This business is not BBB accredited.

Encounter Tours LLC

Phone: (503) 729-9455 Fax: (503) 844-4030 View Additional Phone Numbers 1132 SE Fir Grove Loop, Hillsboro, OR 97123 http://www.encountergreece.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers travel tours.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Encounter Tours LLC include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Encounter Tours LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Encounter Tours LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2012 Business started: 02/01/2004 Business started locally: 02/01/2004
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Chevy Noratli, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Chevy Noratli, Member
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus Tourist Information

Hours of Operation
9:00am - 6:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday
Refund and Exchange Policy
Balance refund up to 21 days prior to departure.

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1132 SE Fir Grove Loop

    Hillsboro, OR 97123 (800) 606-0826 (971) 322-3915 (503) 729-9455

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/14/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We paid this organization to arrange a mother-daughter trip to Greece in 2011. We only just today realized that this organization is a BBB member, and we were outraged to see that it is highly rated. Our experience was so exceptionally bad that we could not in good conscience allow this good rating to persist without comment. 1. Our group included a traveler with physical limitations. We made these limitations and our concerns abundantly and repeatedly clear to the business owner. He assured us that we would be fine, and we trusted his word. Instead, he booked us on several excursions that literally placed this traveler in serious physical danger. 2. The business owner promised that we would have a local contact in Greece, should we need any assistance while we were there. This is a large part of why we choose this agency. Instead, our "local contact" literally hung up on us several times when we called her begging for assistance when we realized that our trip was going terribly wrong. 3. Our itinerary was changed and our hotels downgraded without notice and without reduction in price. 4. After our trip, when we tried to reasonably express our disappointment and concern and requested a partial refund, we were ignored. Ultimately, we were offered an insultingly nominal amount. We explained that the mere $300 he offered did not begin to compensate us for even the aggravation, much less the out-of-pocket costs and work loss dollars, on our part, or the irresponsibility on his. He never responded to us again and never returned a cent of our investment. We will NEVER work with this agency again, and we certainly would never recommend it to anyone. We consider this organization to be unethical and dangerously irresponsible.

Desired Settlement: After we returned from our trip in 2011, we politely requested that this organization refund us 40% of their $4,000 fee. We believed this was fair because based on the hotel rates, cab fares and tour fees we observed in Greece, we estimated that approximately 40% of the $4,000 we paid Encounter Tours was in excess of actual cost. We explained that this would refund us for the services they failed to provide, and begin to compensate us for the wasted time, frustration, anxiety, and danger during our "vacation." At this point, we don't realistically expect to ever hear from Encounter Tours LLC again; we are more concerned with ensuring the safety and well-being of other travelers. If this organization is interested in revisiting the idea of compensating us for wasting precious vacation time, costing us thousands of dollars, and jeopardizing our safety, we would welcome their response. In all honesty, we were so upset by this whole experience, merely re-living the experience for online reviews became overwhelming, so we never did share our experiences publicly. Finding this positive review online, though, is such a shock to our conscience, that we feel obligated to speak up and warn other travelers. Perhaps, now that we have the BBB's assistance, Encounter Tours will finally respond to us responsibly. If not, we are now ready to share our experiences online.