This Business is not BBB accredited

Larry's Transmission LLC

Phone: (503) 775-5401 Fax: (503) 659-2318 6959 SE Foster Rd, Portland, OR 97206 http://www.transmissionsportland.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmission repair and services.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Larry's Transmission LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Larry's Transmission LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: February 25, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2012 Business started locally: 01/01/2012
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Tim Shappell, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tim Shappell, Member
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Bearings Auto Repair & Service Auto - Fleet Maintenance Brake Service

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
8:00am - 5:00pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6959 SE Foster Rd

    Portland, OR 97206 (503) 775-5401

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/1/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My transmission blew out in January of this year, it blew again in August. I took it back as I had a 2 year warranty. He did not want to honor the warranty because it was my fault it blew, because of another issue on the car. He then said he would honor it if I got the vehicle to him. i took it in a week later, he was not quick in getting it done as "he had others waiting", I later found out those others came in after I did without an appointment. My brand new transmission sat in the car for about a month before I drove it, aside from taking into a shop to fix the original cause of the failure, I then drove it and within 500 miles it failed again. I called to ask what he was going to do about it since it failed within 500 miles. He said "anyone with any intelligence would have known" and when I asked him about testing my cooler he said "if you knew anything about anything you would know how it works" and said I would have to pay for a new one because he isn\\'t going to do it again under warranty. Product_Or_Service: Transmission

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Free towing to the shop of my choice

