BBB Accredited Business since

ABB Stoves Hearth & Home LLC

Phone: (503) 378-1125 Fax: (503) 378-7407 View Additional Phone Numbers 3800 River Rd N Ste 180, Keizer, OR 97303 http://www.abbstoves.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers installation, sales, and repair services for stoves and spas.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ABB Stoves Hearth & Home LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ABB Stoves Hearth & Home LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on ABB Stoves Hearth & Home LLC
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 26, 2011 Business started: 09/01/1988 Business started locally: 09/01/1988 Business incorporated 06/20/2013 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Jerry Long, Member Mrs. Chong Long, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jerry Long, Member
Business Category

Stoves - Wood, Coal Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Construction & Remodeling Services Remodeling Services


Additional Locations

  • 3800 River Rd N Ste 180

    Keizer, OR 97303 (503) 378-0162 (503) 378-1125

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They where hired to do a preseason cleaning on our pellet stove the first time they came out the broke a fan and did not clean units to industry standers the second time they came out they replaced the fan they broke first time and re cleaned still not to standers when they left neither stove worked did not find out till that night when I went to light stove called them the next Morning and owner said he would call that afternoon between 3-4 no phone call back

Desired Settlement: Stove fixed at there coast

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/12) */ November 8, 2013 Customer called on October 2, 2013 to schedule an appointment to clean 2 pellet stoves, one free-standing and one insert. We scheduled him for October 16, 2013 at 1:00 pm. Customer called back on October 28, 2013 to say that the tech had come out and was in and out in only 2 hours (he believed that each stove took 2 hrs to complete, when in reality we allot 1 hour per stove cleaning, which I told him). He said that he was awakened during the night by smoke in the house from one of the stoves. He turned it off and looked at it and believed that the combustion fan seized up due to the cleaning (the next day, I’m assuming) and said that it didn’t appear that the stove had been cleaned -(dust bunnies and webs). He also stated that he didn’t think they cleaned out the hoppers and asked if they should have. I told him that I had never been on a cleaning job so I wasn’t sure, but I had never heard any of the technicians say anything about having to have the hopper empty so they could clean them, so I didn’t believe they did. Scheduled **** to go and check things out. **** came back and said that the way the stove was, it was a safety hazard and that he told the customer that. After ****’s visit, the customer called again and asked to speak to the manager and I told him that ***** would call him around 3:00 pm (he was going to be out of the office due to appointments). A little later, customer called back and said never mind, he was going to go on Facebook to complain (which he did, 3 times) call the Better Business Bureau and was going to put a stop-payment on his check and that he was going to call another company to come and “fix” the stove and if there was any money left over, he would send it to us. Sincerely, *********** Customer Service November 8, 2013 TO WHOM IT MAY CONCERN: Upon arriving at the customer’s house, I received a detailed complaint about ABB Stove’s last tech’s poor cleaning job and about a fan no longer working properly as it was the day prior to his service. I then explained to the customer that I would be performing a thorough cleaning and investigating the cause of the fan working improperly. The customer was very upset that I needed to investigate the problem before replacing or warranting any items. When he lead me to the Austroflamm Pellet Stove downstairs, the stove was disassembled. The customer had already been going through the unit. He pointed out that the fan was catching the interior blades on some object. I then continued my inspection to determine the cause of the bent fan blade. My inspection revealed that our tech had bent the rusty fan blade with his vacuum hose when cleaning out the ash catch on the back right of the unit. I then attempted to contact ABB Stoves to get authorization to replace the fan motor from the owner. After failed attempts, I made the call to proceed with a fan replacement. When I was going through the wiring to disconnect old fan wires, I came across a control panel lying across the unit with no mounting brackets. I also found a series of wires connected to a molex and then dead-ending, not connected to anything. Instead of messing with the wiring, I cut and spliced the wires off the old fan to avoid messing with the stoves current mess of wires. After installing the new fan, I continued my inspection of the unit only to find that the main fuse controlling power to the whole unit had been bypassed. This fuse is a safety feature for the stove, controlling power and surges to the unit. There was also a rheostate added to the unit for controlling the convection fan speed. This additional feature bypasses the heat sensitive switch that controls this fan and prevents overheating of the unit. I wasn’t able to locate a mounting plate for the control panel found lying inside the unit surrounded by metal. After a proper cleaning was performed, I returned all controls and wires to their original location prior to my arrival. The customer was upset because he did not see me empty the hopper and vacuum the pellet fines from the hopper. I let the customer know that was not something our company performs because soon as the 60 pounds of pellets go back the same amount of pellet dust would accumulate. The customer had advised me that he had called around to check standard cleaning procedures and policies of other companies and I simply stated that their policies and ours aren’t identical. I then proceeded to perform a cleaning on the upstairs unit. I had noticed that the only thing not performed on the previous service was dusting behind the unit. The customer stated that this stove still ran fine and he had already burned it since the original service; this was clear due to the ash in the fire box. I then performed chimney inspections on both stoves. The upstairs unit revealed no pellet exhaust liner going to the point of termination. This would cause soot to fall back behind the stove insert, which was apparent when cleaning out behind the unit. When filling out my paperwork at the end, I went over all the issues with the customer, advising him that the Austroflamm downstairs in the current condition was an operating hazard would fail to shut down due to a misoperating component or power surge, causing damage to control circuits. This is common in rural homes where power outages are likely. The customer acknowledged the stove’s condition and was more interested in getting out the door to go deer hunting. The stove downstairs would not pass a safety inspection I advised him, because of the adult care being run out of the home and current State of Oregon requirements with situations like this. I then left a copy of the invoice and concluded the service. Sincerely, **** ****** Lead Technician November 7, 2013 To whom it may concern, On the day of October 16, 2013 I arrived at the customers ************ Residence, ***** ****************** Sheridan, OR 97378 at approximately 1:00pm in the afternoon. I was at the residants house for cleanings of two pellet stoves. A Lennox insert pellet stove and an Austroflamm free standing pellet stove. When I first arrived I took a look at both of the stoves to see where the stoves were located and where the chimney was. I then went outside and swept both chimneys with the proper cleaning rods and brushes. When inside the upstairs stove was the first one that I cleaned. I proceeded to thoroughly vacuumed and brushed the inside. I then took off the side panels and wiped and brushed off the motors. To finish the stove I cleaned the glass. When I am done with all stoves I always run the stove to make sure that the stove is sound and that nothing went wrong with it during the cleaning. After running the stove for about fifteen minutes I then shut it down to go start the cleaning on the downstairs stove. I then pulled out the inside panels of the stove to vacuum where I noticed that there was a good amount of buildup of ash. I then pulled the motor of the combustion fan to vacuum the cleanout. After putting the motor back on I pulled the cleanout cap off the bottom of the T that connects to the back of the stove and vacuumed out the pipe and cap. When done I then ran the stove, while doing that I noticed that the power knob was lose, but did not have an affect on the stove running. When I left the residence both stoves were turned on and running properly. Sincerely, ************, Technician