BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers Satellite Communications - Television (DIRECTV & DISH Network), Internet (HughesNet), and Custom Solutions; Broadband Internet & Phone (clearwire); Custom Communications Solutions



BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Microcom meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Microcom include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Microcom
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 19, 2002 Business started: 11/01/1987 in AK Business started locally: 11/01/1987 Business incorporated 11/09/1987 in AK
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alaska Division of Corporations Business & Professional Licensing
550 W 7th Ave Ste 1500, Anchorage AK 99501
http://www.commerce.state.ak.us/occ
Phone Number: (907) 465-2534
don.habeger@alaska.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Terri Carlson, CSR Manager Mrs. Sandra Blinstrubas, President Mr. Chuck Schumann, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Terri Carlson, CSR Manager
Business Category

Television - Cable, CATV & Satellite Cellular Telephone Service & Supplies Satellite Communication - Common Carrier Satellite Equipment & Supplies

Alternate Business Names
Alaska Digital Satellite Microcom Sateo Inc (AKA) Sateo Inc

Additional Locations

  • 126 W International Airport Rd

    Anchorage, AK 99518

  • 129 W 53rd Ave

    Anchorage, AK 99518 (907) 264-3474

  • 35911 Kenai Spur HW #14

    Soldotna, AK 99669

  • 5453 Jenkins Dr

    Juneau, AK 99801

  • 6491 E Blue Lupine Dr

    Palmer, AK 99645

  • 975 Van Horn Road Unit #2

    Fairbanks, AK 99701

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed a two year contract for internet service with ****** ******** through Microcom. I have NO complaint against Microcom, but do with the ****** ********. The number for ****** is **************. This is the only way to contact them that I am aware of. I did not have internet service for 4 months the first year and 3 months the second year. When I would call to complain, they said it was the weather and there was nothing they could do. I never received reimbursement for the months of no service and they refused to let me out of my contract. They would not send a service man unless I paid $130.00 up front. I refused to pay $130.00 for someone to tell me it was weather related and there was nothing they could do. My contract is up and I called today to have the service disconnected. They billed me for the a full month of service through July and said it is not their policy to prorate bills and I would just have to pay for another month of NO SERVICE. When you sign a contract and you fulfill your end, should they not have to fulfill their end? So far I have paid for 8 months of service that was not provided. They did not provide service but they never missed a payment on my end. I was never late and I honored my end of the contract and feel that they did not. Everyone else in Anchorage had service. I was the only one with bad weather as an excuse to take my money and do nothing on their end. Now I am getting billed for a full month AFTER I canceled the service. Now they are insisting that at age 65 that I need to go up on my roof and retrieve a part from the dish and return it to them within 30 days or be charged another $300.00. I did not put the dish on the roof, they did. Does anyone think I should be required to go up on the roof to retrieve their part? This is the last straw.

Desired Settlement: They send someone at their expense to retrieve their part from the roof (I am a senior citizen) and they refund some or all of the money for services rendered that I never received. The contract should work BOTH ways. I fulfilled my end and now it is time for them to step up and do the right thing.

Business Response: The customer states in the beginning of her complaint that she "has NO complaint with Microcom"  this complaint should be issued to ***** ********.  Microcom is a third party retailer for *****. I have no notes to indicate that the customer was having issues with her service provider *****.  It does not appear that she has called in to Microcom for assistance in this regard.   

Regarding customer time without service.  If customer had called into Microcom to request assistance with her provider, we would have been able to call with her to attempt to get her billing issues resolved. Most of these customer complaints are in the customer agreement, customers do sign their agreement electronically, however, they can review an agreement on line at any time.

If it is not too late, the customer can contact Microcom and for the charge of a residential service call we will come remove the tria for the customer off her antenna, then she would just return via u.s. mail to the provider *****, this would alleviate the charges of un-returned equipment fees and or a refund for the customer, we are not sure of the status at this point.  

