BBB Accredited Business since

Black Box Network Services

Phone: (206) 763-9991 Fax: (206) 767-6880 View Additional Phone Numbers 800 SW 34th St Ste A, Renton, WA 98057 http://www.blackbox.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers telecommunications equipment, sales, repair and installation.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Black Box Network Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Black Box Network Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Black Box Network Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 01, 1998 Business started: 03/01/1984 Business started locally: 03/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Tate, Branch Manager Mr. Bill Brouillet, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Tate, Branch Manager
Business Category

Telephone Equipment & Systems Service & Repair Telephone Communications Telephone Equipment & Systems Dealers

Alternate Business Names
B & C Telephone Inc

Additional Locations

  • 800 SW 34th St Ste A

    Renton, WA 98057 (206) 763-9991 (800) 763-9998

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We received a quote for 4 dsl lines. When I tested 2 of the dsl lines they wouldn't work. When I looked to see why its because they ran only 1 line instead of 2 and charged us for both. When I emailed *** ********** and **** ******** to tell them of the issue and told them that they needed to come out and fix it, I never heard back from either of them. Instead we were met with an excuse of licensing issues in the county. They failed to adequately serve our site. Not only was this the problem but the lack of concern for keeping an appointment. Their team would set an appointment and then not show up. Its the most unprofessional business I have ever seen.

Desired Settlement: Resolving our issues and if they are not willing to resolve a refund for business time that was lost as well as the cable run that they charged us for that was non existent.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/02) */ We here at Black Box have reached to ****** (customer) in regards to this complaint to resolve the issues at hand. We take great pride in providing excellent customer service, and unfortunately this situation escalated to this point due to a number of reasons. We have a tentative time frame of January 5, 2015 to connect with ****** when she returns from vacation to listen and address her concerns / issues and resolve appropriately in a timely fashion. Again, we take great pride in our excellent customer service offering and will take the steps to ensure a fully satisfied customer.

5/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: BlackBox and ******* presented to ****** Inc. place of business to fix current e-mail services. After waiting several hours for a break in our work schedule, they pitched alternative services on the initial day of contact. The services described were not consistent with what found to be the actual service. The inconsistencies were in the number of e-mails that could be sent in a given period and the format that multiple e-mails could be sent through ******** They left after Day 1, which was essentially a sales call, where multiple personnel hung around to talk to me to change my mind on what they would sell me. Once it was agreed to continue to service, they called in advance to take a credit card number over the phone prior to services rendered. It became irresolvable when they overcharged on billable time after having the credit card number and then finding out the ******* services were not as described. I submit this complaint to protect others. I will pursue other options to alert the public of ******* and BlackBox.

