BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers storage units, automobile storage and private mail boxes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that 12th & Madison Self Storage meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for 12th & Madison Self Storage include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on 12th & Madison Self Storage
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 01, 2000 Business started: 07/01/1977 Business started locally: 07/01/1977
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Lorin Christean, President Mr. Patrick Reilly, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Lorin Christean, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Julia Reed-Voldal, Manager
Business Category

Storage Units - Household & Commercial Mail Box Rental & Receiving

Alternate Business Names
Twelfth and Madison Self Storage Urban Self Storage Inc

Additional Locations

  • 1111 E Madison St

    Seattle, WA 98122 (206) 322-8408

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought storage here about a year ago. I made something a $40 or $60 deposit on a very small storage space. When I quit using the space I did not know where I would be moving to and the clerk told me I can rest assured that they will send the deposit to the wrong address a few months after I leave. I got to thinking about this recently because another storage place on the east coast has been sending my $100 deposit on an even smaller storage unit to the wrong address despite giving them the new one and I filed a complaint on them. Product_Or_Service: A very small storage locker.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like the $40 or more (they will have a better idea of how much they owe) check sent to my new address. The dates and prices on the next form are approximate. I can't remember very well because it has been about 1 year.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 16, 2014/06/18) */ We appreciate the feedback and would like to remedy this complaint. However our company does not hold deposits on our storage spaces. On 4-16-13 payment for the first 30 days of storage was made in the amount of $51.37. On 5-13-13 *** **** made his second month's rent payment in the amount of $53.75 which paid him through 6-15-13. *** ***** vacated on 5-31-13 using 16 days. In our rental agreement customer signed on 4-16-13 it outlines the customer's right to vacate within the first 10 days in order to prorate the rent. *** ***** would have needed to vacate by 5-26-14 in order to receive a refund. We would be happy to provide customer history to review. We look forward to the resolution of this matter. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 18, 2014/06/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Pretty sure they charged me a deposit because I remember they just couldn't figure out how to send it back to me or give it to me right then and there. They might have stopped doing this but the did it to me. Oh. They ripped me off for a half months rent and 2 months on the mail box. I forgot about this. Maybe it was the money for the mailbox. Final Business Response /* (1000, 32, 2014/07/18) */ Although we do not hold deposits or prorate beyond the 10th day from your due date, we would like to offer a refund of $25.11 on the storage space. As *** **** did use the space 16 days in May, this amount is based on the remaining 14 days left in the rental period. In further review we were able to pull records for your mailbox rental also. On 5.31.13 you were issued a $22.00 refund check and should have received this check by mail to the address you noted on your account when signing our rental agreement. In addition to the $25.11 prorated rent on the storage space, we would also include $22.00 for the mailbox refund in good faith that this check was never received by *** ****. The proposed check amount would total $47.11. If Mr. **** can provide us with a current address we will get this check written and sent. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 34, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) ****** **** **** ***** ***** Bronx, NY XXXXX