BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers transmission services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that AAMCO Transmissions - Springfield meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for AAMCO Transmissions - Springfield include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on AAMCO Transmissions - Springfield
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1998 Business started: 01/01/1971 Business started locally: 01/01/1971 Business incorporated: 03/11/2002 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bryan Sutherland, President Mr. Mike McLaughlin, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mike McLaughlin, Manager
Principal: Mr. Bryan Sutherland, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Repair & Service

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 8:00am - 5:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Sutherland Inc

Additional Locations

  • 3990 Main St

    Springfield, OR 97478 (541) 726-6824 (541) 726-6825

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was given $400 worth of certificates for work to be performed on my car (Timing belt, water pump, ect.) The bill came to $488.34, I came with $100 cash and my 4 $100 certificates. Upon completion of the work, I handed over my 4 certificates and $100 cash and was told that they only accepted 2 certificates at any one time. I was kind of taken back by this, since on the certificates themselves it never stated that I could only use X amount per visit. I told the owners **** and ***** that it didn't state that on the pieces of paper, and that I only had $100 in my wallet. They again said no, and that I'd just have to leave my car there until I paid the rest of the $288.34 in cash or on a card. I was told that I wouldn't get my vehicle back until I paid. I told them I had no money elsewhere and that I couldn't get it anywhere else, they continued to refuse the other certificates. They then began to become very irate and belittled my intelligence by asking me if I knew what a "check" was, or a "debit card". I told them I knew what they were, but I had no money in my accounts to cover the charge. I ended up having to take a small loan to cover the charge of the $200 remaining unpaid, and now I'm stuck with 2 certificates for $100 each that do me no good, seeing as my car is in working order. Terrible service, and they don't abide by their own rules. They make up things as they see fit and belittle customers when they don't get what they want as business owners. I know they're running a business, but I had an acceptable form of payment and they refused to take it. I had to take a loan, just to get my car back and am stuck with useless paper essentially.

Desired Settlement: I'd like them to buy the 2 certificates I still have back, for $100 each. For a total of $200. That will help pay off my loan, and I'll take care of the interest. I feel like that's a fair settlement, seeing as the certificates state nothing about having a limit on the use of them. Thank you.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/04/25) */ The Certifcate Mr. ******* brought in to us has been used buy Springfield AAmco Customers for 6 or 7 years. We take as many a 30 or 40 PER YEAR.. Not one time has any Customer ever came in with more than 1 for and service or 2 for any rebuilt transmission... they were bought through a 3rd party who printd the certifcates and sells them.. We only take ONE for any sevice,and 2 for a rebuilt transmission.. HOWEVER we broke policy and took TWO from Mr. Gerging... we told Mr. ******* he needed to go back to the people he bought the Certifcate from...they should be able to refund his cost of the Cirticates... if they will not I will give him COST and ONLY HIS COST he paid for the certificates...Nobody ever gives cash for the face value of a coupon. Mr. ******* claimed to have no money, yet he pulled hundred dollar bills out of his pocket to pay the balance never leaving the shop.. Regauding us not giving him his car back without payment..Its policy to not deliver cars without being payed for the work, I dont know any shop that just trusts people like that any longer, we have all been left holding the bag to many times.. ..AS for belittling his intelligence.. Mr. ******* asked about financing.. he was told we dont do financing that we take cards and checks.. He then ask "whats a check" so **** asked "you dont know what a check is" the Mr. ******* said "I dont need sarcasim" that was not belittling or sascasim, it was simple question regauding Mr. ******** asking what a check was....the coupon states "this coupon is good for any service.. no where does it state we will take an unlimited amount of certificats... 1 certificate 1 service.. another service another cirtificate...as I stated before I will give Mr ******* what he paid for the 2 Certificates, he needs to send me his receipt for them and I will cover the cost of 2 Certificates. . Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 8, 2013/05/06) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I will bring the two certificates in, as well as my e-mail conformation showing my purchase of the gift certificates. I'd like this to be a smooth process, and not be ridiculed again as well as have my intelligence belittled. In the future, your company should have it posted at your office that only "X" amount of gift certificates can be used at any one time, and have them on the pieces of paper as well to avoid this situation from coming up again in the future. Thank you.