BBB Accredited Business since

Sports Management Worldwide Inc

Phone: (503) 445-7105 Fax: (503) 445-9392 View Additional Phone Numbers 1100 NW Glisan St Ste 2B, Portland, OR 97209 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.smww.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers web based education in the field of professional athlete management and agents for individuals in the sports field.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sports Management Worldwide Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sports Management Worldwide Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Sports Management Worldwide Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2001 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998 Business incorporated 05/23/2003 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Dr. Lynn Lashbrook, President Mr. Jeff Brody, Vice President of Operations
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Jeff Brody, Vice President of Operations
Principal: Dr. Lynn Lashbrook, President
Business Category

Sports Promoters & Managers Correspondence Schools

Alternate Business Names
Sports Management.com Inc SportsManagementU Inc

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Sports Management Worldwide Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 1100 NW Glisan St Ste 2B

    Portland, OR 97209 (503) 407-2959 (503) 491-0908 (503) 546-9039 (877) 769-9669 (888) 952-4368 (503) 445-7105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I originally signed up for the program after my first payment was made my wife lost her job and I was going to have to work more hours and wouldn't be able to take the classes. I called to cancel any other payments and was told "well this is a business I can't go about giving money back". I understood this an said I didn't care about money they already took but didn't want to be billed any further. However, they still automatically took out two more payments from my account without my permission. I never took one class. An am out a total of 1200 dollars.

Desired Settlement: I am only looking for the refund of the second two payments

Business Response: BBB,

We tried numerous times to reach **** about cancelling his course. We never heard back from him until reading this complaint. Feel free to have **** call us.

Thanks,
Dr. Lynn L********

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I had never heard from them at all and the time I did try talking to them they had said "This is a business" and basically tried to turn everything onto me.

Business Response:

Attached is our refund policy.  **** L****** and Dr. L******** left several messages for **** and we never heard back.  The complaint was filed 1 year after his enrollment.

Thanks

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***



Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me. Even though the information provided to me was not the case. Find the following email correspondence  
From: *** ******* **************
To: '**** ********** **************
Sent: Thu, Aug 15, 2013 1:14 pm
Subject: RE: Payment   

****,

 
You can call the office for cancellation requests and ask to speak with Dr. L********, however, we can enroll you for a course at any time and/or give you an extension on the October course, since everything is all self-paced!  The toll-free number at the office here is***************
Best regards,
 
 
Jon ** *****
Sports Career Advisor
Sports Management Worldwide
**** ** ****** **
Portland, Oregon, USA 97209
 
 
Office:  *************
 
 
 
I did call and talk to Dr L******** and that is when I said to keep first payment but not to charge me again. Even though I do not agree with the resolution I really have no choice because they are not going to admit their faults and I don't have the patience to deal with this process anymore

**** *********

6/10/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues