BBB Accredited Business since

Aadvan Transmission Inc

Phone: (503) 618-7024 Fax: (503) 674-6653 810 NE Hood Ave, Gresham, OR 97030 http://www.aadvantransmission.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers automotive and transmission repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Aadvan Transmission Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Aadvan Transmission Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Aadvan Transmission Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 01, 2003 Business started: 06/01/2001 Business started locally: 06/01/2001 Business incorporated 06/20/2001 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Diep Nguyen, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Diep Nguyen, President
Business Category

Transmissions - Automobile Auto Service - Steam Cleaning Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Perform, Race & Sport Equipment Auto Air Conditioning Auto Customizing Auto Accessories Auto Detailing Auto Diagnostic Service Auto Electric Service Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair & Service - Diesel Auto Repairing - Foreign Auto Restoration Auto Repair - Vintage Auto Repair - Suspension Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension Auto Repair - Shocks Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Power Steering Auto Repair - Maintenance Auto - Fleet Service Auto Sunroofs Auto Warranty Service

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Friday
8:30am - 2:00pm Saturday
Closed Sunday

Additional Locations

  • 810 NE Hood Ave

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 618-7024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/30/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BBB My 1998 GMC van had a slipping transmission and the transmission code light was lit. I took it to VANVO TRANSMISSION, the owner took it for a test drive, said the transmission needs an overhaul and it will cost $1350.00. I told him to fix it and I got it back and paid cash on 11/4/13, one year warranty. Before he did the work he said he would warranty it for 18 months. The van started slipping again, the same light, with the same code, about the first week of January, 2014. I returned it to the owner, VANVO TRANSMISSION, he said; I can fix it by replacing more parts and it will cost $45.00. I was concerned as I just paid for an overhaul for the same problem so he agreed to refund my $45 if it still had the same problem after he replaced those parts. I wrote this out on the invoice: "If replacing the parts don't cure the problem (P1870)-code from being triggered, refund $45 if parts don't fix/repair the problem". He assured me the parts were a 99.9% cure for this problem and it won't cost me anymore money after this. On or about 1 month later the same slipping and the same light with the same code happened again. I returned it again and he replaced another part on 2/5/14. He reset the light and told me this is a for sure fix for this problem and I won't have any more troubles. On or about 2/14/14 the van started slipping again, the same light, with the same code happened again. I took it back and the owner, VANVO TRANSMISSION, told me he is positive that if I pay him for yet another part that he is now 99.9% sure will cure the problem once and for all. He said this part may be as much as $1000.00. I took it to another shop, who I've been taking it to, throughout this ordeal, who has been providing me with a second opinion. ** *** *** ** **** ****** owner, ******, wrote me a description of what I should do and what he would have to do if I brought it to him. This is what he wrote: "Customer states that check engine light is on all the time", "Scan found code Po1870 Transmission component slipping/Internal transmission problem, transmission needs to be removed from vehicle for inspection". "Customer will take back to where transmission was recently overhauled". "Estimate cost of repairs to Rebuild transmission $2,000-$2500". I returned to VANVO TRANSMISSION and asked the owner to either fix the problem or refund my money, I read the letter ****** wrote me. He refused to stand by his work or refund my money.

Desired Settlement: refund my money or pay another shop to repair it right.

Business Response: Mr. ******** brought the van to me on 11/04/13 before he bought it and wanted an estimate on transmission repair. Estimate was $1350. to rebuild transmission. Transmission was rebuild and he returned on 1/09/14 with the check engine light on. I ran a free diagnosis on the check engine light and it showed code PO1870. I told him I would replace 2 TCC PWM solenoids and if the code comes back I will refund $ 45.00 for the 2 solenoids. He was also told at that time that if the solenoids does not cure the problem that it is PCM Computer. I made an appointment for him to return on March 3 2014 at 9:30 am to check transmission and motor mounts. Also the PCM computer serial number to get an estimate on PCM computer cost. Mr. ******** never showed up for the appointment.
AADVan Transmission Inc.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
BBB
I received NO written estimate as required in the consumer protection laws. I did NOT bring the van in before I bought the van. The work was done on 11/4/2012, as stated on the repair invoice, not as stated in the response. The additional parts, I was charged $45 for, should have been included in the original warranted repair. I should NOT have been charged anything and I never was refunded the $45. The torque converter was replaced the second time and I was refused any receipt for that replacement on 2/5/2014. That still did NOT cure the original problem, I already paid to have the problem repaired, as stated in the response: Code P01870 and transmission slipping. I returned to demand he repair the warranted transmission at no cost or refund my money. He REFUSED to do either and now I am having another shop document the faulty warranty and repair it properly. I am also consulting with attorney* ******* ******. He also refused to put in writing an estimate of the other alleged parts/repair, as stated in this response. Everything, as stated in this response, should have been documented, in writing, from the beginning, pursuant to State Rule, therefore my rights have been violated.
In addition to my previous demands, I demand the following, in writing;
1. The original estimate of $1350.
2. The second replacement of the torque converter, dated 2/5/2014.
3. The estimate, as stated in this response, of additional parts/repair he wants to charge me for.

Business Response: I rebuilt ********* 1998 GMC transmission only and I warranty for all the parts inside the transmission only and the torque converter; I'm not responsible nor warranty for any electrical, PCM or wiring issue.
It's an older vehicle and it's has more than one problem
When Mr. ******* brought his 1998 GMC back with slipping issue - I suggest and replaced TCC and PWM Solenoid - and ensure Mr. ******* that I will refund $45.00 for the part he paid.
I am willing to replace the PCM if Mr. ******* bring his 1998 GMC to my shop - leave it with me for 2 week, Mr.******* pay for the part, I'll install the PCM for free of charge.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
BBB
I picked up my van at ** *** *** ** **** ******, owner ****** ******, this is the repair shop I have been consulting with concerning this issue. This shop repaired the problem with the p1870 code and the 1-2 "Harsh up-shift" (internal slippage). I have a document by the owner, ******, stating the control "valve-body" was the problem; the PCM is NOT the problem.
This is evidenced by the visual inspection of the control valve body and the overhaul they performed on this part that corrected the problem. Mr. Diep V** ****** neglected to repair this part in the beginning and continued to refuse to do the repair, at NO charge, throughout this process.
Throughout the GM service bulletins about code p1870, the "fix" is in the control valve body, with the "revised TCC regulator and isolator valves". This is the repair that corrected the problem and what I paid ****** and his shop to do, NOT the PCM.
****** and his employee, who are transmission repair specialists, can-not understand why Mr. Diep V** ****** didn't just repair the problem at some point without trying to get more money from us. They don't understand why Mr. Diep V** ****** would allow this to go as far as a complaint with the BBB and perhaps turn into a legal battle in Court. I don't understand it either, but I have made an extraordinary attempt to correct the problem and give Mr. Diep V** ****** every opportunity to correct it.
I am collecting all of my documentation and forwarding it to my Attorney* ******* ******, with instructions to collect whatever amount of damages I am legally entitled to. I am also pursuing Consumer Protection violations and the State of Oregon laws pertaining to this incident.
At this point I request Mr. Diep V** ****** refund all of my money, this continues to cost more and more as time goes on.