Microcom usually recommends that a customer attempt to resolve their account issues with the provider directly, however, this customer could have contacted us for assistance when she could not get quality help from the provider, we would have been happy to assist.  

5/2/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Microcom is the only **** installer in the area. When my wife ordered ****, we were told it was a free installation. Microcom immediately billed my wife for $19.95. When I later asked why, they claimed it was a processing fee. Everyone in the area must pay the processing fee to get the free installation. There is no other company to go through here for satellite installation, and there is no cable company.

Desired Settlement: Return of my $19.95 installation fee (processing fee as the call it), and the end of the practice.

Business Response: The wife of this gentleman was the person who contacted our company for the **** ******* new account process. The wife spoke with one of our veteran sales representatives during this process. It has been standard practice for many years to require a processing fee of $19.95 for new customers. The gentleman contacted our office on several occasions and at no time mentioned that this was an issue. There were many opportunities for this customer to discuss this issue with Customer Service or the Sales Representative, he did not. We will not be refunding the customer for the processing fee.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this reIsponse because:

This is still about a free installation costing 19.95.  Also, I did call about thus charge. The "veteran service rep" was rude. I asked to speak to management. They hung up on me. 





Sincerely,

***** *******

Business Response: We respectfully stand by our decision of not refunding the 19.95, and the practice will remain in place. We have reviewed any available recorded calls from this customer and at no time was he spoke to in an unprofessional manner or disconnected while call was in progress.  

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

The charge is a scam. No professional organization would charge for what they charge.  Just because we live in Alaska shouldn't mean that we have to deal with such terrible and unethical business practices. 

Sincerely,

***** *******

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had what I thought was **** ******* tv and internet installed in my home in Kaleheo Kauai last year. An installer **** showed up to install **** *******. He was very rushed and impatient. He was part way through the install and he sent me an email that I was enrolling in something called ***** **** internet and there was data limits. I immediately ask to call his supervisor because I did not agree to use someone called ***** **** with any data limits period, or whatever and that his technician had committed fraud by sending me an email that I accepted some contract I absolutely had not. I informed him that I had not signed and was not signing any contract regarding internet because of the data limits. The supervisors name was **** and he asked me to just try it on a trial basis with out any contracts and see if it would work. I said I would only on a trial basis. A few days later I called **** back because I had run out of data, he said he would give me 5 more gigs and to try that. Over the next couple of months the service did not work out and I contacted ****, and another person named ******* and returned the equipment. I paid for the months I used, but as per ****’s and ********* information I would not be under any contract and could unwind the deal without penalty. I have spoken to ****, *******, and even **** several times to try to rectify the balance penalty and even contacted ***** **** and they said that all that needed to happen was for microcom to contact installer relations at ***** **** and the problem would be resolved. I have spent many hours on the phone tracking down ******* and **** informing them to contact ***** **** as ***** **** instructed to solve the problem. I have run out of patience and was instructed that you could help me from the Oahu office.

Desired Settlement: I wish the penalty balance to be settled with ***** **** as I am not under contract with any internet provided by microcom. Microcom was my installer and the company who comitted fraud relating to a contract..

Business Response: We have spoken with the service provider 4/2/2015. The service provider has waived the ETF fees on the account in the amount of $342.00 and the customer balance is now $0.00. The customer was never charged through Microcom for any other fees.  

11/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a **** system from Microcom and they sent the wrong equipment the first time. I flew to Anchorage as I live in Rural Alaska off the road system and this was a self install as they had no one available for installation. I received the right equipment from them the second time and I hired a local guy with whom they were familiar with to install the dish network. The receiver in our living room is supposed to operate two tv's but it would not work properly. I spent an hour and a half on the phone with the tech at Microcom who walked me through some tests to see if we could fix it. She advised that it appeared the box was defective and that I needed to send it to them to test at their shop to confirm it was indeed bad. She advised that if the box was bad they would then send me a new one at that time. She advised this may take several days and I would be without service. I advised her that this was unacceptable and that we shouldn't have to be without service for several days or weeks when they could just send a new one up and charge me if I didn't return it. She spoke with the manager who agreed and I was told the box was sent the next day. I called 5 days later to check the status as I had not received the new box. The rep told me that she saw it was sent and would check on the status. A few days later she called back and advised that the owner of the company over road the manager and would not send the new box and that I would have to send my current box for testing first. I advised her this was unacceptable and that they told me it was on the way. This is a new service and it was verified as more than likely a bad received by their technician and why should I suffer without TV and still pay for the service!!!???

