BBB Accredited Business since

The Spa Depot Inc

Phone: (360) 956-3997 View Additional Phone Numbers 8910 Select Ct SE, Olympia, WA 98501 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.spadepot.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers spa and hot tub sales and supplies.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Spa Depot Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Spa Depot Inc include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 30 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 6
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 11
Problems with Product/Service 12
Total Closed Complaints 30

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on The Spa Depot Inc
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 2
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 15, 1999 Business started: 03/01/1997 Business started locally: 03/01/1997 Business incorporated 03/11/1997 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. David Williams, President Mr. Randy Martin, Customer Care Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Randy Martin, Customer Care Manager
Principal: Mr. David Williams, President
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Internet Shopping

Method(s) of Payment

PayPal

Mastercard

Visa

American Express

Alternate Business Names
Spa Depot SpaDepot.com

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

The Spa Depot Inc has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 8910 Select Ct SE

    Olympia, WA 98501 (360) 956-3997 (800) 823-3638

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/9/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a $7,000 spa from spa depot in January 2015. It had problems that we adequately addressed & I'm satisfied with the product. I decided to add a review on spa depot's website. Their review policy says to allow 10 days. I added another reviee after 10 days with careful compliance with their review policy. This has now been over 30 days & my review is still not showing. Yes, my review is negative, but not derogatory. I was factual. I believe this company is misleading the public by only publishing favorable reviews. I relied on their posted reviews & believed that I was reading all "complaint" reviews. Shame on spa depot for only posting favorable reviews.

Desired Settlement: Post my review & all other compliant reviews. Be more honest with your stats. For example, you now say 5 out of 5 reviews are 5star reviews....this is not true.

Business Response:   Hi *****,

As long as your review meets the guidelines below it will
certainly be posted.  Please feel free to
post your comments accordingly.  Thanks
again for your business!

 

Customer Product Review
Guidelines

Following these guidelines will help ensure your product review is posted:


Focus solely on the product you are reviewing, and your
actual experience using it.
Reviews should not address shipping or purchase
matters. Please contact Customer Care regarding these issues.
Provide specific details about what you did or didn't
like about the product.
The purpose of a product review is to provide insight
for others considering purchasing the product.
Keep in mind that all submitted product reviews are
subject to the terms set forth in our Terms of Use.
Reviews must meet internal guidelines and be written in
English.
Reviews will not be posted if the reviewer does not
have experience using the product.


We reserve the right not to post any product review or those
containing any of the following:


Any information not related to the actual merchandise.
Obscenities, defamatory language, or other content not
suitable for a public forum.
Prices, advertisements, spam content,
or references to other products, offers, websites, or competitors.
Email addresses, phone numbers, links to websites,
physical addresses or other forms of contact information.
Critical comments about other product reviews or their
reviewers.


We check and post most product reviews
meeting guidelines within five days of submission. The Spa Depot thanks you for
taking time to share your opinions with others!

Thank you,

*****

Customer Care Manager



************

www.SpaDepot.com

 

 

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have submitted 3 reviews, and none have been posted by the spa depot.  The first reviee was lengthy & contained many facts & conerns.  After it never showed up, I thought "well, perhaps the company is finding a policy violation."  So, I submitted a simpler & less offensive version, but I was careful to stay within their guidelines.  .  & after the 2nd review never showed up, I created a 3rd very simple reviee that was clearly within their guidelines.   That one never showed up either.  
If spa drpot was sincere about their review publishing practice, then they should be proactive about contacting the reviewer & telling them why a particular review is rejected.  Instead, it is ip to me to check back on their website to ser if my review is published.   This results in their inappropriate representation that they are publishing all reviews that meet this criteria.   
I relied on their published reviews before buying a hot tub & I now believe that I wasn't presented all of their reviews.
My 3rd review is clearly within their guidelines.  It is not right for them to say "write another one."  However, I will now write a 4th review & test, once again, if it is published. 
This is a clear case of misrepresenting their reviews & constitutes false advertising. 

Sincerely,

***** ********

Business Response: “On  6/3/2015 Mr. ******** submitted a product review on
the Belize e850L. This review did meet our guidelines and was published on our
website.”

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** ********

3/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Hot tub cover is made from inferior quality material and workmanship. It is falling apart.***** says they are honoring the covers made by ********** and they are now out of business yet he will not honor mine.

Desired Settlement: A new cover made with quality material and workmanship.

Business Response: Hi *****,
In your complaint to the BBB you stated that we would not honor your warranty. As per the email I sent to you on 12/11/14, I conveyed to you that your spa cover had a one year warranty (as it has a 1.2lb foam core and is single wrapped), and given it was purchased on 10/11/2010, it was no longer under warranty.

On 12/12/14 I sent you another email in response to yours sent later on 12/11/14 with you insisting we provide you a brand new cover at no charge. In my 12/12/14 response email I sent you a copy of your warranty verifying the one year provision and offered you a discount on a new cover, should you decide to order a replacement.

If you decide to take advantage of my offer, please respond and I will make it happen.


