tree Service, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rich's Tree Service, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rich's Tree Service, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 02, 1998 Business started: 03/01/1988 Business started locally: 03/01/1988 Business incorporated 02/22/1995 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Richard Gillum, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Richard Gillum, President
Business Category

Tree Service


Additional Locations

  • 20321 NE Sandy Blvd

    Fairview, OR 97024 (503) 465-2133

  • PO Box 308

    Fairview, OR 97024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I called **** because a tree fell on my house at night. He came, removed some branches and had the roof tarpted. He told me that he would be back the next day after NOON. He said he had one more job to do in the morning. Overnight he took on more jobs and called me around 4 pm the night he was to arrive and said sorry we are running late, the crew is still about one hour away. He didnt say he was to charge more because its night time now. He also refused to give me an estimate, but in discussing work he said he would cut the tree into rounds 18inches and clean up the yard as there was many branches. He did non of that he left the tree into 4 15 foot sections on the cement, which made it very difficult to cut up into rounds. He also did NO clean up what so ever and actually only cut down less than half the tree. The stump of the tree is still there and its about 50 feet tall and dead. This is a danger to my house. I called and addressed all these issues with him, and he told me he"knows that the insurance will pay 100%" so why do I have a problem with how be billed. The bottom line is that he priced gouged us. He came late and charged us because he was late. Which is not my fault. He also caused more damage to my house when he removed the tree.

Desired Settlement: A more reasonable bill. (subtract the hours it took us to do clean up, and cut up the tree into rounds, eliminate the night time fee since they were late.)

Business Response: Thank you for your concern. We are investigating this and will be contacting you.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There is no resolution.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

This letter is in response to the complaint by ***** ***********, case#********.  The following details have been recorded by Rich's Tree Service regarding the emergency service requested by ***** **********.

On the night of 12/11/14 at 7:13pm, ***** called in requesting emergency removal of a fallen tree from her roof.  We immediately dispatched a 5 man crew to the site with a large (60') bucket truck, chip truck, and all rigging.  Upon inspection, I realized that removal of the tree from the roof was not possible without a crane and non were available that night.  We removed all branches contacting the roof including chipping and blowing off the roof and front driveway.  The roof was then tarped.  We notified the customer that we would be back the next day, after another crane job was completed and that it exactly what happened.

On 12/11/14, the 5 man tree crew recorded 15.2 hours, calculated at a rate of $158 per hour.  In addition, a 2 man tarp crew was sub contracted.

On 12/12/14, the 4 man crew recorded 21.4 hours, calculated at a rate of $158 per hour.  Additionally, the crane bill (90ton crane) came to $3175.00

On 12/13/14, the roof was tarped again which was sub contracted.

12/12/15:  All branches from roof were removed completely, leaving the roof clear of any debris.  The branches remaining were in the back yard.  Leaving these was an oversight, as it was dark and late at night.  We certainly could have come back and cleaned them up for an additional charge, but ***** told us not to when she called with her complaint.

Regarding the wood, it too could have been moved or cut up as well.  This additional work would have incurred additional charges.

Once the tree was removed from the roof, the remaining 30' tall stump stood back up on the neighbor's property, thus making it the neighbor's property again.  We would have been happy to perform additional work for additional charges.

At no time were we asked for a price prior to **** calling to complain.  We informed her that the insurance company would pay.  Anytime Insurance companies have concerns, they call for clarification.

There was no additional damage to the roof caused by the tree removal.

This was a very large, very precarious tree.  The job went very well and was performed with the utmost efficiency and care.   I agree that there was more work that would have been performed and we would have been happy to do so.  All additional work would incur additional charges.

The customer was not charged overtime.