BBB Accredited Business since

Rich's for the Home

Phone: (425) 742-7283 Fax: (253) 284-3750 View Additional Phone Numbers 6626 Tacoma Mall Blvd, Tacoma, WA 98409

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers woodstoves, spas and patio grills.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Rich's for the Home meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rich's for the Home include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rich's for the Home
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 07, 2004 Business started: 12/01/1979 Business started locally: 12/01/1979 Business incorporated 11/01/1980 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Jon Chapman, Principal Mr. Jim Van Norman, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jon Chapman, Principal
Business Category

Spas & Hot Tubs - Dealers Stoves - Wood, Coal Furniture - Outdoor Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Woodstoves Etc Inc

Additional Locations

  • 6626 Tacoma Mall Blvd

    Tacoma, WA 98409 (253) 284-3740


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased the gas insert in May 2013. It was installed June 17, 2013. I have had a series of issues that ****** keep saying has to be replaced. It is now 5 months and I still don't have an insert that I can use. It does not work. I am now told they won't come until the second week of December to do the repair. I have asked for the unit to be replaced, they refuse, and now I just want all my money back and for them to take this junk away. I can't believe I spent $5000.00 for nothing. First it was the burner needed replace, day after installed, no body came back until end of August. Now its the whole electrical system, that was September, and now they say not until the second week of December hopefully.

Desired Settlement: I want them to take this unit away and give me back the full purchase price plus the cost of a new install permit. I want the money that was credited from the*********** people on my behalf included in my refund as it was an award to me. I hope to never see or hear of ****** again after the way I have been treated by them. PLEASE help me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/11/23) */ ********** is scheduled to have her fireplace insert replaced with a newer version on Monday, November 25. I am sorry that we didn't do a better job of communicating with ********** and for the service issues that she has been experiencing with her current gas insert.

3/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service