Thank you,
*****
Customer Care Manager

**************

M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time
www.SpaDepot.com

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because the first few weeks I spoke to them they said it was covered. Then after wasting my time and energy with pictures and letters 3 times, they said it's not covered. Regardless of any warranty it is a defective product. It is made of poor quality material and workmanship. It is A PIECE OF GARBAGE! Regardless of warranty or no warranty I expect a product to not be defective. They have many complaints about the products and even told me they switched suppliers because of the garbage they made.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It is not even close enough to help me recover the loss I sustained from the defective cover you sold me. I will accept half off on a new cover.

Sincerely,

***** **********

Business Response: Customer spa cover has been out of warranty for several years.  However I have made an offer of a $50 discount on a new order.

1/9/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Cover has two years remaining on its warranty period. 1/1/11 to 1/1/16-Five year warranty period. The fold crease which enables the cover to fold in half when open is torn for a distance of six inches on both sides which causes the Ideal Cover Lift operation to malfunction and defeats the purpose of the Lift.

Desired Settlement: I would like the last two years of warranty to be enforced with credit for a new equal quality Spa Cover or Cash to reflect a three year warranty. No more devious reasons or excuses for warranty delay.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/16) */ Hi *****, I am sorry you are having problems with your spa cover. As a 20+ year spa owner myself I can certainly understand how cover issues can make life unpleasant and take the joy out of using your spa! After careful review of the information and pictures you sent in, here are the findings as it relates to your warranty claim: Jpg 2554, 2556, 2558, 2559 (all sent 11/7/14) and jpeg 2869 sent 11/13/14: All of these photos clearly show how the cover lifter directly attributed to the damage to the seams and vinyl. The specific exclusion language in your cover warranty is as follows: EXCLUSIONS "This warranty does not cover damage due to improper use, accidents, wind, normal wear and tear, or any of the following: Damage to seams, vinyl, straps or core caused by a cover lifting or storage device." Jpeg 2867, 2869, 2871, 2873, and 2874 (all sent on 11/13/14): All show obvious chemical damage depicted by the drastic color contrasts/discoloration. Regular maintenance and cleaning using approved product is essential in the maintenance of any spa cover. You mention in your email of 11/12/14: "No cleaners are used on the cover; whisk brush is used daily to brush away leaves. No additional maintenance is performed on cover". This condition speaks directly to the exclusion language contained within you cover warranty which says in part: EXCLUSIONS "This warranty does not cover damage due to improper use, accidents, wind, normal wear and tear, or any of the following: "Failure to provide reasonable periodic maintenance"," Damage due to excessive chemicals, ozone, or improper water balance." Please take a few minutes to visit our site where there is a wealth of information on caring for a spa cover which will surely contribute to the longest life possible for any spa cover: Click on the following link to view in detail: http://www.spadepot.com/spacyclopedia/spa-cover-maintenance.htm Your business is very important to us and being a longtime customer, I would like to reach out to you in an effort to make this right. With that said, I am willing to offer $100 off the purchase of the EMAX cover which is the equivalent of your current cover and free upgrades of double wrap core, full length thermal seal, and energy reflex shield that normally all retail for an additional $85. That would bring your total to $349.95 on a normal retail of $534.95, a savings of $185! If you would like to take advantage of this offer please respond to me and I will ensure that you receive this savings. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/26) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Spa Depot cannot be trusted. Review two Spa web sites which contain past clients reviews. Spa Depot has 4.8 to 5.0 scores but other owners have a 2 or 3 ratings and have in their rating that they would not own a Spa Depot spa ever again! I would not own a Spa Depot spa again Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday

1/8/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a spa cover from the Spa Depot on 9/24/10. The warranty states that if the cover fails with the five year warranty period, it will be replaced. The cover started taking on water and became very heavy a few months ago, about four years into the warranty period. I attempted to get The Spa Depot to stand behind their product and live up to the warranty by replacing my cover. I provided them with pictures of the damage. Their response is that the damage to the cover is due to the way I maintained the cover, but I have followed their maintenance recommendations for the entire time I have owned the spa cover. There has been no damage to the spa cover due to my negligence, such as someone walking on the cover or spilling harmful chemicals onto it. It has been used normally and has become water logged under this normal use. I believe I am entitled to a refund or a replacement of the spa cover under the warranty.

