BBB Accredited Business since

Hansen Transmission & Gear

Phone: (907) 561-0313 Fax: (907) 561-0388 3611 Spenard Rd, Anchorage, AK 99503 http://www.hansentransmission.biz


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmission installation, repair and rebuilding services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Hansen Transmission & Gear meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Hansen Transmission & Gear include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hansen Transmission & Gear
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 07, 2003 Business started: 05/01/1995 Business started locally: 05/01/1995
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Christian Hansen, Owner Mrs. Jennifer Hansen, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Christian Hansen, Owner
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Transmissions - Truck, Tractor Auto Repair & Service


Additional Locations

  • 3611 Spenard Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99503 (907) 561-0313

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On June 24, 2013, I took my car, a 2002 VW Jetta, to Hansen Transmission & Gear for servicing. It was determined that my car required a transmission rebuild, estimated to be between $2,700 and $2,900, the passenger CV axle needed repair, estimated to be $165, and the vehicle needed a new computer, which resulted in paying Hansen Transmission & Gear a $3,065 down payment for the necessary repair work. I have enclosed a copy of their invoice and receipts. The repairs to my car were never completed and the car never returned to me in full working order. I was told by Hansen Transmission & Gear to bring my vehicle to ******** **** ***** to get a second opinion on the vehicles computer condition, which cost me another $468.44. I have enclosed the invoice and receipt for that bill as well. I was without the use of my car for over one year and had to purchase two additional vehicles in order to commute to and from work. The first car I purchased cost me $500 in addition to repairs and maintenance. The second car I purchased on June 23, 2014 for an amount of $1,200. I've enclose documentation of the two vehicles I purchased. Throughout the year that Hansen Transmission & Gear had my vehicle in their care for repairs I had physically went into the shop and called the shop numerous times to check on the status of my vehicle and if there were any new findings. During one of my phone calls to the shop to check on the status of my vehicle the attendant on the phone yelled at me for calling and asking and hung up on me. That was the last time that I attempted to gain information on my vehicle. Throughout the year of waiting to get my vehicle back this has taken a toll on my marriage and family and our financial stability.

Desired Settlement: Please send me a check or money order for a total amount of $5,233.44 along with my vehicle on or before August 1st. If I don't receive payment by that date, I'll promptly file this case in small claims court. And assuming I receive a judgment, which will be part of the public record available to credit agencies, I will promptly follow all legal avenues to collect it. You may reach me during the day at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 9, 2014/07/22) */ To whom it may concern: Re: *************** Complaint # ******** *********** presented his car to us with multiple problems. He was advised from the beginning that some of the codes in his computer may not be fixed by a transmission repair alone. After the destroyed transmission was repaired, some of the codes remained. We diagnosed it down to the computer itself, which needs to be replaced. When the transmission fails in a VW, the computer learns the bad way its operating, and will not relearn once the trans is repaired. II had the vehicle towed to**************, our local VW dealer, to conirm. I understand *************** complaint, however it is not my responsibility to buy him a $1200 computer based on the fact that I was paid to fix his transmission, especially when he was warned up front that the repair would not fix all of his problems. However, to alleviate the situation, I am going to refund his money. This refund removes me and my business from any and all liability to this car, and this cars owner. The car will be delivered to *********** via tow truck. ************,Owner