BBB Accredited Business since

American Resort Marketing Inc

Phone: (425) 454-9923 Fax: (425) 646-4382 812 102nd Ave NE, Bellevue, WA 98004 http://www.mauisunset.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers travel and lodging services in Hawaii.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Resort Marketing Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Resort Marketing Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on American Resort Marketing Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1979 Business started: 01/01/1968 Business started locally: 01/01/1968
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Ed Meyer, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ed Meyer, President
Business Category

Travel Agencies & Bureaus

Alternate Business Names
Sail Away Vacations

Additional Locations

  • 812 102nd Ave NE

    Bellevue, WA 98004 (425) 454-9923

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Below is the reply I received from ***** regarding my request for a refund of the $374 and $444 we paid American Resort Marketing to stay at the Maui Sunset, it includes the email I sent him after talking with him on the phone. The room smelled so bad it was making my wife sick, a semi-dead cockroach on the kitchen floor, and a/c units that were on timers. The a/c being on a timer was not disclosed in any info on the website, or in conversations I had with ***** at American Resort Marketing they times I spoke with her about additional days and then upgrading. Aloha ******, It was very unfortunate we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns while you were at Maui Sunset. We do everything we can to make our guests and *** owners feel welcome and at home on Maui. I did investigate your concerns as you explained to ****** on the night of May 19th and to me on the 20th. It would be very odd for a property to have a 1 hour timer on the A/C's and ****** does not recall confirming a 1 hour timer. It is again unfortunate you did not stay long enough or give the property a chance to discover that the A/C's both in the Living room and bedroom are 4 hour timers. The condominium carpet was professionally cleaned on May 15th and was vacant for 4 days prior to your arrival. Tropical environments can cause a stuffy atmosphere and pests such as cockroaches can fly in from the outside. ****** a non-toxic pest control service regularly treats the property and that is why you found the pest mostly dead. This affects $180/night condos as well as $300/night Outrigger rooms. With that said I do agree housekeeping should have opened the condo up prior to your arrival and discarded of the pest. I was prepared to take action on your behalf, however when I spoke to you the next day May 20th you had already spent the first night at a Hotel and made reservations at the Royal Kahana for the remainder of your Maui stay. You also revealed the cancellation of the *** 1 bedroom week given to us upgrade. This essentially ended my options as you were not willing to come back to Maui Sunset. It most situations were able to go above and beyond to match the expectations of our guests, in this case we simply were not give the opportunity to do so. ***** -- Mahalo, ***** ***** Reservations and Inventory Manager Maui Sunset Vacation Rentals X-XXX-XXX-XXXX ext *** www.MauiSunset.com Prices and availability are subject to change until confirmed with a deposit. Reservation and cancellation policy is listed online at www.mauisunset.com ---------- Forwarded message ---------- From: <*********@**********> Date: Mon, May 27, 2013 at 12:37 PM Subject: Maui Sunset info request To: *******@************** Webpage: http://www.mauisunset.com/contact.html From: *****@******** Remote Address: ************* Web Browser: *******/5.0 (compatible; MSIE 10.0; Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; Trident/6.0) 01. name: ***** ****** 02. address: **** ******* ** 03. city: Lexington 04. state: KY 05. zip: XXXXX 06. phone: XXXXXXXXXX 10. arrive: 05/19/2013 12. depart: 05/19/2013 14. comments: This email is for ***** *****. I talked with you on May 29th, about the fact that the unit we were supposed to stay in, **** from May 19th to May 28th, was absolutely unacceptable. It had a moldy, dirty smell; a semi-dead cockroach on the kitchen floor; and the air conditioners were on a one hour timer. I talked with ******, night maintenance, and she confirmed they were on one hour timers. We traded through *** for a 1 bedroom starting on Tuesday, May 21. I called a while ago and ***** got us a room for Sunday and Monday, May 19th & 20th, at a price of $374. Then I called a couple weeks before we came and I paid $444 to 'upgrade' to this one bedroom ocean front unit(actually two bedroom, but owner had the second bedroom locked off). It supposedly had all the upgrades a unit could have. As I told you on the phone, no where in your online info, or in phone conversations with *****, was it ever disclosed that the air conditioning was on a timer. I know you said it was suppos! ed to be a 4 hour timer, but the dial on the timers on both air conditioners were numbered, 10, 20, 30, 40, 50, 60, which to me means a one hour timer. I feel due to the condition; smell and cockroach; and timers on the air conditioner I am due a refund of both charges, $374 and $444. I had to spend $2,500 to go to another resort we had stayed at before on the island. I am just so thankful that they had an room available for us on such short notice. I am waiting your reply. If you can not do anything for me, please supply me with the name and email address of the president or CEO of American Resort Marketing, so I can contact them directly. Thank you and will be waiting your reply. email: *****@******** -- Maui Sunset by ARM, Inc. Vacation Rental License #************* **** ***** ***** **** Kihei, HI XXXXX X-XXX-XXX-XXXX www.MauiSunset.com

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of the $374.25 and $444.00, a total of $818.25, for misrepresentation/non-disclosure of the a/c being on timers and the smell/condition of the room, which ***** admits to in his email reply to me. Thank you for your time and consideration in this matter. ***** ******

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/06/05) */ Aloha, The guest booked their original week through their timeshare company ***. The major complaint A/C timers stems from this original reservation. To save electricity condos have a 4 hour timer on the A/C units. They were able to cancel their 7 night week booked through *** and stay at a $300 night hotel with full A/C and other hotel amenities. Prior to their arrival in Maui the guest called and was provided detailed information about the property including floor plans and photos. They booked 2 extra nights and an upgrade to an Ocean Front location. They were provided the 2 extra nights and the ocean front location as promised. After a late night arrival left the property for a hotel. Upon our first conversation with them they had already canceled the original reservation through their timeshare and re-booked at the Outrigger hotel. Our response was immediate and sincere, we were prepared to do extra to make their stay pleasant. The guest was not interested in our solutions and had made the choice to abandon their reservation. Mahalo ***** Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 19, 2013/06/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Business' Final Response /* (4000, 17, 2013/06/21) */ Aloha, We have come to a compromise solution with the guest. They were refunded $600 this morning. Please close the case. Mahalo, *****