Desired Settlement: I would like the cover replaced with a new one.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/12) */ Contact Name and Title: *****-Customer Care Mgr Contact Phone: X-XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *****@spadepot.com Hi *****, I am sorry you are having problems with your spa cover. As a 20+ year spa owner myself I can certainly understand how cover issues can make life unpleasant and take the joy out of using your spa! I just recently took interest in your warranty claim and have done my best to review all of the information you provided and all of the communication you have had with Garth. Upon review of the information and viewing the pictures you provided, here are my findings: Image 3.JJPG (10/16/14): The concentrated dark area is a result of ozone damage; typically as a result of the direction the jets are moving the water. This meets the warranty exclusion language: "Damage or underside delamination due to excessive chemicals, ozone, or improper water balance." Image 1.JPG/Image 2 JGP (10/22/14): The unusual discoloration on the top surface of the cover is the result of using the wrong type of cleaning product and/or not cleaning regularly. This deterioration of the outer surface would easily allow water intrusion thus rendering the core waterlogged and encouraging development of mildew. This meets the warranty exclusion language: "Failure to provide reasonable periodic maintenance, Cleaning with harsh chemicals, chlorine or abrasives." Image Baqua Spa: This photo shows the class of chemicals you have been using in the maintenance of your water chemistry/spa. It has become apparent in the industry products containing PHMB can be detrimental to spas and spa covers. Here is some information directly from our website that specifically speaks to this: " Biguanides There are several brands of Biguanides on the market (chemical name: polyhexamethylene biguanide or PHMB) such as BAQUACIL(r) and SoftSwim(r). We do not offer them because of lack of compatibility with other spa chemicals, and because they tend to be more expensive than other sanitizer systems. Their use may require other proprietary companion products such as special filters cleaners, etc. Biguanides may erode certain plastics such as polycarbonates. Many users report problems with algae slime that are difficult to eradicate." Please take a few minutes to visit our site where there is a wealth of information on caring for a spa cover which will surely contribute to the longest life possible for any spa cover: Click the following link to view more in detail: http://www.spadepot.com/spacyclopedia/spa-cover-maintenance.htm Your business is very important to us and I would like to reach out to you and find a way to make this right for you. So with all of this said, I would like to offer you $100 off the purchase of a replacement cover in an effort to mitigate your current situation. If you would like to take advantage of this offer please respond to me and I will ensure that you receive this credit. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com

12/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spa Depot sold me a spa cover in April 2011, they claim is made with premium grade marine vinyl and warranted for 5 years against material defects un-prorated. I live in a mild climate. The Zipper has totally broken apart and the inner cover is separating. I emailed the Spa Depot with pictures. They said that I did not balance my water correctly, from looking at the pictures. I have always balanced my water. Their cover is not the quality they are claiming. You paid extra money to make it last 5 years, but it doesn't make it.

Desired Settlement: They need to replace the cover as per the warranty.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/07) */ Dear Valued Customer, I regret this situation has arisen for you. Our spa cover warranty folks have accumulated many years in the industry and have had the opportunity to experience virtually every possible occurrence as it relates to spa covers. We have found their unique insight and knowledge to this side of the business to be instrumental in accurately assessing any warranty claim that is submitted. Upon inspection of the photos you have submitted, it appears you have taken good care of the top surface of the cover, given the approximately 3.5 years it has been in your possession. When viewing your photo #3 of 6 of the underside, it depicts a huge contrast in color in the center/zipper section compared to the steam blockers and the exterior color of your cover. This significantly lighter colored section in the center/zipper area is a direct result of chemical/vapor damage that has occurred over a period of time. This easily explains the deterioration of your zipper and the underside of your cover. This can further be exacerbated, if the cover is not completely removed from the spa when in use. It is in my view that I concur with the warranty claim assessment made by our experts that specifically speaks to the language in the cover warranty under Exclusions:" Damage, breakdown or delaminating of materials due to chemicals, ozone, or improper water balance". With that said, please feel free to contact me and I would be happy to make you an attractive offer on a replacement cover to help mitigate an already unpleasant situation for you. On our website we offer an abundant amount of information that can be helpful in prolonging the life of your cover. Take a look at: http://www.spadepot.com/spacyclopedia/spa-cover-maintenance.htm for some very helpful tips in protecting your investment in your spa cover. Thanks again for your business. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I paid extra money to have a 5 year warranty and I have balanced the chemicals properly. The materials you used are not the quality of what you have claimed. I want the replacement of the cover. I have stopped buying from your website and I hope that you discontinue your warranty that does not even come close to the 5 years you claim. This is not my first whirlpool, but this is my first cover with your company...and now my last. Please stop making false claims online and then when a warranty claim comes in, look for any excuse not to back up your product.

12/11/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought a product with a 5 year warranty which failed after 3 years. Company claimed it was not under warranty due to maintenance. The product has been maintained per the manufacturers instructions