Desired Settlement: They should follow through with their commitment to send the new receiver so we can watch what we are paying for. They have my credit card and could charge it if I didn't return the bad one. This is very poor business and I feel they are taking advantage of us because we live 550 miles away by air.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/10) */ There was mixup with the customer's equipment initially and we resolved the issue, as well as sending a $25.00 gift card for the inconvenience. The customer needed to swap out their bad receiver. It is our policy that the customer send back their faulty equipment before we send their replacement equipment. In the past, Microcom mailed out replacement parts and never received the faulty equipment back. We have asked the customer to send back the faulty equipment and as soon as it has been received, we will mail the replacement receiver. The faulty equipment has never been returned to Microcom. The replacement receiver is ready for the customer when they decide to return the faulty equipment. The customer's sales rep has been in contact with the customer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I live in rural Alaska and it will take several days for the boxes to get swapped. They advised that they would send a new box and I would send the old one back as soon as it arrived and even gave them my credit card number to charge me if it didn't get returned. If I send the box down it will take 5-7 days for them to receive it and another several days for them to send a new one to me. The box works on one TV but not the other so I at least have some TV until the new one gets up here (though I can't record as the DVR will only try to record on the 2nd TV). There is no validity to their claim they will be out if the box I have isn't returned and they agreed to send one after I gave them my credit card to secure its return. They told me it was on the way and even called to confirm it was sent then changed their minds. Again, I should not have to go without service for several days when they could just send the box like they promised and charge me for the other if it isn't returned!!!!!! Either send me the new box as you agreed and I'll send the bad one back as soon as I get the new one, or I'll return all the equipment and you can release me from your contract and I'll get my service elsewhere. I am not asking for anything other than what YOU agreed to do!!! Final Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/11/13) */ The customer plans to come to Microcom's office to exchange his receiver while he is in town. Microcom apologizes for the inconvenience they have caused this customer. Our equipment exchange policy is in place due to not receiving equipment back in the past. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 23, 2014/11/21) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I received my new receiver and it works great! I appreciate the fact they apologized for the way it was handled and I am satisfied that I now have properly working service. With that in mind I'm not satisfied that they are still making excuses about not sending one out due to equipment not being returned when I gave them my credit card info to charge me if it hadn't... It took a 2nd trip to Anchorage (550 air miles away) and a complaint to the BBB for them to do the right thing. This would have avoided the complaint, and I could have been enjoying the service I had been paying for the past 3 months.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: A few days ago, we called ******* to start a new contract for satellite television services. We were told that a local (Alaskan) installer would call within 24-72 hours to set up an appointment for installation at our home. A day later, we received a voicemail from "******," instructing us to call her back to set up installation. The phone number we received was not a direct line to her (as we were led to believe in her voicemail), but rather a generic phone number to "Dispatch." After leaving a voicemail back with Microcom, we heard nothing more from them. Yesterday (8/21/2014), we traveled to Fairbanks and decided to hurry up the process for scheduling our installation, by stopping in the Fairbanks Microcom office. **** went in the office and the woman in the office scheduled our installation for today, 8/22/2014 between the hours of 12 p.m. and 5 p.m. We were there mid-day. Around 2:30 p.m. today (8/22/2014) **** called Microcom to get an estimate of what time the installer would be at our house, since we had a lot to do, and we had canceled plans for this seemingly speedy installation. **** is then told that the equipment wasn't even ordered yet and that no one would be at our house today. Microcom then told **** that the soonest date available is 8/28/2014 in the morning. **** then becomes angry and asked, "Are