Desired Settlement: refund

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/05/01) */ To the Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon and Western Washington Complaint Department Case No XXXXXXXX RESPONSE Since this is the 1st BBB complaint ever filed against our company we are not sure of the level of detail to provide so we are providing a synopsis of events from the initial customer contact. It does appear that there were issues with the 3rd party solution that perhaps could have been addressed differently but at no time during our dealings with this customer were any of our staff anything but professional, respectful and courteous to the customer. The labor charged the customer was a legitimate charge for services rendered but we also pride ourselves in our commitment to customer satisfaction and may be willing to entertain a refund to the customer. Any refund would be in keeping with our philosophy regarding customer satisfaction and not because of the threats made but we would want assurance that the customer would not take any further action. We agree that settlement outside of the legal system is preferable but without that assurance we may need to get our legal department involved to protect our best interests. Synopsis of Events Late January, 2013: Customer's contracted IT person contacted us regarding resolution to customer's exchange server issues which he was unable to resolve. There was a delay in getting approval from our corporate office to set up the customer due to lack of D&B information on file. Customer was set up on COD basis on 2/1/13 and subsequently approved for Terms (Due Upon Receipt) on 2/5/13. It is our understanding that as a result of this delay the customer went with a new service provider. 2/20/2013: Same customer's contracted IT person contacted us again for the following customer issue: "Customer has an exchange server in the office that was running email on it. It crashed and ******* modem fried. They cannot get running, server won't connect". Since this was a new customer in our system with no credit history with us we elected to require a credit card payment upon completion of initial work performed, which the customer agreed to. 2/28/2013 Our network technician went on site and found that the server was running and after troubleshooting found that the email records are pointed to ****** rather than the server. The IT person did not inform us of this fact when he called in. Customer was not happy with ****** email and wanted the email back on the exchange server as well as email access during power outages. Our technician was on site for 2.5 hrs. - most of that time was troubleshooting but part was explaining to customer what his options were and called in one of our network engineers to come in to meet with the customer regarding his needs and options. The network engineer presented a 3rd party solution and the customer decided to make the switch to the new solution upon return from his trip. We then arranged for their ****** account to be extended to 3/18/13. The customer's contracted IT person signed the completed work order. We billed for the 2.5 hrs of the tech time and nothing was billed for the time the network engineer was on site to discuss customer options. Customer returns from trip and the 3rd party solution paperwork was signed and processed 3/7/13 Our network technician activated account, set up user mailboxes, forwarded necessary DNS changes to DNS holder, using programs to transfer old email to the new 3rd party solution hosted exchange system. He also setup new profiles on desktops, laptops and phones. Technician was on site for 8 hours, customer signed the completed work order and we billed for the 8 hours 3/8/13 We invoiced the customer for 2.5 hrs from 2/28 + 8 hrs from 3/7 at our standard rate of $150.00/hr for a total charge of $1,575.00. Total invoice, including taxes, came to $1,699.43. 3/11/13 Customer paid invoice with credit card and a receipt for that credit card payment was emailed to customer. 3/12/13 Customer contacted network engineer regarding a portion of the solution purchased that he stated was not as originally portrayed. 3/12/13 Our sales rep responded and he and the network engineer set up a conference call meeting with the customer to discuss the issues 3/13/13 Meeting scheduled for 8am 3/13 3/13/13 At this meeting we agreed to drop that portion of the 3rd party solution - cost $348.00 + tax - since the customer did not like the process of the application. Customer also complained that the distribution groups were not complete and the scanner was not working. Although these issues fell outside of the project the network engineer agreed to fix at no charge. 3/15/13 Network engineer requested customer restart the computer so that he could complete the distribution groups. Customer did a shutdown instead and when he powered system back up ********* updates began to load (over 130 updates) causing a delay in completing the distribution groups. The scanner is not connected by IP address so an on site trip would be necessary to reprogram the scanner for email. The network engineer worked 2.5 hours on this, none of which was billed to the customer. 3/25/13 Invoice and copy of quote were emailed to the customer for the annual 3rd party solution license subscription as quoted (after removing the application the customer did not want) plus the standard set up fee for a total of $902.00 plus taxes or $973.26 total. 3/27/13 Customer sent email "Bill us monthly. I see too many red flags in this relationship to pay up front" 3/29/13 Our sales rep responded that monthly billing was not an option but that he did have the option of opting out of the rest of the 3rd party solution contract within the 1st 30 days of activation. He further explained that if the customer did elect to opt out we would reverse the charges including the set up fee of $973.26 but not any of the labor previously billed and paid for by credit card. He also explained that if the customer opted out of this contract he would need to contact another hosted email solution and get the email addresses set up with that new provider. In closing the email he mentioned that earlier emails indicated that the customer had not been 100% happy with our abilities/service and that we valued him as a customer and were willing to work with him on other options. 4/1/13 Customer's email response did not address the opting out option presented to him but did accuse us of unauthorized use of a credit card 4/1/13 We responded to that accusation that under no circumstances do we process a credit card payment without authorization of the card holder or their agent and that once the credit card receipt is provided to the cardholder the original credit card information is shredded. We provided him with the credit card receipt sent to him on 3/11, which to date had never been disputed. We requested that he notify us immediately of the amount and authorization number if he felt that this charge was not authorized. We received no follow up to that request. No other contact from the customer until 4/14/13 4/14/13 Customer sent a very nasty, accusatory and threatening email requesting a refund - a copy of that email follows We have had no further contact with the customer. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This does not explaion nor justify why they overbilled the day tehy were on site. It doesn't justify or explain away that teh first day on site was nothing more than a day of sales and waiting for my availabilty to do so. It is incorrect that they asked for payment after services. They called in advance and asked for a credit card over the phone. They were deceitful in the way the portrayed the services. The limitations of the bulkl email services were simply covered with qan untruth. The overbilled hours. It is interesting that we transferred services and have a new vendor who never made a trip to the office and were very honest and straight forward with their approach. The first red flag was the request for a credit card number over the phone before they ever arrived. The complaint surrounds the fact that they lied about their serivces and charged more time than they put in. The company that has the account took a quarter of the time and at a reasonable price. Maybe the reason this is their first BBB complaint is that they do little business and people refuse them. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/05/09) */ To the Better Business Bureau serving Alaska, Oregon and Western Washington Complaint Department Case No XXXXXXXX RESPONSE TO RESPONSE We respectfully request that the BBB, upon review of the documentation submitted by both parties, make a recommendation regarding a resolution which is fair and equitable to both parties