BBB Accredited Business since

Speedometer Service & Instrument Company

Phone: (503) 227-5567 Fax: (503) 227-7768 View Additional Phone Numbers 3551 NW Front Ave, Portland, OR 97210 http://www.speedometerserviceportland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers push-pull cable manufacturing, gauges, lubrication equipment, speedometers and custom cables.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Speedometer Service & Instrument Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Speedometer Service & Instrument Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Speedometer Service & Instrument Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 1999 Business started: 10/01/1974 Business started locally: 10/01/1974 Business incorporated 03/17/2011 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Stephen Shaw, President Mrs. Carol Shaw, Secretary
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Stephen Shaw, President
Business Category

Speedometers Auto Repair & Service Gauges & Gages Wire & Cable - Non-Electric Auto Parts & Supplies - New

Hours of Operation
8:00am - 5:00pm Monday - Friday
Closed Saturday and Sunday

Additional Locations

  • 3551 NW Front Ave

    Portland, OR 97210 (800) 634-2145 (503) 227-5567

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My speedometer and odometer quit working entirely. I had a repair shop replace the speed sensor on my transmission and it did not fix the problem so it turned out the issue was in the instrument cluster in the dashboard. I had the shop remove the instrument cluster and I took it to Speedometer Service and Instrument to get it fixed. It turns out that they did not fix it themselves, they sent it out. I paid for it, had it reinstalled and it doesn't work quite right. The odometer is off by about -10% and the speedometer won't go higher than 60 MPH. I called about it and the lady hung up on me. Days later I tried again and Steve is hot tempered too. Steve is telling me that I changed to bigger tires or changed the gear ratio in my rear differential while the speedometer was out and being repaired and now that it is re-installed of course it won't work. Ridiculous. I asked him to let me give him the exact symptoms so he could call the company that fixed it for him and he wouldn't listen and got the symptoms wrong. They are too impatient to get things right. They are just too difficult to deal with. I want a refund so I can have somebody else fix it. I am out the removal and reinstallation of the instrument cluster too. That will have to be paid for again to get this thing fixed. When I picked up my instrument cluster I asked what had been wrong with it and I did not get an answer or old parts, even with a follow up phone call from them to me. Customers are supposed to get explanations and the old parts when their things are repaired.

Desired Settlement: Refund.

Business Response:

I called the shop where we sent the cluster to have repaired, and explained what ***** said was wrong with the repair. We were told that since the odometer was 10% off that the problem was not in the cluster, but in the vehicle. ***** would not except that as a good answer. If he wants to bring in the vehicle, we can put it on the roller and check it that way. I have been doing business with the company I sent it to for over 30 years, and feel he is telling me the truth.

Steve

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because there is no way they can know that the problem is in the vehicle. I don't want to continue down this path of resistance and improper demeanor. I just want a refund.

Sincerely,

***** *****

Business Response:

The customer can resolve this issue by bringing the vehicle in for a speed check. This would determine where the problem is and if it is not in the vehicle, I will be glad to give him a refund.


Steve

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because I had already told Steve that the speed sensor on the transmission was replaced before I brought the instrument cluster to him, eliminating the possibility of the problem being in the vehicle. He purposely made it impossible for me to explain the symptoms to him. I offered to go over the symptoms with him before he called his third party to pass the symptoms on and he refused to listen and then got them wrong again. He was angered at a return. He got the symptoms wrong and made a bad diagnosis because of it. He apparently is still doing so. I have explained that the  problem is not in the truck. My 3-year mechanic, **** at ***** ****** **** in Tigard had already replaced the speed sensor for me to no avail, diagnosed it as an expensive instrument cluster repair and removed it for me so I could take it to Steve. Steve doesn't hear people out. Why is it fair that I  keep spending time waiting for him to? I just want a refund.

Sincerely,

***** *****