BBB Accredited Business since

A Total Tree Service

Phone: (425) 293-7376 1425 99th Ave SE, Lake Stevens, WA 98258 http://www.atotaltreeservice.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tree trimming, overhang and hedge trimming, as well as tree removal.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that A Total Tree Service meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for A Total Tree Service include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on A Total Tree Service
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 09, 2009 Business started: 05/01/2008 Business started locally: 05/01/2008
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Chet Goodrow, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chet Goodrow, Owner
Business Category

Tree Service Tree Service - Pruning Tree Service - Transplant Landscaping Services (NAICS: 561730)


Additional Locations

  • 1425 99th Ave SE

    Lake Stevens, WA 98258 (425) 293-7376

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner of a Total Tree Service failed to haul away redwood tree stumps after cutting down tree, resulting in a total mess in our front yard. He stood at my front door and acknowledged the misunderstanding and stated that he'd be back later in the day (February 19,2014) or tomorrow (February 20, 2014) to haul away the stumps. At 11:30am on February 20, 2014, I called A Total Tree Service to see what time they would be over to do this. No answer, so left a voice mail. The owner did not return my call. Called several times more on February 20, 2014 and no one answered. Left another voice mail at 3:30pm and did not hear back from him. I assume he has caller ID as he immediately answered the phone on days leading up to the estimate. The writing on the estimate I received stated "1 Redwood Cedar, remove, haul away all debris and wood." Judging from other complaints I've read about A Total Tree Service, they will not be back to my house to remove the redwood tree stumps. Our cost, per the estimate, for cutting down the redwood tree, hauling away all debris, including the wood was $900. We are in the process of deciding how to remove this mess from our front yard, which will cost us additional money.

Desired Settlement: The total cost for performing the redwood tree services, per the estimate and amount rendered, was $900. As stated, the removal of all debris and wood was included in the estimate. A Total Tree Service has withdrawn from verbal agreement to come back to house and remove redwood stumps from our front yard. We are seeking compensation of $200 for breach of agreement and do not want "services" in lieu of.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/04/22) */ *****,s job was completed and on the bid I did not put down that I would pick the wood, I did it for good business, and also told her that it might take a day or to pick it up and we did, but I take it she wanted done faster than that, and jumped the gun and got a hold of bbb Thanks for your help on this manner

10/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: **** chose to take a short-cut when removing my tree and did not have my neighbors power lines removed when he took down my tree. He said he could take it down without touching the lines, said he use to work with power company and knew what he was doing. With in 30 minutes of working on the tree, he ripped my neighbors power out of their house - Literally. The had to hire an electrician to repair the damage and **** said he would repay them or trade for work. The damage was around $500. When my neighbor tried to work with **** to get repaid, **** lied about being able to pay him back and then just stopped answering my neighbors calls. I was just made aware that in one year, **** still has not repaid them, even when my neighbors had suggested a payment plan. *

Desired Settlement: I would like **** to pay back the electrician's repair charges that he caused to my neighbors - in full.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2013/07/15) */ Services were rendered in trade (tree trimming) the day of line disconnection. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 11, 2013/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There was a minor tree trim that **** did while his guys cleaned up my yard on the last day. There was an agreement he would pay the additional money a as the tree trim did not equal the damage done. **** spoke with my neighbors promising money in installments or more trade but then stopped answering my neighbors calls. He damaged their property and the trade he says happened was not adequate and not the agreed full repayment. My neighbors were innocent victims to ****'s damage and a as the business owner and as the person who did the physical damage, he should do the right thing. I even contacted **** via phone and email hoping to resolve this without BBB and I received no response. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2013/10/02) */ Services were rendered in trade Tree trim. Tree in front yard trimmed all debris chipped and cleaned up $400.00 plus tax $36.00 Total $436.00 Now I was originally quoted 400.00 without a receipt I rendered services of equal amount actually $36.00 more than equal amount now after a year or more I'm not only being what I feel is swindled but approached by the neighbor of the person who is swindling me. My services were rendered final.

1/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service