you kidding me? Is this a joke?" He also asked when Microcom was going to call us to tell us about their failure to provide services and he discovered that they had no intention of calling us. He then threatened to file a BBB complaint and switch service to Dish Network. After absolutely no assistance from Microcom to expedite our order, **** hung up. After that phone call, ********* called Microcom to get answers and to get an installer to our house today. After dealing with the person on the phone and getting zero answers and zero assistance, all the while the Microcom employee denying any wrongdoing and aggravating ********* to the point of shouting, ********* shouted angrily (to include some obscenities), and loudly, then hung up. Still not satisfied that Microcom didn't attempt to admit any wrongdoing and fix their mistake, also that it cost us a day and forced us to unnecessarily cancel and change plans, we called back and the line wouldn't connect. Microcom blocked our phone number from their system. We called back (with a blocked phone number) and demanded to speak with a Manager. ********* was connected with ******, self-described as Lead Dispatch for Alaska. ********* cut to the chase and told ****** that she wanted an installer out to her house today and that Microcom needed to find a way to get the equipment. She also reported to ****** that Microcom blocked her phone number, in which ****** denied. ********* told ****** that someone in Fairbanks scheduled us for an installation today. Also, that the people that she and **** spoke to a few minutes prior were incompetent and that they should be reprimanded. ********* told ****** that Microcom aggravated her to the point where she cussed out the person she spoke to on the phone, prior to calling and demanding to speak with a Manager. ****** seemed to take great offense to this and take it personally by snapping back with something very close to, "First of all, I am not going to have you cussing out any of my Dispatchers. You're not going to lay into me, too." ******'s nastiness and rudeness was the downfall of the phone call. At that point, ********* wanted an admission of wrongdoing and an apology for the mistake that Microcom made. An insincere, "We apologized for any inconvenience this has caused you," was lazily said to *********. After that, ********* wanted to know who made the mistake, where this person was located (Anchorage or Fairbanks) and that she wanted this person reprimanded. ****** refused to track down the specific person that made this mistake. In addition, I was told that 8/28/2014 was the only day that was available for an installation. She vehemently refused to take responsibility for Microcom's mistake and became angry, unprofessional, agitated, and extremely nasty as the call continued. At one point, ********* asked for names/phone extensions of employees, and ****** rudely replied with something akin to, "What do you want that for?" ********* told her it is for the BBB complaint she was going to file and ****** nastily and cockily said, "You file that BBB complaint. And we will reply with everything the State requires of us." We know that BBB complaints are allowed to go unanswered, so ********* angrily shot back, saying that she knew that Microcom wasn't required to do anything. After getting absolutely nowhere with ****** and with ****** refusing to assist or rectify Microcom's mistake, ****** then talked over her, telling ********* that the installer would be at her house on 8/28/2014, between 8 a.m. and noon. ********* then asked ****** why she should trust Microcom with this appointment date because Microcom fails to show up. After more babble from ******, ********* became enraged. She allowed ****** to cut her off one last time, when ****** repeated the date and time that the installer would (possibly) show up at her house. Nastily, ****** spat, "Okay?" ********* yelled into the phone, "NO, IT'S NOT OKAY YOU STUPID ******** ********* then hung up. Not 30 seconds later, ****** called our home phone number back, but this time, **** picked up. ****** was incredibly rude and nasty, and she asked to speak with *********. **** refused, telling her that she would be talking to him. Matter-of-factly, ****** asked ****, "Did your wife call the Lead Dispatch for Alaska a ******* **** said, "Yeah." ****** then told ****, "We are canceling your install and we will not be working with you." Then ****** hung up on ****. Microcom employs people who are: unprofessional; unpleasant; incompetent; lazy; rude; nasty, and; egotistical. No ******* customer should ever have to deal with a company so unorganized and unprofessional. We weren't the most kind, and neither were they. Except, they wasted a day of our lives, and they don't care. We are the customer, they are the business, providing services. They promised services, and failed to deliver services.

