This business is not BBB accredited.

JL Morton & Associates Inc

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 540-7323 Fax: (503) 540-7331 1880 13th St SE, Salem, OR 97302 http://www.jlmorton.com

! JL Morton & Associates Inc is Believed to Be Out of Business !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers tax preparation, bookkeeping, and payroll services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because BBB has information indicating it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on JL Morton & Associates Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 20, 2004 Business started: 01/01/2001 Business started locally: 01/01/2001 Business incorporated 12/29/2010 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Board of Tax Practitioners
3218 Pringle Rd SE Ste 120, Salem OR 97302
http://www.oregon.gov/OTPB
Phone Number: (503) 378-4034
tax.bd@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Janet Morton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Janet Morton, Owner
Business Category

Taxes - Consultants & Representatives Bookkeeping Service Payroll Service


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1880 13th St SE

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 540-7323

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 12007

    Salem, OR 97309

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They prepared my state and federal taxes for 2011, 2012, and 2013. I have received numerous letters from the IRS and Department of Revenue stating they were done incorrectly and that I owe money. 2011 tax issue was discussed when we picked up our completed 2012 taxes. I have faxed all correspondence (10 to be specific over the last year) to the company (from 9-2014 to present) and called on countless occasions and they have yet to resolve these. I have received an e-mail in May 2015 saying they are resolving this and that we don't owe money. They fail to call me back, leave any messages, and I have received only the one e-mail (documentation of my efforts can be provided). My job requires that I file and pay my taxes. I need this resolved immediately. I have been sending them information and calling them for over a year. I believe I have provided adequate time for this to be resolved. Meanwhile I have to make payments to keep them (both the IRS and Oregon Dept. of Revenue) from garnishing my check.

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay any and all penalties, and fines,I've acquired as a result of them not following through. I want my credit report to not contain negative information regarding this. I want them to finish their job by contacting the IRS and Oregon Department of Revenue and resolve these issues, ASAP.

10/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Had my taxes prepared by JL Morton & Associates. They failed to have me sign all the paper work required resulting in late fees and interest fees from the IRS. When contacted regarding this she said she had had problems with her staff and that she had to hire a all new staff and that it was not my fault and that she would take care of everything and for me not to worry about it. This was for my 2011 taxes. In 2014 I received a letter from the IRS stating that I owed almost $2000 and that they were going to freeze my bank accounts and or garnish my income. I have tried to contact her several times via e-mail, phone, and in person to no avail. I filed a complaint with the Attorney General who sanctioned her because of no response. (case no. XXXXXXXXXX) I am on disability and cannot afford to pay this amount to the IRS especially for something that was not my fault. The amount owed continues to increase and I am faced with the real possibility of having my social security disability garnished. Product_Or_Service: Tax preparation

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I would like for her (***** ******) to do what she promised me she would do. Resolve this with the IRS before I am put through any hardship resulting from garnishment of income or loss from savings account. The Attorney Generals office says to seek legal counsel but that does require a financial investment that I really can't afford.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 19, 2014/09/22) */ This year it has been difficult to respond to your complaint due to health reasons. Yes, I have said that this is not your penalty to pay. I'm willing to pay, but I'm still trying to get them all of the penalties written off. No matter what, I need to see all letters that are sent to you so I know how to proceed. After all my avenues are exhausted I will pay the penalty, if it is not written off -- just to do not want to pay the penalty and then have them write it off. Our guarantee is that we will pay penalties. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 21, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)