Desired Settlement: I would like a credit for half the cost of a ne spa cover although I am entitled to a full refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/13) */ Dear Valued Customer, I regret this situation has arisen for you. Our spa cover warranty folks have accumulated many years in the industry and have had the opportunity to experience virtually every possible occurrence as it relates to spa covers. We have found their unique insight and knowledge to this side of the business to be instrumental in accurately assessing any warranty claim that is submitted. To address your statement in the complaint: "Bought a product with a 5 year warranty which failed after 3 years. Company claimed it was not under warranty due to maintenance. The product has been maintained per the manufacturer's instructions As you well know, you ordered this spa cover on 1/12/10, approaching close to 5 years ago. You also posted the same inaccurate information on Facebook on approximately October 13th of this year:" I bought an upgraded spa cover 3 years ago with a 5 year warranty. The stitching has come lose and both zippers are broken. The warranty claim was denied after they viewed a photo and said the cover was faded so therefore I used too many chemical which is ridiculous as I always test the water and use minimal chemicals. They will not honor the warranty or offer a reasonable settlement to stand behind their product. Very bad customer support". The pictures you submitted clearly showed severe color discoloration that specifically speaks to the language in the warranty: Exclusions:" Damage, breakdown or delaminating of materials due to chemicals, ozone, or improper water balance". By your own admission in an email to us you indicated: "That is not the case as I test the water every month and treat the water as necessary." Testing water as infrequently as once per month can easily lead to chemical imbalance and contribute to the shortening of the life of a spa cover. Depending on the sanitizing system in use, water may need to be checked as frequently and two times per week. On our website we offer an abundant amount of information that can be helpful in prolonging the life of your cover. Take a look at: http://www.spadepot.com/spacyclopedia/spa-cover-maintenance.htm for some very helpful tips in protecting your investment in your spa cover. With all of this said, and despite your many assertive calls to our call center I am still willing to stand by the offer I made to you again on October 21st: "As I mentioned earlier I am willing to give you 10% off the purchase of a new spa cover and will provide the double wrap and energy reflex shield at no additional cost to you. If you decide to take advantage of this, let me know and I will ensure you get this when you place your order. thanks." Depending on the cover you choose that could be a savings of as much as $105! Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/11/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) We discussed your offer which I feel is totally unacceptable. Your product failed and should be replaced per your warranty. I took care of my spa cover per your requirements and it failed. I did offer to split the cost of a new one but you refused. Your offer to proved a 10 per cent discount and a few upgrades means you still get to make money on selling me another cover while not honoring your warranty. Why even have a warranty?

10/2/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They promise you that the cover will be done in 2 1/2 weeks well now it's been a month a still no cover. They took my money in under 2 1/2 seconds though.I emailed them and they promised it would done in next few days - another week passed. They do not communicate at all any issues.

Desired Settlement: A refund or 30% or more off and actually deliver my cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/30) */ September 30, 2014 Dear Valued Customer, I am sorry you are unhappy with the level of service you recently received from SpaDepot.Com as it relates to your spa cover purchase. Throughout the year the spa cover production facility will experience unanticipated demand for covers, which at times can create a backlog in the production/delivery timeframes. On our website it clearly stated at the time you ordered your cover (8/5/14), that it takes up to 2.5 weeks to produce a spa cover (currently it now says 3.5 weeks due to seasonality shift) and up to 10 business days for shipping. Also in the terms and conditions that you agreed to and confirmed back to us, it states that it could take an additional 10 business days for the shipment of the cover in addition to the 2.5 weeks production time. The email you received from us on 8/6 confirming your cover order also stated the exact timeframe of 2.5 weeks for production and up to10 business days shipping time. With that all said, your cover was shipped on 9/9 and you received it on 9/17, or 43 days after you submitted your order. The 43 days exceeded our then current stated timeframe of 32 days, making your cover 11 days late getting to you. On 9/9 you accepted a $30 refund from *****, our spa cover Manager for consideration for the delay from the production facility. I will notify our Accounting Department today to refund you an additional $50 for the inconvenience this has caused you. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/10/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) You forgot to mention that I was told 2 different times that the cover was either done or would be done by the end of the week and both times that was a lie. That's the part that bothers me the most. So in total: 1) It was not completed by the quoted time 2) Was told that it would be done by the end of week - which is was not and 3) I was told that it was completed - which it was not. That would be three lies total. I'll take the $50 dollars but will never do business with you again and will go out of my way to ensure other people will steer clear of you.

9/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had been waiting over 2 months for my hot tub cover to arrive. When it finally arrived, it was the wrong size..and in the company email it says to deny the package if it's damaged...well it was the wrong size, so I denied it because that's what the driver asked of me..now they say that I shouldn't have denied it, that it is no longer in their posession.but I can order another and get a discount.....I payed over $500!!

Desired Settlement: They have payment for it but I have nothing. I want them to either give me the original that I payed for ( seeing as how they won't refund me) I am a reasonable man, and understand it's business, but this is horrible communication with the company and the shippers. And i will buy the right size(another) if they send the first with it. They are saying I lost it because I denied it. That I never should have denied it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/08) */ Dear Valued Customer, I am sorry to hear that you had to order a new cover. Mistakes can be made when ordering spa covers, that is why we go the extra step to send the order with the Terms and Conditions back to the customer to confirm the measurements prior to production. On June 23rd our office did just that and you replied back the same day with an acknowledgement. Under #4 in the Cover Order Information section of the Terms and Conditions it reads: Customer is responsible for accurate and complete measurement of the replacement cover, including shape, style, fold orientation, and suitability of any options or upgrades. No returns will be accepted as a result of customer errors or omissions. Your original order indicated a measurement of 80 inches by 80 inches which was manufactured and shipped to you. Upon receiving your cover it became apparent you had ordered the wrong size and you refused it. While you indicated the driver of the local delivery company suggested you refuse the delivery, it was well within your right to accept it. Once a delivery is refused, the cover is discarded or otherwise disposed of by the local delivery company. On August 22nd you notified our office of your error and *****, our spa cover Manager offered you a $70 discount should you decide to place a new cover order. Unfortunately that was 2 weeks after your delivery date of August 8th. ***** did reach out to the local delivery company and was informed that the cover was no longer in their possession. Perhaps if you would have notified us immediately after your refusal, the original cover could have been located and returned to you. I see on August 29th you placed a new order for a spa cover measuring 91 inches by 94 inches and ***** provided you a $99.95 discount on that order. This is a common courtesy we like to extend to soften the blow when a customer makes a mistake like this and needs to reorder. Again I regret you had to endure this experience. We at The Spa Depot endeavor to provide the best customer service possible and we truly appreciate your business! Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com