Business Response: Consumer Response /* (-5, 10, 2013/12/03) */ The owner and phone number listed under the case is no longer current. That owner sold to a new guy named Tim. The new name of the Shop is Larry's Transmissions Shop. New phone number is (503) 775-5401 The new website of the company is: http://www.transmissionsportland.com/ The shop I took it to to fix the most recent failure, told me that the shift linkage was out of adjustment. This is what caused the transmission to fail in such short time. I want a check for my invoice amount to cover the cost of my new transmission since it was the fault of Larry's Transmission Shop. Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2013/12/09) */ When Mr Liebert initially brought his 1989 Chevy suburban in he was told that he had broken rear end gears, they were missing teeth and they were the wrong ratio with the big mud tires he has on the suburban now. He was told and warned what could happen, and if he didn't change the rear end gear ratio he could damage the transmission and void the warranty, Mr. Liebert was supposed to get the gears changed and then come by for me to authorize and sign his warranty. He failed to do that which led to voiding his initial warranty. After 8 months Mr. Liebert contacts me from the coast, saying his transmission went out. Knowing he had no warranty at that time I told Mr. Liebert to tow it to my shop and I will look at it and see if I could help in some fashion. Mr Liebert suburban showed up at my shop, we did our diagnosis and found that Mr. Liebert transmission was burned up and he still had failed to replace the gear ratio to the correct one. I told Mr. Liebert I would go ahead and fix his transmission at no charge if he promises to have the ratio corrected and returned to me immediately to readjust the transmission pressure. He then failed to do that, I received a call from Mr. Liebert approximately 2 to 4 wks later explaining to me he didn't make it home in madras because his transmission failed. I explained to Mr. Liebert that he drove the vehicle to madras and was supposed to return it to me for the final adjustment and inspection and then damaged it again and that I was done supporting his negligence. I also stated to him that there was no warranty and he had voided his warranty the first time and that the second time was on me as good gesture and good customer relations. This is all noted on his paperwork and warranty slip (note) the warranty was not authorized due to him not returning the suburban with the correct gear ratio. When he left the second time it was clearly stated on his paperwork that there was no warranty. 1 Voided his own warranty, negligence 2 Repaired for free of charge even with a voided warranty 3 No new warranty issued (on free repair work) 4 Failed to return it again after having the gear ratio changed for re adjustment 5 Denied new claim. Consumer Response /* (3000, 15, 2013/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My warranty paperwork was signed off on by a technician at his shop 8 days after the initial transmission back in January. He also stated my gears "may" cause failure, he never gave me a timeline. He also never said when it would void my warranty, just that it "May". On the first transmission there was $1900 worth of work, the second transmission only had two parts replaced. Additionally, when I called him this last time, he was very rude to me, he insulted me, and was unwilling to help. Upon this last transmission failing, and after the phone call with his transmission shop, I took it to a dealership who stated that the shift linkage was out of adjustment and the cooler lines were hooked in reverse of factory specs. Additionally, they stated my tire size, which is 33x12.5R15 on that vehicle, is not too tall nor would it have any contribution to the transmission failing. They stated I wasted my money by having the gear ratio changed. My GM service Provider, said "there is no pressure adjustment on the 700R4. The truck does not know what gear ratio is back there. We pulled it out of the box and threw it in." The transmission in my suburban before Larry's Tranmission shop was a factory remanufactured 700R4 that Oceancrest Chevrolet in Warrenton, OR installed in 2005. Therefore, the tranmission that Larry's Transmission shop "rebuilt" for me was a stock 700R4, that does not have a pressure adjustment capability. The reason it failed was because the shift linkage and the cooling lines were installed differently than factory specifications, and this is why it failed, not the negligence on my part, as Larry's Transmission Shop is claiming. The reason I never brought it back for a recheck is because no other shop requires it. I did the first time because it was a requirement of the warranty, which I brought back and it was signed. I had a Chevrolet dealership install a re-manufactured GM 700R4, this repair bill was just under $2200. For just over $200 from what I paid Larry's Tranmission Shop, I could have gotten a GM remanufactured transmission, with a 3yr/100,000 mile warranty. Their warranty is a full parts and labor and true national warranty, not conditional upon the shop. I did not take it back to him after the second one, because it left his shop on a Friday, and the following Monday it went to the driveline shop he recommended, then it went to Milwaukie Tire and Auto for DEQ work. After this, I drove to Corvallis and on my way to Madras it failed. It had less than 500 Miles on it when it blew, this is within his 500 mile check. Business Response /* (-10, 16, 2013/12/12) */ ****please view attached documents online**** Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/12/13) */ It is clearly stated on all the invoices what needed to transpire and he neglected his responsibilities. He contacted the nationwide warranty that I provide and they also declined his request for not following the procedure. My middle ground was when he returned it almost a year later I repaired it for free when he had failed to perform his duties. The warranty was not authorized because when he returned for the leak inspection he still hadn't repaired his rear end/ ratio. After repairing it the second time for free he was advised to return it immediately and failed to do so. The dealer can say what they wish but they are not rebuilder's only parts replacers, this is why they gave him a rebuilt Trans from a box. There is a pressure control and it is set with the TV cable, (throttle valve) thus raising the line pressure with heavy acceleration. The bottom line is, he completely neglected his responsibilities on both occasions and I won't continue to pay for his negligence. I stand by my decision. As stated on his last invoice dated 10/4/13 his warranty is voided. Consumer Response /* (4200, 20, 2013/12/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My reasoning is that the transmission was installed improperly. The cooling lines were reversed providing inefficient cooling, as well as the shift linkage was out of adjustment, warranty aside. The first invoice states "Must return vehicle within 2 weeks or 500 miles for quality control rechecks." The second invoice states "Also customer failed to return the vehicle to a shop in the 15 day period as stated on the warranty for the final inspection and have it signed off." My warranty was rechecked, and signed by his technician. Also the dealership was going to rebuild my transmission, but the damage from the shift linkage being out of adjustment and the cooling lines being reversed was 1.5 times higher priced than to put in a GM rebuilt one. My invoice price for the rebuilt one was $2178.01, the quote for them to rebuild it in-house was $3400. They put in a GM rebuilt transmission because it was in my best interest. Also after the second transmission, I had it checked by Capitol Auto Group. I asked them to check the shift points, and make sure it was driving fine, when they replaced the windshield wiper switch, and redid my brakes. His second invoice says "a shop", not his shop, therefore I did meet his requirement of having it rechecked after the rear-end was redone. Business Response /* (4000, 23, 2013/12/19) */ I am sorry you feel the way you do. I have gone out of my way to make it right once and you still failed your responsibility's as we discussed. My decision stands. Consumer Response /* (4200, 25, 2013/12/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did fulfill my responsibilities, however the transmission was installed improperly, causing it to fail prematurely, that is my argument.