BBB Accredited Business since

Trans Medic Transmissions

Phone: (503) 667-8242 Fax: (503) 667-2832 2250 NW Birdsdale Ave, Gresham, OR 97030 http://www.greshamtransmedic.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers rebuilding and repair of transmissions on smaller vehicles as well as fleet vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Trans Medic Transmissions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trans Medic Transmissions include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trans Medic Transmissions
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 01, 1995 Business started: 06/01/1995 in OR Business started locally: 06/01/1995 Business incorporated: 04/24/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kaare Hunt, President Mrs. Laurie Hunt, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kaare Hunt, President
Customer Contact: Mrs. Laurie Hunt, Secretary
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 7am - 5pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
12 months, 12,000 mile warranty
Alternate Business Names
Hunt Enterprises NW Inc

Additional Locations

  • 2250 NW Birdsdale Ave

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 667-8242

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/4/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 31st of January I placed my SUV with Trans Medic of Gresham for a transmission rebuild. When it was due to be picked up I arrived at their business location and was informed by ***** **** of Trans Medic that while the transmission was rebuilt the vehicle now needed to go to a mechanic, the engine was now not operating properly (it was mis-firing) and because of this the vehicle would destroy the transmission if driven over 35mph. I explained that in mid 2012 my mechanic had rebuilt most the under carriage (excluding transmission) of the vehicle and serviced the main components of the engine, and that the engine was in great operational order before arriving at Trans Medic ( else why pay $1300 to Trans Medic). Furthermore, a newly rebuilt transmission that has not been tested at interstate travel speeds is an uncertain thing, thus making it a questionable job. ** **** suggested that the engine issue Might be a simple cap or wire problem, thus we agreed that if I would buy the new parts, he would have one of his guys place them on (about 15 minutes to do) and then the vehicle could be driven at interstate speeds without there being any uncertainties. The parts were purchased and delivered the next morning, another day or two passed. Figuring that the job was surely done by now, I showed up at Trans Medic for my SUV. The Trans Medic employee who greeted me at the desk confirmed my SUV was done, and took my money off my bank card and gave me the keys and receipt. It was only after he had secured the money from me that he then informed me that not all of the vehicle parts to deal had been installed on the vehicle and returned them to me. This employee disappeared and ***** **** appeared. ***** **** said he had decided to change our agreement because he is too back logged with work orders this week, and he doesn't normally work on engines anyway. I explained that my mechanic is willing to testify of his work (less than a year ago) on the engine, and that there was no engine problems until the SUV was at Trans Medic of Gresham. ** **** acknowledged this and offered to 'refer me' to a 'mechanic friend' of his who could diagnose then repair whatever the problem is, but when I asked ***** **** about who would pay for this he replied with a non-committing statement, but did restate that the car should not be driven over 35mph or the transmission will be destroyed. At this point I knew that I'd been hood winked. Trans Medic of Gresham would have had to start the engine up to push the car on to the hydraulic repair lift, or at least (as professionals in the trade) verify the degree of transmission repair needed. If there was any question to the engine's status, Trans Medic should have informed me before rebuilding the transmission. Then to change the terms of our deal after payment is just deceitful practicing. This happening the 01/09/2014, I am out $1300 and have a car that can not go more than 35mph and am burdened with a lot of frustration and depression.

Desired Settlement: Pay to have a third party of my choice get the vehicle up to daily interstate driving level

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2014/01/31) */ Customer returned to have additonal work completed at our shop and complaint has been resolved. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 10, 2014/02/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ***** **** of Gresham Trans-Medic, did contact us promptly about this case. The terms of the work order to be performed by Trans-Medic on the vehicle in regards to this case have been met.