9/23/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I placed an order for a spa cover over 2 MONTHS ago and still do not have my product. Your company however has had MY money for those 2 MONTHS. I run a customer service and sales office myself and would never treat any of my customers this way. To top it off, I was never contacted proactively by your company to be told that my cover would be late. I have called your company approximately a dozen times and spoke with a variety of reps who gave me conflicting and different ship dates and excuses. I then demanded to speak with a supervisor in order to express my disgust and all he was able to offer me was a credit to my account for $50. I think that is a joke because after the experience I have had with your company why would I EVER consider ordering anything or referring ANY customer to you. I finally received an email that my cover shipped and 10 days have passed and still have heard NOTHING. I went online and wrote a poor review for your customer service which I see has been blocked and only the rave reviews are posted. This only adds to my disgust even more. I will ensure that now I not only send this email but that I contact the better business bureau about my experience. I would hope to hear back in regards to this email but will not hold my breath as I will be dead by then. The above text was an email sent directly to the company and still no response. I do hope to receive my cover soon. ****** *******

Desired Settlement: #1 product delievered #2 30% REFUND at minimum for my HASSLE.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/02) */ Dear Valued Customer, I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by our new production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued as the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays with our customers. Under "normal" circumstances the cover you ordered on 6/4 should have easily been delivered prior to your going on vacation on 7/18. At your request ***** instructed the logistics folks to not make a delivery until you returned after 8/4. As a result your cover ended up sitting in a preliminary terminal in LA for several days until 8/8 when it was finally included in a truck that was destined for PA. It appears at long last your cover was delivered on 8/17. I see you did receive a $50 in store credit which you redeemed on 9/2 for the delay you endured during this process. But in addition to the in store credit, today I will have our Accounting Department issue you a refund of $115.49, or the 30% off your total purchase price that you requested. Depending on the credit card company, it could take anywhere from a couple of days to 2 weeks for them to post it to your account. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com

9/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I ordered a spa cover on May 26, 2014. I was told it would be manufactured within 7 business days and delivered with a wait time of approximately seven additional days. It is currently July 28, and I have still not received the product. I was told on July 14 that the product was being shipped that day, and that I would receive shipping information later. On July 23 I was told I should be getting a call from the freight company in the "next day or two". I still have not received a call. I was also told via phone that the product was in my home state, but I have no indication that the product is here. I was also told that spa cover shipments "cannot be tracked via our web site at this time". I am beginning to suspect I have been duped. I spent $329 for this cover. I will be discussing this matter with my credit company after I send this complaint.

Desired Settlement: If I am able to legally cancel payment due to non-delivery, I will be doing so. If this is not possible, I wish a compensatory refund for gross mishandling of the order. Considering the fact that I could have gotten a comparable cover locally for approximately $200 more, I request a refund from this order of $200. I will not accept a "discount on future purchases" as I will never use this company again.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/20) */ August 20, 2014 Dear Valued Customer, I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by our new production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued when the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic, as the tracking tool was not yet available to us. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays. To make matters worse, when your cover was finally completed the logistics company that arranges for the shipments for the production facility, shipped your cover to the wrong location. Your cover then sat at the wrong terminal for several days until they discovered the error. The information provided to us by the logistics company only showed it arrived at the destination terminal 7/21 and ready for delivery. At that point we had no idea your cover was sitting in the wrong terminal. Once the logistics company realized their error, your cover was finally shipped to the proper terminal and handed over to *************** that covers the Monon area. When I checked ******** website today I see you finally received your cover on 8/19. I can appreciate your suspicions and frustration having to endure this fiasco, as I would feel the same way myself. With that said, I will issue you a $100 credit today. Our Accounting department will process this immediately, and then it will be up to your credit card company on how quickly they post it. That process typically takes 1-2 weeks. Given this debacle, I fully understand your reluctance to ever wanting to order anything from us again. I will though, issue you a $50 in store credit should you decide to give us a second chance to show what we are truly capable of. You will see this credit in your email within the next 2 business days. Thank you, ***** Customer Care Manager X-XXX-XXX-XXXX M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com

7/25/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 23, 2014, I placed an order for a custom spa cover. I chose Spa Depot as they advertised a 10 day manufacture time for the covers and an additional 3-5 business days for delivery. I paid through credit card. As of the week of June 10, I had not heard from the company at all and called to investigate delivery. The representative told me on the phone that my order was done and I should be hearing from shipping "any day". I still did not hear from the company and placed a call on June18 inquiring again. This time I was told they are "far behind in production" and it would be another 2 1/2 weeks till the cover is completed. That would be a total of 7-8 weeks for the cover. I explained I needed the cover and the reason I chose them over other companies was the delivery time. The representative told me they could not get the cover done any sooner, and I could cancel the order. I asked for a discount as any cover I order now from anywhere else will still take another 2-3 weeks, and this delay was far beyond reasonable based on their advertising and that I had received NO NOTICE of any delay which could have allowed me to order elsewhere. He offered $10 off a $329 purchase. I received an email only today that there is a 3 week delay in production. This is one day short of one month from my order.