Desired Settlement: A written acknowledgment of wrongdoing and a written formal apology. "We are sorry for any inconvenience we may have caused you," is insufficient. We want ****** reprimanded, as well as every Microcom employee who took part in this gross incompetence.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/10/07) */ The customer was scheduled for 8/21/14. Our dispatchers learned that the technician in their remote area did not have the proper equipment and it had to be sent out to him. We only have one technician in that remote area as he has a smaller volume of jobs. We were able to schedule the customer for 8/28/14, but the customer refused any schedule other than 8/21/14. Our dispatchers were professional on the phone with the customer, but the customer was irate and used obscenities. There was no resolution for this customer as we had to cancel the order and refused to install due to the customer's behavior. I have attached one phone call we had with the customer as an example of the behavior I am referring to. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 23, 2014/10/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We were promised service on one date. This company was brash and rude (on several phone calls) and gave no assistance and/or apology for scheduling us on a day when they knew they would not provide service. We wanted service on the day they promised, not when it was most convienent for them. ALL of their staff was unprofessional, rude, and unapologetic. Their business practices are deceptive, misleading, and arrogant. They conduct themselves in a manner that gets a customer's money first, then they fail to provide services when they promise. We still demand a written formal apology from Microcom. Final Business Response /* (4000, 25, 2014/10/21) */ I'm sorry you were not satisfied with our services. Your order was built on 8/19/14 through the provider directly so Microcom has not charged you for any services or collected funds from you. The technician in your area did not have all of the equipment needed to fulfill your work order on the scheduled date. We have one technician in your area due to the work volume and attempted to reschedule the installation with you. Our dispatchers attempted to resolve the issue with a new install date, but had to cease efforts due to your abusive language, as well as you proceeded to discontinue the call. Microcom regrets that we were unable to meet your needs and apologize that you were not satisfied with the outcome. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 27, 2014/11/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Firstly, your "apology" is worthless and unsatisfactory. We value our time over money, and you wasted our time. Not to mention, we went half of the day fully expecting a technician to show up, only to call Microcom ourselves to discover that there was no plan of anyone coming out on the day promised to us. The lack of sincere apology for wasting our time shows the true character of this company. "... but had to cease efforts due to your abusive language"? Rethink that one. Whom hung up on whom? You fail to mention the phone call that ****** hung up on ****. Your insincere, backhanded "apology" is insufficient and we do not accept it.

