BBB Accredited Business since

Nova Travel Inc

Phone: (800) 646-6682 Fax: (503) 697-4460 View Additional Phone Numbers 5 Centerpointe Dr Ste 419, Lake Oswego, OR 97035 http://www.novatravel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full travel agency services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Nova Travel Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Nova Travel Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Nova Travel Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 12, 1995 Business started: 01/01/1981 Business started locally: 01/01/1981 Business incorporated 03/29/1991 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Arun Bajpai, Chairman CEO Sudha Bajpai, President
Contact Information
Principal: Arun Bajpai, Chairman CEO
Customer Contact: Sudha Bajpai, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus


Additional Locations

  • 5 Centerpointe Dr Ste 419

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (800) 646-6682 (503) 697-4460

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/24/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Here is the email I sent to Nova Travel: Dear Nova Travel: Are you ready to lose us as customers for your business? Last year, we utilized your services to book flights for the Philippines for my family and I with your agent *** *********** ******** She was highly recommended by my wife's friend especially since your services provided the lowest rates. Last year, *** ********** services were not only exceptional, she helped give a discount on our flights and everything was in order. Our flight went smoothly and our experience with Nova Travel was top-notch. This year, this is not the case. Remembering *** ********** quality service, we reached out to *** ******* on May 1st through email to get rates and specific dates from her (my wife and daughter will be traveling to the Philippines this time). *** ******* was not able to get the dates from us (which we can understand on a such a short notice). We were quoted a price for as 2281.70 per adult 1824.70 per child. We emailed her to ask if this is the best price she can offer because your competitors are offering lower price guarantees. I even asked if she could match or lower the price. She stated she could not. Again, we went with the price due to time constraints. Later, she offered a price and a better time date closer to what my wife really needed: "...we have on ****** airline: 07jun------02aug the fare is 2190.00 per adult 1785.00 per child." Yet again, due to time constraints, we went with her original offer and asked her to book. This is where things started to get sour. First, the last name for my wife and daughter were spelled incorrectly. We contacted her via email. She stated that payment would need to be in hand before the correction. I went to your site and paid via debit card (which your site does not mention that you can only accept credit cards). This delayed moving forward. I paid via e-check and later *** ******* stated that my wife's ticket was fixed. Her last name was spelled correctly. Great. There is only one problem though. She had forgotten to print up our daughter's e-ticket too. She apologized and stated that she would correct this. Finally, we received the e-ticket for our daughter yet she did not have any seat reservations at all. We contacted *** ******* again to ask her to correct this. We emailed her and she stated she didn't know why this happened. She never got back with us after this last email which we sent and she responded on May 22, 2013. I had to personally call ****** ******** in order to get this fixed on my own. On your website under the About Us, your company cites the following: Nova has designed programs that add value to the customer culture. The purpose of our organization is simply, helping our customers get the lowest discount airfare available with the best possible customer experience. Our professional agents are trained to approach their clients with that purpose as a 101 percent commitment. This experience we had with *** ******* has made us decide to not do business with your company again. There are plenty of online competitors who are willing to treat their customers with red carpet treatment. The only way we would even consider doing business again with your company is if you offer a travel voucher for our troubles for all three of us. As a professional writer and blogger, be sure that all two-thousand plus of my dedicated readers would be shocked at how poorly your company treats its customers. Respectfully, *** ******* ********. Cc: Better Business Bureau