Desired Settlement: As there was no timely notification of the delay, and my product will be delivered in triple the amount of time advertised, I expect a discount in price. This is NOT the service I paid for and $10 is an insult. I am looking for a 30% discount.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/08) */ Dear ********* ********, I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by the production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued as the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays with our valued customers and now we are endeavoring to rectify this situation as soon as possible. Your request for a 30% discount is very reasonable and I would like to add an additional $50 in store credit you could use for any future purchase. Again my apologies for this huge inconvenience this has caused you and we would love the chance to win you back as a customer. Please let us know if this is acceptable to you and I will make the discount and credit happen. I just checked the production facility database and it shows your cover is in production. Once it is completed you will receive shipping tracking information. Thank you, ***** ****** Customer Care Manager M-F, 8:00 am - 5:00 pm Pacific Time www.SpaDepot.com

7/21/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: May 21st I ordered a hot tub cover from Spa Depot, order number XXXXXXX. Spa Depot advertises 7 days to manufacture the cover and 7 days for delivery. The cover arrived at ***** warehouse June 18th, where I was to be phoned to schedule a delivery date and time. I never received a call from *****, so I call Monday June 23rd. I'm told that Spa Depots account has been frozen due to lack of payments, and that ***** won't be releasing the cover to me until Spa Depot makes right on their account. I call Spa Depot and they inform me that they will make a payment and get this resolved. The next day I contact *****, and try to pick up the cover myself from their warehouse bypassing the company altogether, and was turned away. ***** says that Spa Depot made a payment, but it wasn't enough to unfreeze their account. I then call Spa Depot back, and I'm told that yes they made a payment, but ***** never told them how much to pay so they guessed on how much money to send. I inform Spa Depot that it wasn't enough, and they put me on hold to talk to their accountant. They then inform me that, they'll make another account payment tomorrow the 25th. I call ***** back the 25th to see if a payment was made and if I can pick up the cover. ***** replies that yes a payment was made and that a manager must unfreeze the account, and as a result I was again turned away. I call back again the 26th and still the account is frozen. I'm being played by two different corporations over a $416.05 hot tub cover that I paid in full over a month ago, and would like to see some resolve.

Desired Settlement: I would like to treated as a valued customer and not like a tool. I'd also like the hot tub cover I ordered over a month ago. I've spent too much of my free time trying to get Spa Depot and ***** to play nice and fine this to be very unprofessional on both ends.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/07/17) */ July 17, 2014 Dear Valued Customer, I am very sorry you have been put through this ordeal as this level of service is unacceptable. We were blindsided by our new production facility regarding the delays as they were inundated by a very high level of orders. Much confusion ensued as the back log continued to grow and information from the production facility became erratic. At The Spa Depot we have always prided ourselves in superior customer service, and this circumstance has been very humbling for us. We did not do a very good job in addressing these delays with our valued customers and now we are endeavoring to rectify this situation as soon as possible. As we transitioned to the new production facility, we encountered several communication issues in need of resolving, one of which was the Accounts Payable function. After much effort by all parties, everything was finally rectified, but not before you were inconvenienced. Even though you finally received your spa cover June 30th, it was 40 days after you made your order. This certainly is not within the timeframe you were expecting when you made your good faith purchase with The Spa Depot. With that said, I would like to extend to you a $100 in store credit that could be used for any future purchases. At The Spa Depot we very much appreciate your business and it is our hope that you will give us another chance to show you what we are capable of doing. Sincerely, ***** ****** Customer Care Manager Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 9, 2014/07/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

1/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We ordered a spa cover with a lift from Spa Depot on 11/15/13. The first cover was to be delivered on 11/20/13; did not show -- delivery company finally contacted to set appointment for 11/21/13. No show. Reset appointment between 2-6 on 11/22/13 -- contacted them at 4 pm to see if we were still on schedule. Was informed package was out would be delivered by 6. Received text message around 7 pm that the package was returned to delivery facility. I contacted Spa Depot. After convincing me to order another cover and wait with the guarantee that if it did not go through fully satisfied that they would give a 100% refund of all items ordered plus no return shipping expenses. Item was finally delivered with box retaped and damaged (mind you, it was delivered the day before Thanksgiving -- I had a house full of 35 people!). After inspection, we discovered underside of cover was punctured and a rip in the skirt of the spa cover. I was informed by ******** that they had "GOOD NEWS". They were going to send me a repair kit to repair the tear myself. I paid almost $800 for a damaged cover AND I get to repair it????? Then upon letting him know I was contacting BBB and disputing it on the credit card; he offered to have the manufacturer pick it up to repair it or send me a new vinyl cover with a $100 credit.