10/28/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I spoke with a representative named ******** at the micro-com X-XXX-XXX-XXXX. She proceeded to tell me that the service for internet for 20 gigs would be 65$/month. She then increased this to 80$ with a 75$ activation fee after she got the credit card number.The 75$ ended up to be 80$ with no explanation of why. She then added several other items that would be taken out of the account for additional charges. Which included if the technician coming to the house did not know where "the southern sky" was that they may have to come out for an additional 150$/hour for the technicians error in putting the satellite in the wrong place.

Desired Settlement: All I was hoping to do is to get internet in an area of Soldotna that not a lot of places go. They have not given the money back for these services. I would like to see all the money go back to the original bank card and also would love to see that they need to be more forthcoming about their charges. I have not received service as of yet so there should be no issue with getting this money back. But with my experience so far, I am a little scared.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/26) */ To Whom It *** Concern; I looked up **** ******'s account and noticed that they signed up for satellite internet for ***** services in 2012. According to our records, the customer was installed 8/29/2012. I have attached documentation of the invoice that was paid in the amount of $79.50 and the summary of her account. Microcom was unaware that the customer was unhappy with services as the last coorespondence with the customer was in 2012.I am unable to refund the customer for the processing fee as this was back in 2012 and the customer did receive services. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/10/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is not even the same internet service. We never discuss this old account of my eldest son's. This was a new account for ******** ******** Not my son **** ******. I don't even know when my eldest son had this, at the ******* court address, as we have had *** here for years. I believe **** may have tried this service and decided to go with **** as they are a much better company, without hidden charges, and better internet. This was a different address entirely that I was trying to get established. ***'s **** address, not my address on the service that is on the business response that is above. This was the only option for ******** at the address on ***'s ***** But they made it impossible to get it. We gave up. You never get a straight answer from these people on the price of internet. As it shows on this bill they put up that was 2 years old. It was this year that I was trying to get service. Not 2 years ago. Who would wait that long to get a refund anyway?? They gave different amounts each time either myself or ******** called. Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/10/10) */ I have located the proper account for this complaint. The customer and her mother has been in contact with the Broadband Manager at Microcom. The ***** installation fee is $75.00;however, the tax amount was $4.50 which brought that total charged amount to $79.50. This charge was refunded to the customer when they requested the refund. The monthly cost for a 20gb plan is $69.99 with a $9.99 modem lease fee. There are no overage charged on this plan;however, they do have the right to slow the customer down if they exceed the 20gb's. Our costs are explained to the customer and we would never charge customer's accounts without authorization. There would be no other charges aside from the monthly cost and installation fee. Our hourly residential rate is $85/hour. Our commercial hourly rate is $95.hr. We do not have a $150/hour rate. If the technician were to go to the customer's home and deem no line of site for Exede, the installation fee is refunded to the customer as no installation occurred. There are no funds owed to the customer as they were refunded for the installation charge already.

6/17/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Returned the product for refund

Desired Settlement: Would like my full refund back

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 20, 2014/06/03) */ Customer ordered **** ******* equipment through Microcom. Customer cancelled their ordered and returned the equipment. The customer has been refunded by check as requested. Microcom check# XXXXX was issued to the customer in the amount of $319.20. The refund request was put in 3/29/14 and the check was mailed 4/22/14. There was a delay as we had to wait for the equipment to be returned before we would issue a refund. Please see attached documentation. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I came into Microcom the end of August and spoke to ******* about getting internet through Microcom. I explained to her the *** had been promising us 768kbits of internet service for years and that we had need received it. I ask her at least 6 times that IF we hooked up to Microcom we would get at least 768kbits if we went over our allotted amount of 10G with your company. She assured me that it would be so. She also said she would email me our contract. I have never gotten one.On Sept the 13th the tech came out and put in the Microcom system for 10G. Around Sept the 19th to the 22tnd we were out of our G's and our internet quit working. We did speed tests and had NO response. We were not even able to get 1kbit. I went into the office between Sept 24 and 26th, and ******* was there with ******** They again both assured me that something was wrong with our Microcom because we should at least be getting 768kbits to 1mbit or better even if we were over. ******* said that she was going to sent you an email and explain our situation to you and find out why our internet was not working. At that time ******* told me to call ****** to get a work order started. I could get NO ONE to help me at ****** so ******* set up a 3 way call and was able to get me a work order. On Oct. the 2nd **** from Microcom came out and determined that it was our router that was causing the problem with our internet so we purchased a Netgear from Microcom and we were also give 2G for all our troubles from ******* On Oct 7th we again had no internet. We did test again and again we could not even get a reading from our computer, iPad or iPhone. I went into the office and talked to *******. I told her that we were done dealing with Microcom and to have a tech come out and take everything out. She said she was going to write you an email at that time to make sure that we were out of our contract and that there would be no more money exchanged. I explained to her that we have a business to run and that we Product_Or_Service: Satellite wireless internet service Account_Number: Never recieved one

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) We want to cancel our contract with no additional payments or penalties.

Business Response: Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 6, 2013/10/23) */ We have been contacted by the business and they have settled our grievances with them. We are completely satisfied with the outcome. Thank you for following up on this.

11/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/19/2012 Problems with Product/Service