Desired Settlement: A credit/travel voucher for poor service.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/06/06) */ We believe we went out of our way to help, by mistake the name was typed incorrectly but was corrected right away. Everyone knows that fares are subject to change without any notice and we cannot hold the same fare for more than 24hr, and in some cases not even 24hr. So by contacting us after more than a week fares were NOT valid by then. Even though this was a late booking for high season we went out of our way to help and do the best we could do in the given situation. There was no intentional delay or negligence on our part. In terms of payments Nova Accepts all credits cards, provided the Airline will accept that form of payment, in cases of deep discounted tickets several airlines will NOT take credit cards, most will take credit cards only on higher fare products. Even then Nova can take the card but clients must pay the merchant processing fee. Clearly most client choose to pay by check when faced with CC fees. My Agent's response. I got the email from ***** his wife, asking for fare*************. gave her a quote on ****** airline.... couples week later she wanted to book., but the fare I quoted was not there anymore due to lack of availability in that fare. I still could get them close to the date they wanted and I quoted the fare of 2281.50 per Adult 1824.50 per child. Her husband asked me if I could match the fare.... as someone was giving them cheaper fare, but ****** was not available so we could not match the fare, thus told him if you can get cheaper fare than Nova then purchase from them. Still after working hard did find cheaper fare with ****** airline, but his wife wanted only ****** airline. Last name mistake was made (*****) should have been ******** But as a special favor asked ****** ****** to help with change of name since any more seats were not available to cancel and make a fresh booking with correct name, (Normally name change is not permitted only way to do that is to make a new reservation). ****** air was kind enough to help and changed the name but they had taken control of the reservation at this time so we did not have full access to it. That was the reason for some delay in getting the E-tickets back to customer, also I was on vacation for a few days so did not check my mail until I got back to the office. Seat selection was done upon return to office. Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 11, 2013/06/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Sent a response to this reply this morning. I do not see my response. Business' Final Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/10) */ From: **** ****** (mailto:****@novatravel.com) Sent: Wednesday, June 05, XXXX X:XX PM To: ****** ***** Cc: **** ******* Subject: FW: Better Business Bureau Case # XXXXXXXX Here is our response: We believe we went out of our way to help, by mistake the name was typed incorrectly but was corrected right away. Everyone knows that fares are subject to change without any notice and we cannot hold the same fare for more than 24hr, and in some cases not even 24hr. So by contacting us after more than a week fares were NOT valid by then. Even though this was a late booking for high season we went out of our way to help and do the best we could do in the given situation. There was no intentional delay or negligence on our part. In terms of payments Nova Accepts all credits cards, provided the Airline will accept that form of payment, in cases of deep discounted tickets several airlines will NOT take credit cards, most will take credit cards only on higher fare products. Even then Nova can take the card but clients must pay the merchant processing fee. Clearly most client choose to pay by check when faced with CC fees. My Agent's response. I got the email from ***** his wife, asking for fare ************. gave her a quote on ****** airline.... couples week later she wanted to book., but the fare I quoted was not there anymore due to lack of availability in that fare. I still could get them close to the date they wanted and I quoted the fare of 2281.50 per Adult 1824.50 per child. Her husband asked me if I could match the fare.... as someone was giving them cheaper fare, but ****** was not available so we could not match the fare, thus told him if you can get cheaper fare than Nova then purchase from them. Still after working hard did find cheaper fare with ****** airline, but his wife wanted only ****** airline. Last name mistake was made (*****) should have been ******** But as a special favor asked ****** ****** to help with change of name since any more seats were not available to cancel and make a fresh booking with correct name, (Normally name change is not permitted only way to do that is to make a new reservation). ****** air was kind enough to help and changed the name but they had taken control of the reservation at this time so we did not have full access to it. That was the reason for some delay in getting the E-tickets back to customer, also I was on vacation for a few days so did not check my mail until I got back to the office. Seat selection was done upon return to office. ****** ****** Chairman CEO XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext **** XXX-XXX-XXXX Ext **** Direct XXX-XXX-XXXX Fax XXX-XXX-XXXX 30 Plus years experience in International and Domestic Airline tickets., Cruises, Travel Insurance, Tours and Vacation Packages around the world. Web: http://www.novatravel.com Nova Facebook http://www.facebook.com/pages/Nova-Travel/XXXXXXXXXXXXXXX Twitter https://twitter.com/Nova_Travel Address: 5 ************ ******* *** Lake Oswego, OR 97035