Desired Settlement: I have requested and am still requesting 100% credit on all items ordered, and 100% NO CHARGE on return shipping of these items. I do not want to do business with Spa Depot...they have passed the problem to me to resolve on at least 2 occasions (one to contact delivery company myself to resolve delivery issue, and the other to "repair the skirt myself".) Customer Service? No!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/12/11) */ The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any inconvenience ********* has experienced as a result of freight damage. ********* contacted us on November 19, 2013 to notify us that *** Freight had returned her spa cover to the delivery terminal due to transit damage. A replacement was put in to production and was shipped via ***** freight on November 21, 2013. ********* called and spoke with me on November 19, 2013 and asked that I provide a written guarantee that should her second spa cover arrive with damage, we would issue an immediate refund for her cover (purchased for $587.95) and arrange for return of the other items on her order. I explained that while a second cover arriving damaged is extraordinarily rare, we would arrange for a refund provided the second cover was inspected and refused as damaged as outlined in the Spa Cover Terms and Conditions (http://www.spadepot.com/shop/Custom-Spa-Cover-Terms-and-Conditions-W66.aspx). ********* contacted us via email on November 27, 2013 to notify us that her replacement cover was damaged in transit. Unfortunately, the item was accepted without prior inspection. Upon review of photographs of the damage, I explained to ********* that the minor tear in the vinyl exterior of the cover could be permanently fixed with a patch kit which we would provide at no cost, and this cosmetic damage would have no impact on the item's 5 year warranty. ********* rejected this offer and indicated that she would dispute the transaction as fraudulent with her credit card company. After further negotiation, she agreed to a brand new vinyl exterior and $100 courtesy refund. The Spa Depot certainly understands *********'s frustration with the freight damage and we have acted in good faith to resolve her concerns in a fair and timely manner. *********'s replacement vinyl is currently in production and is scheduled to ship on December 12, 2013. Once installed, this will return her spa cover to brand new condition. Additionally, as previously agreed in our email exchange, we will issue the $100 refund towards her total purchase upon receipt of the vinyl exterior and confirmation that no dispute action has been taken with the credit card company. *********'s total compensation is $225, consisting of a $100 refund and new vinyl valued at $125. This constitutes a significant discount on her cover purchase of $587.95 and is the total amount of compensation available. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 17, 2014/01/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 15, 2014/01/20) */ We have verified that ********* has not initiated a dispute per our agreement and have issued a $100 refund. The credit may take 5-7 business days to appear on her account, depending on the financial institution.

12/9/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ********** spa cover that we purchased from Spadepot has a five year warranty. It is 3 1/2 years old and so heavy that it can hardly be lifted. ********** refuses to make good on their warranty and when I contacted Spadepot concerning the fraudulent advertisement of the warranty when thermalock doesn't actually make good on their warranty, Spadepot's representative supported ********** in their wiggling out of their warranty.

Desired Settlement: Replacement of our spa cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/25) */ The Spa Depot sincerely regrets that *** ******* has experienced issues with her Duratherm spa cover. The warranty for this product is held by ********** ************* and *** ******* began her warranty inquiry on September 24, 2013. The warranty terms (see attached) stipulate that the product must be returned for inspection at the customer's expense, however the manufacturer generally requests photographs in order to expedite warranty service and eliminate return shipping costs for our customers. *** ******* submitted several photographs which clearly illustrate noticeable discoloration and brittleness of the vinyl material on the underside of the cover. This sort of material degradation is indicative of chemical or ozone damage and is not covered under the warranty. While our manufacturer has made a final determination on the warranty claim, The Spa Depot has offered *** ******* a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. This offer is still available and *** ******* is welcome to contact The Spa Depot to order a discounted replacement. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/12/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) essentially, nothing has changed. They will still find an excuse not to warranty it. It's a crock. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/11/27) */ The discoloration on the underside of the cover is evident in the photo *** ******* submitted (see attached). If *** ******* would prefer to return the cover per the warranty terms, we can obtain a return authorization from the manufacturer. The return shipping cost will be at *** *******'s expense, and we suspect the warranty determination will be the same. We are still willing to offer a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. *** ******* is welcome to call The Spa Depot at her convenience to place the order. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

10/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i purchased in nov 2012 a super tub i have had several problems with the filter falling off and also the control panel leaked we almost got electrocuted the panel flooded the electrical box and the room all spa depot did was send us new parts we have no idea how to instal and check for safety they will not send anyone out to help or send us a new tub

Desired Settlement: new tub or complete repair service from them at no cost

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/17) */ The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any issues *** ****** has experienced with her Supertub. I spoke with *** ****** on July 29, 2013 and explained the warranty terms of her Supertub, which does not provide on-premise labor coverage past 90 days. *** ****** purchased this product November 14, 2012 and the warranty (see attached) is held by *****************. The Supertub's warranty is for 1 year, with labor covered for the first 90 days. *** ****** contacted ***************** regarding water damage to her spa controls and was sent a replacement part. Per the warranty terms, *** ****** is responsible for the labor costs involved in this repair, however The Spa Depot is happy to provide free technical guidance to a qualified service person. As for possible replacement of her tub, this would require prior return authorization by the manufacturer and *** ****** would be responsible for freight charges associated with returning the hot tub. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/09/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i would like toknow how much the freight charge would be to return this unit and get a new one Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/09/19) */ Per the warranty terms, return authorization must be obtained from the manufacturer. Total freight charges are estimated at approximately $500. This estimate does not constitute approval to return the Supertub or any promise of replacement as this must be obtained directly through *****************.

9/19/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Spa Depot sold us a spa cover in 2009, (DuraTherm) they claim is made with premium grade marine vinyl and warrantied for 5 years against material defects un-prorated. We live in a very mild climate (Monterey , Ca). The top of our spa cover completely disintegrated at year 4. I emailed the Spa Depot with pictures. They acknowledged that the pictures clearly show that the top of the cover's vinyl degraded severely. Their response though was that it must have been my fault for using harsh chemicals or pesticides, therefore the warranty was void. I have never used anything but water to clean the top. They basically sell a cover that was apparently made with low grade vinyl, and have no intention of honoring any warranty.

Desired Settlement: If they had indicated that a bad batch of vinyl had been used in 2009,I was hoping for a replacement cover or at least some credit towards a new cover. However , their attitude indicates that they bear no responsibility for the shoddy material used and I don't trust them. I would like a refund or partial refund so I can buy a better cover.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/09/05) */ The Spa Depot sincerely regrets that *** **** has experienced issues with his Duratherm spa cover. The warranty for this product is held by ***********************, and *** **** submitted his claim on 8/30/13. The warranty terms (see attached) stipulate that the product must be returned for inspection at the customer's expense, however the manufacturer generally requests photographs in order to expedite warranty service and eliminate return shipping costs for our customers. *** **** submitted several photographs which clearly illustrate serious degradation in the exterior vinyl and plastic that surrounds the foam cores. Damage of this type is generally the result of environmental causes, chemical issues, or abuse, and is not covered under the warranty. Furthermore, *** **** also included an image of the center hinge of his cover and cover lifter, and the metal and foam lifting device also appears to be corroded, strongly suggesting the damage was caused by chemical or environmental factors. *** **** has suggested that faulty vinyl is the reason his cover has failed, however our vinyl is purchased in quantities of 10,000 - 50,000 yards at a time, meaning that a true defect would impact a tremendous number of customers. Our manufacturer is not aware of any large-scale issues affecting customers with the same style vinyl that *** **** purchased. Despite the fact that our manufacturer has made a final determination on the warranty claim, The Spa Depot has offered *** **** a $50 courtesy discount on a replacement cover. This offer is still available and *** **** is welcome to contact The Spa Depot to order a discounted replacement. *****SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*****

7/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I submitted an order for a spa lid through the company's website. The order was accepted and confirmed and my credit card was charged. From the website and the confirmatory e-mails, the price was fixed and included free shipping. I even received an e-mail that they had started the fabrication of the lid in Florida and that I should expect shipment in about 7 business days. Afterwards, a customer representative informs me that the shipping is not free after all and that an additional $59 will be charged. This rep confirms that I have a valid contract, but doesn't see this to be part of the binding terms. I expect that once a contract is entered into that it will be respected and not subject to unilateral alteration. If a mistake was made it was wholly on their part and I should not be the one who has to make it good. I can provide the entire history through e-mail traffic if that is desired.

Desired Settlement: Honor the contract - specifically to manufacture and deliver according to the specifications and the fixed price.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/23) */ The Spa Depot sincerely regrets any inconvenience experienced by Mr. ******. Our records indicate Mr. ****** submitted his order via spadepot.com on 7/15/13. Prior to finalizing his order, Mr. ****** confirmed his acceptance of the Spa Cover Terms & Conditions which stipulate that additional freight charges may apply in certain situations based on the delivery address. Mr. ****** resides in Washington D.C. and additional limitations and restrictions apply to motor freight deliveries. Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/07/25) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Nothing has changed since I filed my complaint. Although SpaDepot acknowledges that they entered into a valid contract, they refuse to honor its terms. The company cites language in their Terms and Conditions as the reason for not fulfilling their obligations. However, the citation (involving extra charges for delivery to areas not accessible by tractor-trailer) does not apply to my home, which is readily accessible. The company is willfully engaging in false advertising by promising, but ultimately refusing to provide, free delivery. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 9, 2013/07/25) */ Mr. ****** was promptly notified about the additional delivery fees and his order was held pending payment for the freight surcharge. We have since canceled his order and issued a full refund. If Mr. ****** wishes to reorder, a delivery surcharge of $59 will apply.

5/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service
4/12/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service
3/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/17/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/10/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/21/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
11/7/2012 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
10/23/2012 Delivery Issues
9/25/2012 Problems with Product/Service